U-Haul at Sam Houston Dr

U-Haul at Sam Houston Dr

Share |

Address

1111 Sam Houston Dr
Victoria, TX 77901

(361) 578-9833

(Across From Victoria High)
Driving directions

Features  

  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour dropoff

Customer Reviews for U-Haul at Sam Houston Dr

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of U-Haul at Sam Houston Dr

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

don g. on 9/25/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Quick, friendly,

jamar b. on 9/24/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I picked up a 17' truck. I got a mike or 2 down the road and the check engine light came on and the truck wouldn't accelerate. I pulled over, turned it off and back on and it worked. As I was driving back to the location where I picked it up it died again. I turned it off and back on and made it to the location. When I arrived I explained the situation and the manager accused me of maybe realizing I wanted a smaller truck for a cheaper price. That wasn't the case. I just wanted one that worked properly. So he agreed to switch it out and I could pick up the truck later in the afternoon. When I arrived to pick it up he said that they test drove the truck and it didn't stall out on them so they gave me the same truck back. I used it to move and it stalled out 2 more times while I was moving my stuff. When I returned I told them that the mileage they charged me for included the miles they accumulated while test driving. When I picked up the truck the first time it had 133380 miles. When I picked it up the second time it had 133390 which is how I knew it was the same truck. When I returned the truck it had 133411 which means I went 1 mile over my 20 mile estimation. They charged me for going 10 miles over. So in all this was the worst uhaul experience I've ever had.

Paul C. on 9/12/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was issued a truck with nearly 140,000 miles on it. U-Haul should take in consideration the distance and conditions the truck will be driving in. Driving an old truck through the desert in early September where you have to turn off the AC to reduce the strain on the engine is unacceptable. Every time the AC cycled the serpentine belt would chirp. The transmission had difficulty shifting out of overdrive. The oil change indicator came on during the trip. I was within 20 miles of a U-Haul site in Van Horn TX and wanted to get it documented and ensure there were no other issues. The first U-Haul establishment was at a welding shop and was unable to assist. He recommended that I got to the other U-Haul establishment on the other side of town because it was associated with a garage they would not give me time of day. They didn’t even want me to park the U-Haul on their property to contact the service center.

Todd J. on 9/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing. The truck was nice and clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Lisa K L. on 9/11/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had requested a furniture dolly, furniture pads, and ropes, my husband left to pick up the trailer, and he was just given the trailer, we were unable to finish our move that day, we lived 50 miles away from the uhaul store, they were closed. It cost us to postpone. We ended up using a local company, we won't use this uhaul location again.

Chuck H. on 9/7/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Don't try to cheat your customers. I returned the van at 17 miles (for an extremely local move). I figured I would pay the highly inflated gas price at U-Haul for a couple of gallons of gas. The 'computer' said that I used around 4.5 gallons. So I drove to a gas station nearby, put in less than 2 gallons of gas at about 60% of the U-Haul price, came back, and I was obviously above the starting level on the gas gauge, even with another mile on the odometer. I see that as a company scam.

Marie C. on 9/5/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Employees were extremely friendly and helpful. They explained everything in great detail and provided quick and easy service.

Anna G. on 9/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

EVERYONE WAS SO NICE!!!!THANKS

Donna K. on 8/31/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

They had trouble getting me checked in. First receipt was definitely not mine which I discovered about 15 minutes after I left the facility. Returned and it took them a while to find it and basically they had to recheck me in.

earl m. on 8/30/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I answered yes to the location as clean and inviting. Did not know exactly what to say as the place was very clustered. Barely had room to get off the road. However your employee did an excellent job getting me checked out and on my way.

Sue H. on 8/29/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The customer service was horrible

Bryan C. on 8/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The agent that assisted was very helpful and explained everything very well.

holly k. on 8/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Keep your employees happy, they had friendly smiles and we're very helpful. Thanks

TED L. on 8/26/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

update website to indicate trailer drop off location is mandatory for 1 way rentals. Current 'not required' drop off location only gives local rental option at check out and can't be changed in the order confirmation screen. This led to difficulties for the very helpful Victoria TX rep. and increased my expected fee by >50%.

James W. on 8/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was courteous, friendly, and knowledgeable. The on-line reservation process was easy and dependable.

lisa s. on 8/22/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The pressure error message came on about 30 minutes into our move and we had to stop to get more air in tires. Other than that all went very well.

Evan N. on 8/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They knew I was coming. Total time took less than 10 minutes. Very please with total process.

Lela M. on 8/21/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

My UHaul experience was miserable. I placed my order online after calling the store and the employee I spoke to basically told me he didn't have the time or need to speak to me. The afternoon (late afternoon) before my move I get a call saying they would not have the size truck I requested. I asked if I was going to get my $50 guarantee they offer and they answer was no my case did not meet the requirements. My truck was not going to be available the time I requested it a week in advance how did I not meet the requirements. I spent 2 hours on the phone trying to negotiate out a new deal with the U Haul place that would work for us. The next day I arrive to pick up my UHaul truck which was much smaller than I originally needed but the U Haul people called me too late the day before to be able to make a different reservation elsewhere. Anyway, the truck we had agreed upon was not there either. After waiting around awhile that finally got straightened out, but it doesn't end there. I had ordered equipment to help with my move GUESS who did not have what I requested the U Haul place. WHY OFFER SOMETHING ONLINE THAT YOU DO NOT HAVE? WHY WAIT UNTIL IT IS TOO LATE TO TELL ME THAT WHAT I ORDERED CAN NOT BE PROVIDED? I was terribly frustrated.

Wanda Z. on 8/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

U-Haul is the only way to move !!! Everything went well ! Actually didn't mind the move U-Haul made it so easy :)

Allen M. on 8/18/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great customer service.

Leanne B. on 8/15/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I initially was set up with reservation to pick up a trailer @ Advantage Mini Storage, I called confirmed explained I would be there around 330 to pick up. Woman said that is fine..shortly after UHAUL calls me and says my trailer has not been picked up and that Advantage Mini has "given" my reserved trailer away. VERY UPSET!! Thank goodness I was able to find another location with an available trailer. The available trailer was smaller than what I reserved.

Elizabeth ann w. on 8/14/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I had to call your road side help hotline ...and never did i recieve help nor did your company care to make sure we were ok and had gotten going again ...i am very disappointed with youlls service...along with the hassle of trying to find a uhaul at five pm because the Yoakum pick up spot didnt have a uhaul for me even tho i recived the confrmation information ...traffice was able to find me a 23 footer ....i didnt need anything that big let alone the gas that youll pushed on me to replace after youlls mistakes ...im a very unhappy customer....which im sure youll could care less about as long as youll make your money !!!!

Christopher H. on 8/13/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

My wife just gave birth and could not assist with lifting. I reserved two dollies online with my order, I even called the day before I was set to pick up my equipment and spoke to a worker "John" who guaranteed he would set the dollies aside for me. What happens? I show up and no John, no dollies. Next I reserved a dozen furniture pads, was charged for them but never received them. When I called uhaul, a lady had an attitude with me saying I never reserved any pads, low and behold after speaking with her she finally found that I did and said she would issue a refund. Not a happy customer, why reserve when your company can't hold? Ridiculous. Now for the good part, when I arrived to pick up my truck a worker went above and beyond (on a very hot day), and hooked up the tow dolly for me. He was very professional and courteous!

Stephanie B. on 8/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very efficient ,fast and courteous. Fastest I've ever been in snd bout of anywhere

Rebecca C. on 8/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Super nice!

Todd J. on 8/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing. The service was wonderful!

CHRIS K. on 8/3/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

explain $60 trailer deposit if paying cash while reserving a trailer and not when picking up! Took 30 minutes to get and had it reserved. 10 minutes arguing about the $60 deposit and used card anyway.

greg R. on 8/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

efficient

ELIZABETH W. on 8/3/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Quick and easy very good review

Jaclyn N. on 7/30/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

It's a shame it's the only real uhaul location in Victoria and there aren't any other companies around to compete against them. I've used Uhaul multiple times in the past and after this big move I hope to never have to use them again. It's been the worst! Reserving vehicles is a joke especially when no one calls you to confirm forcing the customer to do the work. When I confirmed the day before they explained that they showed the reservation (put in 2 and 1/2 weeks earlier) and we're not going to have the 26 foot truck. This put major stress on the fact that we had set up and hired movers and were packed to leave. The 2nd reservation we had to do due to not being able to fit it all in the 26 footer was made and confirmed the same day. When I showed up to pick up a 6X12 trailer at the storage place where I was again told by employee, "I see your reservation but the trailer is already checked out to another customer that came in." Uhaul is really not doing there best to manage the reservation system nor do they care to actually hold true to their guarantee of $50 for not upholding their end of the reservation.

Adriana A. on 7/28/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was friendly and very helpful!

Clinton W. on 7/27/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the part of town was super shady and the attendant just motioned me out, said thanks, and waived me off

Randy U. on 7/25/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Very pleasent experience. Courteous staff and a clean well maintained vehicle.

Judith M. on 7/25/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When locating a drop off in San Antonio, these locations were extremely far from our home. There are many locations in San Antonio and only 4 were pinned. This Needs to be updated.

James C. on 7/21/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I ordered an appliance dolly ahead of time and when I arrived there at my scheduled pick-up time there was no appliance dolly available.

Guadalupe G. on 7/19/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Make it at there convenience,not the employer.

Danny C. on 7/17/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The gentleman working there was by himself when we stopped by to drop off the car dolly we rented. it was about 30 minutes before closing time, and he had 2 customers ahead of us, and 1 that stopped after us. He ended up working late to accommodate us all. Well done.

Hege R. on 7/17/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

When we got there, we were told there was no truck and was sent to a different location and told it was open. That place was closed so we returned. After 30 minutes on the phone with an incredibly rude woman who was alternately calling the store clerk to yell at him, the store clerk located the truck on the lot. He was courteous. The other woman deserves a demotion or getting fired.

greg R. on 7/15/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Customer Service

Larry M. on 7/13/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This was not the first location I had to drive to for a truck. My original pickup place was Palacios, TX and they did not have the truck. Then I had to drive an hour out 9f my way to Victoria, TX for the truck. Then an hour back to my house.

Gregory C. on 7/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great Service, very friendly employees.

Patrick B. on 7/11/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Everything went as planned.

Che-I H. on 7/9/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Short staff, only one person, waiting for 40 mins just to return the truck

Adrian M. on 7/6/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This doesn't really have anything to do with the drop off or pickup experience, but I will say that I was fairly disappointed in the fact that my 6x12 trailer did not have a jack on the tongue. Why is that?? I had an incident where I had to disconnect the trailer from the vehicle and had to improvise another car jack that just simply was not as safe as using a frame mounted jack as comes with most trailers. It was precarious at best, and very inconvenient. Wouldn't it be safer to use a frame mounted jack and issue a lock for the hitch so as to prevent someone else hooking up to the trailer?

Emilio V. on 7/4/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

While my first experience with U-Haul went very well my second experience was terrible. The second time I made a reservation, received a confirmation number for a 26' truck and when I arrived on July 4, the location was closed. I was transferred to several different UHaul people and after several hours of calls back and forth all they offered was a $50 refund for cancellation. I had hired people, driven over 60 miles to get the truck and they offered no further credit for their mistake. I'm highly disappointed with U-Haul.

Matthew V. on 7/3/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Why is the mileage fee $.99 per mile? That's absolutely ridiculous!

Francisco A. on 7/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great experience. The young lady was friendly and helpful.

Rosemary R. on 7/2/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The uhaul served it purpose. Only complaint was its says easy ride and it was a very rough ride. After making two local trips, our backs were sore.

Elliott C. on 7/1/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

K

Jeffery C. on 6/30/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Exceptional customer service.

Nathan H. on 6/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service

Terry C. on 6/26/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful service. Very professional and helpful. Great customer service

gerald j. on 6/23/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The vehicle was available on the date and time agreed upon. Everyone was polite and professional and was genuinely considered about getting me into my vehicle.

Aaron R. on 6/20/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Thank you

CHARLES R. on 6/19/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All good

Judith T. on 6/18/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I called to reserve the uhaul on the same day I needed it and was glad one was available on a Saturday. Service was fast with no waiting and drop off was simple. Great experience!

alwyn g. on 6/17/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My original 'assigned' drop off was at 3801 Halsey St in Victoria. I found the address but it is a little run down convenience store. I saw no evidence of UHaul equipment. I walked to the store and saw a little banner tied to a fence partially hidden by bushes. I went in and asked the clerk about dropping a trailer. She told me to drop it behind the store 'next to to other one'. I went there and walked back in to ask if anyone could help me. She simply told me there was no one to help. I called U Haul and talked to a lady named Amber in Corpus Christie, and she was very helpful. She gave me directions to the yard where I finally left it. I would not recommend the place on Halsey St. to anyone. I did have one question that no one could answer. I rented four bags of pads, but only used less than two. Since I know U Haul will buy back unused boxes I asked if I could get credit for the two unused and unopened bags of pads, No one knew.

Josue C. on 6/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My original pickup was in Houston customer service cannot make that happen not at all I was lied to for 2 days I would never use Uhaul again but the Victoria location did come through

randall g. on 6/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service, personnel friendly and helpful. great experience !

Jerry C. on 6/12/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

We were told when we picked up truck that we did not need to return until 11am the next day. We got a call at 8 or 9 am asking where he vehicle was... Then got charged an extra day. Very poor customer service!

JOHN S. on 6/12/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Reserved for 3:00 pm and received 7:30 pm.

Tracy T. on 6/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very fast service. Great experience. We were hauling a 2013 Nissan Quest, and the only issue we had was that when the van was on the hauler, the rails of the hauler made it impossible to open the doors. I had to climb out the window to exit the van.

Tracy T. on 6/12/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very fast service. Great experience.

Robert W. on 6/10/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Fast and no hassle.

Luis V. on 6/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome customer service!!

Micah P. on 6/8/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Everything booking was.wrong didnt expect truck before we took it so we had tire issues lost a half of day didnt get comped at all then quarts of oil and all you daid was ok thats it no I deserve a.compensation for.how I was treated i booked.truck 6weeks in advance

Brad R. on 6/8/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I have no suggestions for improvement However would like to let you know Justin is a star for you guys hard working very polite and knows his job well. I had been in about three times for packing materials. Please give him a kudos from our family

Glenn W. on 6/6/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

"Was the personnel helpful?" Don't mean to be a grammar Nazi, but really, this is a webpage, not a private email. Hint: The word ,"personnel" is plural, not singular.

James B. on 6/3/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I made this reservation 5 weeks in advance. I received a phone the day before I was schedule to pickup stating that my truck would not be available until 3 PM. I already had moving help scheduled for 10 AM. I returned the call and was informed that I could get a truck 9 AM but it would be at a different location. I picked up the truck at Rio Grande location. I had to leave me car at the Rio Grande location while driving to the Sam Houston Drive location to pickup the car dolly and moving pads. I do not work for U-Haul. It is not my job to move equipment around the city. I had to leave my car at the Rio Grande location all day while loading the truck preventing me from loading anything in the car. This poor planning caused a long day to be even longer.

Crystal T. on 5/30/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I wad unable to pick the truck up for the hours I wanted on my reservation. Was not even offered an apology for the inconvenience, just told that this is what it is going to be or too bad. The mileage was wrong on the truck at pick up time. The staff was rude and unprofessional. One of the service reps literally walked out on a customer as I was waiting. When I dropped truck off they tried to bill me for the messed up mileage they were suppose to have fixed. Then they could not explain the extra $10.00 charge to me. The manager was no help as he took extra long to come address the customers issues. Worst experience ever. I would highly recommend retraining the staff to provide a better customer service experience, and have them knowledgeable in the pricing.

betsy d. on 5/30/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Frustrating at first to receive phone calls from district office to say my reservation could not be honored due to not enough trucks to fulfill all reservations. But, finally did get a call from the Victoria location saying I did have a truck available. Another customer ahead of me was turned away because of not enough trucks to match his reservation. Overbooking by the district office was a more than frustrating issue.

John S on 8/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great Staff!

MARILYN T on 4/11/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was excellent, very helpful, professional and courteous, especially Ric. Because of this experience,I have already recommended that my friends use this service.

MARIANNE M on 12/4/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Ric at Sam Houston UHaul is a gem. The computer system gave him grief at every turn, but he got the equipment I needed, on time and in a friendly, professional way. I will always be indebted to him!

BOB LINDA S on 9/14/2013
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The people were great to work with. However, something needs to be done with your computer system.