Lobus Wheaton (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Lobus Wheaton (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |

Address

649 Childs St
Wheaton, IL 60187

(630) 517-3140

Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 5 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 3 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 12 pm

Features  

  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for Lobus Wheaton

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of Lobus Wheaton

Overall rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

GARY G. on 12/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I found nothing to be out of order or anything to complain about. Your manager provided excellent customer service.

DAVID J. on 12/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The manager runs this location very efficiently, he is professional and friendly, for a small location, independent, it is my favorite.

RODGER M. on 12/16/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The quoted rate for the transaction was 0.79 cents/mile but the receipt and payment reflects 1.19 dollars/mile. It would be much nicer to have the rates correct from the start.

PHIL E. on 12/15/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

muddy lot, no one there on Sunday. poor signage on where the office is and where to park vehicle. This was not my intended drop off spot but I was directed here by Uhaul last minute. Now I am also having to deal with an issue over the fuel level of the returned truck.

MABLE H. on 12/12/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Pedro was great had truck warming up as my paper work was being done. Dropped off after hours and got a email the next morning. Will use this location again. Plus had a broom and garbage cans out by the door.

SANDRA O. on 12/10/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Accidentally left the keys inside of the uhual truck outside of the location where I rented it (childs st) the same night on the day that I rented the uhual. Left a note inside the drop box letting them know. The next morning Pedro calls with a attitude & very unwilling to help to tell me that he didn't have a spare to get into the old beat up uhual, any tools & that he would have to hire a locksmith & charge me for it. I tried explaining to him that I was at work & had no monies to pay for that. That I would call the roadside assistance to go unlock the truck free of charge & if not I would go unlock it myself after work. I called the roadside assistance line & talked to Shawn,he said he would call Pedro's boss to talk him about his attitude & to let them know they would send help to open the uhual free of charge. I am very disappointed about Pedro & Shawn NOT keeping their word because I am being charge the $70 & $230 for I don't know what!! I will fill a claim about the $230. Very unhappy with the overall service. Regret being a regular uhaul customer

Silvia H. on 12/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Use them all the time thanks again

mable h. on 12/5/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Love this guys there the best

JEAN G. on 12/2/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Pedro of Lobus U-Haul in Wheaton is a pleasure to work with and, is always there for the customer. Have had the pleasure of renting from him several times.

Aaron Z. on 11/30/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The U-Haul employee was very helpful with trailer hook-up and instructions.

DEIDRE D. on 11/27/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I originally scheduled pickup at a location 2 miles from me. Uhaul emailed me 3 days prior and changed my location to a different location 7 miles away. I was irritated but glad the agent gave me the truck for the entire day instead of just 6 hours.

Chris F. on 11/24/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

While the office is nothing to speak of (kind of a hole in the wall), Pedro was great. He was super friendly and professional, great to work with.

KRISTIN S. on 11/19/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The truck I rented was in bad shape. It didn't handle very well.

warren m. on 11/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

While the vehicle we rented was in good working order, it did have a strange smell that my wife found nauseating. Also, a light in the mileage area came on indicating the vehicle needed an oil change. Otherwise, the vehicle fit our need.

STEVE W. on 11/17/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Professional and very helpful

matt e. on 11/14/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Dropped off the truck in the night when closed got a email the next morning, will definitely recommend this place

CHRISTOPHER H. on 11/12/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The location made a big deal about me arriving by a certain time so the truck could be ready for the next person. When I arrived the door was locked with a note on the ground that says "Out to lunch". The note left a phone number, which I called but only received voicemail. I would recommend customer return to a different location.

NICHOLAS W. on 11/10/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Services was great. I had trouble with the times and they worked with me to make sure I had the truck when I needed it. Would definitely use again.

DAVID C. on 11/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

got there late no place to park trailer too much equipment onsite

DAN B. on 11/10/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Customer service rep came in 15 min early on Saturday so I could pick up the truck.

JUSTIN E. on 11/10/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I feel like this location has attempted to defraud me - he called me and said that he had another customer waiting for the truck, but when I called uHaul service, they said that they checked his scheduling and that the vehicle wasn't booked for that time. I feel like trying to hit me with a $150 fee for being an hour late for a customer that doesn't exist seems a bit harsh.

Benjamin W. on 11/3/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service

JOHN W. on 10/27/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Didn't have the furniture pads 0. Nada. Zilch

William V. on 10/26/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The location is very convenient. This is the first time we reserved a truck at this location and actually picked it up there. For this rental, the driver's seat beat didn't work and the check engine light was on from beginning to end.

Susan F. on 10/26/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Best Uhaul experience I have ever had.

SILVESTER B. on 10/22/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Upon initially driving off the U Haul parking lot with the empty truck I noticed the brakes were squishy and took some time to respond. After loading up the truck, I noticed that the braking time increased much more then I had anticipated. I have rented and driven trucks of this size before and the brakes were never this bad. After a short time on the highway, I applied the brakes and the ABS light and the brake light both came on, in addition to a loud hissing sound whenever I applied the brakes. I pulled the vehicle over and called U Haul customer support. I told the support representative my problem and that I had turned the vehicle off and back on again to see if the lights would go out. The brake light went out, but, the ABS light and the hissing sound remained when I used the brakes. I was told by the u-haul representative that the vehicle was safe to drive with the ABS light on and the hissing brakes. I asked are you sure? They assured me it was safe, So I agreed to try again on the highway. I found that I had to primarily rely on engine braking in order to slow the truck. If I applied the brakes from highway speed, the brake light would come back on, which I attributed to a failing master cylinder. If I relied upon engine braking to slow the vehicle down to approximately 25 mph, then I could apply the brakes and stop the vehicle safely. I do not believe this is what U Haul would refer to as a safe vehicle. ABS is a feature that you want to have functioning on a loaded truck, in addition to a fully functioning braking system. After returning the vehicle to a u-haul facility after hours, I spoke to a u-haul rep and let the person know that this vehicle should be serviced. I also inquired as to what kind of safety tests they do to each vehicle before releasing their vehicles. His response was, "um, like you can call customer support".

JOHN A. on 10/20/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Somehow, Lobus Wheaton seems to be where refrigerator dollys end up .. not sure why, but there's a *lot* of 'em stored in the office there. The appearance could be improved if they could be moved to a warehouse...

DAVID K. on 10/16/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Pedro is really a courteous, friendly, personable person. But 2 issues: 1) I was not able to rely on him to be on time. Website says this location opens @ 9am and 2 days in a row I was there but he showed up 9:20-9:30. Not good if you have a sense of urgency to maximize the use these vehicles. 2) I had asked in advance to have 7 doz trailer pads. No doubt, this was a challenging request given the small size of this location; I respect that. However, I had asked Pedro to call me with updates if/when he received them from U-Haul Traffic ... but he never called me. At extra expense, I drove to the Aurora U-Haul location, rented 6 doz pads, JUST TO BE sure I would have them. Again, good guy, nice demeanor. Good equipment. Good review of my final charges. But overall an avg experience due to these 2 items.

DANIEL C. on 10/15/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had no problem but the lot is a little tight when returning the vehicle. Great price, excellent service, u haul hasn't let me down ever. I have used them for almost 40 years. They're better than ever.

TIM R. on 10/15/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

My largely negative rating is the result of being overcharged on my credit card following the return of the truck. I rented a 17' truck for an in town move that would only take a few hours. The truck was rented Saturday morning around 10am, I was instructed by staff to return the truck to the lot and place the keys in the drop box if no one was present upon return, which was the case at around 5pm. The final bill came in and Lobus charged my credit card on file for 2 days of use, rather than 1. I called several times during business hours, left messages and got no response in the days after. I was finally able to get a hold of someone during business hours and was told the matter would be taken care of, via a refund of the extra day or a manager would call, neither occurred. I disputed the surplus charge on my CC, which was not accepted. I am very concerned with the ability for the business to charge my CC for services that were not provided. I would not recommend this provider, and will be avoiding U-Haul in the future, and directing others to avoid them as well. I will be calling corporate to escalate this issue that should have been prevented by simply having a local manager return my phone calls and explain why I was charged for 2 days of use, when I only used it for 1. If you must use Lobus, I would recommend avoiding the drop box, since they seem to take liberties with when they account for trucks being returned.

RENEE R. on 10/14/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I would recommend this location for convenience. However the wait time on a Saturday morning was very long. Only 1 person was working. It took over 45 minutes to get the truck I reserved.

ROBERT F. on 10/12/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The equipment I reserved was not there when I arrived and the person working there said there was nothing they could do, so basically I was just out of luck.

KEVIN K. on 10/12/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Gravel parking lot and sketchy office area.

MATTHEW S. on 10/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The truck I rented broke down in the Interstate. When the tow truck driver finally arrived, his truck was too small to tow the u-Haul truck I had rented. He determined that the truck had overheated because it was out of (and possibly leaking) coolant. Overall, my rental was a frustrating experience with a poorly maintained vehicle that ended up costing me several hours of inconvenience in addition to the rental fee.

ANTHONY J. on 9/30/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The original drop off site did not have drop and go capability as I was told so I had to locate and drive to an alternate drop off location. The gentleman there was very helpful and courteous. I wish to recognize him (agent # 10107) and thank him.

LISA B. on 9/30/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very efficient operation.

Ray J. on 9/27/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding service

Ray J. on 9/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great Expierence

GARY M. on 9/13/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Everything was ready on time, actually returned a day early and received credit! Truck had a few dings that were already marked (they had stickers) but was completely serviceable, so no problem there.

MIKE P. on 9/8/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

First, there was not attendant there when I arrived. When I returned, no one around again. I was nevern told that I need to fill up before return. I was being charged for mileage, so I never expected that. This was not a good experience.

REBECCA N. on 9/8/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This was the WORST moving experience I have EVER had!! I will NEVER reserve a UHaul truck again! I booked my reservation for a 17' foot truck at the end of July. My move was scheduled for Saturday, August 30th...I booked it a MONTH in advance, mind you...plenty of time to get it right, I'd say?! I showed up at Lobus Wheaton on August 30th to get my truck, and it occurred to them -then and there- that they did not have it on site. Apparently, the woman who rented the truck before me never returned it. She clearly breached her contract, and kepttruck had been for three additional days and counting. When the employee called her and asked her to return the truck because someone else needed it, she said no, and hung up on him. Obviously this wretched woman is the one who started this mess, but I can't do anything about her unfortunately (lets just say it is a damn good thing we weren't there at the same time...) Despite this horrible customer, Lobus Wheaton handled the situation VERY poorly. First of all, they didn't even realize their truck was missing until I arrived that day to get it...DON'T YOU KEEP TRACK OF YOUR INVENTORY, LOBUS?! How long was it going to take you to realize your truck had been missing for 3 days?! Don't you look ahead to see what reservations are coming up, and double-check to make sure you can MEET the needs of that reservation?! They should have checked ahead, and CALLED ME ahead of time to let me know if they couldn't meet my needs! It is so poorly managed over there, it's unbelievable! I asked them to give me another truck from their location, and they said no. My dad and I were livid, and sat in their parking lot for over an hour frantically calling every truck rental in the area trying to locate a truck...being last minute (and Labor Day Weekend), there were NO trucks to be had anywhere! That woman, and this Uhaul location, made my moving weekend one from hell! I had to move myself using cars and one minivan....10 car loads and tons of $ in gas and mileage later, I finally managed to move all of my stuff, but not after losing years off my life due to the stress and anxiety! A few days later, I called UHaul to file an official complaint. Their website guarantees $50 to any customer whose reservation they cannot meet. Needless to say, I wanted my $50! That's the least they owe me after this mess! I opened a case with the agent, and she told me that I would receive a call within 2 days. Four days later, no call. I call back and inquired about my case, just to find out it had been CLOSED by someone on their end. I asked why the HELL had it been closed when it was never resolved?! They didn't know, of course...I reopened the case, and was 100x angrier than I was before. The second agent was a nice kid, and he assured me I'd receive a call within 24 hours. Well, that was also 4 days ago, and I haven't heard one damn word from them. I am not letting this go easily...I PLAN ON CONTACTING MY ATTORNEY AND CALLING UHAUL AGAIN TODAY

ROBERT B. on 9/6/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

THE GUYS WORKING WERE FRIENDLY, HELPFUL.

Piyush H. on 9/3/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The guy charged me randomly 150 for cleaning the truck . And I took the pictures of truck before dropping it off. When I called to confirm what the charge was for, the guy over there was very rude and started yelling. I had to hung up the phone, I have never seen such customer service where people are being charged randomly. i was given this link so that a review manager can look into this issue. -- Piyush Hargunani

KENNETH D. on 9/2/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

the pickup employee, ( pedro ) was nice. however never showed me the truck just gave me keys and pointed to where it was parked down the street, never offered supplies or equipment to help in our move, was suppoed to be a 24 hour rental, turns out was only 12, i was late bringing back, other employee was very rude to me, wouldnt give his name had his wife or girl friend was yelling at me in the background, very unprofessional, had to call police to come with me to return truck. dirty place, dirty seat to sit on felt like i was in someones garage. never again will i rent there and will never recomend this place. ALSO they are tacking on extra days to my contract, and also charged me a cleaning fee, but to their surprise i made a video of the truck when dropped off with mileage and condition, will they be in for a surprise! DONT RENT HERE IF YOU IF YOU DONT WANT TO BE YELLED AT BY EMPLOYEES! they are huge liars!

MARTHA A. on 8/31/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

When we dropped off truck...we got there before closing. No one was there. But key was too big to put in drop box. So we didn't know what to do but leave it in glove compartment. There should have been someone there when we arrived. The key was different than the other type of keys. So might need to improve your drop off when no one is there. Not very clear in those directions. Truck was brand new. Something needs to improve for after hr drop off.

LANA S. on 8/31/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

They were very uncooperative and nothing was ever explained about bringing the truck back. We told them in the beginning we wouldn't be back and they said no problem but didn't explain the cost to us they just tacked on the prices which were extremely high with no explanation. We are very dissatisfied at the unprofessionalism of this establishment. And the guy hung up on me when I tried to talk to him.

MARK B. on 8/29/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

CLEAN UP THIS LOCATION , IT WAS A DIRTY FILTHY MESS. NO WHERE TO SIT , NO RESTROOMS. THE PERSON WHO HELPED ME WAS DRESSED LIKE A GANG MEMBER AND NOT VERY FREINDLY. THE TRAILER WAS VERY DIRTY INSIDE . I HAD TO SWEEP IT OUT AND CLEAN WITH RAGS AND BUCKET OF WATER. THE OUTSIDE ALSO VERY DIRTY. IF I HAD AN ALTERNATIVE TO RENT FROM SOMEONE ELSE THAT DAY I SURELY WOULD HAVE. OTHER THAN THAT THE TRAILER PERFORMED GREAT AND MEET MY NEEDS FOR A ONE DAY MOVE.

CHRISTOPHER C. on 8/26/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

My biggest area of complaint is the number of vehicles at this location. I was scheduled to have a cargo van at 3:00 p.m. but the previous customer had not returned it yet. Having only one van at the location, the manager told me I would have to wait until tomorrow and that I would have the van in the morning. Upon arriving the next day the van was taken by another customer who had it reserved. Because of this, I was forced to use a much larger truck when I had specifically asked for a van due to the fact that my move was quite small. On top of that, I was told I would be charged the van rate because of the error and ended up having to alert the manager to change the rate on the final bill. While the staff was friendly and helpful, this location seems to lack the resources and overall customer service expected from UHaul.

Brian A. on 8/25/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was the only customer walking in, and it still took about 30 minutes until I was able to drive away with the trailer rental. One of employees hooked up the trailer, and I didn't realize, until I was driving 45min on the highway, that he didn't tighten the coupler down. I found out because the trailer became unhitched while I was driving! It's a good thing I was able to quickly pull off the road too, because one of the safety chains unhooked, too. Then when I called the number of the office to speak to someone about it, no one picked up and I couldn't leave a message because their voicemail is full.