Customer Reviews for South Bay Auto Repair
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

258 reviews

1120 Aviation Bl   Hermosa Beach, CA 90254

(310) 421-2597

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
  • Sat: 8:30 am - 3 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 5/27/2022 - 5/31/2022: Closed
  • 6/3/2022 - 6/5/2022: Closed
  • 7/1/2022 - 7/4/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(310) 421-2597

1120 Aviation Bl
Hermosa Beach, CA 90254

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8:30 am - 5:30 pm
  • Sat: 8:30 am - 3 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 5/27/2022 - 5/31/2022: Closed
  • 6/3/2022 - 6/5/2022: Closed
  • 7/1/2022 - 7/4/2022: Closed
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
2.0

Never got my receipt for the truck

Evan W. 
Rating:
5.0

If I need a Uhaul I will go there again!

Amber W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Chad W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSH H. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

scott T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

angus M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Todd T. 
Rating:
2.0

Staff not friendly

Rodolfo V. 
Rating:
2.0

This location on Aviation in Hermosa Beach is an auto repair shop as it's main business, and from the attitude of the guy at the desk it's pretty evident that Uhaul is secondary. Thought I was supposed to get some moving blankets with the truck rental but he didn't put any in there. The truck itself was a pretty rough runner, and cleaning the windshield would have been nice too. Hopefully not moving again for a while, but will go with Penske or someone else next time.

john T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

steve G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Blake H. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything went as expected. Very satisfied.

William O. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jason M. 
Rating:
3.0

Your mobile website for 24/7 pickup is dog shot

Peter S. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service

BEN M. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service

BEN M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

PETER S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

EDWARD M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gregg M. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KESAVA C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

AARON B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DAWN B. 
Rating:
3.0

Truck was in decent condition, worn but clean, and seemed safe to drive. Rental location was shabby and grimy (and I have been to many auto shops and know what a well-kept one is like) and owner/manager was surly and impolite. Driveway is at an awkward angle leading to a busy street, so novice drivers might find entry and exit challenging. Price was good and equipment worked, so if you are cost conscious and don't mind a grouchy owner and dilapidated location this may be OK for you.

Harry F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael A. 
Rating:
5.0

Eric was great and very helpful, professional and nice

SCOTT D. 
Rating:
1.0

Charged us an extra rate that was not disclosed and truck was given to us in poor condition. Trash in the front and messy back.

Ryan P. 
Rating:
5.0

Very helpful people

CAM M. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was perfect :)

NINA G. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

FRANCES M. 
Rating:
4.0

Uhaul door lock for the rear roll up door would not close. I had to use my own lock.

MARC P. 
Rating:
1.0

Horrible experience all around. Truck was nasty and the guy running the place had no clue what was going on. Very poor experience.

James B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Scott B. 
Rating:
5.0

The owner helped me out with the reserving and checking out process and made it a breeze

KIMBERLY S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ADAMZACHARY G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BIRNEY J. 
Rating:
5.0

Eric is extremely helpful and worked with us for our rental needs to the fullest, the van was clean and he made the whole process super simple and will use his facility every time we can! Thanks Eric for all you do!

Tobey H. 
Rating:
5.0

very easy, pleasant and convienant.

LAURENCE V. 
Rating:
5.0

The location was very close to my home and the folks at the location made it very easy to pick up and return the van.

Kenneth S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KERRY S. 
Rating:
5.0

Only problem is parking at this location was limited. Park across the street is very easy.

LLOYD N. 
Rating:
5.0

The person who checked me in (sorry, don't know his name), was helpful, funny, expedient. They were ready for me when I got there, including all the stuff I had ordered, it was already in the back of the truck (that has NEVER happened for me) and he just told me to get in the car and go. The drop off was a breeze even tho they weren't there. They made everything easy and fun and they were proactive and helpful. Will DEF go to them the next time I need to rent!

Kari N. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was great and very Happy with the Truck.

KENNETH S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JONATHAN N. 
Rating:
5.0

Solid service and well organized

MICHAEL O. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Charles D. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROBERT P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kesa T. 
Rating:
5.0

The van had a great ride and was very clean. I had many fragile items and my cargo did not bounce around at all. The manager that helped me was efficient and got me rolling in no time. Will definitely come back next time I need a rental!

GRANT S. 
Rating:
5.0

Keep on doing!

Rupert P. 
Rating:
3.0

It was a very simple check in and check out.

Kelly B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

WENDY S. 
Rating:
5.0

great experience,! I was able to get the keys to my rental quickly. this was my second time renting a moving vehicle with u-haul in the last 2 weeks. very efficient!

Aubrey W. 
Rating:
5.0

I was not able to pick up my van because I came after my pickup time (30 mins). It did not say anything about that on the website or in the email. I then spent 30 minutes on hold to get someone to fix it. Tiffany was great when I called. But you could improve the process to allow for pickup after the start time. Thank you. The interior needed to be cleaned and there were a lot of scratches on the truck. But it worked just fine. Thank you. I will be back again.

Darren S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lora G. 
Rating:
5.0

I am so pleased we met a deadline got to Scottsdale Arizona and had kick ass teamwork! I am so greatful.

JOAQUIN R. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ADRIAN L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BLAINE L. 
Rating:
5.0

Great customer service

MARY S. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy fast excellent service

RICHARD C. 
Rating:
1.0

One of the headlights was not working and they never told us . We had to drive at night and that is putting us in a hazard position as well as receiving a ticket. We told the person at the Uhaul location and he just did not care. Very very poor service

SOFIA G. 
Rating:
1.0

The truck exterior was very dirty. The dispatch app failed to let me make my pickup comments and report the actual fuel. I only received 23 blankets. The location operator was closed and there was no way to complete my pickup inspection. The truck fuel level was only 1/2, but I was forced to fuel it to 5/8.

Michael J. 
Rating:
3.0

Make the receipt clearer. A hold was placed on my credit card based on my initial estimate of how many miles I would travel. I thought I was overcharged, as I drove fewer miles than I had estimated.

Curt D. 
Rating:
2.0

I should have been notified via message or email that my after hours rental was not ready for pickup instead if making me wait, on hold, for over an hour, in the dark, in the parking lot, until an agent could inform me of the problem.

Warren H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KEITH C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

William D. 
Rating:
4.0

very convenient and quick turn around both at pick up and drop off

IAN T. 
Rating:
5.0

Eric was super nice and professional.

RICHARD B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MANUEL M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MICHAEL L. 
Rating:
5.0

Quick and easy. Vehicle was great.

Blaine K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jim C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sean W. 
Rating:
4.0

We had a major problem with the check in process to get our truck. Luckily the manager of the location was there and he helped us out.

WILLIAM L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ALEXANDRA S. 
Rating:
1.0

owner didn't realize my reservation was for sunday and he was closed had to call corporate and get his ass to his own location!!!!!!....asshole

BRYAN W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jon H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHASE C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Erin W. 
Rating:
5.0

Awesome and friendly people attending at this place. Highly recommended!

FERNANDO R. 
Rating:
5.0

Fast and efficient.

Jason D. 
Rating:
1.0

this was one of the most frustrating experiences I have had in a long time. In 36 hours I spent over 5 hours on hold with UHaul trying to get my situation fixed. The guy who I rented from was one of the rudest guys period! I would never ever under any circumstance recommend using this UHaul location. I've rented trucks from UHaul over the years. It's always been a good experience. This was far from OKAY. I hope that customer service takes a look at how you're handling incoming calls. As a customer, you have no choice but to go through your customer service line. Each time the wait is simply unexceptable even under these very difficult times. No excuse for what I experienced. What a shame! Todd Tingley (310) 701-0004

TODD T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

STEPHEN T. 
Rating:
1.0

The truck was backed against the wall so tightly, I couldn't access the key in the back. After squeezing along a rusty chain-link fence and ripping my shirt, I finally got to the difficult to open combination lock. The mobile check-in and check-out processes were cumbersome and pedantic with multiple photos required to "prove" the data entered. NOT recommended.

John M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SUSAN H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TILTON J. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

lee P. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

EDGARDO M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRIAN F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JERONIMO G. 
Rating:
5.0

Thank you for a very quickly in and out !

LADISLAV B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

William C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DEAN M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LILY B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARK W. 
Rating:
5.0

Great customer service!!

KAREN S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nyri Y. 
Rating:
1.0

I would never recommend this place to anyone. The employees were extremely rude and disrespectful. Due to my experience here, I will never use a uhaul again. It was not worth the hassle that I was given by the employees. I've never experienced such poor customer service. I was being blamed and accused of basically stealing the uhaul, when they did not even know the facts. Instead of checking the details before calling me, they just called me and told me I will be paying. They did not listen and belittled me because I didn't know the truck number. I asked where I could find that number and he wouldn't tell me where to find it, just that it's my fault I don't know it. The manager was just as rude and I've never been disrespected by a business like this before. It was completely unacceptable to speak to a customer in that manner, especially since it was not my fault that the facility gave me the wrong truck. They should have realized this error before yelling at me and charging my card with fees that I should have never received. Do not ever use this location and make sure to take pictures of everything to prove what truck and equipment you have.

CLIFFORD K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JERONIMO G. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gary B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BLAINE K. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top