Customer Reviews for Ace Hardware
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

1615 reviews

4106 US 31 S   Traverse City, MI 49685

(231) 668-4657

Location Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 8 am - 5 pm
  • Sun: 10 am - 4 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 9/19/2021: Closed
  • 9/26/2021: Closed
  • 10/3/2021: Closed
  • 10/10/2021: Closed
  • 11/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/24/2021: 8:00 am - 2:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 1/1/2022: Closed

Show All Hours

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(231) 668-4657

4106 US 31 S
Traverse City, MI 49685

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 8 am - 5 pm
  • Sun: 10 am - 4 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 9/19/2021: Closed
  • 9/26/2021: Closed
  • 10/3/2021: Closed
  • 10/10/2021: Closed
  • 11/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/24/2021: 8:00 am - 2:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 1/1/2022: Closed

Show All Hours

  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

we rented 3 trailers. The front ty down straps ratchets all need to be lubed to work properly. If you could get them locked you could hardly get them to release. Needed some WD40.

KIRTLAND JON W. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Karen K. 
Rating:
3.0

There was no one at the site where we rented the truck that could answer our questions. Your web site was difficult for my husband and myself...maybe you could write a program that is better suited for us senior citizens! Not having someone to represent your company on site is not acceptable! If there is another occasion that we need to rent a truck, we will certainly NOT go to U-Haul!!!

evelyn S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHARLES B. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was perfect.

JARED JOSEPH L. 
Rating:
3.0

The trailer kept blowing our fuses. There was a ground loose. Figured that out after we unloaded our wood. We had trouble figuring out the app to check the trailer in and it charged us a late drop off as well as an extra day. That seems crazy! The lady just didn't care when I called to talk to them.

David B. 
Rating:
1.0

Staff left me struggling to push a 12x6 trailer ALONE up a hill upon return. Thankful to the kind strangers who pulled over to help. Will never return to this location.

Samantha S. 
Rating:
3.0

When we got to our location and opened the back of the uhaul it smelled like cat pee. I was kinda worried to put my furniture in the truck due to that. I didn't want my couches to smell like cat pee.

Gerald B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSEPH GREGORY L. 
Rating:
5.0

Very Professional and knowledge employees. Good experience. Hard to come by these days. Thank You ! John Stuart

John S. 
Rating:
3.0

none

LAWRENCE MICHAEL B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph K. 
Rating:
4.0

Mobile sign in. It took over an hour. It would have been faster to check in at counter

Bill H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Keegan F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

WILLIAM JAMES P. 
Rating:
3.0

We originally reserved a 26ft truck from universal rent in Cadillac. When we arrived on-site they said they had no vehicle for us. There was no help from the rental company or uhaul. We were able to get the trailer in traverse city, but with the size we had to make multiple trips and we were not able to complete our move. We did not get one sorry from any one and it seems like uhaul couldn't care less about us.

Katherine M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John V. 
Rating:
5.0

No windshield wiper fluid. Van was dirty on the outside which was OK , it just surprised me and I worried I would be held accountable for the previous renters dirt. It would be nice if I was told to bring contract with me for pickup using the 24/7 app. It delayed picking up the van but the ladies from the help desk of UHaul were FABULOUS and made my day.

Patricia W. 
Rating:
5.0

Very quick drop off. Gal who checked us out was friendly.

MARGARET COLLEEN R. 
Rating:
5.0

The hours of rental as it pertains to weekends AND having to start the clock based on the local dealers hours is very short sighted and not customer friendly. Being “the guy” that everyone asks to help them move, I can say that a disruptor company could and probably will expose this customer convenience need . Otherwise, I am a uhaul account member and happy except for that. Local manager was very nice and helpful.

Anthony T. 
Rating:
4.0

Took a while to get it rented

Timothy M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gerard Z. 
Rating:
4.0

The U-Haul sign on the door was really small and I drove around the lot a few times before I understood it was in the Ace Hardware store. Paid for 5 blankets, never got them. Staff very friendly

Merrell K. 
Rating:
2.0

I made a reservation for the mini van for seven days to help my daughter move downstate & when I went to pick it up at 5pm it was a truck! I told them this is not what I reserved & they said, Sorry that's all they had and someone had tried to get a hold of me(which was untrue) I took it hoping that I could talk to a manager the next morning but had no luck so unfortunately I had Do we turn it less than 24 hours because I was taking a large dog with me and he could not fit in the front seat!! On top of that they charged me $107 saying I went over 100 miles which going back-and-forth to Traverse City to try to get this matter resolved so I am very unpleased!!! I I have another reservation for a minivan August 31 which made sure that they had this one correct but I believe I should get some kind of discount and not of had to pay the $107 for the moving truck that I only used to drive back-and-forth to to Traverse City to get this matter resolved!!!

Michellelynn Z. 
Rating:
5.0

Brian and I believe it was Rebecca, were great. They are very nice and professional. They had me in and out in no time, it was a very easy process. They really care about customer service.

KYLE PATRICK F. 
Rating:
1.0

I've left multiple messages with customer service about the truck and how dirty it was. No response since Sunday. Very disappointed in the service.

ADAM CHRISTOPHER B. 
Rating:
5.0

No improvements needed. Great service, turnaround, and very helpful staff.

Archibald C. 
Rating:
5.0

Have more than one rental representative as a backup. I was unable to rent the trailer on the day I needed it and I had to make other arrangements due to the rental agent calling out sick that day. Fortunately, the customer service was impeccable and I felt that though I wasn't able to rent that day from that site, I was more than willing to rent from that site on another day. Well done!

Glenn D. 
Rating:
4.0

I was led to believe I could do everything on my cell phone with no human interaction. Not true, I had to go into the ACE store to retrieve the truck key.

Thomas B. 
Rating:
1.0

I could only rent a vehicle for 48 hours. Tried to alter plans to accommodate this surprise but was unable so I had to return the truck the next day. I understand uhaul is busy at the moment but much business is being lost due to the 48 hour rule.

John N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

PATRICK JOSEPH T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nathan L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

FRANCESCA N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Chester K. 
Rating:
5.0

Thank you so much! You made moving across the country easy!

Jennifer T. 
Rating:
4.0

Very satisfied

tom G. 
Rating:
5.0

Not a thing. Everything was great!

TYLER JOSEPH K. 
Rating:
1.0

make sure equipment is available before allowing a reservation . they told me a reservation is not 100 percent . i waited two hours while other customers got the same trailer i reserved .I had a friend drive 800 miles and almost couldn't rent the trailer . one guy was super rude and one was good but spent two hours bouncing back and forth from one u haul place to another for whatever reason .

RYAN MICHAEL C. 
Rating:
3.0

This doesn't necessarily relate to the drop off location, but we had significant issues conducting the online check in of our vehicle resulting in us being required to pay a $20 charge. We followed the steps to check our truck in online, but kept getting an error saying that our location could not be determined (even though we had updated our browser settings to allow our location to be detected). We were very disappointed that we had to pay an additional $20 due to this website error.

Jared P. 
Rating:
5.0

Very helpful and friendly staff

JEFFREY AARON L. 
Rating:
4.0

Overall was pretty good, but my WHITE living room furniture was really dirty when it was removed from the trailer and now has to be shampooed, it would've been much better if there was the moving blankets available to use, and the floors of the trailers were clean. Thank you.

anita L. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Thomas B. 
Rating:
5.0

Tom was so helpful in getting the trailer hitches up. He went above and beyond because my hitch was so rusted.

DEBORAH LYNN S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kimberly R. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TIMOTHY JOSEPH C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James P. 
Rating:
3.0

Location was fine, equipment was decent, rep was the only great part of the experience. Uhual IT/reservation technology/process is AWFUL! Every time I rent something isn't working and the process takes 5x longer than it should

Brock H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ANDREW DALTON B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Zac S. 
Rating:
4.0

The inside of the trailer was very dusty and dirty. The inside back door appeared to be covered in blood. Not impressed with hot dirty the trailer was.

Marc J. 
Rating:
5.0

Great all around.

Sarita F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Charles S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Matthew K. 
Rating:
2.0

Would of been nice to rent a u-haul that was filled up with gas and ready to go. Had to fill it up before heading to load it with our families move.

Michael D. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gary H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Liber C. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything went really well, the Ace Hardware was a great location. All the employees were very friendly and helpful.

Spiros V. 
Rating:
3.0

A clean and maintained vehicle, change oil light on when we picked it up. After hours dropping off is not good, 20 minutes taking pictures and internet, let us put the keys in the box with our contract and let us be on our way… we just drove for hours, help us..

Jacqueline T. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lisa M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ricardo S. 
Rating:
3.0

Make sure all equipment is in working order . I had a car hauler and one ratchet was very difficult to work ! Needed lot be lubed . Other than that it was just fine .

Gerald M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kenneth G. 
Rating:
5.0

Busy day for the store, teamwork made it work with a quick in and out.

Shaun M. 
Rating:
5.0

All of the people at Uhaul have been great and very helpful. However I have had nothing but problems with the web site , the app and phone orders, That is to say in scheduling and availability of equipment. More that once i was "promised" a vehicle and no vehicle was available. Once I had to go to 3 different locations to obtain a truck. And they tried to send me to a 4th location until I settled for a smaller truck. I could go on

MICHAEL RAY M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jarrett G. 
Rating:
2.0

Previously used this location, excellent experience. My contract gave me 6 days, returned in 5 days. Contract says Drop Off Equipment At: Call 800 253-1554 when you arrive in TRAVERSE CITY, MI I CALLED @ 12:32 PM spoke with Robert on 7-18-21 It was Sunday and Uhaul was CLOSED due to Covid staffing. I was charged an extra $20 because I didn't email that I had returned the trailer . My bad I didn't read it on the contract. Monday 7-21 I called same 800 # and was told I had to go back to Ace/uhaul, then told to call customer service , did so . Recording said 58 minute wait. Unfortunately I will be looking for another outlet in October to return my auto to Florida . Disappointed after 2 previous rentals the process and equipment experience were excellent. B-T-W the young lady that printed the contract originally put the Traverse City location on the contract under customer name. However I was told that because she typed ace Mardware the young lady @ the 800# “my contract didn't have drop off location” basically my problem. I feel if that location was open we wouldn't be having this conversation . Sorry this was so long, but I feel unjustly penalized! I strongly feel I should be credited for my $20

William C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Glenn T. 
Rating:
5.0

Truck had wrappers in it, dolly was dirty. Truck only had half a tank of gas and ended up charging me for returning it at half a tank.

Dalton L. 
Rating:
5.0

Same as earlier stated. You are over priced and greedy

LARRY DEAN M. 
Rating:
3.0

Charged for extra miles even though I was told that my reservation didn't have a “cap”. Mileage never matched up with the truck to begin with.

Dalton L. 
Rating:
5.0

Very happy with service and cleanliness of vehicle.

JANN L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Philip M. 
Rating:
3.0

Explain the return process a little better. I had planned to return the truck a few minutes early, but I didn't expect a 10 minute return process. Also, the app didn't except my photos and ended up having to use the website. Not a huge deal, but something of note.

Lance G. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David S. 
Rating:
1.0

Better customer service

Jocelyn D. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was great.

Shaun M. 
Rating:
4.0

Close the location for Uhaul on Barlow and direct patrons to this location and the one on Cass st in TC.

Joshua H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Cheryl P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael E. 
Rating:
2.0

Phone salesperson told me the store was open until 5 pm. I arrived at 4 pm to find that it was closed at 3 pm, forcing me to lose half a day on my haul. S hooks on safety chains on trailer were hooked too tight to fit over the standard lugs on my receiver, so staff at location threaded hooks through lugs. This was a very close fit. Upon return of trailer it was impossible to thread one hook back through the lug, so I had to find a wrench and remove a quick link.

Thomas S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Taylor P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jason M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TRAVIS LLOYD M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rodney W. 
Rating:
5.0

Rear door on the 26' truck was hard to open and close. Older truck.

Kenneth G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DAVID STEPHEN M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jason C. 
Rating:
2.0

Tires on the truck were bald and made it quite difficult moving in the rain. Brakes were making a really bad noise. Seemed like the truck was in dire need of servicing. And was not cleaned out from prior person still had all their paper work and stuff inside the cab. Also returned the truck with gas gauge where it was when I picked it up and still was charged 15$ for fuel? Very disappointed.

Adam H. 
Rating:
5.0

We couldn't get an internet connection at the location to return the trailer. My husband went inside to tell them and the clerk said she would take care of it in the morning and not charge us the $20 charge. We called the 800 number and despite the recording repeating over and over again that it's a 5-10minute wait, we waited for 45 minutes to speak to an incredibly rude rep. We explained our situation and all she could do was tell us it was $20 more. Fortunately the clerk at the return facility followed through. You have to do something about your call center. Every time I have a question it's close to an hour wait time to talk to someone. Extremely poor service. Not everything can be taken care of online.

JAY S. 
Rating:
3.0

Arrived after hours, though web site said they were open. Rental agent still there. Staying over to help customers. Helpful in explaining after hour check in process and where to leave trailer. No issues with on-line check in. Worked very easily.

PAUL NORMAN M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JEFF K. 
Rating:
1.0

Price

Kent D. 
Rating:
5.0

The lady there even helped us get our dads cell phone that fell inside the cab towards the engine compartment!!! thx so much!!!

APRIL ANN G. 
Rating:
5.0

Longer hours would be nice.

ERIC ROBERT D. 
Rating:
5.0

First trailer had a broken chain. 2nd one had straps worn almost all the way through.

Daniel B. 
Rating:
5.0

Most excellent employees at this location! Thank you!

TANYA L. 
Rating:
5.0

Service folks were very helpful

William V. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was perfect

Jeanie H. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top