Customer Reviews for Island Self Storage
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

201 reviews

990 Shearme Rd   Coombs, BC V0R1M0

(250) 248-4165

Location Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 9 am - 5 pm
  • Sun: 10 am - 4 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 11/11/2021: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • 12/24/2021: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021 - 12/26/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
  • 1/1/2022: Closed

Show All Hours

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(250) 248-4165

990 Shearme Rd
Coombs, BC V0R1M0

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 9 am - 5 pm
  • Sun: 10 am - 4 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 11/11/2021: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • 12/24/2021: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021 - 12/26/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
  • 1/1/2022: Closed

Show All Hours

  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Drop-off was quick and easy with a smile on top. I will probably be renting other U-Haul equipment in the near future and look forward to dealing with this location again!!

Matthew N. 
Rating:
5.0

not a thing...excellent service...

ROBERT O. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was quick and easy!

Kassondra S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

HENRY H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brett R. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mary E. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing required to improve this site & experience. This hardworking, polite couple are amazing, kind, efficient and welcoming. 5 Star Experience

TINA J. 
Rating:
5.0

We had a great drop off experience with friendly staff. The business location was clean, well-kept, and updated.

melissa L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Terri A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

PAUL B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KENNETH H. 
Rating:
5.0

Change nothing. This is the best location I've ever used with very friendly and accommodating staff.

JENEN D. 
Rating:
4.0

When I picked up the truck in Merritt the tank was below 3/4 of a tank of fuel when I returned the truck it close to same amount of fuel as to when I picked it up but was charged to fill it to full and also the rental on the truck was very expensive

Timothy S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Donald L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

NATALIE F. 
Rating:
4.0

Your mileage rates are very high. At a rental fee of $29.95/day for a 15' truck, paying and extra $64 for 50 miles of driving is a bit excessive in my books. One shouldn't have to pay well over $100 for a few hours' truck rental - your formula makes it obvious where you make your money! As good as your service and equipment was, I WILL shop around more carefully next time for a better rate.

VITO F. 
Rating:
2.0

Make the sizes of trucks more available

MARK S. 
Rating:
5.0

First rate service!!!

ALAN H. 
Rating:
3.0

Provide vehicles where selected, not changing to a location 45 min away last minute. Caused more time and gas money to drive all that way and back when I had planned to drive 10 minutes. Also, I only knew that my truck was not available at the time I requested because I looked it up and called, when the attendant should have reached out to me to tell me it hadn't been returned on time. She only called the missing patron after I had checked in.

Liv B. 
Rating:
5.0

I was unable to book the moving truck in Courtenay so had to travel to Coombs to pick it up... I found they were more than accomodating...

gilda B. 
Rating:
5.0

The only thing that I don't like is that we don't get trucks fully filled up with gas And trying to gauge how much to put in and even though in the past I have put in the right amount I was billed 30 dollars extra. If you give the truck full you get it back full and both parties are satisfied This is a big one foe me and I feel that u haul always makes extra money on the extra gas that clients end up filling

MEJ-BIEN S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LARA Z. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARTIN T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRIAN L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROSS M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Margo M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christopher B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brett R. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing.

ROBERT H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Philip K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

IAN C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BENTLEY O. 
Rating:
5.0

Kinda hard to get through on the phone...

ROBERT H. 
Rating:
5.0

Clean the interior of the cab. The exterior was also covered in insects.

Jeffrey C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

IAN C. 
Rating:
5.0

Costumer service was great! Island self storage at 990 Shearme Rd, will be a place I definitely be recommending my friend to go to, very friendly, helpful, considerate team! Thank you all for all your help. Honest people!

GENE A. 
Rating:
5.0

Truck was clean and loaded with requested dolly and furniture pads. Friendly, knowledgeable staff.

TERESA M. 
Rating:
5.0

The people where friendly . Equipment was in great condition The location I used was very friendly. My observation was the location was spotless and the office was extremely clean Everything went well and made my move significantly easier.

BERNARD C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ADAM M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jason G. 
Rating:
5.0

Quick, helpful, and straight forward! Makes moving that little bit easier.

NICHOLAS F. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Raymond S. 
Rating:
5.0

Hang on very tight to the couple at the Coombs location, they were awesome and deserve every cent you pay them.

PATRICIA H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

THOMAS C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rebecca F. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing

RICHARD M. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent service

AKAPITA H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KAREN S. 
Rating:
5.0

excellent service, the people who attend the business are very friendly. highly recommended

AGUSTIN I. 
Rating:
5.0

We ordered 2 trucks and only one showed up. Change your policy for when trucks come back late. Uhaul completely screwed us on our move.

Frank L. 
Rating:
5.0

Hmmm....can't think of anything. Always great service!

SHELDON L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DARIUSZ G. 
Rating:
3.0

Different pick up then arranged caused some confusion- self check in was useless

Jesse W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RACHEL L. 
Rating:
5.0

The employees at usual in Coombs were lovely, kind and so great to work with. Will always go to this location now for all my uhaul needs!

ANDREA S. 
Rating:
4.0

Very good service. Friendly and professional

RICHARD G. 
Rating:
5.0

The best service I've had in a long time

JADE P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAKE L. 
Rating:
5.0

Rented a 10' truck. Was an absolute pig on fuel. DRIVING IN TOWN GOT ABOUT 12 MILES /GALLON. Only drove about 30 miles-$15 for fuel.

IAIN B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark A. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service in a timely manner.

GREGORY S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KENNETH S. 
Rating:
5.0

Nice friendly place great service.

James S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert V. 
Rating:
5.0

Husband and wife team were excellent

Doug F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARCEL L. 
Rating:
5.0

staff very helpful and great to deal with ! All very good !!!

SCOTT O. 
Rating:
5.0

Very helpful, curteous. Couldnt ask for better!

Sean M. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly and professional service! Quick hookup and drop off too. Beautiful, clean location.

Carl Martin B. 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly service

GRAHAM M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Teo B. 
Rating:
1.0

We would absolutely never ever recommend Uhaul to anyone at anytime. We reserved a 6X12 trailer on Vancouver Island but found out the day before we were to leave the island as we were moving back to Alberta the trailer was no longer available and we would have to accept a Uhaul truck. We had 2 cars on the island so had to get someone to drive our car back at our expense and pay their return flight to the tune of $525. The truck was more money and the ferry cost for that truck was $250, considerably more than the trailer was which we had already booked and had to cancel. When we went to get the truck on Friday April 30th the day we had to be out of our home, Miles D Automotive said we needed a 4 digit code for the lock box which nobody at Uhaul bothered to tell us that so were unable to get a truck at that location. We went to another Uhaul dealer on Shearme Road and they only had a 26 foot truck available so we took it at another considerable cost to us, I believe it was quoted at $1,007. All in all it was a horrible experience never to be repeated with Uhaul. You have a very poorly run organization, the service is abysmal and the fault all lies with Uhaul. The people at Shearme Rd were helpful and did the best they could for us at the time. It is unfortunate for them they have to share the incompetence of the entire Uhaul corporation and therefore are tainted by that organizations image.

Cliff L. 
Rating:
3.0

Pick up location was changed at last minute adding time and expense to our trip.

Christopher W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRIAN B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRIAN T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

IAN K. 
Rating:
5.0

I was blindsided to learn that I was UNABLE to take my rented truck unless I PAID the debt of a Driver I put on the rental. The info was in the system long before I arrived. This is an illegal practice. Uhaul holding a Move hostage knowing that plans can't change in an hour. Pathetic on UHAUL policy. I expect every penny back. They also charged me USD$'s on the debt of said driver. Sneaky and greasy of them. Location itself is fine. but UHAUL has weak ethics

KEVIN W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RICHARD J. 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly and knowledgeable staff, truck was ready for me when i arrived. absolutely excellent service. Thanks again

Ken H. 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly, knowledgable staff, clean equipment.

HOVARD H. 
Rating:
4.0

The geo coding is off for uhaul self directed. I had to drive a little bit past the uhaul location for the app to work. The van stunk like febreeze or liceall. Odd the whole phone call a friend thing. Odd that the van was not full of gas. The van was great. Worked fantastic. Thank you.

Ryan M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

kenneth H. 
Rating:
3.0

Perhaps a better safety inspection. Was not the cleanest either. Stains and such. Like I said, it got the job done

ERIC T. 
Rating:
5.0

Great people at this location.

GRAHAM R. 
Rating:
5.0

All good

Ian B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Garry F. 
Rating:
5.0

Very nice people to deal with.

Christopher L. 
Rating:
5.0

Great staff. Very helpful.

MARGO M. 
Rating:
5.0

Pick up process was quick and easy!

TRISTAN W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rodrigo S. 
Rating:
5.0

They were amazing! Extremely apologetic for experience and very kind. They were also quite upset that pick location sent them such a terrible vehicle. If it weren't for these fine people I would be on the phone right now demanding a refund

james H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Matthias N. 
Rating:
4.0

If your going to be late from dropping off the truck, be courteous to let them know right away. They'll look after you! Thank you, Island Self Storage.

Marie W. 
Rating:
4.0

Very quick pick up and a friendly, efficient customer rep. The vehicle was clean and as expected. All the Good boxes got ticked for this rental.

FRANK H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SHELDON L. 
Rating:
5.0

I've reserved equipment at other uhaul dealers and found it unavailable upon pickup. They said the reservations were just suggestion. (langford). This location was awsome. The equipment was able to be reserved; even with a mix up due to address changes on my credit card causing minor issues. The equipment was available, ready, and they were very friendly and seemed to appreciate our business even helping hook up the trailer and un couple it at the end of the day (which was pushing their closing time.

JOSEPH D. 
Rating:
5.0

The app check in did not work for this location. Luckily the operators opened 2 hours early and let me rent the truck earlier

BRIAN Y. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MYA D. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top