Customer Reviews for Cheryl Bonin Real Estate & Storage
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

393 reviews

1050 Broadway Ste 18   Chesterton, IN 46304

(219) 728-4777

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 5 pm
  • Sat: 8 am - 1 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021: 8:00 am - 1:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021: 8:00 am - 1:00 pm
  • 1/1/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(219) 728-4777

1050 Broadway Ste 18
Chesterton, IN 46304

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 5 pm
  • Sat: 8 am - 1 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021: 8:00 am - 1:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021: 8:00 am - 1:00 pm
  • 1/1/2022: Closed
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Raquel A. 
Rating:
5.0

Your customer service time and quality on the phone! Called the 1st time after leaving the location of return to check in the rental, and your representative would not help me return it without being there, even though I had pictures to show it there and returned. Drove back, waited a hour this time while there to speak with someone to return it. When the rep got on the phone, she would not listen to what I was trying to explain to her about NOT ABLE TO access the online return. She then disconnected my call, making my drive there and hour waiting on hold a WASTE OF TIME! I had to ask a complete stranger to help me return my rental on THEIR phone so I would not be "subject to a possible $20 late return fee". The fee is STUPID all together, seeing the location of return is not open on the day the retal was returned! Figure out how to not have a "possible late return" if your location ISN'T OPEN! DO NOT disconnect from a call ESPECIALLY when I already had to hold for 20mins the 1st time, and a hour the 2nd! LISTEN to your customers, DON'T try to over speak them while they are talking, and LOSE the attitude when speaking to them! You can't talk to, listen to, and assist customers with their problems, then you SHOULDN'T have a job!

CLIFFORD R. 
Rating:
5.0

Quick and painless.

Matthew L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John B. 
Rating:
5.0

Perfect transaction. I would recommend this location in the future.

Patrick L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lee U. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David H. 
Rating:
5.0

Olivia was very helpful and very understanding of the situation and did everything she could to help. Cheryl was also very accommodating and helpful with the breakdown of the truck

Rhonda S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

jason M. 
Rating:
1.0

Went further out of my way and truck had mulch/debris inside. Mobile pick up took 30 minutes.

Luke A. 
Rating:
5.0

The only complaint I have is that I had to drive 30 mins to pick the trailer up after picking up the truck from another location. That was not convenient and may cause me to use another company in the future.

Christopher D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph S. 
Rating:
5.0

Nice, friendly service and done with a smile.

John C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

john H. 
Rating:
5.0

Can't think of much to improve on. Perhaps offer the ability rent appliance straps. I had my own so it all worked out. The Cheryl Bonin location is where I rented from. The girl at the front desk that setup my reservation and handed me the keys was cool. I didnt catch her name.. younger woman, the reason for the five stars is because of the experience she provided. I came a few minutes late and she didn't charge me extra or anything. Answered all my questions, very personable. I haven't received the same treatment in the past at other places. Rented the 26' truck. Ran fine, sometimes it sounded like the suspension was struggling, and I didn't have a tremendous amount of weight. The noise could have also been the trailer itself flexing a bit. I'm no expert.

eric G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Anne S. 
Rating:
5.0

gr8 job

Dale H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Linda F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHRISTINE V. 
Rating:
3.0

Enormous inconvenience to have to travel 30 miles from where I reserved the trailer. Resulted in spending twice as much money. Extremely unhappy

Nick B. 
Rating:
5.0

Absolutely! Wandered around all over Michigan City early that day (Friday, September 18) before contacting your agency in Chesterton. So thankful. Clean office. Professional staff. Very helpful. All that was needed was padding to move a furniture item from Chicago. When I am ready for a more complicated move, you will be my go to U-Haul contractor. Thank u so much. J O'Brien

jane O. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

jennifer C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Donald C. 
Rating:
5.0

This experience was great. You want everything to go as smooth as possible on moving day! Well come here!!

CHARLES C. 
Rating:
5.0

👌

saul M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dennis M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

wendy W. 
Rating:
5.0

Both ladies were friendly and very accommodating. Our U-Haul was at another location and they arranged for us to pick it up in Our hometown of Chesterton. Their customer service was above and beyond!

Eugenia S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph S. 
Rating:
4.0

I had some trouble with the check in app, it would not accept the picture of the empty trailer. The worker came over and she processed the return.

Steven E. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lucia M. 
Rating:
2.0

Make sure to not overbook rentals. The people I had hired to help move could not stay past noon. I had recently rented the uhaul for 10 AM, and I was told the evening before that the rental would not be available until one. So I had to move what I could that day and wait until the next day to get help moving big items. I had asked for a dolly, but was told none were available. So I had to drive around to find a dolly to rent. Which also to time. Then I was charged extra because of all this Very disappointed.

Debbie M. 
Rating:
4.0

Everything & everyone was fantastic. My only comment other than positive, would be about the gas tank level. I realized that the gage needle was on the high side of the F line, but I didn't find out until I filled up the tank just prior to returning the truck. It took 5.2 gallons of gas, and I drove it (as you can see) a total of seven miles. Not a big enough deal to make a huge deal out of, but big enough to say something here. Thank you, Michael K Willey

Michael W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark M. 
Rating:
1.0

Didn't give me truck on time. Let me know with little notice. Didn't give me truck I requested. Also, truck had a flat tire that we realized later.

Mariah P. 
Rating:
5.0

Great!

HELEN K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DAWN G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Melissa L. 
Rating:
5.0

The online check-in when picking up the vehicle gets stuck after adding photos of vehicle which makes it seem like something I had done wrong on my end. I called the local office and they agreed that there is an issue with completing check-in. Just wasted 10 minutes of time.

John P. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service and price. Definitely will use again!

alexa W. 
Rating:
5.0

The oil change needed light was on.

Kimberly P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mary B. 
Rating:
4.0

Earlier pick up time especially on Monday

George C. 
Rating:
5.0

Thanks for the great service. Not all services were as easy to use, helpful, and friendly as yours. I appreciate it very much. Thade Correa

Thade C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GARY L. 
Rating:
5.0

Pleasant transaction

Roberta P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Laurence C. 
Rating:
5.0

everything went smooth and easy

Ron E. 
Rating:
3.0

THE INSIDE OF THE CAB WAS DIRTY. ANIMAL HAIR ALL OVER THE SEATS AND STUCK TO THE FLOOR.

Dan B. 
Rating:
3.0

I didn't recieve the dolly or furniture pads I paid for and was still charged for them. I wouldn't recommend U-Haul period at this point.

Robert R. 
Rating:
5.0

Keep doing what you're doing! You made it so easy! Thank you!

alex R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JASON H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Cindy S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

james B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Shannon T. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brian H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

david T. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael F. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CLINTON W. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jennifer A. 
Rating:
5.0

The young woman who checked me in was great! Super helpful and nice.

Andrew B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark K. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was perfect, they went above and beyond!! GREAT EXPERIENCE! THANK YOU!

Adam B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Patricia L. 
Rating:
2.0

My one-way rental was a complete disaster. I had a reservation for a 15' truck, but the day of my move they only had a 10 footer available (thank goodness too otherwise I would have been screwed). They also did not have the furniture blankets I requested. Their response to most of my dissatisfaction was, "well, this is a busy moving weekend." I know - that's why I made a RESERVATION a month ago. As compensation, they offered me a discount that does not exist (which I found out at the drop-off location). They also originally booked me at a drop-off location that was already full. I will give them 2 stars because they eventually fulfilled the U-HAUL reservation guarantee and refunded me some money (and I have also had some time to cool down). However, I would not recommend this facility for one-way moves. In-town moves might be better since it seems they own a handful of their trucks, but I don't know.

Kevin C. 
Rating:
5.0

Fast service and friendly staff.

Daniel G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

turk J. 
Rating:
5.0

The app didn't work. I was checking in after hours and the app would not recognize my location and would not let me move forward without sharing my location. Thankfully the owner happened to be in the office. Need to fix that or disable the feature. I am able to confirm I am at the correct return location without GPS assistance. Other than that, whole experience was excellent.

John H. 
Rating:
5.0

The location was very accommodating and answered all my questions.

John N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

matt J. 
Rating:
4.0

Didn't like having to pay $20 extra for after hours return. I returned a vehicle in 12 hours.

John S. 
Rating:
1.0

The truck was not ready when we got there. Had to wait 2 hours. I have called to complain twice and they keep saying they will call back to give me a credit and I never hear back from them. Terrible customer service

Daniel K. 
Rating:
4.0

I was stuck with a giant snake logo on the side .. I fucking hate snakes

RILEY D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Larry M. 
Rating:
4.0

I had a few things not go very well, but, this was my first experience with renting a truck to use for my company, so I can't really say that it was the fault of the renter... the next time I have to rent one, I will still go back to this renter, but I will be more aware of things I needed to know but didn't. It seems like they could have used an extra employee. one person was taking care of everything so contacting them on the phone was impossible. fortunately I'm only about a mile away.

sandy M. 
Rating:
5.0

Great Job!

David R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Stella C. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing

Danny S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARY M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

FRANK C. 
Rating:
5.0

The ladies at Cheryl Bonin Real Estate & Storage were super! They were very pleasant to work with and helped me out when I ended up having some issues with my helpers. The truck was really clean. My only issue with the truck was that the roll down door in the back and ramp were hard to use. They could probably use some lubricant or maintenance. The ramp was especially hard to put back in. It kept getting stuck a few inches from going all the way in and even my strong, experienced helpers had trouble with it. You couldn't close the door until it was all the way in. When I need to move my possessions again, I'll use the same place, but know to check the door and ramp first.

traci G. 
Rating:
3.0

It would be nice to get a receipt of charges, a breakdown of charges, especially before being asked to provide a survey.

Roy A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ronald M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Andrew B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHRISTINE V. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brett B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ramond T. 
Rating:
4.0

Make the MOBILE RENTAL not so tedious and redundant. It wasted alot of my MOVING TIME doing it. Plus I GASSED up the TRUCK and took numerous photos showing this. BUT WAS STILL CHARGED FOR GAS. As I gassed the TRUCK I checked the gauge which NEVER MOVED til after $11 dollars of gas was pumped?? WTH is with that? $31.13 was what I SPENT for GAS. I was VHARGED for the gas on my GINAL CONTRACT. I will contact CORPORATE at UHAUL to be reimbursed. This was suppose to be an EASY LOCAL furniture move. It costed way too much. NEVER AGAIN

Christine A J. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Paige W. 
Rating:
5.0

Nice an polit came all the way from valparaiso an would come back

greg H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARK P. 
Rating:
5.0

Woman that took care of me was very helpful and courteous . Would definitely use this facility again

John M. 
Rating:
4.0

Easy drop off. Took me a little bit to find the drop-off box, but nice big parking area.

Nathanael P. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMES M. 
Rating:
4.0

This place was good. The place I was sent prior, no one showed up. Cost me an extra 1 1/2 hours where time was of the essence. VERY DISAPPOINTED.

David J. 
Rating:
5.0

the rachets for the wheel tie downs were hard to use - otherwise, things were great.

Michael M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kelly M. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Camille B. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top