Nationwide General Rental (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Nationwide General Rental (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |

Address

524 Beverly Pike
Elkins, WV 26241

(304) 637-4674

Driving directions

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour dropoff

Customer Reviews for Nationwide General Rental

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of Nationwide General Rental

Overall rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

doug c. on 1/16/2017
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Petfect

Jonathan R. on 1/1/2017
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

We was tossed between 2 locations because neither location had the trailer that we had reserved. We ended up having to rent a truck and pay more. ????

Trina K. on 8/22/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Over charged me for my rental.

jacqueline s. on 7/4/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Hard to identify as a U-haul business. Drove past twice.

Michael B. on 5/18/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The manager of this location was fantastic. James Mitchell however was terribly disrespectful to me when seeking compensation for the increased cost and inconvenience regarding the distance that I had to travel to pick up my rental.

Nathaniel B. on 5/18/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

when recieving the truck, we asked about the refund of $50.00 do to the fact that we asked for a 17' not a 20' and they wasn't comphending what was being asked. was curious if information of new things that invovle u-haul is being distrubited out there.

CHARLES A. on 4/18/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

get better computers-.extremely slow! Train them to help customer and not over charge. That was almost as much as the rental.

David U. on 3/28/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I needed to rent a uhaul for Sunday easter. The location was closed on saturday. I was told if I came and got it Friday before they close, I would only be charged for one day plus mileage. ... my original bill with 90 miles with taxes was 131.72. I was told by manager or owner that as long as I brought back the uhaul before 7a.m. on Monday I would be charged for one day plus mileage. Well I got another charge monday for 46.68. When I called in they said that they shouldn't have charged me for extra day, plus extra day of insurance. That they would fix it., so I get another charge of 132.66 after talking with them the same day. When I called they close for the day or no one picked up...

john h. on 2/1/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Truck was clean but had mechanical issues. the brakes were malfunctioning. Had to hold the brake pedal back while using my other foot on the gas. The truck wasn't cleaned off and ready at the scheduled pick up time, but other than those issues it was a ok experience

ANGELA C. on 1/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service. They even stayed open late to assist me.

CHRISTOPHER B. on 12/11/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Location services were good. Was catsup or something in the rear though. Already having issues with billing again. Last time I had 6 transactions pending from my account (which froze the funds..) for $738 for a $135 or so cost. I had the $149 funds time out and a new charge of $65.65 on my account as appeared. I hope this is the final cost and will not have a repeat of last time. I would suggest for future, take/withdraw estimated funds. Wait until full summary is complete and issue the final billing or credit as needed thus eliminating the extra frustrations.

JOHN A. on 11/20/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Completed the rental request online then had to basically answer all the same questions I did on the online system.

EVELYN W. on 10/28/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was very happy with every one and every thing

WHITNEY T. on 7/20/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The rental location was not the issue. They were very friendly and polite in Elkins, WV. Our problem is that they changed our location about 12 hours prior to getting the truck. Adding an hour each way to the pick up location. They did not have a furniture dolly, so we had to go to another location. It was a nightmare and added a good 3 hours on to our moving day.

Doug C. on 7/16/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great, They go above and beyond to help you, thanks guys

James R. on 5/23/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

There was confusion over how to enter transaction into computer. Checkin took 40 minutes. Truck was dirty. They did not go over the price with me which (my own fault for not carefully examining the invoice) was astronomical compred to the price i paid moving to that city 10 months prior. I paid $518 to rent a truck from wv to va. Utterly ludicrous. Staff was friendly and charming. Unfortunately that is tarnished by the incredibly absurd price I was charged and the fact they did not go over pricing with me. It is my Own fault for not being more careful before hopping into a truck.

HARRY M. on 3/11/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Put decent tires on the truck so there's a little bit more traction then just road tires

Garrett L. on 11/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very friendly and helpful!

MARSHA D. on 10/21/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I have repeatly rented UHaul trailers 2-3 times a year for my business. I don't understand your reservation process. All my information is taken including address, vehicle info, and credit card. When I get to the rental center it is always done all over again and takes a long time. It is frustrating to be ready to go, and the process has taken up to 45 minutes ! I would like to be able to walk in and present my ID and credit card and hook up and go. I do not think it is my local rental, I feel it is your process.

WILLARD H. on 10/14/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This is a repair shop, so not the cleanest place, but very friendly and helpful.

TIMOTHY N. on 9/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They went out of there way to get me a truck

Cheryl S. on 9/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The owner was awesome and went above and beyond. Though U-Haul corporate stinks, General Rental and his staff restored my faith in excellent customer service,the service customers pay for and should expect.

VALERIE A. on 9/6/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Safety concerns. According to drop off site, the way the chain was wrapped could have resulted in the chain breaking during our trip. Also the electrical connection was dragging and being frayed. A passerby alerted me to the problem which I fixed with electrical tape.

ROBERT S. on 8/1/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The personnel was very helpful and very kind. The location is dirty and cluttered.

Jesse C. on 6/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The owner was great at his job. His employees were dedicated to service and it was a rental experience I will not soon forget. Hats off to the service of a small town buisness.

BRADY K. on 6/5/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

For starters, I booked this u haul 2.5 months in advance and not only did they change my pick up time, my location but they also changed me from a 26 foot truck to a 20 foot truck without telling me. The personnel at the stores were very nice and helpful but the people on the phone were extremely rude and unhelpful and didn't do anything to try and help resolve the situation. Instead they pretty much said oh well and to deal with it. This is unacceptable especially when you have a 1200 mile one way trip to where you are moving.

kenneth b. on 4/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I made reservation on line for truck 2 miles from my house and thought that was where I would get it but night before move was notified truck was at location in Elkins Wv 30 miles from my home had to make arangements for ride there.should have ben told that from start.!!!!

Rodney T. on 4/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They worked hard to locate me a truck very helpfull.

ROBERT G. on 2/24/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Would have liked to had a review of the trucks operation before starting out.

MITCHELL C. on 2/24/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

do not rent from U Haul

CHARLES A. on 1/22/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Done well there several times!

DEREK G. on 12/25/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Walk around for damage inspection and help customer check lights

Kathleen T. on 12/16/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Confirmation of pickup location more than 24 hours before pickup.

Rodney T. on 11/27/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very fast and got me on the road quick.

MELINDA L. on 9/30/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Make more of an effort to provide the truck requested and make sure your contractors are inspecting them before putting someone in them...

BARBARA C. on 9/5/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The manager was on the phone trying to pay his billsand another employee(greasy,dirty) came in and got n the computer,said you owe $28.00 for as and yo went 1.?? 0ver in miles. I had just put $10.00 more in the truck about 1/4 mile down the road,which showed more gas in it than I started with. The truck was parked on an incline approx.45% or more when he read the meter. I may be women but I know that the gas will not read properly at this angle!! I will nevr rent from these people,but I will continue to use Uhaul if I need this service.

HERMAN S. on 6/27/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It appeared the computer system was not working the greatest. The men that were helping us were very nice.

Brady K. on 6/22/2013
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The check in and check out was absolutely terrible. Took over 40 minutes to pick up the uhaul because the man had no clue what he was doing.

BRENT C. on 5/20/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The dealer was okay but the uhaul reservation was all messed up. Your company takes reservation at location where there are no trucks. I had to travel over a hundred miles out of my way to get a truck. When I have a dealer within two mile of where I live. Uhaul didn't give me enough notice so I could make other arrangement and it ended up costing me a lot of money. I will be telling everyone to watch out for your shadey busniess dealings !!!!!!!!

CHARLES M. on 4/22/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The original drop off point had been closed and we weren't told it was closed. We had to search for a new drop off point. Very frustrating. Wasted time and energy looking for it. Would have been helpful to know this before we rented it. Bad experience.

Joe C. on 4/15/2013
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

they had an issue with the battery. but was quickly remedied.then i was on my way

tom G. on 3/11/2013
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

For one thing I was quoted 14.00 for the insurance and was charged 29.00 dollars. The truck was very dirty and had to be cleaned before use.

tim h. on 2/2/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing services from this provider where excellent and the staff where very curtiuos and helpfull, I would reccomend this provider to my friends and family for all there towing or.moving rentals

Robert W. H. on 1/29/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great folks! Friendly & courteous.... and fast at their job!

Phillip S. on 11/7/2012
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I know that the electricity was out due to a recent snow storm, the computers and phones were down. However, the representative would not even stand up to come out and look over the truck. He told me to just lay the keys on the counter and he would check it in later.