Lobus Wheaton (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Lobus Wheaton (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |

Address

649 Childs St
Wheaton, IL 60187

(630) 517-3140

Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 5 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 3 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 12 pm

Features  

  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for Lobus Wheaton

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of Lobus Wheaton

Overall rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

KENNETH D. on 9/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

the pickup employee, ( pedro ) was nice. however never showed me the truck just gave me keys and pointed to where it was parked down the street, never offered supplies or equipment to help in our move, was suppoed to be a 24 hour rental, turns out was only 12, i was late bringing back, other employee was very rude to me, wouldnt give his name had his wife or girl friend was yelling at me in the background, very unprofessional, had to call police to come with me to return truck. dirty place, dirty seat to sit on felt like i was in someones garage. never again will i rent there and will never recomend this place. ALSO they are tacking on extra days to my contract, and also charged me a cleaning fee, but to their surprise i made a video of the truck when dropped off with mileage and condition, will they be in for a surprise! DONT RENT HERE IF YOU IF YOU DONT WANT TO BE YELLED AT BY EMPLOYEES! they are huge liars!

MARTHA A. on 8/31/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

When we dropped off truck...we got there before closing. No one was there. But key was too big to put in drop box. So we didn't know what to do but leave it in glove compartment. There should have been someone there when we arrived. The key was different than the other type of keys. So might need to improve your drop off when no one is there. Not very clear in those directions. Truck was brand new. Something needs to improve for after hr drop off.

LANA S. on 8/31/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

They were very uncooperative and nothing was ever explained about bringing the truck back. We told them in the beginning we wouldn't be back and they said no problem but didn't explain the cost to us they just tacked on the prices which were extremely high with no explanation. We are very dissatisfied at the unprofessionalism of this establishment. And the guy hung up on me when I tried to talk to him.

MARK B. on 8/29/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

CLEAN UP THIS LOCATION , IT WAS A DIRTY FILTHY MESS. NO WHERE TO SIT , NO RESTROOMS. THE PERSON WHO HELPED ME WAS DRESSED LIKE A GANG MEMBER AND NOT VERY FREINDLY. THE TRAILER WAS VERY DIRTY INSIDE . I HAD TO SWEEP IT OUT AND CLEAN WITH RAGS AND BUCKET OF WATER. THE OUTSIDE ALSO VERY DIRTY. IF I HAD AN ALTERNATIVE TO RENT FROM SOMEONE ELSE THAT DAY I SURELY WOULD HAVE. OTHER THAN THAT THE TRAILER PERFORMED GREAT AND MEET MY NEEDS FOR A ONE DAY MOVE.

CHRISTOPHER C. on 8/26/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

My biggest area of complaint is the number of vehicles at this location. I was scheduled to have a cargo van at 3:00 p.m. but the previous customer had not returned it yet. Having only one van at the location, the manager told me I would have to wait until tomorrow and that I would have the van in the morning. Upon arriving the next day the van was taken by another customer who had it reserved. Because of this, I was forced to use a much larger truck when I had specifically asked for a van due to the fact that my move was quite small. On top of that, I was told I would be charged the van rate because of the error and ended up having to alert the manager to change the rate on the final bill. While the staff was friendly and helpful, this location seems to lack the resources and overall customer service expected from UHaul.

Brian A. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was the only customer walking in, and it still took about 30 minutes until I was able to drive away with the trailer rental. One of employees hooked up the trailer, and I didn't realize, until I was driving 45min on the highway, that he didn't tighten the coupler down. I found out because the trailer became unhitched while I was driving! It's a good thing I was able to quickly pull off the road too, because one of the safety chains unhooked, too. Then when I called the number of the office to speak to someone about it, no one picked up and I couldn't leave a message because their voicemail is full.

RAJIV P. on 8/23/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was charged for gas inspite of filling gas and returning at the same gas level. I was also charged for cleaning when I had returned the truck in clean condition.

JONATHAN K. on 8/21/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Great experience with Uhaul.

kevin w. on 8/17/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Check the fuel tank before leaving the lot. My contract said it was 3/4 tank full; it was actually barely above 1/2 tank full. It probably cost me an extra $20 to make up the difference. I learned my lesson.

KEVIN P. on 8/14/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This 26' truck was on its last legs. The truck never started on the first or second try. The steering was terrible. I have rented from U-haul numerous times and this is the first time I rented a truck where the initial amount of gas in the truck was under 3/4 of a tank. It was under 1/4 of a tank, which I do not understand.

HAROLD M. on 8/12/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Retire the truck and buy a new one.....

BOB K. on 8/11/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Pedro could not have been more helpful and accomodating. We screwed things up and had to change our date and move it up a day.He made it happen without any hassles. Very friendly and I will definately do business with him in the future.

DAVID M. on 8/11/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Have a more noticeable sign and entrance location identifying appearance.

ELICIA C. on 8/11/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

We had a nightmare experience here from the very beginning. I was told the gas meter read a 1/4 tank, but when I got in the truck it was at 1/8 of a tank. I of course told the service person at the desk, a teenage boy, who said it's always been like that and not to worry about it. Well, that whole process put me behind on our moving plans for the day, so I brought the truck back about 20 minutes later than it was due. Apparently they had scheduled our drop off for 15 minutes before close and when I got there everyone had left. I dropped the key off in the box and, no surprise, I woke up to being charged for two (2) days of rental. At least when the trunk door got stuck open we had already moved everything out! I do NOT recommend this place. Spend the few dollars extra to get a more quality truck and better service.

Darlington M. on 8/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The place looked under construction, not sure if it's old but needs overall improvement on property appearance

Kathy n. on 8/7/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I had great service and the location was very convenient. I will tell you that prior to my calling this location, my sister had called earlier in the week but no one answered the phone....

LYNNE C. on 8/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The guys were all very nice. We ran over our return time and they were very nice about it.

HENRY S. on 8/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had no problems so am not aware of anything needing change. Pedro was Vertu friendly and helpful. There was a Vertu good supply of equipment so I was able to add items.

DAVID S. on 7/29/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Quick and friendly service. Would use again.

GERALD I. on 7/27/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This was the worst experience we have ever had while renting equipment from any business. Poor business practices, poor communication, poor record keeping and poor follow through. We would not recommend renting from this U-Haul site or U-Haul in general. No one was at the business and the door was locked at the time we were there to pick up our reserved trailer during stated business hours. We called the corporate office to find out what we should do. This process took a long time. As we were on the phone with U-Haul corporate, while still at the Wheaton location, someone finally came, 45 minutes late. The person on the phone from the corporate office told us to go ahead and get the trailer from that location and they would e-mail us a receipt. We did not get a receipt in our e-mail. The trailer with the serial number we reserved on-line could not be found on the lot so the person that showed up to take care of the rentals that day gave us another one without paper work. We later found out that this person was a relative of the owner. Upon returning the trailer the same day, we found that again, no one was there. We left the trailer on the lot only to be called numerous times by U-Haul Corporation on subsequent days wanting to know when we planned on returning the trailer. Each time we were called we told the U-Haul employee to whom we were speaking the entire story and each time they said they would take care of it. It took nine days and numerous phone calls to get this straightened out and even now we are not certain it is. We were promised a return phone call when the matter was finally cleared up but have never received a call from U-Haul. We did, however, finally receive a receipt in our e-mail that states we rented the trailer for 9 days but the amount they are charging us is correct for a one day rental. We will continue to monitor our credit card for a while. The entire experience was a huge hassle and I believe that U-Haul should have waived the fees all together.

Heather M. on 7/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The customer service rep working at Lobus, Wheaton, on Saturday July 26th was efficient, professional and friendly.

TIMOTHY A. on 7/18/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service, great price!

KATRINA V. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I did leave two messages with the office about a question and did not receive a call back, but everything did work out without issue.

ERIK S. on 7/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was hesitant to use this location from all the bad reviews. However, my experience was entirely pleasant and I experienced absolutely no problems. Furthermore, not only was I able to retrieve my truck early, but I got to keep it all day since my scheduled return time was after they closed. This made the move much less stressful.

KEVIN O. on 7/8/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

My contract stated the mileage on the truck was 109480. When I pulled out I noticed the mileage was actually 109497. I tried calling 3 times, left 3 voicemails and I tried going back but they were closed. I took pictures of the mileage too. I haven't heard back yet. I hope to hear from someone soon before my credit card is billed since this is fraud. Also, the cab of the truck was filthy, covered in cigar ashes.

MICHAEL D. on 7/6/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

worst experience of my life. no customer service whatsoever. it will take at least 5 pages to detail what went wrong. I will be in touch with the president or his representative before long

MARIE THERESE S. on 7/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I had a reservation for 11am on June 29th at the LOBUS WHEATON, 649 CHILDS ST, WHEATON, IL 60187. I was told that the location was open until noon. I knew I was running late so I called the number provided (630) 517-3140. There was no pick up. I called two additional times again without anyone answering. When I arrived at 11:20, there was no one on site. I waited around the location for an additional 30 minutes. When I attempted to call customer service the first time, I waited on hold for 15 minutes before the line disconnected. The second time I called I waited on hold for 30 minutes before I was able to get ahold of anyone. The lady on the phone informed me that my credit card had been charged for a cancellation fee. She then transferred me over to scheduling to see if there was another Uhaul available that day. I waited another 15 minutes on hold just to find out that there was not a SINGLE truck available anywhere that day. Do you have any idea how unacceptable that is?! The individual that was working at the Wheaton location should be immediately terminated. In addition, I require the "cancellation" fee to be immediately refunded as well as receive $50-100 worth of compensation for not having my promised truck. I will now reference your website: Once the rental location representatives speak with you and agree with you on a pickup time, date and location, the reservation will then be considered “guaranteed” (the agreed upon equipment will be at the agreed upon location at the time scheduled). If U-Haul fails to fill your guaranteed reservation, it will pay you $50 as liquidated damages. If you fail to pick up the equipment at the agreed upon location within one hour of the time scheduled for pick up, U-Haul may cancel your reservation and it will not be obligated to pay you the $50. Regular cancellation policies may apply.

Anne S. on 7/1/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent experience...highly recommend!

JOE B. on 6/28/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

U Haul sent me here to pick up. I tried calling this company the night before and morning and no on answered the phone. drove there and no one was there. called U Haul and after 2-1/2 hours a manager from Itasca location showed up to hook me up. drove it to my home and loaded trailer and noticed 1 tire was low. Checked tire pressure and it was only 5 psi. filled it up to 65 psi. loaded my trailer, locked it up and drove to the gas station. filled up my truck and did a walk around. noticed trailer door was wide open with tehe lock attached in the lock position. opened the lock and relatched the door. Thought I was to tired maybe and forgot to latch the door. This time I made sure latch was secure and locked. drove down the road for 250 miles and stopped ata gas station. did a walk around check and found my trailer back door wide open again with the lock attached and locked but now several iteams missing that must have fell out of my trailer that was worth approxamately $4000,00 including 2 big screen TV's, several boxes of clothes and personal items. It was Dark out as it was about 12 midnight so I had a binder to hold this door closed since it already jarred open 2 times with it latched and paddle locked. I then remembered the same thing happened to me 15 years ago so this is common. I mentioned this to my buddy at my moving place and he said he also heard about this that the trailer flexes and the door will pop open. U Haul must have several of these instances and recall thisa problem. I did noticed U Haul also has double vertical swing door trailers that should not be a problem. I will be report this matter to Lost Dages.

PEDRO L. on 6/28/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

My favorite location, they have everything you need, very knowledgable about equipment you need for your move :)

Ashwin K. on 6/27/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The guy at the center clearly betrayed me and totally misled me. He was aggressive when I questioned him about the price. I am seriously disappointed with the uhaul experience and would never recommend this center and if it repeats again not even uhaul

KELLY G. on 6/26/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I am still trying to have a refund processed by this location, which never answers the phone, returns messages, or are even available in person. I was charged $25 for a cleaning, eventhough the van was delivered in an unclean (mud all over floor of interior) state. I did do a walk-around with the Lobus employee before taking the van, and he said he would note that it was dirty. He either didn't do that, or whomever logged the van back in charged me anyway. This is extremely upsetting, as the van was delivered to me in this state. I have now been trying to get the refund for almost 2 months. I am in the process of trying to get the refund through corporate now (Just got it taken care of by corporate, who were very nice - whew). Anyway, at this Lobus location, unfortunately poor customer service and follow-up. Save yourself the frustration and rent from another U-haul location.

Michael S. on 6/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I was a little nervous renting from this location after reading some of the negative reviews, but my experience turned out to be great. Wilfredo was the employee on staff when I picked up the truck and dropped it off, and he was friendly, helpful, informative, and very fast. I was extremely satisfied with the service that I received.

ANTHONY H. on 6/20/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

This facility was ridiculous. The individual working actually called me to inform me that I would be inconveniencing him if we did not get the replacement truck back to him on time. Absolutely unprofessional in every sense of the manner.

KENNETH K. on 6/18/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The staff was extremely rude and did not have my equipment ready when promised. I was not told that the truck was not ready so I showed up at the scheduled time and day. I was told that since I wasn't buying anything I wasn't a customer and I could be asked to leave. When I did get the truck it was low on oil, windshield covered in bugs, and garbage still in the cab. When the guy directed me on how to load my car onto the auto transport he didn't know what he was doing and my car was damaged due to following his directions. The lady at corporate u haul was very kind and made things right!

LEAH A. on 6/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

We took advantage of the 24 hour drop off. It was easy and that was a great help after a long day of moving!

Stephanie C. on 6/13/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It would be nice to have two employees on Saturday mornings at this location so people aren't waiting for a long time in line (because everyone gets there at 9am and expects it to be quick). It would also be great to be able to pick up the uhaul earlier on Saturdays- 8am would be great for those who want to move earlier.

MICHAEL G. on 6/11/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

This location had a 5PM closing time. We arrived at 4:30 PM and no one was there.

KENNETH M. on 6/11/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It was a new truck and it had a new key and it did not fit in the hole in the key drop box. I had to go back the next morning to give them the key.

CHRISTINA P. on 6/8/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Awesome experience

THOMAS E. on 6/7/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The Office is more like a back-room, with no frills to enhance the ambiance, but the attendant was very efficient and professional. In the final analysis, it was everything it needed to be--and very inexpensive.

DOUGLAS L. on 6/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Supper happy with my service.

BRAD C. on 6/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very professional and competent. Great job.

JULIA C. on 5/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

After renting from Uhaul NUMEROUS times in the last month, I was was HIGHLY disappointed that you charged me $.20 more a mile because "it was Friday and it's busier" according to your customer service rep. Wow - $.20/mile was worth my business when the Wheaton UHaul location was fully stocked with trucks.

BRIAN H. on 5/27/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Trailer was old, dented, rusted. Safety chains did not fit to my hitch and I was told to find an adapter which took 3 hardware stores before I found one to fit. Not the best experience

INGRID V. on 5/24/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

They were really nice to pull out the truck on the road for us to access during pick up.

KAREN B. on 5/19/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Customer Service is AMAZING here, He is VERY kind, and VERY helpful. Thank You.

KELLY W. on 5/18/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The truck cab had water in it, the check engine light came on at start up, and the breaks squealed badly. Not worth my 40.00.

SUZANNE C. on 5/17/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Terrible customer service. Rude associate ever!

JAN Q. on 5/13/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Shorter time on check-in and check-out. Seems to take a lot of computer time for staff.