Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage of Spring Valley

5141 reviews

8400 Two Notch Rd   Columbia, SC 29223
(E Of I-77)

(803) 736-8582

Location Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(803) 736-8582

8400 Two Notch Rd
Columbia, SC 29223
(E Of I-77)

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Thur: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Fri: 7 am - 8 pm
  • Sat: 7 am - 7 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 5 pm
  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

michael E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Patricia W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bill H. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was satisfactory no need to change anything thank for all the help

EDWARD P. 
Rating:
3.0

The building and truck was clean. No complaints on the actual customer service because the lady that checked us out was nice and the gentleman the helped us return the truck was also pleasant. The issue was the lack of staff. It took us an HOUR to get checked out because there was only one person working. This was very inconvenient and caused delays in my day. I understand things happy and employees don't show up for work, however a more efficient plan as to how to deal with that situation would have saved myself and the 8 people that were also waiting for an hour time.

ANTONIO W. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy turn in

ANGEL G. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ERIC J.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Happy, very professional and courteous

CARMEN R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TANIKA J. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was great. Friendly and helpful service

Rick B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gene W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ANTHONY J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TANYA R. 
Rating:
5.0

-Mon. 7/19/2021 I believe Your National phone Rep. Mr Rene was very helpful after waiting 50 minutes for him to pick up the phone…too long. Tues. 7/20/2021 Nothing But Complements… Ms Charnetta Greene open on time, my Grandson and I had a 7am appointment made by Mr Rene, not his fault we were at the wrong address, which I got off Google based on the zip code, that I thought was closest to me. Ms Charnetta Greene said you are at the wrong location, my Grandson asked can't you change the order to here?, she replied it's only two miles, he replied the same question, she went above board, for our convenience canceling the previous order, and inventing an new order. She was extremely knowledgeable, patience, and polite. I really appreciate how she explained every detail. In my opinion Ms Charnetta Greene is an Asset to Your Organization, she did not have to look up any questions or refer to manuals for answers, she was on duty all alone. I was so impressed of her FULL SERVICE JOB KNOWLEDGE. Thank You…I would refer Family and Friends.

shirley S. 
Rating:
2.0

This location was good, as I've used them several time before. However I'm giving them a rating of below average because they should not have charged me for the additional miles AND they should have given me credit back for the gas due to the truck being on empty at time of original pickup (see comments under the pick up location)

John S. 
Rating:
5.0

Fast, friendly check in and check out service. Very pleased with uhaul.

PATRICE A. 
Rating:
5.0

The front desk staff was professional and very helpful.

ROBIN E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Natasha V.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Continue great customer service

MARION E. 
Rating:
5.0

N/A

Alexander B. 
Rating:
5.0

Ms. Charnetta Green offered impecable customer service. She was knowledgeable, patient in answering our questions, and very polite. Thank you, Ms. Chatnetta!

Anthony L. 
Rating:
2.0

Make sure the rear view mirrors are usable.

NiQuanda S. 
Rating:
5.0

Staff helpful in getting me on my way

DESMOND W. 
Rating:
5.0

N/A

MARY C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSEPH C. 
Rating:
5.0

The only reason the equipment was not as clean as normally would be is because we had to take one that had just been returned and no time to wait to clean

CHARLES M. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Leah S. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent sale manager she need a raise.

CARLTON E. 
Rating:
5.0

My reservation was made to pick up a truck from Tom Tires, 10901 Two Notch Rd, Elgin, SC 29045 at 6 pm on June 26th. I called this location at 8:30 am on June 26th to confirm the reservation. I was told that the truck would be in front of the business. After driving over 1 hour to get to the location, when I arrived there was no truck on the property. I called the business again and was told that the truck was out front. After convencing the person that there was no truck. He called me back and said he did not have a truck and UHaul should not have let me make the reservation for his location. However, he confirmed with me that morning that the truck was in the front of his property. I left this site and was able to obtain a truck from the Spring Valley location at 8400 Two Notch Rd. in Columbia. Toms Tire should be removed as a UHaul Vendor.

MOSES B. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was perfect. Everybody helped me when I had a little problem and solved my problem so easily. Thank you to everyone and y'all the best.

Somchai D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Charles F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer service was awesome! The manager at this location was able to handle multiple tasks under pressure and help everyone with a good attitude. I was impressed and happy with the service here.

SHIREL S. 
Rating:
4.0

Service was great. I see no need for improvement at this time.

ANGELETTE W. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michelle V.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
2.0

It was only one person working and the wait time was long.

Willie S. 
Rating:
2.0

The truck had ashes inside the box when I picked it up. Had to sweep out the bed. I was charged a cleaning fee on return when the truck was received dirty. I also had issues making a reservation. My first reservation was sent to the other side of town. Overall a poor experience. Will be very reluctant to rent a motorized vehicle from Uhaul in the future. Have rented trailers with no problems. There are too many hidden and unexpected cost with renting trucks. The cost for a local rental is advertised as $39.50 and I ended up paying $165. The final cost was way more than the value gained from the rental of your equipment. This was overall a bad rental experience and I am left feeling that I was taken advantage of due to the final cost.

THOMAS C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RYAN W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

REGINALD M. 
Rating:
5.0

Tell me how to buy this 5x9 trailer thank you everything is great

EUGENE S. 
Rating:
4.0

Get more counter help.

William H. 
Rating:
5.0

Great personal.

RAY S. 
Rating:
3.0

We were sent to this location because the location of reservation didn't open or have keys in back of truck. We waited for hours and we're on the phone for an hour before getting actual assistance. So the U-Haul representative 1800uhaul sent us to an active location but the reservation was not transferred when we arrived so we started all over again. This 3 hours out of our valuable limited moving window. This error caused us to be delayed with getting our storage so the larger one that was reserved was not available and we had to rent 2 units in two different locations. More $$$ and more time off work and nights without sleep. This was not a good experience for my family.

KAREN M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RONALD H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SHELDON W. 
Rating:
5.0

No problem at all loved ❤it

STEPHANIE B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Andrea B. 
Rating:
5.0

The truck need to be balanced and aligned. Or one of the rims are bent

MARCUS T. 
Rating:
5.0

The GM Ms. Net is very exceptional and my overall experience was great! Great group of workers! Fast and efficient!

TAQUON H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ernest K. 
Rating:
5.0

I love this store they are always helpful and nice and polite

FRANCIS V. 
Rating:
2.0

Don't charge an extra $20 for something that was not my fault. And keep your promises about crediting back $30 when I returned it with WAY MORE gas than you gave it to me with . Very poor service.

JOHN S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Noah C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

HOPEELIZABETH W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ERIC W. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent staff

Lisa B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

william m.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DARRYL J. 
Rating:
4.0

Our experience was fine. The truck was ready, clean, and exactly what we needed for the afternoon. Only needed it to pick up some furniture locally.

Scott H. 
Rating:
5.0

Charmaine Green is the best, I didn't get the guys name that hooked up the tow dolly for me,it was raining and he didn't complain at all, it was greatly appreciated

Joyce B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Garrett O. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer service 10 Equipment 4 Clean but shop worn

CECIL J. 
Rating:
1.0

My close out date was 3/29/21. Correct your records. I have sent an email with your confirmation of this!

Faith W.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

George C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

WAYNE O. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent Customer Service !!!😄

MAHASIN B. 
Rating:
3.0

The vehicle has major steering issues and the A/C didn't work. Very disappointed

Justin T. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer Service was not good at all.

NATHANIEL A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ANGELA R. 
Rating:
5.0

When I bought the truck back I believe he was the manager he was super I appreciate him very much

Francis V. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James B.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
4.0

Friendly and helpful, I go out of my way to rent from these location

WAYNE W.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Victor S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ANTRON M. 
Rating:
5.0

Great customer service, quick process, don't change a thing!

WENDELL G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Erica T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RODNEY C. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SYLVIA R.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
3.0

My auto transport was not hooked up properly and my car could've come off while drive. I would recommend employees pay more attention to detail.

KERIE E. 
Rating:
3.0

I feel like they over charged, bought the truck back earlier than expected put more gas than l had suppose to , The person we. talked to , it's a penalty Mileage was about. Fifteen miles the person checked me in said we might get money back. Severely, Bernard Washington

cynthia W. 
Rating:
5.0

Great job Ms Charnetta Greene, she was beyond exceptional in her efforts accommodating all customers in the store. Very professional

WILLIAM G. 
Rating:
4.0

Rented a tow dolley, noticed crank in fender but didn't realize how bad it was. When I hit 45mph the fender flipped backwards, tried to call the number on the contract but kept getting message it would be 20 minutes or more. Strapped fender on a was able to use it. Reported problem when I returned it. Should have had a better inspection after previous user.

Barry V. 
Rating:
5.0

Manager of facility was really nice and helpful to me and my husband.

CHERISH P.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Cortney S. 
Rating:
2.0

Customer service was horrible at this location. I was given a truck with a bad starter. Upon getting the truck home and ready to load, it wouldn't crank. I went back to see about a refund, I was told No and that I would have to contact Roadside Assistance. I was never even offered another truck. I called RA and she couldn't find my information. Somehow the truck started, got my things loaded/unloaded. Meanwhile running later for work. I tried to return the truck the next day. I stopped to get gas and it wouldn't crank. I was stuck at the gas station waiting for help then I called RA to see if they could find my information. They found it, RA came about 45 mins later, tapped the starter and got it cranked. Retuned it to the store, explained to the manager for her to say Oh Wow.. A Very Inconveniencing 2days it was for me.

TAMEKA G. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

THOMAS M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

roosevelt J. 
Rating:
5.0

Your manager at this location was very nice and very helpful! Thanks for the great customer service!

TRAVIS S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kamilah A. 
Rating:
5.0

Charnetta and her team does a great job running this facility.

Thomas G.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
4.0

The person that checked me was very helpful. He understood my issue with the online request that sent to place that does not have rental truck. He immediately resolve my situation and I so very grateful to him for that. He was courteous and professional other entire time. Hats off to him for excellent customer service!!!

ALETHA S. 
Rating:
3.0

Ordered furniture pads which were not available. I was still charged for them. Gas light was on when I got in the truck. The cup holder and surrounding areas were sticky from a spill and not cleaned.

Adam N. 
Rating:
5.0

The manager is not helpful never returns calls and lied about financial arrangements. She dose not care about customers or problems at her store I still have not heard back from her and she did not note all my issues. I’ve been waiting since March 31,2021

MAUREEN M.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JEFFREY F.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LATAVISH U. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

POUL MARSHALL A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Paris S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LAMONT K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LEON T. 
Rating:
5.0

Everyone was so NICE THANK YOU!!

james L. 
Rating:
1.0

I returned the equipment on 4/18 and was told that the "system was down nationwide", but that they would check it in when the system came back up. Today I received a charge for over $108.00 on my card which is not due and unauthorized. I have been on hold for more than 30 minutes trying to get someone to solve the problem. Will NEVER use UHAUL again.

MICHAEL M. 
Rating:
5.0

On the vehicle I drove needs to have the brakes checked.

Olivia H. 
Rating:
4.0

This has nothing to do with pick up or drop off, it has to do with the process. I reserved a 10 foot truck. The day before pickup I was called and told no 10 foot trucks and I would get 15 foot truck. She sent me an address for pickup. Go there and it's wrong address, had to drive 2 or so miles to get truck. Find out it's 20 foot truck. It's so frustrating to not get what I reserved. I'm sure the gas i spent on the 20 foot truck was more than 10 foot truck. Not a fan of reserving one thing then given something else. That's what a reservation is for.

Gary W. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DERRICK V. 
Rating:
2.0

Bad Experience.

Patricia L.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JONATHAN B. 
Rating:
2.0

Young Lady Manager was great. Mr. Chris was very rude 4/25/2021 but on 4/24/2021 experience with Mr. Chris was different, the young lady that was sitting there heard Mr. Chris tell me to be back by 3:30. I was just sitting in the store @3:30 then no one was there to swipe out lock or give me a receipt for Returning Truck was horrible Experience.

PATRICIA L. 
Rating:
5.0

Clearly mark or identify the drop off/ return zone when returning the trucks.

Ulysess M. 
Rating:
3.0

We had to sweep the trailer out before using it

Vincent E. 
Rating:
5.0

The sales person named Chris was the highlight of renting the Uhaul, very personal and helpful I would definitely recommend this site.

RONALDEUGENE F. 
Rating:
5.0

In the rental agreement I was to return the vehicle with half a tank of gas. How many gallons is that I wondered. I put in five. Turned the key on, and put in more. It'd be nice to have an estimate. It'd be nice to estimate how many miles a half tank will go. Thanks.

DONALD R. 
Rating:
5.0

Well done to this location. Renting from them was quick and simple.

JEFFREY F. 
Rating:
1.0

Let them know what it's really going to cost to rent. As long as I been renting, never did I have to pay that much, it won't happen again, I'm done!!!

Frances M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CARL W. 
Rating:
3.0

I would rate 5 but initially I ordered mobile and access did not work and unit was taken. However, after I reported the public contact individual contacted the manager and service was good! I think it was a computer glitch.

Carol U.  |  Online Move In 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Marla I.  |  Online Move In 
Rating:
1.0

I closed out my storage on March 13, 2021 not April 12, 2021. On March 13, 2021 I reserved a truck to move out. I picked up my keys for the truck and informed the lady working that I’m also emptying out my storage unit. She told me to come back to the office once I was done to close everything out. Once the storage was empty and I loaded the truck with my belongings from unit 179, I returned to the office to close out the storage unit. The lady was working by herself and had a long line waiting for assistance. When she saw me at the end of the line she told me I didn’t have to wait and that she would close the unit and send me confirmation via email. I never received that email. But I did receive a bill for the month of April a few weeks later. I called back to the office and spoke with the same lady and she said she would close it out again and don’t worry about the April payment. I recently received a bill and another email for the month of April. On April 12, I stopped by the office, the same lady working again but with another young man. I think she was training him. When I told her that I didn’t receive any confirmation about closing out the unit and I was still being billed for April, she stated that another person just did a walk through of the units and how could that be possible. Her attitude was very unprofessional. So as I’m waiting for her to look through her system to resolve the issue, she finally printed out a sheet of paper, with nothing being said. The young man picked up the sheet of paper from the printer and and she just pointed to me so that he could give me this piece of paper. The statement shows that there was a $0 balance. She didn’t say anything until I asked her was everything taken care of and then she stated yes you’re good to go. I was so taken back by her attitude I forgot to ask if I would be refunded the difference for the March payment. Please look into hiring and training your workers and if I will receive a prorated refund for the month of March.

CHASITY M.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Great service - especially from Nette (spelling)

MATTHEW D.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Cleveland R.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

One female employee was always sweeping the common areas and keeping it clean. All employees were friendly and helpful.

liz t.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

michael s.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ronald H.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

micheal c.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CALEB M.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
3.0

I hurt my ankle in your loading and unloading area of the uhaul area, when I was returning a truck. Due to all the cracks and broken concrete. That would be my only suggestion to make it safer for people.

Anita G.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RODNEY L.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Would definitely rent again from U-Haul. Excellent service.

BRENDAN W.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

I want to thank everyone at U-Haul, especially those at my storage facilty, for the excellent service. They were extremely helpful to me during a difficult time and I am grateful. Especially helpful was James Brown, who went above and beyond to assist me. Thank you!

toni f.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
3.0

none

Billy B.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Diana M.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Great for your storage

corrina b.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Fantastic Customer Service!

JEVON P.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
4.0

Fast, convenient and very helpful EVERY time I came. Thanks!!

Jamie J.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

When my husband recently suffered a medical emergency while we unloaded our trailer into the storage unit, EJ and his team went above and beyond to assist us. So grateful!

toni f.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
1.0

Mean employees lazy manager has horrible attitude

martin g.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly and helpful staff

Warner M.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Great customer service!

Courtni E.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Very nice staff, prompt service

liz t.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

It is always great working with U-Haul. Thanks!

thomas b.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
2.0

Was told first month free. Then when i paid for unit the girl said there was not Free month. She checked for notes on My account and found nothing about my Reserving a unit. Not happy!

BOB S.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
4.0

Clean convenient quiet and secure.

RODNEY L.  |  Reservation 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Self-Storage Icon
    Self-Storage

    We have the most coverage in North America!

  • U-Box Container Icon
    U-Box® Containers

    We ship across town or accross the world!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

  • Trailer Hitch Icon
    Trailer Hitches

    U-Haul is North America's #1 hitch installer!

  • Propane Icon
    Propane

    Propane service delivered straight to your door!

Back
To Top