Customer Reviews for Sparwood Esso
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

124 reviews

111 Aspen Dr   Sparwood, BC V0B2G0

(236) 531-2004

Location Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 10 am - 5 pm
  • Sun: 10 am - 2 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 10/11/2021: Closed
  • 11/11/2021: Closed
  • 12/25/2021 - 12/26/2021: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(236) 531-2004

111 Aspen Dr
Sparwood, BC V0B2G0

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 10 am - 5 pm
  • Sun: 10 am - 2 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 10/11/2021: Closed
  • 11/11/2021: Closed
  • 12/25/2021 - 12/26/2021: Closed
No photos available
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MICHAEL J. 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly staff easy to deal with ,

ADAM Z. 
Rating:
1.0

Brutal service for the second time. Will never use again.

SWAYZE R. 
Rating:
2.0

There was garbage in glove box. Dog hair in cab. I couldn't figure out on your site how to add days to rent u haul longer than 3 days and it took this location awhile to figure it out. Plus I could not add another driver at this location. They weren't very knowledgeable

Ken H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

EDWIN L. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Larry H. 
Rating:
3.0

Make pick up later at this location since it is open until 10. Five pm doesn't always work for everyone, he was good enough to do it late for me (8:30pm) but there was another fellow that needed a trailer too but was turned away. It only takes 10 - 15 minutes to do the paperwork.

Kelly M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

C. David N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dave N. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DENNIS C. 
Rating:
1.0

The vendor over charged me and argued over 6 dollars for gas triple charges not advertised. My 39.95 uhaul cost me 197.00 dollars for 5 hrs locally driven, vehicle was dirty, couldn't even see out the windows. Very poor customer service rep couldn't even speak enough English to be understood Should have this location taken away from this poor excuse for a rep

Gerald M. 
Rating:
5.0

The truck needs new wind shield wipers

BRADLEY T. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Anthony P. 
Rating:
5.0

I was very happy with the ease of use of this trailer

Robert L. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Larry D. 
Rating:
3.0

I think that not having jacks on the trailer is not only an inconvenience but I believe it's not a safe situation. The trailer once loaded on the truck should be able to be unhooked and then loaded, so the truck can be used for other purposes. But once that's done it becomes a jack job to reattach the trailer to the truck. Thanks.

DAVID B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Philip M. 
Rating:
3.0

Sparwood - booked me as an in town rental when I asked for one way, so I could return to Cranbrook. I therefore had to take it back to Sparwood as Head Office refused to change booking and wanted to charge me twice if I returned to Cranbrook. 30th Ave N, Cranbrook - simply refused return as said he was full. Very rude man! Van Horne St N, Cranbrook - very very helpful and called HO to try to avoid double charge for return to Cranbrook, but HO refused, so I had to take it all the way back to Sparwood

TIMOTHY W. 
Rating:
3.0

Sone communications challenges going through the sign up process but we got it worked out.

John V. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything went very smoothly. Trailer worked perfectly for me. Even the return was simple.

christie E. 
Rating:
5.0

Trailer booked well in advance to pick-up in Creston, called day before pick-up and told there was no stock in Creston and to pick-up in Sparwood.....It so happened I was travelling through Sparwood so it worked out....had I not, the trip would have been very stressful. Agent assisted in rental cost given I was picking up that day (1 day ahead of schedule).

Dean M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JEFFREY M. 
Rating:
2.0

Main issue is support on picking up equipment. No direction on the equipment and help to get going

Larry D. 
Rating:
5.0

Very nice people to deal with.

Don B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Scott M. 
Rating:
1.0

Very poor customer service

SHERRY M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROY C. 
Rating:
5.0

Great location excellent service

MATTHEW G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BEAU T. 
Rating:
5.0

No issues. Very friendly and well run location.

Dennis L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sky J. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MELVIN H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MICHAEL J. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing to improve they were amazing customer service start to finish.

MONIKA S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CARTER C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DONALD B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kiara A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARY P. 
Rating:
3.0

The only feedback I have is if I had dropped the truck off 15 minutes later there would have been no personnel to assist with taking key etc... It was the ESSO personnel that had to help and he seemed a bit perturbed that he had to help with UHAUL.

Camille C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARTHA G. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

COURTENAY R. 
Rating:
5.0

It was all good.

Donald S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Glenn F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GLENN F. 
Rating:
4.0

allow them to pick up the equipment before 10 am

Christina S. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MICHAEL P H. 
Rating:
5.0

Very helpful with making sure the trailer was connected property, clean and helped check the lights.

Deana S. 
Rating:
1.0

Very dissatisfied with the service. Had to drive 1.5 hours each way to pick up a u haul trailer that I had booked a month In advance to the location in the city I was moving from. Received a call the day prior stating they didn't get my size of trailer in and had to drive to another town to get it. Was very unimpressed.

LAUREN L. 
Rating:
4.0

Organize the equipment in a way that makes it easy to find.

ROBYN G. 
Rating:
5.0

I would definitely recommend. Patience is needed during phone call. In person much better.

Ivan K. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CAYLE P. 
Rating:
4.0

The Uhaul app was not working to return. The in-person return process took over 20-30mins to return the truck.

Prateek B. 
Rating:
3.0

Vehicle had garbage in it.. And the alignment was terrible. Had to steer way to the left to stay straight.

Toni T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHRISTOPHER G. 
Rating:
2.0

the parking lot was covered in ice. the ice made it slippery to walk to the office. I had to tell the clerk what was wrong with the vehicle. this just confirmed to me that there is no inspection done when the vehicle is returned and its left up to the last operator to say what is wrong. his is how I ran out of washer fluid on the middle of the highway. bad on me for not checking things before I left but I thought I was dealing with a professional company and would not have to worry about these things.

Odran O. 
Rating:
1.0

Way too expensive for moving expenses. Equipment rental expensive 1250 bucks to make a few trips under 2 hours back and forth. Booked bigger truck online not knowing the “confirmation” isn't actually confirmed and had to use 15 foot truck. Have used uhaul many times in the past and never had an issue. Paid 350 in gas as well. 1500 seems extreme to move a couple hours away but prices are prices. Charges were not properly explained and payment was also difficult. Some people don't want to put 1500 dollars directly onto credit card and paying with cash or debit as well as credit was extremely painful. Spent 45 minutes inside the day of pickup and spent 1 hour 15 minutes in store trying to pay. Want to use uhaul again next weekend to complete move, but it was so expensive and extremely difficult I'm reluctant. But we don't have many choices with no competition. Nobody cares about these reviews anyway and nothing will change and that's a shame for uhaul to have such negative reviews I read, as I've been a life long supporter.

Thomas B. 
Rating:
5.0

Thank you

Cory D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sebastian T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sebastian T. 
Rating:
1.0

More competent and polite front desk employee who can speak half decent English. The man I dealt with spoke basically no English and came off as rude. The truck provided had zero windshield washer fluid and I was forced to pay out of pocket for a container when I could no longer safely see out of the windshield.

Bradley B. 
Rating:
2.0

We're not prepared for me coming. Unit frozen into ground and admin slow

Larry D. 
Rating:
1.0

I did all the reservation online, payment and the DL photo. But when I got onsite, I had to redo the whole thing twice because the person made some mistakes. + on top of that, the trailer tongue and the wiring were stuck in the ice (all his trailer seem to be that way. The roof was not clean from snow. Basically, the unit was not ready for pickup. I had a 10am pick up time and was late about 20min. That was giving them an extra 20min to prep the trailer. Just for the paper work we had to redo was 30min. What was the point of doing it online. Not a happy customer.

MATHIEU M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael D. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was great. Quick and unit was clean and ready to go. Will definitely use again for in town moving. Good price makes it worth the rental.

MICHEL V. 
Rating:
1.0

I had been forced to take a larger truck which was ok as the agent agreed to give me a 1/2 tank credit for. At the Pick Up location the people running the service could not understand English well enough to understand my explaining the credit and I had to stand my ground forcefully and call Uhal to clear it up. 1hr of my time waisted!

ANDREW O. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dale M. 
Rating:
5.0

Have the vehicle started as it was winter and clear the snow off Do vehicle check with customer

Colin L. 
Rating:
4.0

The agent tried to do his best but there is a language barrier. Good thing there was another staff member there to help with understanding. I had arranged to pick up the car transport here and drop it off at a different location but there were major issues later.

John B. 
Rating:
5.0

Truck ran great. Drop off was efficient. I will use them again Jim

JAMES P. 
Rating:
1.0

It took me 2 1/2 hours to pick the truck up and get on the road. When I got back it took over 1 1/2 hours to return the truck because there seemed to be a problem with my mileage which clearly wasn't as my extra miles were on my agreement. The u haul representative talked in a language I couldn't understand which would have been south Asian I guess. So for over one hour I couldn't understand what she or the other persons concerns were. I was also ripped off on my refund they refunded my safe move amount because I had returned the truck one day early. But I never received a one day refund on the return the mileage was not an issue as it was exactly what I had on my rental contract. I will never use this rental company again. I have used only your company in all my past moves and have never been treated like this before. Just to be clear also the representative was also using access to your secure system using an employee access with out the employee being present. Not a happy U haul customer

Lyle C. 
Rating:
4.0

Great staff

RAVINDERPAUL M. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly and accommodating. Thx!

DAVID M. 
Rating:
4.0

I had a great experience.

Juan B. 
Rating:
5.0

David was excellent on both pick-up and drop-off. Very pleased with the transaction.

Peter M. 
Rating:
2.0

Wendy was good when we first booked. But on the day of pick up we did everything ourselves and were told we could not have a 3 day rental.

Jane W. 
Rating:
5.0

both pick up and drop off went good but i would love to give wendy from sparwood store a shoutout, i was there an hour before they were open and it was a stat so wasnt supposed to be open, well wendy went ahead and got me all taken care of with a smile on her face, thank you wendy you went above and beyond for me and i really appreciate that. wendy deserves a raise

Rick T. 
Rating:
2.0

I got a call 2 days after I dropped off the trailer from the rental place asking where the trailer was, absolutely horrible communication between staff and worse paper work. Would not recommend this rental place.

RICHARD S. 
Rating:
1.0

Employees were completely unprofessional. When reserving my uhaul they hung up on me, twice. Picking up the uhaul was a nightmare, the staff is very poorly trained, charged me double than what it was supposed to cost. Uhaul was dirty inside, had to clean it before we could use it. Completely horrible experience. Will be using pincher creek from now on.

LEARR M. 
Rating:
2.0

Pick up was perfect drop off was terrible took forever as he would stop what he was doing with me and serve ANY other customer that came into the gas station. He knew nothing about my rates or anything kept saying he would call the manager but then kept helping other customers till I gave up and walked out. TERRIBLE SERVICE

Amber J. 
Rating:
1.0

Extremely dissatisfied with the way this experience played out. Would really appreciate a follow up with the complaint I had submitted!!!

Anya Q. 
Rating:
2.0

Horrible service,there worried more about their money than giving good service.never offered help to hook up trailer.i had to pull up to them to take pics of my hook up.the lady that was helping me,when I brought it back was awesome but the owner just hovered over her trying to see if she charged me enough.never again from these guys.if I was an older person,man or woman.how in the hell could they do this themselves.never had problems before with u-haul but I was offended and pissed off.

Dennis G. 
Rating:
5.0

Very helpful and friendly

Debra S. 
Rating:
1.0

Can't use computer very well. People behind the counter do not work well togethet

Martin R. 
Rating:
3.0

Ensure blankets are dry before bagging them up and the correct quantity in the bags. Was short 2.

DALE R. 
Rating:
3.0

All was good, thank you uhaul.

Trevor M. 
Rating:
4.0

Try to train all personnel the how to go through the UHaul system on the computer

Muchineripi M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jennifer S. 
Rating:
1.0

cant get the equipment until 10 am what to get on road early they have a hard time with the language. what good will this do better training on computer

RONALD H. 
Rating:
4.0

We had a slight issue when we returned the vehicle so would advise that if one cannot rent it for the amount of time you want, to please let the customer know at the time they check it out.

Susan P. 
Rating:
2.0

The electronic system was painful to wait through. Had to wait for over an hour when coming to pick up as the attendant was struggling with the computer system and over the phone report for the person in front of me as well as myself. My reservation wasn't in the system upon return either so had to blind return the trailer and trust that all would work out.

MARK S. 
Rating:
1.0

The check in and check out processes are totally broken at this location. They could not make the computer work. It took 50 minutes to pick up the truck. When we returned the truck they couldn't even find any record of our rental. Very frustrating overall.

douglas D. 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly and accommodating staff

David W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sharon S. 
Rating:
2.0

I had to hook the tow trailer up to the truck myself, which took almost an hour off my scheduled time. Thinking I may get a discount for the inconvenience and delay, but I did not.

Justine J. 
Rating:
1.0

Find dealers who can speak and write english

Eamonn E. 
Rating:
1.0

We didn't end up with the trailer as the local venue to pick up trailer had no idea what they were doing. Had no idea how to install a trailer. Charged us and didn't know how to credit us when we left without the trailer. It was the worst experience we've had and we've had to rent an alternative trailer and driver last minute . Will not recommend this location/ this company .

Jennifer K. 
Rating:
4.0

Only thing i guess i could complain about is the computer issues in the morning and maybe informing people about the online booking to make the process quicker because there was a line up. Otherwise thank you! Kindness was much appreciated

Nancy O. 
Rating:
4.0

The staff members at the pick up location were not very knowledgeable about the Uhaul system and it was very time consuming to pick up and drop off as well as pay for the rental. I thought that checking in online would save me a bunch of time but I went through everything all over again in person. Some training would really help.

shelby P. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Anatole T. 
Rating:
1.0

The closest "one way" trailer was 2 and a half hours drive away. Meanwhile the exact same trailer was in the uhaul yard in calgary where I was supposed to pick it up, but was not a "one way". Extremely disappointed uhaul cannot accommodate this situation by swapping trailers. I had to drive 2.5 hours to get it. 2.5 hours back to Calgary to get the car I was moving with it. Then 9 hours driving to Kelowna.

Peter C. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top