National Smog Check & Test Only (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

National Smog Check & Test Only (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |

Address

3573 Overland Av
Los Angeles, CA 90034

(310) 839-2565

Driving directions

View website

Features  

  • Free towing inspection

Customer Reviews for National Smog Check & Test Only

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of National Smog Check & Test Only

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Michael G. on 8/17/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Reduce wait time. Better explain return deadline. And most of all, make it clear that they have no place for customers to park their personal vehicles while using vans.

luke j. on 8/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fast and Easy!

Claudius D. on 8/7/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The person handling the rentals was rude and unhelpful and I would not use this location again.

Michael T. on 7/31/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

After the reviews I was a little concerned but I ended up having a pretty good experience. The truck was available when I asked for it which I have heard is not always true. I was disappointed that I called 24 hours to confirm beforehand for the blankets / furniture pads and the outlet only had 9 of the 24 I ordered. If someone had let me know that ahead of time, I would have had time to find a supplementary option. Instead, I had to take a lot of risks in scratching my furniture. NOT COOL. Also, it wasn't very well explained when I was checking the truck for damages to avoid being charged later that the existing damages were marked by special stickers. I personally think the whole scratches thing is hogwash. We're driving something the size of a tank without the durability and it's not going to get scratched? Also, it would be nice if the Truck was washed every once in awhile. Anyway, the guys were friendly enough and didn't charge me immediately when I accidentally forgot one of the blankets and gave me time to return it. The gas meter markings were accurate so there was no danger of getting ripped off on gas tank markings like I read in other reviews. So, yeah definitely above average for the rental truck business.

EDWIN H. on 7/22/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The manager George is rude & has zero customer service....he overcharged me....then yelled at me when I called back to inquire ab the extra charges?! A joke of a Uhaul location

Dan B. on 7/15/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Take the uhaul location from this place and from the nasty man who runs it. I would never rent from him or his location ever. The truck was not very clean, it had garbage inside and the thing that got me the most is how he outright lied about the fuel level. He listed it at 5/8th of a tank according to the chart on the papers. When I looked at it before leaving, it was almost on the 1/2 tank mark. However, the fuel gauges in these trucks only use marks for empty, 1/4, 1/2, 3/4 and full. It is very difficult to determine anything between those marks. So when I drove away and looked at it again, in was almost on the 1/2 mark. I also noticed the miles he wrote on the paper was 2/10ths less than the truck's odometer. Well, after dealing with many uhaul places and NEVER having an issue, I didn't call him on it. Then when I finished my small load (2 medium boxes and a dresser), I put 3.5 gallons of fuel back into the truck and I know I only used about 3 gallons. So, the fuel level was at or just a hair above where it was when I got the truck. While returning the truck, this guy tried to say I was returning the truck with less fuel. When I explained the situation, he blamed me for not calling him about the wrong level and he said that he was not going to pay for the fuel. Everything went to heck after that. DO NOT RENT FROM THIS LOCATION! Thankfully, I asked him for the customer service number while there and I called them in front of him. Once he closed out the ticket and charged me an additional $8.25 for fuel, the very nice lady from uhaul customer service took care of it and reversed the charge.

LEIGH G. on 6/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Lovely and Friendly, great customer service.

Dorothy N. on 6/26/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

They were very nice and overall it wouldn't have been too bad but the fact you can't leave your car there is a hassle and though the van was new, it hadn't been washed and also smelled like rubber. One doesn't necessarily NEED a clean van, but you asked.

Claire C. on 6/14/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The person at the location was very nice and helpful but I had rented the vehicle online for 6 hrs (starting at 11) and did not receive notice that he closes his business at 4pm on saturdays - making the 6hrs of rental impossible. I had to rush to return it on time and wasn't able to move everything I had initially wanted to as I would have been late to return the vehicle.

Mark H. on 6/5/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had a good experience with this particular location but a terrible experience with the customer service person I spoke to on the 800 number. She tried to tell me it would cost $.79 per mile even though I saw it online at $.59, then told me that was because "weekends are more expensive". When I told her it was Thursday and not a weekend, she told me, "well, when you book online it will switch to the $.79 rate. Realizing she was either trying to rip me off or didn't know what she was talking about, I decided not to waste my time and hung up and booked online - quite quickly - at $.59 per mile as advertised. Since I'm fairly sure she was trying to upsell me with dishonest tactics, it left a very bad taste in my mouth. We aren't talking about much money here - it would've made a difference of probably four or five dollars - but it is a matter of principle in my mind and extremely bad business. For this reason I am quite sure I will think twice about using U-Haul next time around and likely would encourage my friends to do the same.

EDUARD G. on 5/31/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

the place is very small, no night drop off and no place to leave a truck afterhours. I had to park two blocks away in residential area.

RODRIGO A. on 5/14/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I did return the vehicle 40 minutes late, and they made me pay for a whole day. I just rented it for 5 hours, but I had to pay for one day. It was not fair. I will never recommend U-Haul to my friends. Your company simply don't care about it's clients.

JENNIFER F. on 5/12/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I cannot begin to describe the horrible experience I've had this this particular location of uhaul and uhaul in general. The areas im dissatisfied about ranges from uhauls website to it's stores to it's over the phone customer service. If uhaul cares about it's customers at all, I should hear from someone, with whom I can give a more detailed vocally review. Thanks, Extremely dissatisfied customer

Alan E. on 5/5/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I brought the truck back 1 gallon under the required gas limit. The owner insisted that I pull the truck out of the lot after going through a lot to get it parked. (It is a very small space) I recognize and understand that this is a policy/rule but I feel that based on situation some leeway could have been given. When I questioned him about it he said that if I do not go to get the gas he would charge me the full fee. In addition, he did not ask or offer me a receipt. He simply said that it would be at my email address. Again I understand in these times, many people want the receipt to be emailed to them but it would have been nice to have an option.

Susan M. on 5/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I love supporting local small businesses. This rental was efficient. What more can you ask for?

MICHAEL M. on 3/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very courteous, efficient, well organized. In and out in a couple of minutes. Really just great. I will defintiely come here if I need a vehicle.

Jeremiah H. on 3/27/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The customer service was completely absent. Then, after putting fuel in the van prior to returning it, I was charged $50 for fuel and "convenience". Trust me, there was no convenience. The van had 7/8 of a tank when i picked it up and I'll be damned if I'll return it with more than that. This place is bullshit.

JOSH C. on 3/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

George was very helpful!

Vanessa G. on 3/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It was a simple process, I even arrived 10 minutes before the pick up time and was able to get started on the rental.

Jessica B. on 3/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The place was a little hard to find, but the service and car where awesome and easy to work with! I highly recommend!

DELFIN D. on 3/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I like your service much. I have request related to my last rental. I had booked for the Dolly but didn't pick from the pickup location. Please waive the $10 fee from the charge

Cassia R. on 2/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Good customer service.

WILL M. on 2/25/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Geroge was excellent as was his service and his cars

JONATHAN A. on 2/24/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

While the rental is advertised at $19.95, I ended up paying a $53 bill and $25 of gas for a trip of 48 miles and 4 hours of rental. Never using U-Haul again.

WARIN I. on 2/24/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I booked a van for 7 hours but they closed early so I could only use for about 6 hours. Then they said that they could let me return it on the next day. There were nobody there the next day so we had to park on the street and threw the key inside. They wasted my time a lot by not presenting the correct info on the site and didn't keep their promise.

DAVID O. on 12/5/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Experience was quick and painless. I only gave the location and "average" rating because it had just a few vehicles. Regardless, I called in last minute for a van, it was available, I rented it, the process was easy and without hassle or annoying up-selling. It was a 5-star experience. Many thanks.

Wanyi L. on 10/12/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

customer service not really good. sounds a little arrogant and wouldn't let me park my car on the loft even though there are spots.

brian y. on 9/5/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The person in charge, George, is very unfriendly and unhelpful. I waited at the counter waiting to be helped, but he didn't even approach me to ask what I was waiting for, until I had to physically go to him, and I was given a rude response telling me not to go near him. He did not explain the rental process, nor seem to care about the service rendered. The vehicle was returned with the required amount of fuel, but I was charged for fueling in the bill, which was completely inaccurate and unfair to me.

Amaya M. on 9/3/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The problem I encountered was related to miscommunication between the main office and the rental location. I was originally told I could pick up the truck (24h rental) in this location (closed on Sun) and that they would easily direct me the drop off location with no extra cost. I waited more than an hour unsuccesfully. Movers were waiting, very stressful situation! I ended up rushing to finish my moving in only 3h, and when I brought back the truck the drop-off location had changed without my approval! It took again longer to finish up the paper work and I didn't even get a copy or document certifying the return of the vehicle and final cost to my credit card. I would not rent again here.

Roy N. on 8/19/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had to return the truck Monday because they close early Saturday and all day Sunday, which was not a big deal but if they told me that beforehand I would've altered my plans. Overall I was very happy with the service.

CAMARA K. on 7/22/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

We would NEVER want to use your location at 3573 Overland again. When we initially called Uhaul, our main concern was being able to leave our car at the Uhaul location until we return your truck. I was told that was NO PROBLEM. You should review the records from our initial order call for verification. After we had the truck only 45 minutes we were sent an email, NOT A CALL stating that our truck was going to be towed if we didn't get there right then. We had to HIRE someone to go move it and when my husband spoke with the very rude George, he simply said, "I don't have time for this, come move your damn truck or we're towing it. Uhaul does NOT allow you to park here. We chose Uhaul because we were TOLD when we placed the order that we could leave our vehicle. That location is terrible and I will seek services elsewhere and tell ALL my friends and family as well. George should be reprimanded.

DWIGHT B. on 7/20/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Not friendly. Grumpy attendant. Poor customer service

manuel f. on 7/19/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

It's all good.

Steven w. on 7/7/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Every one from the employee at the location to the U Haul person when I called to ask a question was great

Laura K. on 7/3/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

When I picked up my truck the man running the place was very unpleasant. I had already performed the express check-in, kindly made sure he knew this, and he performed two smog checks before spending the one minute necessary to get me on my way. After waiting for 25 minutes he finally helped me, called me rude for accidentally parking in the wrong parking spot [in an entirely empty lot], and didn't even help me with the truck after signing the papers. He sat behind his little table and watched me load up the cart and dolly and maneuver to get out of the tiny parking lot. I've rented Uhauls in the past and every location except for this one has been extremely helpful, kind and courteous.

KEN S. on 6/28/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

DO NOT TRUST THIS MAN

DAVID H. on 6/23/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I got charged $10 for cleaning for no reason whatsoever and I'm now gone and can't do anything about it. Tell these assholes to go fuck themselves.

BEN Y. on 6/6/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Don't close before stated time!

WONCHON L. on 6/3/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Poor customer service, dishonest

SILVIA L. on 5/31/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I returned the van at 10:45 and he was busy and told me to leave the keys so he clocked it in at 11:45.

DONALL M. on 5/20/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Extremely helpful staff. The place was busy and they managed things well so I was in and out in very little time.

KARLY KATHERINE M. on 4/1/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I will never recommend this place. Absolutely poor and horrible management. The manager made two reservations under my name. One I used on my actual moving day and the other was for a week later. Although it was a fault on his end for scheduling me twice he had the nerve to charge $50.00 to my credit card without ANY consent! He refused to take responsibility for the matter although it is HIS business. I had to contact U-HAUL directly and it took up a good portion of my day. I am still waiting to be reimbursed. This is absolutely ridiculous.

Carlos R. on 3/30/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Provide a lock, dolly and blankets/protective sheets.

VALERIA Z. on 3/25/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Although they do not have a huge staff. The person attending there was very friendly and helpful. Keep in mind that the main business here is a Smog Check station, but that does not undermine the quality of the service and customer care for U-Haul clients. Friendliness is a must for me, since I have rented U-Haul units several times before at other places and have not always had a good experience. So I truly recommend this place!

GEORGE T. on 3/20/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Maybe a larger uhaul sign/presence. It's a little hard to find when driving

MARCELLO L. on 3/4/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When I made the reservation, I was given a 3pm pick up time for a specified 4 hour rental, dropping the van back off at the location by 7pm. I went to pick up the van and they were closing an hour later. I was given a choice to pay and break the contract and not take the van, or pay for 2 days since I work in a professional therapeutic environment and cannot leave clients to drop off a van by 3pm on a work day. I consider that shady and deceitful business practice to not be upfront with a customer. I'm not breaking the contract at that point, U-Haul is by not having the van available for the specified contracted time in the agreement. Customer Service cleared the issue thankfully, the agent at the location tried to be helpful but wasn't able to fix the situation. If a rental isn't available for the stated time period due to hours of operation of a location there should be a similar notice as when renting a car and the location is not open for the drop off time. I have no problem choosing another time or day or location, but trying to force me into paying a fee to break a contract that's not being broken my end is bad business practice. I'm very unlikely to refer or return to U-Haul as a customer.

Stephanie S. on 2/28/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Excellent service.

Nina B. on 1/3/2013
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I have a complaint in as of yesterday evening. Please refer to my account as of yesterday evening. Someone is set to call me to resolve this issue within 2 days. Thank you