Lobus Wheaton (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Lobus Wheaton (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |

Address

649 Childs St
Wheaton, IL 60187

(630) 517-3140

Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 5 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 3 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 12 pm

Features  

  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for Lobus Wheaton

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of Lobus Wheaton

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

JEREMY B. on 1/24/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Thanks

Michael P. on 1/21/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The location was very easy to find, and there were many trucks available for pickup. The employee, Pedro Martinez, was very helpful, and even backed up the truck for us! I will be reccomending this location to everyone I know in the area!

Robert A. on 1/17/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Rental agent was friendly and helpful

Katharine S. on 1/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was great! Very friendly and accomodating staff!

ALEXA H. on 1/14/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I didn't realize that the cord for the lights belonged to UHaul since I wasn't present when the trailer was being put on my hitch. When I got the email with the charge I quickly called and said that I would be happy to return it and get reimbursed. The salesperson said that they didn't give refunds, which I found a little odd.

TAN HUU D. on 1/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing at all very flexible

Peter H. on 1/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service and easy in and out.

tammy l. on 1/11/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This truck was unexceptional to DOT standards for over the road. The suspension on the truck was so bad that you couldn't drive any more than 50 miles an hour, the left headlight was facing down to the road, the windshield wiper we thought was gone just would not work, and we had to keep pulling over to clean windows Since there was wet roads from snow day before. I complained but they did nothing! My husbands back is hurt from this truck and will be filling a claim and calling DOT UHaul how they send out there trucks that unsafe to drive!

PERMU P. on 1/9/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great customer service.

LYNNEA J. on 1/9/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Limited parking and maneuverability in the lot. Everything else was great!

Duane E. on 1/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Good job

GARY G. on 12/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I found nothing to be out of order or anything to complain about. Your manager provided excellent customer service.

DAVID J. on 12/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The manager runs this location very efficiently, he is professional and friendly, for a small location, independent, it is my favorite.

RODGER M. on 12/16/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The quoted rate for the transaction was 0.79 cents/mile but the receipt and payment reflects 1.19 dollars/mile. It would be much nicer to have the rates correct from the start.

PHIL E. on 12/15/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

muddy lot, no one there on Sunday. poor signage on where the office is and where to park vehicle. This was not my intended drop off spot but I was directed here by Uhaul last minute. Now I am also having to deal with an issue over the fuel level of the returned truck.

MABLE H. on 12/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Pedro was great had truck warming up as my paper work was being done. Dropped off after hours and got a email the next morning. Will use this location again. Plus had a broom and garbage cans out by the door.

SANDRA O. on 12/10/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Accidentally left the keys inside of the uhual truck outside of the location where I rented it (childs st) the same night on the day that I rented the uhual. Left a note inside the drop box letting them know. The next morning Pedro calls with a attitude & very unwilling to help to tell me that he didn't have a spare to get into the old beat up uhual, any tools & that he would have to hire a locksmith & charge me for it. I tried explaining to him that I was at work & had no monies to pay for that. That I would call the roadside assistance to go unlock the truck free of charge & if not I would go unlock it myself after work. I called the roadside assistance line & talked to Shawn,he said he would call Pedro's boss to talk him about his attitude & to let them know they would send help to open the uhual free of charge. I am very disappointed about Pedro & Shawn NOT keeping their word because I am being charge the $70 & $230 for I don't know what!! I will fill a claim about the $230. Very unhappy with the overall service. Regret being a regular uhaul customer

Silvia H. on 12/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Use them all the time thanks again

mable h. on 12/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Love this guys there the best

JEAN G. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Pedro of Lobus U-Haul in Wheaton is a pleasure to work with and, is always there for the customer. Have had the pleasure of renting from him several times.

Aaron Z. on 11/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The U-Haul employee was very helpful with trailer hook-up and instructions.

DEIDRE D. on 11/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I originally scheduled pickup at a location 2 miles from me. Uhaul emailed me 3 days prior and changed my location to a different location 7 miles away. I was irritated but glad the agent gave me the truck for the entire day instead of just 6 hours.

Chris F. on 11/24/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

While the office is nothing to speak of (kind of a hole in the wall), Pedro was great. He was super friendly and professional, great to work with.

KRISTIN S. on 11/19/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The truck I rented was in bad shape. It didn't handle very well.

warren m. on 11/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

While the vehicle we rented was in good working order, it did have a strange smell that my wife found nauseating. Also, a light in the mileage area came on indicating the vehicle needed an oil change. Otherwise, the vehicle fit our need.

STEVE W. on 11/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Professional and very helpful

matt e. on 11/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Dropped off the truck in the night when closed got a email the next morning, will definitely recommend this place

CHRISTOPHER H. on 11/12/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The location made a big deal about me arriving by a certain time so the truck could be ready for the next person. When I arrived the door was locked with a note on the ground that says "Out to lunch". The note left a phone number, which I called but only received voicemail. I would recommend customer return to a different location.

NICHOLAS W. on 11/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Services was great. I had trouble with the times and they worked with me to make sure I had the truck when I needed it. Would definitely use again.

DAVID C. on 11/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

got there late no place to park trailer too much equipment onsite

DAN B. on 11/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Customer service rep came in 15 min early on Saturday so I could pick up the truck.

JUSTIN E. on 11/10/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I feel like this location has attempted to defraud me - he called me and said that he had another customer waiting for the truck, but when I called uHaul service, they said that they checked his scheduling and that the vehicle wasn't booked for that time. I feel like trying to hit me with a $150 fee for being an hour late for a customer that doesn't exist seems a bit harsh.

Benjamin W. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service

JOHN W. on 10/27/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Didn't have the furniture pads 0. Nada. Zilch

William V. on 10/26/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The location is very convenient. This is the first time we reserved a truck at this location and actually picked it up there. For this rental, the driver's seat beat didn't work and the check engine light was on from beginning to end.

Susan F. on 10/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Best Uhaul experience I have ever had.

SILVESTER B. on 10/22/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Upon initially driving off the U Haul parking lot with the empty truck I noticed the brakes were squishy and took some time to respond. After loading up the truck, I noticed that the braking time increased much more then I had anticipated. I have rented and driven trucks of this size before and the brakes were never this bad. After a short time on the highway, I applied the brakes and the ABS light and the brake light both came on, in addition to a loud hissing sound whenever I applied the brakes. I pulled the vehicle over and called U Haul customer support. I told the support representative my problem and that I had turned the vehicle off and back on again to see if the lights would go out. The brake light went out, but, the ABS light and the hissing sound remained when I used the brakes. I was told by the u-haul representative that the vehicle was safe to drive with the ABS light on and the hissing brakes. I asked are you sure? They assured me it was safe, So I agreed to try again on the highway. I found that I had to primarily rely on engine braking in order to slow the truck. If I applied the brakes from highway speed, the brake light would come back on, which I attributed to a failing master cylinder. If I relied upon engine braking to slow the vehicle down to approximately 25 mph, then I could apply the brakes and stop the vehicle safely. I do not believe this is what U Haul would refer to as a safe vehicle. ABS is a feature that you want to have functioning on a loaded truck, in addition to a fully functioning braking system. After returning the vehicle to a u-haul facility after hours, I spoke to a u-haul rep and let the person know that this vehicle should be serviced. I also inquired as to what kind of safety tests they do to each vehicle before releasing their vehicles. His response was, "um, like you can call customer support".

JOHN A. on 10/20/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Somehow, Lobus Wheaton seems to be where refrigerator dollys end up .. not sure why, but there's a *lot* of 'em stored in the office there. The appearance could be improved if they could be moved to a warehouse...

DAVID K. on 10/16/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Pedro is really a courteous, friendly, personable person. But 2 issues: 1) I was not able to rely on him to be on time. Website says this location opens @ 9am and 2 days in a row I was there but he showed up 9:20-9:30. Not good if you have a sense of urgency to maximize the use these vehicles. 2) I had asked in advance to have 7 doz trailer pads. No doubt, this was a challenging request given the small size of this location; I respect that. However, I had asked Pedro to call me with updates if/when he received them from U-Haul Traffic ... but he never called me. At extra expense, I drove to the Aurora U-Haul location, rented 6 doz pads, JUST TO BE sure I would have them. Again, good guy, nice demeanor. Good equipment. Good review of my final charges. But overall an avg experience due to these 2 items.

DANIEL C. on 10/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had no problem but the lot is a little tight when returning the vehicle. Great price, excellent service, u haul hasn't let me down ever. I have used them for almost 40 years. They're better than ever.

TIM R. on 10/15/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

My largely negative rating is the result of being overcharged on my credit card following the return of the truck. I rented a 17' truck for an in town move that would only take a few hours. The truck was rented Saturday morning around 10am, I was instructed by staff to return the truck to the lot and place the keys in the drop box if no one was present upon return, which was the case at around 5pm. The final bill came in and Lobus charged my credit card on file for 2 days of use, rather than 1. I called several times during business hours, left messages and got no response in the days after. I was finally able to get a hold of someone during business hours and was told the matter would be taken care of, via a refund of the extra day or a manager would call, neither occurred. I disputed the surplus charge on my CC, which was not accepted. I am very concerned with the ability for the business to charge my CC for services that were not provided. I would not recommend this provider, and will be avoiding U-Haul in the future, and directing others to avoid them as well. I will be calling corporate to escalate this issue that should have been prevented by simply having a local manager return my phone calls and explain why I was charged for 2 days of use, when I only used it for 1. If you must use Lobus, I would recommend avoiding the drop box, since they seem to take liberties with when they account for trucks being returned.

RENEE R. on 10/14/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I would recommend this location for convenience. However the wait time on a Saturday morning was very long. Only 1 person was working. It took over 45 minutes to get the truck I reserved.

ROBERT F. on 10/12/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The equipment I reserved was not there when I arrived and the person working there said there was nothing they could do, so basically I was just out of luck.

KEVIN K. on 10/12/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Gravel parking lot and sketchy office area.

MATTHEW S. on 10/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The truck I rented broke down in the Interstate. When the tow truck driver finally arrived, his truck was too small to tow the u-Haul truck I had rented. He determined that the truck had overheated because it was out of (and possibly leaking) coolant. Overall, my rental was a frustrating experience with a poorly maintained vehicle that ended up costing me several hours of inconvenience in addition to the rental fee.

ANTHONY J. on 9/30/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The original drop off site did not have drop and go capability as I was told so I had to locate and drive to an alternate drop off location. The gentleman there was very helpful and courteous. I wish to recognize him (agent # 10107) and thank him.

LISA B. on 9/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very efficient operation.