Customer Reviews for South Bay Auto Repair
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

172 reviews

1120 Aviation Bl   Hermosa Beach, CA 90254

(310) 421-2597

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
  • Sat: 8:30 am - 3 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 5/8/2021 - 5/9/2021: Closed
  • 5/15/2021 - 5/22/2021: Closed
  • 6/12/2021 - 6/13/2021: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(310) 421-2597

1120 Aviation Bl
Hermosa Beach, CA 90254

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
  • Sat: 8:30 am - 3 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 5/8/2021 - 5/9/2021: Closed
  • 5/15/2021 - 5/22/2021: Closed
  • 6/12/2021 - 6/13/2021: Closed
  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour customer return
  • habla español

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

EDGARDO M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRIAN F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JERONIMO G. 
Rating:
5.0

Thank you for a very quickly in and out !

LADISLAV B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

William C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DEAN M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LILY B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARK W. 
Rating:
5.0

Great customer service!!

KAREN S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nyri Y. 
Rating:
1.0

I would never recommend this place to anyone. The employees were extremely rude and disrespectful. Due to my experience here, I will never use a uhaul again. It was not worth the hassle that I was given by the employees. I've never experienced such poor customer service. I was being blamed and accused of basically stealing the uhaul, when they did not even know the facts. Instead of checking the details before calling me, they just called me and told me I will be paying. They did not listen and belittled me because I didn't know the truck number. I asked where I could find that number and he wouldn't tell me where to find it, just that it's my fault I don't know it. The manager was just as rude and I've never been disrespected by a business like this before. It was completely unacceptable to speak to a customer in that manner, especially since it was not my fault that the facility gave me the wrong truck. They should have realized this error before yelling at me and charging my card with fees that I should have never received. Do not ever use this location and make sure to take pictures of everything to prove what truck and equipment you have.

CLIFFORD K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JERONIMO G. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gary B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BLAINE K. 
Rating:
4.0

I was there in the dark, location looked a little scary, but then I don't know the neighborhood yet!

Carolyn C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Damien L. 
Rating:
5.0

Every thing worked well and the entire process was easy.

Michael P. 
Rating:
3.0

Truck wasn't cleaned or sanitized. I found out that the truck had just gotten to the location about an hour before I received it. No problem with the service I received, Eric was helpful and quick.

ALEJANDRO P. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything went smooth and the employees were very helpful.

David G. 
Rating:
3.0

The ios/web app failed and we had to try from 3 different phones. YUCK

Jessica Y. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

tony L. 
Rating:
5.0

Best U-Haul rental place on planet earth

zachary T. 
Rating:
3.0

Tight parking spot area not easy to get into.

Shawn J. 
Rating:
3.0

The drop off location is an unattended parking lot so there is no one to help with questions. The U-Haul website would not recognize my location and the camera function didn't work to take a picture of the mileage and fuel. I had to troubleshoot and download the U-Haul app for both of these aspects to work. This took 30 minutes. Not ideal.

Ian C. 
Rating:
4.0

Friendly staff. I like going there. However they can clean the windshield and side mirrors more often.

NAUMAN M. 
Rating:
3.0

The check engine light was on and they weren't worried about it

COURTNEY S. 
Rating:
5.0

SB auto repair is a great location. 24/7 key drop off and they seem to have enough space for trucks so it was very convenient and close by. Will use it again for sure.

Ensar G. 
Rating:
4.0

Great family run business I would use them consistently! Tess is adorable and very knowledgeable!

TRACY G. 
Rating:
2.0

Clean the Uhaul truck in accordance to Uhaul and CDC guidelines, the truck was extremely unsatisfactory. Especially during this unprecedented time, we had to spend more of our own money on top of what we payed for the uhaul to insure our own safety. This was simply a very bad experience!

DURALD M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael S. 
Rating:
3.0

The app "Take Photo" button for mileage appears to be broken--when we tried to press it, the area around the button and explanatory text lit up as though all of it were clicked, and nothing happened. We tried going through the dialog again with the same result. Very frustrating! We write software professionally, so I'm pretty sure we weren't doing something dumb. Eventually, we were sort-of assured by the employee that we could take the van anyway.

Andrew E. 
Rating:
5.0

All good.

BARRET P. 
Rating:
5.0

Fast, fair, friendly service.

JAMES H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Luis E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

uriel V. 
Rating:
5.0

Thanks so much! The van saved the day!

TRACY E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jackson S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Matthew D. 
Rating:
3.0

There was still food from previous renter on the floor of the cab, and the windshield was not cleaned (and the wipers either were in need of being replaced or by design just don't work well)

Patrick L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joey F. 
Rating:
5.0

Would definitely use again for my next move. Thanks! 😊

mardith C. 
Rating:
1.0

The owner eric did not prepare the truck nighy before pickup. I called uhaul the evening prior to pickup and confirmed all details to pick up vehicle at 7am. Uhaul made no mention to call the auto place to confirm, i did this all thru uhaul. I arrived their with my pregnant wife to find the uhaul app saying we have to wait for 830 for auto repair to open. My wife sat for 1hr with morning sickness as I tried to call uhaul. Neither i or uhaul could contact Eric. We then went back to assist our prepaid movers at 8am and came back to southbay auto around 20min later. We then had to wait another 30min for him to prepare the truck and the contract (yes he deleted the contract and made a new one). I made him aware of my wife which didn't seem to matter I expect a full refund on the uhaul truck and accessories. And a refund for the 2 hour moving help (not from them, the movers were great, uhaul needs to pay this as we had to add another two hours for the movers because of the delays)

RYAN B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KATHERINE C. 
Rating:
5.0

Quick and smooth drop off

Christopher S. 
Rating:
4.0

Its a tight location - but the owners are friendly & helpful and turn the vehicles for you. No problems!

Alan M. 
Rating:
2.0

There was a used condom in the back of the van.

Emmanuel S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DENNIS P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

HARRISON K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lisa C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Hayley A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Donna C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Adam D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Julianne B. 
Rating:
5.0

Very fast drop off

CHRISTOPHER Y. 
Rating:
5.0

The representative was awesome. He accommodated us when I-haul cancelled our reservation. He made is smooth and easy.

tiffany S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Prateek K. 
Rating:
1.0

No masks, horrible service, asked for 2 boxes, he said I didn't when I checked out, he charged me for insurance when we talked about me not wanting it, doesn't pay attention. Horrible location, I felt unsafe. I wiped down the entire truck You asked

Anthony A. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Andrew F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

EMMA W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer service guy was super helpful, whole process was quick and easy. Perfect

Matt D. 
Rating:
2.0

Shop was extremely unprofessional. Kept making excuses for someone to bring the truck around. The same guy that brought it around in the end had the key in his pocket at the computer helping out other customers while other workers walked around aimlessly. Cluster in the dashboard did not light up, extreme safety hazard driving at night. Brought it back at 2:05 and owner somehow put returned at 5pm. Vehicle was ABSOLUTELY not sanitized, owner was not wearing a mask. Had to spend extra time cleaning myself.

PAUL M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Andrew B. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent experience, great service, definitely recommend!!

ronna H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ashley G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KAI J. 
Rating:
4.0

Distance from home

BRENDA D. 
Rating:
5.0

Eric and his team are great.

NISHITH B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

AKIHIKO E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

FERDINAND D. 
Rating:
2.0

Nothing, it was easy!

carol C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christopher C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kathryn B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GREGORY B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JEFFREY G. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOHN H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

bryan M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Matthieu G. 
Rating:
5.0

ErIc made it a very good experience.

robert R. 
Rating:
5.0

Eric was friendly and professional

lynette T. 
Rating:
1.0

I had the truck for less than 3 hours and drove a total of 8 miles They charged me $52 for gas - $30 for a "Fuel Fill-Up Service Fee" and $22.52 for 5.3 gallons of gas. I will call tomorrow during business hours.

JAMES H. 
Rating:
2.0

Disorganized, truck was not that clean, had 140000 miles on it and steering was so loose.

Eric B. 
Rating:
3.0

There was no organization/direction.

Manon N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Conor D. 
Rating:
5.0

Great owner. He is super friendly and helpful. Great guy.

Christian S. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing

katie N. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kimberly C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Roy G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Leopoldus V. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Terry C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rosalinda G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christopher W. 
Rating:
5.0

Owner. Erick is wonderful. Very kind and I was very happy.

Keiko F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Katherine C. 
Rating:
5.0

The people that work at this location are fantastic. They're friendly and knowledgle. They're well located. I will definitely rent from then again.

Alfredo M. 
Rating:
5.0

Super helpful and was an easy process to collect/return.

Donal L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sky H. 
Rating:
5.0

It was all great!

Patricia O. 
Rating:
3.0

This dealer is very lazy, the truck was dirty on the outside and there was no windshield fluid in the windshield wiper reservoir so I could not clean the windows very unsafe. Also the truck had barely 1/4 of a tank so I had to fill up two times just to use the truck, should've had more gas.

Kelly E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

chris R. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Toni D. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top