Customer Reviews for Craftwood Lumber Co
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

208 reviews

1590 Old Deerfield Rd   Highland Park, IL 60035

(224) 765-0275

Location Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 8 am - 6 pm
  • Sun: 8 am - 5 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 7/4/2022: Closed
  • 9/5/2022: 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
  • 11/23/2022: 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
  • 11/24/2022: Closed
  • 12/25/2022: 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
  • 12/26/2022: Closed
  • 12/31/2022: 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
  • 1/1/2023: Closed

Show All Hours

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(224) 765-0275

1590 Old Deerfield Rd
Highland Park, IL 60035

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 8 am - 6 pm
  • Sun: 8 am - 5 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 7/4/2022: Closed
  • 9/5/2022: 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
  • 11/23/2022: 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
  • 11/24/2022: Closed
  • 12/25/2022: 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
  • 12/26/2022: Closed
  • 12/31/2022: 8:00 am - 4:30 pm
  • 1/1/2023: Closed

Show All Hours

  • 24 hour customer return
  • habla español

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

The truck was in very bad condition. The engine light was on and the truck did not run well. It made loud and strange noises, was grinding and choking and would not exceed 30 MPH. We returned the truck early because we felt unsafe driving it.

ANDREW M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steven L. 
Rating:
5.0

Vehicle suited needs perfectly. The vehicle was clean and was ready when scheduled. Person who coordinated the pick up with me was very helpful and explained everything clearly!

Donald L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Angelo B. 
Rating:
5.0

I love that there is a place close by to rent a truck when I need it. I saved myself over $200 in delivery charges by renting the truck from Craftwood and picking the bed up myself. It cost me $19.99 plus .99/mile. I was picking the bed up from a store in downtown highland park so it cost me under $30 for the van. The staff at Craftwood is the best and the van was very easy to drive.

LISA N. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was perfect.

DAVID R. 
Rating:
5.0

The agent who did the paperwork was very courteous and professional. I will return to them for future needs.

Srinivasaraghava S. 
Rating:
5.0

Best location I ever used to rent a Uhaul!

Michael S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MEGAN R. 
Rating:
5.0

Great. - easy, convenient, good price. Zero complaints and literally no suggestions for improvements

CHET M. 
Rating:
5.0

Equipment was clean but had very strong cigar smoke odor. Plates said Arizona so not surprised. I only needed the truck for a day so I could deal with it but longer would have untolerable.

Angelo B. 
Rating:
4.0

The 10 foot truck I rented had brakes that need servicing. Consistently jerked to a stop.

MARK D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Annette H. 
Rating:
5.0

Great location. Great experience. Thank you for providing the solution!

ANDREW C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeffrey S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Vincent D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SCOTT R. 
Rating:
5.0

THE nicest employees ever! Such a pleasure to rent from! Very knowledgeable too!! A++

Andrea T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steven G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

AORAYA F. 
Rating:
5.0

nothing

MICHAEL Kalish S I. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bari S. 
Rating:
5.0

Valet parking?

Jack T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer service at Craftwood is always excellent. Super easy/intuitive pick up and drop off. Clean equipment. Had a great experience! Will definitely come here again for future U-Haul needs!

Micah S. 
Rating:
5.0

friendly service and easy pick and drop off. will use again

Gary P. 
Rating:
5.0

My only comment is that the inside of the van smelled like a petting zoo! Looked clean but pretty stinky. Not sure what could've been done and no idea what people have moved with that van in the past!

meredith F. 
Rating:
5.0

Truck ran and drove fine, but the inside smelled like bad body oder and cigarette smoke. Not a pleasant smell when driving for a long period of time

Peter G. 
Rating:
5.0

Very easy

Laura A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brenda J. 
Rating:
5.0

No issues were encountered,

Jay G. 
Rating:
5.0

The pick up truck operated very, very well and did the job. It also smelled of cigarette smoke, a great deal.

Michael B. 
Rating:
5.0

Your mobile pick up app did not work as expected. Luckily store was open and checked out inside.

Elizabeth M. 
Rating:
5.0

Always friendly services at Craftwood. Will be back!

Robin W. 
Rating:
5.0

Terrific U-Hual dealer. They went the extra. mile for me!

JACK T. 
Rating:
5.0

in app rental experience was terrible. it literally took 45 minutes. Please hire someone other than a junior high student to program your system.

Jeffrey G. 
Rating:
5.0

Craft wood service was excellent!

Stephanie B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ADAM L. 
Rating:
5.0

It could not have been easier. I will definitely use this location again if I need a rental.

Julie H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rahman W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Javier C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brian M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GREGG R. 
Rating:
1.0

I was very disappointed today. Even though I completed the self check-in on my phone, I had to wait over an hour. The staff said, U-haul internet was dead and he keep saying "can't dispatch." I was very embarrassed, and in the end I had to wait close to an hour. Therefore, the moving time was also delayed, so people who are scheduled for moving had to wait for me as well. It was tough day.

Joohyun K. 
Rating:
5.0

Got lucky - much better cargo van than what I got in the past. George is very efficient.

Ilya T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kathleen A. 
Rating:
5.0

The cabin of the van was disgusting and unclean. the was a horrible smell of body odor that permeate the cabin. I could not turn around with the van because I had a specific time to be at the destination. My clothing needed to be cleaned, and I had to drive with the windows down just to tolerate the horrible aroma in the cabin. I took lysol wipes and wiped down the steering wheel etc. I am requesting a full refund. Please respond or call to discuss 312-730-7292

SCOTT R. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Al Z. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

jeanette B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Elias G. 
Rating:
4.0

Better gasoline consumption vehicles. I drove 70 miles approximately. And that was 7.5 gallons of gasoline. That's the equivalent of driving my vehicle to downtown Chicago back and forth for a whole week.

Abel A. 
Rating:
5.0

This was a nice surprise - the best U-Haul experience I've had in 30 years of using U-Haul.

Eric G. 
Rating:
5.0

No suggestions, very nice web site for reservations and issue free process for pick up and returns.

Jonathan S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Andrew W. 
Rating:
5.0

Nice people. Very professional. Thanx

dave B. 
Rating:
5.0

We can always depend on Craftwood for dependable and seamless Uhaul rental, they are great.

ALYSA S. 
Rating:
5.0

The checkout counter knew exactly what they were doing, very expedient & helpful in arranging. Pricing came in exactly as quoted...aka; no surprises! Will be back for sure.

phillip B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Levi M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Philip B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jerry A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bill P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David Z. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Adrian T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark G. 
Rating:
5.0

The truck was very old. Not even USB, let alone Bluetooth. Insist on a newer truck!

Ilya T. 
Rating:
5.0

The truck is in terrible condition, Tires are more than 6 years old, dry rotted. front brake rotors warped, pedal pulsation under braking. vehicle thrust angle is more than 5 degrees. it's a death trap.

Seth G. 
Rating:
5.0

great service!!

MICHAEL Kalish S I. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James F. 
Rating:
5.0

Their Staff is great

Ed K. 
Rating:
4.0

The van had personal items and garbage from the previous renter. It was disappointing.

Willa L. 
Rating:
4.0

I received the truck with less than a full tank (although on receiving the keys was told it was full). I was told by Craftwood staff an adjustment would be made. I returned the truck with a full tank but did NOT get any credit for the gas difference. I should note I returned it off hours using the phone app, but on cjeckoutr I noted in the app the discrepancy when I picked it up as well as the staff telling me he would make the note.

JEFF K. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RHONNA C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Howard D. 
Rating:
5.0

Fast and easy

DOUGLAS M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KEITH H. 
Rating:
5.0

They were very nice and helpful, only issue was they offered not to charge for the appliance dolly, since we didn't use it and forgot to issue that $10 credit

LaHanda E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

William L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROBERT P. 
Rating:
5.0

Amazing customer service and follow up questions all addressed professionally Vehicle clean tidy Lo mileage , a dream come true!! Plus pricing is stupendously reasonable F Penske, Uhaul forever, Craftwood till Armageddon! Shabbat shalom

LARRY G. 
Rating:
5.0

You are doing extremely well

LOUIS S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Agajan I. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ARIEL L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kaitlin M. 
Rating:
5.0

The truck was fairly clean. The truck rode very HARD. There was a slippage in the transmission. The truck had over 105,000 miles

Michael S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DONALD P. 
Rating:
5.0

Vehicle has a tendency to want to fishtail. Makes for a nervous ride in the rain with semis around. Don't know if that is the nature of the vehicle or if there is an issue with the back tires.

Steven C. 
Rating:
3.0

I put $7 gas in yet was charged for gas, please review and reverse the charge, thank you

Rodney P. 
Rating:
5.0

None fast service in person and on the phone. I would use them again.

ERENSTO F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Julie S. 
Rating:
5.0

You are very professional. Keep up the good work. Thank You

Louis S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Drew M. 
Rating:
5.0

I was very impressed at how easy it was to rent the truck and handle our move. Very knowledgeable personnel helped us to get familiar with the vehicle

BARBARA V. 
Rating:
2.0

Operator had issues finishing checkout. Mileage on contract differed from mileage in truck. They gave us less furniture blankets then we were supposed to have and called us after they didn't get back enough. Thankfully, they checked the video to verify we were right.

Dave N. 
Rating:
2.0

The online check-in process was incredibly time consuming, took >20 mins from start to finish and I didn't realize I had to go inside anyways (would've just gone in from the beginning)

Daniel G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Emil W. 
Rating:
5.0

The staff was awesome. I would absolutely rent from this location again. The uhaul app/self check in didn't work for us and it was pretty frustrating.

Ronald P. 
Rating:
5.0

Overall far surpassed all of my expectations. The vehicle was clean, easy to operate, and drove very well. Pickup at the counter was a breeze, as was the return process. My only recommendation is to clean off ice from windows and windshield before rental pickup time.

Gary S. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

Back
To Top