Customer Reviews for Basher & Son
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

821 reviews

9140 Gap Newport Pike   Avondale, PA 19311

(484) 823-4636

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm
  • Sat-Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 6/16/2021 - 6/19/2021: 9:00 am - 11:30 am
  • 6/20/2021: Closed
  • 6/21/2021 - 6/26/2021: 9:00 am - 11:30 am
  • 6/27/2021: Closed
  • 6/28/2021 - 7/2/2021: 9:00 am - 11:30 am
  • 7/3/2021 - 7/5/2021: Closed
  • 7/6/2021 - 7/10/2021: 9:00 am - 11:30 am
  • 7/11/2021: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(484) 823-4636

9140 Gap Newport Pike
Avondale, PA 19311

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm
  • Sat-Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 6/16/2021 - 6/19/2021: 9:00 am - 11:30 am
  • 6/20/2021: Closed
  • 6/21/2021 - 6/26/2021: 9:00 am - 11:30 am
  • 6/27/2021: Closed
  • 6/28/2021 - 7/2/2021: 9:00 am - 11:30 am
  • 7/3/2021 - 7/5/2021: Closed
  • 7/6/2021 - 7/10/2021: 9:00 am - 11:30 am
  • 7/11/2021: Closed
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

It should be noted in the dimension information that the opening width of the trailer is not the full 6'/ 74" claimed on the rental website. I was attempting to haul a lawn tractor with the trailer, which claimed to have a 74" inside size. Unfortunately, the 54" wide gate size prevented that from happening, so I wound up renting the trailer for no reason. The staff at the location were helpful and friendly, the trailer was pointless.

Ronald H. 
Rating:
3.0

The U-Haul app was not working correctly or digital pickup, had to call U-Haul for assistance. Was able to complete pickup using the U-Haul online portal.

troy B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Helen K. 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly & efficient location to rent a truck.

Mark S. 
Rating:
5.0

The pins springs are so strong it is hard for one person to pull it out all the way and slide the ramp out. It is difficult to release the straps.

KENNETH A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steve B. 
Rating:
5.0

Super easy to book with app, pickup and drop off. Kept the truck for 24 hours, and after overestimating how many miles we would need, they charged us for only what we used. Fair price, easy to find location, would use again.

David O. 
Rating:
4.0

Have pads available that were paid for in advance

Curt G. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Scott F. 
Rating:
5.0

👍👍👍

JOSEPH C. 
Rating:
5.0

It has been a long time since I rented a Uhaul. I was really impressed with the truck. The service here was friendly and efficient.

Katee B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tom R. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

billie W. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Keith S. 
Rating:
5.0

I had an after hours pick-up. The difficulty was in thr process. The check in process stated to go to the 3rd box and turn the dial spelling "BOAT". The only box visible was located next to the door, but the locks had 5 digits on the lock and one was rubbed off. No matter how I tried the lock I could not get it open. I called the 800# speaking to a representative who spoke to the site manager. It finally came to light that the lock being referenced was on the back of the truck not one of the 3 boxes next to the door. Once that was clarified, the lock on the truck opened easily. While the after hours process was extremely helpful, it does need to be evaluated to see if some of the processes need to be clarified.

Timothy S. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Peter G. 
Rating:
5.0

Staff was friendly and very helpful.

Shawn M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

michael P. 
Rating:
5.0

Mobile app is confusing.

MICHAEL S. 
Rating:
5.0

Great Job! Experts in their field !

Keith H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steve B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Imants S. 
Rating:
4.0

The offer I signed up for was not the offer I was billed for which caused me to have to dispute the charge through my credit card company.

Thomas D. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly and helpful.

CHRISTOPHER M. 
Rating:
1.0

Arrived early for my reservation and because of unusual asks by the company during online check-in, I was not able to depart until nearly an hour after my scheduled reservation. When I returned the vehicle slightly late, they then tried to charge me for an entire extra day and have not responded to inquiries as to why.

RYAN M. 
Rating:
2.0

Came back and it was pitch black... My car was sitting there in the dark with no lights, no one around, no fence, and my car in plain view from the street. Also doesn't help that the parking lot is completely messed up. It's extremely bumpy and there's mostly loose gravel and rocks.

Seneca T. 
Rating:
5.0

We were pleasantly surprised with our rental. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the equipment was in tip top shape. Thank you! We will be back.

RICHARD S. 
Rating:
3.0

The location was very convenient to me, but the lot really needs to be paved or re-surfaced. The mobile app is very nice, although I don't see why more of the pre-pickup steps like DL pictures couldn't be done before showing up. The pictures I was asked to agree to were old and did not include several long scratches along the sides or the fact that the rear bumper was tilted upward on the right due to some incident. I had to dispute three of the four pictures. The resolution of the pictures could also have been better to verify minor issues. The van was in decent condition, except that the steering was very loose and there was a ton of road noise on the passenger side. That said, it ran well and got the job done. Overall, I will continue to use U-Haul when needed.

Darrell P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dianna D. 
Rating:
5.0

I'm not disappointed with the location I'm disappointed with U-Haul for forcing me to get a different vehicle when one was obviously available that day. I wanted the 10-ft truck and every time I ordered it would force me to get the 9-ft van. From the time I picked up the van until I dropped it back off there was a 10-ft truck parked in the lot. The 9-ft van did not fit everything I needed and caused issues for my move.

Jeff G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Eric S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMES B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Eric Y. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SHRUJAL P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Thomas M. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent experience, thank you

brian B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Wayne H. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing, perfect site plenty of room!

Lawrence C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sergio F. 
Rating:
5.0

Our original reservation was at a place close to our location. When we arrived at the pick up time (our reservation was made over a week prior) the location did not have a truck for us. After three of us called in and waited on hold for over 20 minutes, one of the nice gentleman at the local place got through to Uhaul customer service. They had only one truck available 50 miles away. We had no choice but to drive 2 1/2 hours RT to get it since we had movers scheduled and a long distance move ahead of us. Uhaul did credit our account for the inconvenience, which was appreciated.

Felicia D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bryan S. 
Rating:
3.0

We were not provided any equipment for the rental besides the truck. There was nobody around when we arrived and had to wait for someone to show up. There were no answers to phone calls.

Philip D. 
Rating:
3.0

The whole experience was horrible. I rented a 26 foot truck at a different location. Your online system let me making me think there was availability. Then the reservation was changed and there was a text about the reservation but not that the reservation had changed. THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE!!!! If there is a reservation change there should be a phone call or at the very least the text message should state the reservation changed with some details. Then they didn't have the dolly I reserved either! This was the worst experience I ever had moving and all my things did not fit it the UHAUL. I don't know this had anything to do with the location. YOUR RESERVATION PROCESS IS THE WORST!!! MADE MY MOVE STRESSFUL AND WAY MORE WORK!

Kristie Z. 
Rating:
5.0

I discovered the vehicle, a GMC Savana with 5639 miles at pickup, left oil stains in the driveway of my home. It took 3 hours of my day to scrub it down. Otherwise the rental experience was fine.

RAOUL F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

steve P. 
Rating:
5.0

There was a slight screw up in the reservation. My order was for a 5x8 trailer. When I signed in I didn't notice that it was replaced by a 4x8. When I checked in to pick up the trailer, there was 2 reservations in the system one for a 4x8 another 5x8. The guy at Basher tried to find a 5x8 but nothing available. Worked out as I had enough room (a little tight) for all my son's stuff.

John R. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

L G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Justine B. 
Rating:
5.0

This went very well. The 10' truck worked well and was the perfect size for us. Maybe a light that comes on or a chime when the office door opens would help. Or a bell to push at the desk, since it took a while both times for someone to notice I was there. Yelling doesn't work. It's noisy in the garage.

Constance E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

andrew F. 
Rating:
3.0

There was no room to park the truck without blocking another vehicle. Reserving some spots would be helpful.

Nicholas V. 
Rating:
3.0

The truck had a really bad smell, they forgot the dolly and then charged me for pads i didn't have.

Jeanine F. 
Rating:
5.0

Staff is always friendly and helpful......eager to get you on your way.

JEFFREY K. 
Rating:
4.0

Ensure that trailer tire pressures are correct.

VIncent C. 
Rating:
4.0

Friendly service. Excellent customer service

George H. 
Rating:
3.0

Horrible front desk service. Basher kid is a certified asshole. Get him away from the front of the house. Obnoxious. Other than that, everything was great!!!

Mark F. 
Rating:
5.0

Keep better track of keys. Returning trucks and new rentals and time involved to turn the vehicle. As it was I had requested contact-less but couldn't get the key. It was with the worker

david T. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Edward Y. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MICHAEL A. 
Rating:
3.0

They were professional, but the location was not convenient.

Thomas S. 
Rating:
5.0

I have been very pleased with my 3 U-Haul rentals this year. It has been a very good experience and I will be back again.

John G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Carl L. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing, everything went as expected - polite, respectful and professional!!

Scott D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gary R. 
Rating:
5.0

Smooth drop off

ed F. 
Rating:
1.0

It was a nightmare picking up this vehicle. I won't go back there again.

NICK B. 
Rating:
5.0

Mobile Check In/Out is very easy and user friendly that anyone can do it.

Seema P. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Aaron I. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Vincent C. 
Rating:
5.0

The staff was very nice and very helpful!!! I Would definitely rent a truck from Basher & Son again!!!

Gloria M. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing, perfect experience.

Thomas M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

juan P. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Johnny G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ronald D. 
Rating:
1.0

The service was just awful. The gentleman working clearly did not like his job and it reflected on how he interacted with me. It was so bad I will never do business with this particular business again and I am a repeat customer. I could write a whole lot about this very negative experience however I don't have the time. I would gladly have a conversation with the store manager if he wanted details.

Raymond B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joe S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John V. 
Rating:
1.0

The attendant was rude to the point of near hostility. He appeared very busy, but after waiting a good 15 minuets past my appointment deadline, I asked him if he could help me, and he acted very inconvenienced. Cell phone was getting poor signal, so filling out the forms was like pulling teeth, no help was given at the site. I eventually went home, where I do have cell phone signal, filled out seemingly endless paperwork, then went back to the lot, and found I still had to take several photos and load these onto the site, again with very poor cell phone signal. Another half hour wasted checkinhg out the van. Finally, when paying the bill, the website locked up after I submitted my credit card payment. I received no confirmation the bill was paid. Checked my credit card statement online and saw UHaul had been paid, never got an acknowledgement from UHaul. In summary, the van was clean, worked well, and allowed us to pick up furniture and bring it home. The service, check-in, check-out, and payment procedures were extremely poor. I will never go to Basher again, and be very reluctant to use UHaul. Tom Felder, 610-348-8259, felderfamily5@gmail.com

Thomas F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Danny B. 
Rating:
5.0

There was a miscommunication about the dolly type which was quickly corrected (we wanted an appliance dolly with the strap and they had a regular dolly ready but were able to get the appliance dolly immediately).

Roy G. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ANDREW P. 
Rating:
2.0

This rental pickup was pure chaos but during tough times they were under staffed. It took an hour to pick up a rental, and was a major headache.

Mark Y. 
Rating:
3.0

Although the pickup location was ok..they were late and we waited over 30 minutes for someone to show up. The UHaul site is AWFUL, inconvenient and charged us for 2 days! We only had the trailer 8 hours.

David R. 
Rating:
5.0

I thought the 24/7 mobile process was a little longer than it should have been. All in all great rental service! Well done.

Peter L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Stanley M. 
Rating:
5.0

The U-Haul app can be confusing

everitt D. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Peter M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brian K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John L. 
Rating:
5.0

Very conveniently located. Extremely nice staff. Very clean truck. Truck was in great shape. I will definitely rent a U-Haul again with Basher & Sons when my kids need to be moved back to college.

John G. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was perfect!

Roosevelt M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Laura K. 
Rating:
1.0

Staff was unavailable to help pick up the truck.

Megan M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bernard R. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

Back
To Top