Customer Reviews for TheLot Auto Sales
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

71 reviews

629 N 2nd St   Lawrence, KS 66044

(785) 842-1672

Location Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 9 am - 6 pm
  • Sun: 12 pm - 4 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 9/26/2021: Closed
  • 10/10/2021: Closed
  • 11/1/2021: Closed
  • 11/7/2021: Closed
  • 11/21/2021: Closed
  • 12/5/2021: Closed
  • 12/12/2021: Closed
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/26/2021: Closed

Show All Hours

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(785) 842-1672

629 N 2nd St
Lawrence, KS 66044

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 9 am - 6 pm
  • Sun: 12 pm - 4 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 9/26/2021: Closed
  • 10/10/2021: Closed
  • 11/1/2021: Closed
  • 11/7/2021: Closed
  • 11/21/2021: Closed
  • 12/5/2021: Closed
  • 12/12/2021: Closed
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/26/2021: Closed

Show All Hours

  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Their customer service was the best!!!

SHAWN H. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy process.

CASSANDRA R. 
Rating:
5.0

No complaints—this worked out great.

Kelsey M. 
Rating:
5.0

Drove from KCMO to rent this truck because they were such great help when I used them the week prior. Worth my 45 min drive to get the service they provide! Thanks for saving my weekend of moves.

ANTONIO H. 
Rating:
5.0

Only place in town with truck. Got my move done. Thanks!

ANTONIO H. 
Rating:
5.0

Great help thanks!

maria isabel P. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing bad all good. Helped when we were in desperate need.

Nolan M. 
Rating:
1.0

When I dropped the uhaul off, the man was rude and in a hurry! The app was not allowing me to upload the photos and it was making him mad! He told me that he would check me in. I continued to take pictures for my protection and he yelled at me! Saying he would check me in! I left because i felt threatened with me being a female with 2 males there, one of which was mad! I received a charge today $21.87. I called to that location and the female that answered the phone was extremely rude right off the bat! I had to remind her that I was not only a customer but her elder....to show some respect. She replied, "you are not my customer, you are UHaul's customer"! After going back and forth for awhile, she FINALLY took my information and said she would turn it in to UHaul for a refund. I will NEVER use that location again! It was trashy looking with trashy customer service! I am calling UHaul anyways to make sure this is reported and to address the additional charge because I do not believe she has intentions of processing it for a refund. Terrible experience to say the least!!

JUDY H. 
Rating:
4.0

Did not have dolly i had reserved and appliance dolly i recieved was missing a track off of the stair glides on the back. Looked like someone used an oversize automotive belt to try and replace the other as it fell off several times.

MARK S. 
Rating:
5.0

saved the day, this place rocks!

Devon M. 
Rating:
1.0

The ladt that helped me was very helpful. However they said my actual one-way reservation charge needed to increase $200 when I picked up the truck! Luckily I could choose to return the truck to where I picked it up or I would have been subject to some real price gouging. Then I was charged multiple additional charges. Luckily customer service chatting was available to clear it up. Especially since there was a 1 hour wait to call in for support.

MATTHEW B. 
Rating:
5.0

Only place in Lawrence that would help me out. Nice people.

Mishael J. 
Rating:
5.0

Got me rental last minute. Only Uhaul to answer the phone. Saved the day. THANK YOU!!!!

Amber P. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing- Great experience !! Thank you

Stephen Y. 
Rating:
3.0

A dolly was in the truck which I didn't need or rent. It was also extremely filthy. Two dust pans full of debris, which included a large piece of glass and a package of sewing needles half open and strung about.

Hannah W. 
Rating:
4.0

The online checkin process is a little cumbersome , especially as none of it can be done before you get there. So you're in a parking lot hoping you've got a good enough internet connection to be able to go thru all these steps.

Sarah G. 
Rating:
5.0

Very nice & helpful. Super easy & fast to rent & return. Recommend.

Anna D. 
Rating:
4.0

The truck cab was not cleaned when I picked it up.

Tyler M. 
Rating:
3.0

I should not have to pay any fees to U-haul and I should geta 50% refund for all rental equipment (26' Moving Van-JH2873D and AutoTransport Trailer-AT 7842R/ AT 1184W) associated with my move from Leavenworth,KS to Dumfries VA from 28 JUNE 2021 to 01 JULY 2021 because of all thechallenges to rent equipment that delayed my travel by 16 hours or more.  The extreme negligence of U-haul prevented mefrom traveling on time and put myself, my family, my vehicles and otherproperty in inherent danger while traveling from Leavenworth, KS to Dumfries,VA from 28 June 21 to 01 July 21.  On 28JUNE 21 I was supposed to pick up a 26' Moving Van and Auto Transport Trailerfrom the Leavenworth, KS location: 734072 at 8 AM that I reserved on Saturday,26 JUNE 21 at 12:27 PM but the 26' Moving Van wasn't ready and I was told tocome back around 1 PM.  This was amilitary permanent change of station (PCS) move to VA and time was of theessence so I came back at 10 AM to see if any trucks or trailers wereavailable. I worked with theLeavenworth, KS U-haul store manager Teresa as she coordinated with traffic toget a 26' Moving Van for me.I thought I was about to get a 26' Moving Van from theLeavenworth, KS location around 1 PM but was told that it had been issued tosomeone else.  Gary from"Traffic" called Teresa at the Leavenworth U Haul and directed me togo to Tiffany Springs Rd U-Haul in Kansas City, about 30 mi away and pick up a26' Moving Van.  As I was driving out ofthe parking lot to the Kansas City U-Haul I received a call from Gary from"Traffic" and was told that the 26' Moving Van in Kansas City hadjust been rented so I had to go to Lawrence, KS (about 45 mi away) to get a 26'Moving Van. By this time it was 1:30 PM and I had to drive 15 mins get my wifeand 3 kids then turn around to go to Lawrence, KS to get the 26' MovingVan.  I coordinated w/ the U-Haul dealerin Lawrence, KS over the phone to leave the keys in a pick up box because herdealership closed at 3 PM.  I had to gothrough two toll stations (paid $8.00 total) to get to the Lawrence, KS U-hauland arrived around  3:30 PM and got the26' Moving Van then turned around and drove right back in the pouring rain toLeavenworth, KS and arrived around 4:50 PM. I had to wait 30 mins for the rain to stop to start loading my household goods and was not complete until 5:30 PM. I rushed over to theLeavenworth, KS U-haul to get the Auto Transport trailer and completed thattransaction at 6:07 PM.  I loaded mywife's Toyota 4 Runner and was able to start driving at 7 PM. On Wednesday 30June 21 at 2 PM I was driving the 26' Moving Van on I-64 E in Morehead, KY andtowing the Auto Transport Trailer- AT 7842R and the right rear tire blew outspewing rubber chunks and rocks on the front of my 2012 Toyota Sequoia that mywife was driving and our 3 children were riding in.  My wife called me on the phone as I saw thetire blow out in the side mirror. Ipulled over in the warning lane on I-64E to assess the situation and determinedthat the right rear AT trailer tire was blown and the left front tire was worndown with no usable tread and that cotton webbing was starting to show andthat tire was about to blow out too.  Iknew it would be best to get to an exit that was 1.5 miles away forsafety.  My family went ahead to the exitand I drove the 26' Moving Van and Auto Transport Trailer and parked at 1695Flemingsburg Rd Morehead, KY. Starting at 3 PM I made over 20 attempts tocontact U-Haul roadside assistance by visiting the uhaul.com/help website,downloading the app to submit a request for help, trying the chat feature,calling the 800 Uhaul number, my wife submitted a request for help on thewebsite and I even called the Leavenworth, KS store that I rented the equipmentfrom.  I received a text message at 3:38PM from a Uhaul 84285 number that roadside assistance had received my file butno one called me or texted any further to coordinate relief efforts. I startedcalling local U-haul dealers in the area to see if someone would let me swapout tires or give me a new trailer so I could continue my travels and the onlyperson to help me was Mr. Whitney, dealer #16402.  He coordinated with his Field Manager toprovide emergency aid.  Mr. Whitney cameto my location and led me back to his office at 300 American Legion Way Morehead,KY 40351, while I drove the 26' Moving Van and AT trailer w/ the blown out tireand replaced my AT Trailer with the blown out tire and severely worn other tirewith his good AT 1884W.  I got anotherUhaul text as I sat in Mr. Whitney's office (B&B Equipment Rental) at 6:33PM that said "We are working on your request and gave me a RoadsideAssistance phone number 800-528-0355, Ref#: 2138690 but the phone number didn'twork. I got another text at 6:36 PM asking if I was still in the same location.I replied "Mr. Whitney dealer# 16402 is helping me." I got anothertext from Uhaul at 6:41 PM asking "Did he tow you back to the location oris he replacing the tires?"  I didnot respond because I had enough of dealing with U-haul's "broken"customer service-roadside assistance system that day. My family and I continued our travels andarrived to Dumfries, VA in the early hours of 1 JUL 21.  On 1 & 2 JULY 21 I received calls Suzie,Melissa, and Vonda from Pets Plus INC 24232 located at 2610 Jefferson Davis HWYStafford, VA 22554 saying that my AT Trailer was late, other families werewaiting on it and that I would be charged late fees if I did not return it butwhen I checked my paperwork I saw that my Moving Van and Auto Transport Trailerwere not due back until 3 JUL 21 at 6 PM. I called the Pet's Plus Stafford, VA location back an informed them thatmy U-haul rental contract said equipment was not due back until 3 JUL 21 andwas told that my contract was wrong and that I needed to turn in my equipmentASAP.  I complied and returned AT1884W at10:56 AM and 26' Moving van JH2873D at 5:29 PM to the Pets Plus INC 24232, 2610Jefferson Davis HWY Stafford, VA 22554. When I physically showed the U-haul representatives at Pet's Plus my contract said I didn't have to return the equipment they said "oh sorry, it was a mistake on our part".  Their mistake caused me to rush around even more because I wanted to turn in my equipment so a family wasn't put in the position I was in when I wanted to pick up my equipment on 28 JUNE 21. I think that I should not have to pay any additional fees toU-haul and I should get a 50% refund for the rental equipment (26' MovingVan-JH2873D and Auto Transport Trailer-AT 7842R/ AT 1184W) I used to move fromLeavenworth, KS to Dumfries VA from 28 JUNE 2021 to 01 JULY 2021 because of allthe uncommon challenges to rent equipment that delayed my travel by 16 hours ormore and the extreme negligence of U-haul when it comes to inspecting equipmentbecause it prevented me from traveling on time and put myself, my family, myvehicles and other property in inherent danger while traveling fromLeavenworth, KS to Dumfries, VA from 28 June 21 to 01 July 21. I think that this is only fair because U-Haul was supposedto provide a safe and reliable service and failed to do so multiple times inthis instance.  This experience was horrible and I expect better from U-haul!

irvin N. 
Rating:
5.0

Thanks for the great help.

Trevor O. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy pickup.

GEORGE M. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy to rent, guy was very helpful. Clean truck. Recommend location.

CHRIS E. 
Rating:
5.0

Nick was great help in getting me a truck day of when nothing was available. Easy process will use again for daily reveal.

Devon M. 
Rating:
1.0

Have someone there at the time the vehicle is scheduled to be picked up.

Brandon W. 
Rating:
3.0

I should have read the contract closer, but I was shocked to have the gates locked when we arrived for drop off, especially when the person we rented from told us to that we could just put the keys in the drop box when we were done with the van since we had it for 24 hours. We called The Lot as soon as we got there and the person that answered the phone said she had just left and passed us. She mentioned she would have turned around but had to get somewhere. I was disappointed to be charged $20 for the "after hours" drop off fee. I was also disappointed to be charged per mile when we weren't even allotted enough miles to get to our destination. Again, I should have read the contract closer, but in the excitement of the day it was too late. The extra charges definitely put a damper on the day. Read your contract is the lesson learned.

Timothy P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JEFFREY L. 
Rating:
5.0

The gate was half open and it was hard to find where to turn into the parking lot. My girlfriend and I missed the turn in both our vehicles. However the woman was helpful and kind.

Andrew K. 
Rating:
4.0

Let me park my car in the lot, instead of Froggering myself through busy traffic to park my car elsewhere. I mean, seriously, I took a truck off your lot that was four times the size of my car. Let me park there, for example.

JASON H. 
Rating:
5.0

Used as a daily rental, very easy to rent and return. Staff was helpful, will use again.

nick H. 
Rating:
5.0

Super easy and fast rental process. Employee was very friendly. Explained everything to me and how the charges were being assessed to me. Will use again for daily rental in Lawrence, much more convenient than other location.

MORGAN M. 
Rating:
2.0

No one was at the rental lot at 9:00 AM for our pickup. At 9:45 AM the employee arrived and unlocked the lot to check us in. Had to call a phone number on the door to get someone to show up. Did at least get an apology.

Richard S. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy drop off. It was easy.

Michael Y. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ANDREW D. 
Rating:
4.0

Close to downtown. Can drop off anytime. I called after using the drop box and they were very helpful.

stefan C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MATTHEW B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Paul R. 
Rating:
4.0

Don't lie and shift my pick up location.

Daniel D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ANGELA H. 
Rating:
5.0

Super easy to return.

RUTH B. 
Rating:
1.0

Employee didn't make it clear that I wouldn't be receiving my refund on a 100$ deposit for a van that only cost 20. I had to wait for a check because she did not notify ahead of time that cash deposits don't get refunded .

nyza M. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy location to rent & return. Very pleasant staff that was helpful when we couldn't get app to work. Will use again.

Nicholas H. 
Rating:
2.0

Clean the cup holders & remove mcdonalds sauce cup from dashboard. Do a pre-trip walk around the truck with the customer to acknowledge pre-existing damage. Pave the lot so customers dont have to walk through mud puddles to get in truck and to drop off key. Be at the office at the time of a pre-arranged appointment.

KARIN P. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy and convenient location. Great staff.

nic H. 
Rating:
5.0

Quick and easy. Super nice people.

TIMOTHY G. 
Rating:
3.0

The text message we recieved for online return did NOT state to open the link before leaving the vehicle at the return space. I took a picture of the gas and mileage, but the system would not allow me to upload, only take. Well we had already dropped the keys, so we were charged $20, because UHaul's poor communication and failure to establish effective directions, and their failure to add a photo from existing gallery, and customers are forced to have mental powers and know they have to snap the picture before leaving the truck. I would not recommend U-Haul to a new customer.

David V. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SUSAN MARIE S. 
Rating:
4.0

The truck runs horribly in need of many repairs and servicing badly....... Would not allow OT on the road ever again until maintenance is done to it. Needs wipers, brakes, tranny service, 90000 mile overhaul. It ran terribly even using tow haul. As far as I'm concerned you owe us a huge refund of some sort.............That truck is dangerous and should not be on the road, whatsoever.

SUSAN MARIE S. 
Rating:
5.0

Very nice staff

DON B. 
Rating:
4.0

Better signage for the entrance. It's a little hard to spot the right gate. Otherwise super happy!

PATTI P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

PATRICK L. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing at all they were perfect!

Jacqueline A. 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly, fast and efficient service. Will use again.

SANDRA S. 
Rating:
5.0

This place made it super easy. I called them for my reservation & they did it all over the phone (they were the only uhaul to answer out of the 3 I called). They were also able to get me a discount on my truck rental. Would use again or recommend to friends in Lawrence.

FRED M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

William M. 
Rating:
5.0

Good customer service, very friendly and told me everything up front.

Dean G. 
Rating:
5.0

These people are absolutely incredible. Highly highly recommend!! They helped my mom so much in a desperate time. Were able to get her a discount on the truck with a couple extra days due to her situation. They listened to us and offered suggestions for several days before we even decided to get the truck, seriously this place is the best! Very smart people plus it's a quick progress day of rental takes maybe 5 mins. This is the place to go in Lawrence for all your U-Haul needs!

KIMBERLY L. 
Rating:
5.0

Super easy check in and check out of the truck. I called & the shop scheduled my reservation for me online including getting me pads + dolly. Great U-Haul location.

NICHOLAS H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MATALYN H. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Emilio J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ISAAC P. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly and super convenient location!

lori W. 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly fast service. Drop off was a breeze. Many thanks!!

Catherine M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ISAAC P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert P. 
Rating:
5.0

Efficiently checked it in and were knowledgeable.

ROBERT H. 
Rating:
5.0

Had a U-Haul reservation that I made over the phone #96093557, then the U-Haul phone system would not work. Got a human on the phone in Bonner Springs Kansas, he informed me my reservation was cancelled. 😞 Got the folks at The Lot Auto Sales on the phone and they saved the day. The had a truck returned at noon and called me to come get it. They are awesome and super friendly!

TIMOTHY M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Don H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

WILLIAM FORD M. 
Rating:
4.0

Morgan was fantastic. She contacted us the day before we picked up the equipment to personally let us know the pick up location had changed which was very thoughtful. She also helped us when we tried (and failed) to use the mobile app at pick up. She was super helpful and extremely nice. She is a great representative for UHaul.

Mark O. 
Rating:
5.0

Morgan and Nick were both professional and helpful. We needed to return the truck after hours so when we called they came and met us at their business to help us with the return process. They made the process super easy and convenient to return equipment. I would rent from or return to this location again, as they were helpful and did their job efficiently. This business, TheLot, represents UHaul very well. Thank you.

Greg M. 
Rating:
4.0

We returned the truck after hours so no one was there working, but there was a phone number to call and was immediately answered. The lady was friendly and helpful. It was a bit confusing where we needed to park the truck because of fences and gates so we called the number to ensure we were leaving it in the correct place. The link UHaul texted me to check in the truck was not helpful because we didn't have the phone with us when we dropped off the truck. The first question it asked was to share our location. Since we didn't have the phone with us at the drop off location, we couldn't share our location. Without being able to do that, we couldn't finish the checkin process. That was frustrating. However, since we were able to call someone on the spot, she competed the return and it was simple. Simple and efficient experience.

Scott C. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top