Marshall Gulf (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Marshall Gulf (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |

Address

915A Hwy 35 N
Port Lavaca, TX 77979

(361) 552-7891

(N Hwy 35)
Driving directions

View website

Customer Reviews for Marshall Gulf

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of Marshall Gulf

Overall rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Alex C. on 12/29/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Representative was ver friendly

Elias C. on 12/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always had Great service

Gerardo B. on 11/6/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The lady didnt have time to help us because she had a prayer meeting going..she wanted to know about our politicial and religion views

Dawn A. on 11/2/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The location is hard to identify and is quite small. Other than that had a great move, thanks for being available!

Cameo M. on 10/15/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Personal did not know what to do and had to wait for owner to arrive.

Matt A. on 10/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Second time I've been there and just like the first time staff was helpful and friendly. Great job

Dusty M. on 9/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We always try to use this location! Very pleasant and super helpful!

Elias C. on 9/11/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Always treated very friendly and always has my reservation ready for pickup.

MARYMARGARETMULL M. on 8/8/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This is a complaint for both the Victoria, Texas, U-Haul location on Sam Houston Dr and the Marshall Gulf location in Port Lavaca. The day before we were to get our truck, the Victoria address called and said they did not have our equipment available. They pushed us to go to Port Lavaca, which is 45 minutes away. How a U-Haul has "absolutely zero trucks on-site" (exact phrase the representative said on the phone) for a Saturday - on an advanced reservation, no less - is mind-boggling to me. Their representative offered no solutions other than to drive 45 miles out of my way, and told me that we would receive a $50 credit at the next location. Anyway... We went to Port Lavaca because we had no choice. Within three sentences of meeting our representative there, we were given incoherent political rants about Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton. Once that spew was over, the representative claimed to know nothing of the promised $50 guarantee for U-Haul not having our equipment. Additionally, they also did not have the number of moving blankets we requested available either. We paid the full price because we just wanted to leave. I was severely disappointed in the service provided at both locations. I likely will not do business with them again in the future, and I most certainly discourage friends from using those locations.

Carole S. on 7/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very helpful and friendly!

Mary B. on 7/21/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Be more organized with truck whereabouts. Every time I reserve a truck there is a mistake made. No truck or truck too small, etc.

Emilio V. on 7/8/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The truck was not clean. The ride was horrible and the truck was scratched up on the outside. Also the inside cargo lights did not work. This was on top of the fact that U-Haul messed up twice on my reservation and I had to drive an additional 28 miles to pick up a 26' truck at another location. Horrible experience.

DUSTY M. on 7/7/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Ok. Weird messy experience with u haul website. Marshall gulf saved the day and kept our business with u haul. Next time I will contact Marshall gulf directly instead of trying to deal with website. Ahead of the one day we had available to move some furniture I tried to reserve a large trailer for 24 hrs for that day on website. All went through fine and I was told that my trailer would be ready at my preferred location in my town. I got a call confirming a few days later and was given a street address I didn't recognize. I looked it up after I hung up and realized the pickup location was in a town 40 mins away. Called back, asked why I was unable to pick up in my town as that was out of our way on a busy day, was told the size we wanted was unavailable in our town. They were unable to tell us what was available at our store as we stressed we preferred to pickup locally and the charge to move a trailer to our town was significantly higher. So we decided to leave a little earlier and go pick up in the alternate location. Morning of move my husband drives to other town and trailer is not there. They offered a smaller trailer which was exasperating because we could have likely rented a smaller trailer at our local business. So we refused the smaller trailer and drove back to our house, planning on moving with our pickup. Drove by our local store on way home and they had trailers setting out. Called, and they rented a trailer to us that day, although the next size down we at least didn't have to go 40 mins out of our way to drop off when we got done. So I will not bother with the website in the future but call our local store, Marshall gulf, as they were super helpful, fast, and easy to work with. Website needs some work meeting customers needs. Next town over can be a big distance to the individual and cost difference.

Charles C. on 7/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We applied for a truck on line when we called two days before they had not been notified of our scheduled pickup. But the nice lady worked with us even wiling to help us get started extra early.

david a. on 6/20/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The office "shack" had no A/C. The poor woman was over heated.

LAWRENCEJOSEPHJR S. on 6/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Happy customer!!

Mark R. on 6/6/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Nothing to improve. Mrs. Marshall was cordial and agreed to meet me early Sunday. She is great. This is my 4th time renting from u-haul at this location. Great service.

RHONDA A. on 3/25/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Had to wait a while as she was helping another customer.

CarmenorJason G. on 2/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Maybe a better internet connection. But it was very good service.

Christian H. on 2/26/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There was no worker at the location when I dropped off the trailer, despite it being during work hours. The phone numbers provided did not connect correctly though that may be a problem with my phone and not their phone numbers.

sylvia a. on 2/8/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This location had partisan political propaganda posted all over the walls. It was offensive to me. I own a business and I would never have that kind of material posted for public viewing.

DON W. on 1/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very helpful and friendly

CAROLINA G. on 1/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very helpful

MANUEL P. on 1/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service, lady came as soon as I called.

JANNER K. on 12/13/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My original reservation was for pick up in Palacios, TX. Talked to them on 12/10, the truck was there and was told I could pick it up on 12/11, the truck was there and it was designated for me. Went back on 12/11 at 3:30 pm, was told truck had been rented out and would be back by 4:30. AT 6:30, truck was still not back and they couldn't tell anything. After much arguing on my part, I was told there was a truck in Port Lavaca, 35 miles away. But no help in getting truck. Called # that was given to me for Port Lavaca, the woman told me she was too busy to talk to me, she'd call me back and hung up on me Finally got thru to her and was told maybe there was a truck, but she'd call me back. Finally got call at 9:00 pm telling me yes I had a truck. Had to get my son to come in from San Antonio and pick truck up and bring to Palacios on `12/12 Talked to UHaul office on 12/12 and was given some extra miles on rental and that the owner of the two stores, Palacios and Port Lavaca would call me on 12/12. Never heard from him. I use UHaul every time I need a rental truck. I have never had a problem, but this was a TOTAL MESS. I had movers waiting, which I had to pay by the hour, and no truck. The guy in Palacios was supposed to have picked up two 26' trucks on Thurs 12/10, but only picked up one. Believe me I will never use that dealer in Palacios again. And the woman in Port Lavaca needs to learn some manners in dealing with customers. AND I MADE RESERVATIONS OVER A WEEK IN ADVANCE.

GLORIA C. on 11/11/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This is fraud. I did not rent a uhual. My name and email address account were used illegally!

WINDELL P. on 10/21/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Trailer needed cleaning. Over needed servicing. No jack on trailer for hook-up.

CAROL B. on 9/9/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Get a better building. There was no A/C, it was metal, in South Texas, in Summer!

harriett w. on 8/19/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The release on the trailer did not work. If we hadn't found a kind person to assist with wd-40 and a LOT of "fiddling with" we would have never gotten it unhooked.

PAM K. on 8/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Owner/Operator was extremely down-home and friendly

JOSE V. on 8/6/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The person resonsible is very good with clients.

CANDACE H. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service and equipment was in excellent condition.

BARBARA H. on 7/27/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

You cannot get a hold of her and does not return calls. Left trailer and equipment on site. Never contacted me to make sure it all was there. No I would not recommend anyone. Need a better Location and in Port Lavaca you could use a regular U-Haul office like Victoria.

LISA G. on 7/20/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Ms. Marshall was very knowledgeable and helpful when we rented our trailer. She was courteous and conscious of our time, as she promptly got us hooked up and on our way. We would surely rent from her again and refer our friends. Thank you Darlene Marshall!

LESLIE B. on 7/17/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The lady is wonderful. unfortunately, no trucks, etc.

DEANN F. on 7/13/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

At first we had an AWFUL experience with the Victoria, TX Uhaul. I had reserved my 20' truck 3 days prior to my moving day (even doing the early check-in online), naturally thinking a reservation meant I would have a truck. 7 hrs before I was supposed to move (which happened to be 7pm on a Friday evening) I received a call from the Victoria office saying there were NO trucks in town and he was sorry for the inconvenience, but at least he was calling me now instead of having my show up at 7am and there not be a truck. I have never experience such poor customer service in my life. Either Uhaul needs to keep good on their reservations, or make all their truck rentals first come, first serve. The only person who made my move happen was Darlene Marshal in Port Lavaca, who rearranged her schedule to meet us at 8am (an hour from where my original pick up destination was) so we could get a truck from her. Apparently someone thought their 26' truck was too big, so Victoria gave them our RESERVED 20' and didn't inform me until 7 Friday evening. I am beyond disappointed in Uhaul. And on top of that, I knew someone else who's reserved truck was cancelled in Victoria on Friday, and she wasn't even informed. Her name is Karen Beller and I wouldn't be surprised if she gives a bad review too. This is ridiculous. The person I spoke with said his manager in Victoria is Mr.Fuller. I hope this review gets attention because Uhaul should NEVER have let me reserve a truck and then cancel last min. Completely unacceptable and had I not had the means to travel to Port Lavaca early morning, my entire move would have been ruined. I won't be recommending Uhaul to people, and I will be sharing my experience with them.

MIKE M. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

No one there when I dropped it off. Its a small location and the phone # is on the door. That's OK.

Alberto G. on 6/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

very good

HEIDI B. on 5/22/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The lady in Port Lavaca is the best...I have rented Uhauls from her multiple times and she has always been the greatest person to work with. I always recommend her location to everyone I know!!!

KEVIN GEORGE C. on 5/13/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

good job

JON C. on 5/4/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

No clear indication (signage) (?) that this is actually the right place to return, other than one other u-haul truck parked in an empty lot. Very small shed with a drop box way in the back of the lot not easily seen from the street. Otherwise, the owner/operator was very pleasant and accommodating!

Claire W. on 4/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Some cheese and a bottle of chilled wine would be great :)

LAURAGARZA M. on 4/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service

jose r. on 3/22/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It would be nice if Victoria Tx would carry more than one car haul trailer. I had to drive to Port Lavaca Tx which they gave me great service and very helpful. Thanks PL, Tx

William M. on 1/21/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The trailer I reserved online wasn't the one they had for me. The attendant stated that they did not carry the one I wanted, because Uhaul didn't allow smaller towns to carry that kind of equipment.

Mark H. on 1/20/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Nothing, friendly and helpful staff

KEVIN GEORGE C. on 12/31/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

friendly courteous service

TYLER W. on 12/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Drop off box was easy to use. Didnt have any problems.

ALAN R. on 11/10/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reservations aren't actually reservations - you didn't have a trailer for me at the location I reserved for; the second location you sent me to had your trailers parked in a muddy vacant lot and were not accessible; the third location had the trailer, but was in ANOTHER CITY from where I reserved it. To improve customer service, you could actually have a trailer available at the reserved pick-up location.