Customer Reviews for McBrides Automotive & Mini Storage
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

211 reviews

1804 W Academy St   Madison, NC 27025

(336) 916-2039

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8 am - 5 pm
  • Sat-Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 5/20/2022: Closed
  • 5/30/2022: Closed
  • 6/13/2022 - 6/17/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(336) 916-2039

1804 W Academy St
Madison, NC 27025

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8 am - 5 pm
  • Sat-Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 5/20/2022: Closed
  • 5/30/2022: Closed
  • 6/13/2022 - 6/17/2022: Closed
  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
2.0

Owner was not particularly helpful unless he was going to collect an additional fee.

Brian M. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMES H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

brooklyn C. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent transaction— nice folks. Great location too. Highly recommend

LANE P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Virginia J. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MICHAEL H. 
Rating:
4.0

Great customer service. Clean trailer. Quick drop-off too.

LANE P. 
Rating:
1.0

We showed up to an empty location with no one to help and no code emailed to us. No one answered our calls. We had flown in from two different states to make this move and asked for a Durham pick up friday night. Instead we were changed to Greensboro at 10:30 am and, after driving an hour to Greensboro, were told that no truck was available. Then Uhaul sent us to Madison and no one in sight and no help available.

Pablo M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DALE D. 
Rating:
5.0

The self check in was nice but not perfect. Still ended up callling because there was payment info lacking. Should not have been able to advance to next one until complete.

Rory R. 
Rating:
3.0

the only items I dis agree with are charging 1.09 per mile; the government doesn't even reimburse at that high of a rate for mileage.

Kami K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kenneth B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Katrina G. 
Rating:
3.0

I tried to rent a truck in Reidsville, NC but 1 wasn't available so I rented in Madison, NC just a few miles away. As a result, this put me 30 miles over my allotted mileage. I literally drove to Reidsville and loaded up my belongings and dropped off everything in Charlotte and drove the truck to the dropoff location. Between rental and gas, I was charged $235 and had another $14 in overage fees. I will never use U-Haul again. This was a ripoff in my opinion.

Joseph M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

walter S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

gwendolyn T. 
Rating:
4.0

The enclosed trailer was clean but my sofa, recliners, and other furniture got soaked ... trailer leaks bigtime!

MARK T. 
Rating:
1.0

The owner is extremely rude and condescending. He even hung up on me and wouldn't answer the phone when I called back.

Briana B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kim H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DARRENCLARK D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

patrisha H. 
Rating:
3.0

Explain everything before you sign the contract No after

Jose P. 
Rating:
5.0

We could not have asked for a better experience. The truck was clean and ran super well.

Kim L. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything went great!

WESLEY M. 
Rating:
5.0

Guy was real nice and super helpful.. thank yoy..

Miguel M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jacob F. 
Rating:
3.0

Truck was old and not roadworthy. Steering and front end very loose. Any speed over 60 would create heavy wobble and wondering all over the road. Extremely difficult to control steering during wind gusts. Drivers seat bottom was torn and wind noise in the cab was deafening. This truck should be retired ASAP before someone gets hurt.

Didier P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

William H. 
Rating:
5.0

Barry does a great job whether it's working on your vehicles or renting you U-Haul equipment. He was especially careful this time because it was my first experience with Moble Check-In and Pickup. He sent me links to videos which explained and showed me how the process works.

Robert R. 
Rating:
5.0

Mr. McBride was extremely helpful and cordial. He explained everything in just a few minutes. He got me on the reserve status in no time. I even needed to extend my rental by one day and he made that happen with no hassle what so ever! He got me hooked up and in hooked me when I returned the trailer. I could not ask for better service nor a better experience anywhere. I will be back again if I need another trailer or truck to rent. I would recommend this U-Haul location and especially Mr. McBride the manager/owner to everyone!!

clay C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Benny R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

VAN H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tyler G. 
Rating:
4.0

Repair truck or junk it before someone get seriously injured or killed!!!

WILBERT T. 
Rating:
4.0

Why was I changed a cleaning fee. I personally swept out the inside of the trailer and used my leaf blower and it was also blown out inside..surely your not changing me for the rain outside of the day of rental..I can not help that mother nature had rain in the forecast. I am not very pleased by the additional $16.00 change on my bill.

Allen M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steven M. 
Rating:
5.0

I wouldn't change anything

Michael D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dana N. 
Rating:
5.0

self-checkin process was complicated and took way longer than I expected. customer doing the pickup should get a price break for doing the work of agent, but nice feature to be able to pickup if location does not have business hours on pickup date

Anthony M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

WADE D. 
Rating:
5.0

Simply the best!

Timothy N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

tony R. 
Rating:
1.0

My husband went to pick up the truck and first, the website wouldn't work. There was no option to "pickup truck". He sat there for 30 minutes trying to get it to work. He finally had to call Uhaul. The place we rented the truck from had the truck blocked in and the business was closed. Uhaul had to give him access to the only truck he could get to. Somehow renting the truck $29.95 and driving 38 miles once back and forth to the dump, ended up costing $129. This was a waste of money and a very frustrating experience. I do not believe we will be renting again. I never write bad reviews so the fact that I am taking the time to write this, speaks volumes.

Brooks B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Amber B. 
Rating:
2.0

Your off hours process needs some work. You should tell the customer it can take a couple of hours to complete the process or allow most of the steps to be done ahead of time. I had a crew of people at the house and they were waiting for two hours before I arrived with a truck.

Andrew H. 
Rating:
5.0

All is good. No issues

TIMOTHY N. 
Rating:
5.0

Very professional and efficient

Vencint J. 
Rating:
5.0

Great location for U-Haul rentals. Barry is a great guy to work with and he'll help you anyway he can.

Robert R. 
Rating:
5.0

This is the best place to get a rental!

Todd D. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service.

JULIA T. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing, everything was good

Timothy R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steven G. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSEPH L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

duane R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Matthew A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Morgan B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert I. 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Natalie M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Venkat Kumar S. 
Rating:
5.0

Barry McBride was awesome to work with us! Will highly recommend this location to family and friends. McBride's was very accommodating.

wayne W. 
Rating:
5.0

The rental went well. I picked the equipment up after hours which went well. The truck smelled like cigarette smoke, I would have left a comment during the checkout process but there wasn't any option to leave a comment during checkout. I think this is a very important option which should be added to communicate additional information.

Dustan M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robin H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

james F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Charles G. 
Rating:
5.0

I will not recommend uhaul to anyone again. The self check in you implemented is not custom friendly. Just another way for you to increase revenue and decrease the need for employees. Shouldnt a custom get $20 off the rental fee if the customer has to check the rental back in???

Jeffrey H. 
Rating:
5.0

Barry, the owner was very pleasant and helpful. Eager to help and professional.

BUTCH K. 
Rating:
2.0

The person at this site is cold and unfamiliar with good customer service . He was by accommodating and I will never rent from this cote again

PEARL J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mike S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Cathy S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kyle C. 
Rating:
5.0

My experience was great.

Phili D. 
Rating:
5.0

Stop this uploading of photos of driver's license and truck return. Some of us have phones that do not have wireless service or phones that just don't work for photos.

Tommy B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Barry W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Greg C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

April K. 
Rating:
1.0

I did not receive the equipment I requested but I am still being charged for that equipment - an appliance dolly. Because I did not get the equipment I requested I was unable to complete the job I had to do. The truck was fine, the after hours pick-up process seemed to work OK with the exception of not getting the appliance dolly I had also asked for.

Dustan M. 
Rating:
1.0

a lot! would never use this company again. I don't usually review but this was bad! bad company, not worth it, never again

Imran A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Susan H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dakota T. 
Rating:
4.0

Used 24/7, so I didn't have any personal interaction, but the location was easy to find.

Vernon B. 
Rating:
5.0

The representative at this location was very thorough and personable, making the rental transaction a very pleasurable experience. I would highly recommend this location for anyone's rental needs. 5 Star.

RICHARD M. 
Rating:
4.0

All good man

Zach W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Stewart R. 
Rating:
5.0

Great location easy access an great personal.

chriss P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steve Y. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

VIRGINA B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SUSANNE S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dale T. 
Rating:
5.0

EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT, AND EXACTLY AS PROMISED....

RANDY C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMES W. 
Rating:
5.0

Barry McBride was very professional & helpful in that he made sure we had the right size truck as well as accessories I probably would have forgotten under the stress of moving.check in & out process was quick & easy.

ANDY F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DAWN T. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CLARENCE G. 
Rating:
1.0

Extremely rude owner. I will never do business of any sort with this guy. He is extremely lucky he made the correct decision to refund me the money he owed me. I have never dealt with such an arrogant individual who does not have the common sense to not tell a 20 year combat vet Marine to be a man.

JARMAN T. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Heather H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Harry B. 
Rating:
5.0

ok

DWIGHT D. 
Rating:
5.0

Great customer service

Wilson S. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top