Customer Reviews for Dominion Land & Auction Company
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

1,266 reviews

200A Merrimac Rd   Blacksburg, VA 24060

(540) 382-8447

Hours

  • Mon–Sat
    9 am–5 pm
  • Sunday
    8 am–12 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2022: 9:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 12/26/2022: Closed
  • 12/27/2022 - 12/31/2022: 9:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 1/1/2023: Closed
  • 1/2/2023: 11:00 am - 5:00 pm

Show All Hours

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(540) 382-8447

200A Merrimac Rd
Blacksburg, VA 24060

Services at this Location:

Hours

  • Mon–Sat
    9 am–5 pm
  • Sunday
    8 am–12 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2022: 9:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 12/26/2022: Closed
  • 12/27/2022 - 12/31/2022: 9:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 1/1/2023: Closed
  • 1/2/2023: 11:00 am - 5:00 pm

Show All Hours

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Edmun C. 
Rating:
5.0

Very flexible and accommodating. Because of the uncertainty of the arrival of our movers I had to change my Uhaul reservation date several times. The folks at Dominion couldn't have been easier to work with and arranged everything beautifully.

raymond G. 
Rating:
5.0

Great customer service!

Kory H. 
Rating:
1.0

The owner with the mullet, has made inappropriate comments to female customers. Which has made this location an uncomfortable environment for female clients and students.

Everett V. 
Rating:
5.0

I've rented from this location several times in the past couple of years. I keep going back to them because they always have outstanding customer service, just like this past time. They went out of their way to make renting over a holiday on my time schedule possible.

THOMASLEE D. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeffrey W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jose A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jisuk L. 
Rating:
5.0

N/a

Mark K. 
Rating:
5.0

The staff was a delight to work with . They were pleasant & informative. They really went over & above to make everything go as smooth & easy as possible. They will continue to get my business & I will recommend them to everyone I know. Thank you!

laura D. 
Rating:
5.0

The owners that we're Husband and Wife went above and beyond to help me and my family out. They were very courteous and helpful, I will always recommend them to anyone in the NRV area.

Annette B. 
Rating:
5.0

Very good service

Hector V. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service, very friendly staff!

W. P T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kuangzheng L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John S. 
Rating:
3.0

Overall it went well. The only thing that was a little annoying, was all the time it took to fill out all the information I had to give. It used to be easy, just give your drivers license and sign a a couple things and go, but now it takes 45 mins to get the paperwork done.

larry W. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing to do to improve. My vehicle broke down 2 hours away from home with no rental cars available in the area. Luckily a family member was driving along with us and we were able to rent a U-Haul trailer to put our luggage in so we could all fit in one vehicle to get home. Freddy came in after hours to assist me with trailer rental. I cannot thank him enough for helping me, we were out of options with our vehicle broken down and needing to be towed. He was our hero for sure!

tiffany W. 
Rating:
5.0

The owner was super helpful on a sunday...his day off. Yes they were officially closed, but he happened to be there and still helped me rent a truck last minute. superfan!

Christopher H. 
Rating:
4.0

Maintain the parking lot where the vehicles are parked. It is difficult to remove them due to the incline, rocks, and getting on to the road is like trying to drive onto a sidewalk

Yash M. 
Rating:
5.0

Very nice customer service rep at the location!

Christopher R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kenny J. 
Rating:
5.0

The crew at Dominion is exceptional. Best Pick Up experience one could want. Equipment was on hand and ready, knew who I was and why I was there, fast check in, help with hook up, and easy to work with. Definitely 5 stars.

Philip K. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service

Shawn S. 
Rating:
5.0

All in all it was a wonderful experience... Attentive and thorough and made sure that we got the right truck for our needs. I only wish that you guys still rented appliance dollies.

john P. 
Rating:
4.0

Ray was so helpful and friendly. Really appreciated her support!

ALEXAZALOPANY C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

STEVEN D. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kevin A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kevin M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Becca N. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MASONTANNER D. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tyler L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Alec S. 
Rating:
5.0

The gentleman working there was extremely helpful. I had a difficult task I couldn't accomplish but with his advice and help, it was easy.

TIM B. 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Eriki R. 
Rating:
5.0

The employee that helped was top notch!

ian B. 
Rating:
3.0

I turned the truck and keys in on Saturday 9/3 at 7:00 PM in the after hours box and I was charged through 9/6. I followed the instructions for turning in after hours through the link. It was very disappointing to be charged 3 extra days.

Susan C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Peggy H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Deb W. 
Rating:
4.0

My name was written in the receipt as antin skanovskiy wrongly. My real name is mehmet demiray. Could you please fix the receipt name

anton S. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service!

David C. 
Rating:
2.0

Even though I had not signed up for U-haul share program, thinking I wanted to know how everything would work by talking to a person, I think I would have gotten more information that way. Though I asked questions, I still had problems when I picked up the rental (had a flat tire, back was open, didn't know where it was parked) and more when I dropped it off. I was told to just drop off the key, but then found out that I needed to use the app to take various pictures of the vehicle to complete the return. I ended up having to rent two vehicles because the first I pulled off the lot with a flat without realizing it. The automated text messages came through only after we had started driving.

Audra W. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joel S. 
Rating:
2.0

The checkout process was strange; I never received a copy of my contract. However, the return was great — a different agent, Matthew, was very helpful.

Angela V. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GERALDINEK S. 
Rating:
1.0

This guy was no help just handed me the key and

jim B. 
Rating:
1.0

Have someone that took inventory so they know when something has been dropped off.

Isaac H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Yen L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mayurkumar P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

lisa K. 
Rating:
1.0

The guy charged me an extras 120. Felt like a scam

Andy G. 
Rating:
2.0

This location has so many vehicles and we have yet to actually find a truck where we are directed. There simply needs to be better organization. Also, our truck was parked so close to another truck that I had to crawl through the passenger side. I had incredible difficulty backing it out without hitting the truck beside me. I took pictures.

Gina S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOE S. 
Rating:
1.0

I asked and paid for 2 utility dollys and when I got there, they didn't have anymore. The clerk that was supposed to be there to “man” the store had some kind of an emergency and had to leave the store. He didn't call his boss and didn't find anyone to be there for him. Myself and about 15 others waited at the store for 3+ hours for him to get back. This was ridiculous. To reserve something and plan on moving that day but can't because the clerk left his post is just straight up unprofessional. I couldn't believe it. And then to top it all off, my credit card was charged for the full amount. I'm irate right now. Someone from U-Haul needs to contact me please. ASAP

Michael K. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sharon C. 
Rating:
5.0

I had the truck for twenty fours and had to drop it off on a Sunday. I wasn't aware I would be penalized $20 for an after hours drop off. Especially since I had to try and locate my truck on my own and I had to search thirty trucks to find a hand truck. I will say, the young man who runs the place is professional, courteous and a pleasure to work with, considering the pressure he was under during the college(s) move ins.

JOHN S. 
Rating:
1.0

Very rude personnel. No clear directions, and they charged extra for no reason. I will not be returning and wouldn't recommend it.

eva A. 
Rating:
3.0

I was told I wouldn't get charged for something and then got charged for it.

alina V. 
Rating:
1.0

Extremely bad experience. When I got to the location the person there told me that because I was an hour and few minutes late to pick up the van, that he was instructed by corporate customer service to delete my profile and cancel my reservation. I was absolutely shock to hear this and could not believe that major corporation like Uhual would take such an extreme action because a customer got to pick up their rental 1 late. In addition, he told me that he would need recreate my record and I would need make another reservation at a higher cost and that there were no more vans for rental available.Totally outrageous. I informed him that would call the corporate customer service to address the issue because everything he share did not make any sense for a company like uhaul to have such extreme operation procedures. Once I mentioned about reporting the issue the corporate office, he magically was able to find a van available.when got to the storage facility I noticed that the van was in horrible condition and was empty in fuel. . One of the front tires was completed wormed out to the point where you can see the wires coming off ( I have a video to prove it. Due to the risk of personal injury I ended returning the van 30 minutes after picking it up and using my car to move my daughters school items to her dorm. It took me 5 trips to complete the move. I spent $35 dollars worth of fuel which I did not get to use. Horrible customer service. I would not recommend this location.

josesph S. 
Rating:
1.0

No place to park a big truck had to walk across a busy street to drop off keys...I think u all make enough money to have a place that is easy to drop off..

Rayetta S. 
Rating:
3.0

Please see what you all can do to more fuel economical vehicles. That would help . Thanks

Pervaiz M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

kaiyi C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer service was pleasant and attentive.

Coleen B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Maggie L. 
Rating:
5.0

The person who was there to accept the truck was very kind and helpful. I would happily get a truck from this location again.

Emma C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Matt B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steve K. 
Rating:
5.0

Dylan went above and beyond to assist me on an extremely busy and rainy Monday morning. He was incredibly organized, polite, and sincere. He handled multiple customers with ease and a smile! You are lucky to have such a hard working honorable employee, I hope he is compensated appropriately! Thank you

Rebecca S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jake B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark D. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

juan N. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Edward A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Majji M. 
Rating:
1.0

The trailer was actually dropped off at Power Zone, 2700 Roanoke St, Christiansburg, VA, 24073 due to inability of the original drop off being able to accept it. I tried to drop off the trailer at Dominion Land and auction, and no one was there. Not a problem, I dropped off the trailer in the designated lot, which is across a 4 lane divide highway away from the office, very inconvenient, and then waited for some one to show up. When they did, they told me that they could not accept the trailer due to have no room, yet I found a spot in the disheveled, pot hole ridden, gravel lot to park it. They told me that I would have to take it to another place and gave the address. So, I had to go back to the lot, reconnect the trailer and then drive 15 minutes further away to drop it off. This is the worst experience I have ever had with a uhaul drop off, and will definitely think twice before using uhaul again. On the positive side, the gentleman at Power Zone was courteous, friendly and quick.

Anthony P. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Behzad R. 
Rating:
1.0

When we arrived for dropoff, there was a sign on the door saying the staff was out to lunch. The directions for where to drop off the vehicle were very unclear - "across the street" - and overall it was frustrating.

Jeffrey P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

mark H. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bettina S. 
Rating:
5.0

Great location no issues. Agent was bright pleasant and enthusiastic.

ROBERT M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer service is 5 star! Helpful people working there are a definite asset to this location.

Jocelyn P. 
Rating:
1.0

As a moving company owner, that rents regularly from uhaul. This location was bad to begin with. But after Dylan Howard and his girlfriend started running this location, it went down hill (which was seemingly impossible). They have threatened me and other customers (according to my moving clients) with physical assault for no reason except for being bullies. My moving customer stated they had to call the police due to Dylan's violent behavior. Multiple customers of mine and myself included have been charged multiple days extra for uhauls likely due to Dylan's gross negligence and failure to turn in our trucks. In addition, I have witnessed the owner of the lot, Dave Beasley (who is Dylan's boss) curse out clients on two different occasions for little reasons. I have heard Dave Beasley call one of those customers the N-word as well. The place is hard to navigate through and is disgusting. But the people here make it even more unbearable. Dylan and David have disrespected multiple people and it's hard to believe this is a reputable business

Everett V. 
Rating:
2.0

I went two three different buildings looking for the office, which I never really found. A man told me to just drop off the trailer in a lot across the highway. I felt uncomfortable doing this, but had no choice. It was hard to tell where to leave the trailer, and bothersome that NO ONE was there.

Gary B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jack G. 
Rating:
3.0

This will be the third time that I've reached out to y'all I was told someone would contact me I have a discrepancy with my bill

Donna T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Richard S. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service

Sibtain B. 
Rating:
1.0

We were not told the office was closed from 12-1 even though our pickup time was 12. He did not reply to our text. We came back and picked it up at 1:30. We returned it one day early at 11:08 on 8/6. He just dropped the keys in after hour return slot and went back to his car detailing business. Assured us he would process it and only charge for one day. He charged for two.

LAURIE C. 
Rating:
2.0

The trailer is not well-maintained and the parking lot where it is stored is also not well-maintained. The wires wouldn't stay connected and two of them were cut and it banged up and down like crazy (it was attached correctly). Just could use some attention.

Jennifer P. 
Rating:
1.0

The guy was very nice but then didn't follow through. Despite repeated attempts and phone calls to the location, it took almost a week to check the equipment in and close out my reservation. In addition, I had to call the Raleigh Regional Office to note the situation so I didn't have any billing issues.

Charles F. 
Rating:
1.0

Warning lights on dash board, damage to right side of truck

Michael T. 
Rating:
3.0

Parking and car storage locations are very haphazard

Masaki H. 
Rating:
3.0

Had a dirty blanket in the back

Ross W. 
Rating:
5.0

a bit tricky to figure out where to go. but otherwise the people were so nice and helpful. and very quick and getting everyone in and out.

Virginia M. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mercedes F. 
Rating:
2.0

the parking area for drop off was extremely small

Richard F. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

matthew B. 
Rating:
3.0

Good equipment but tank was 1/4 full

Hannah B. 
Rating:
2.0

There was a lot of confusion about our reservation including: 1. We were told there was no truck for us, and that the large truck had been overbooked so none were available. 2. We were then told that there was a truck but there were no keys for it. 3. We found the keys ourselves in the ignition. 4. All of the confusion caused us to receive our rental quite late which impacted many things related to the job we needed the truck for. We actually rented another truck when we thought our reservation was not going to be fulfilled and then we had to cancel that one.

Cindy B. 
Rating:
5.0

Dillion, the manager, is the best customer service professional I have ever encountered. He went above and beyond helping me and my husband with our truck to move in town. Exceptional service!! Paula and Steve Campbell, July 29, 2022

Paula S. 
Rating:
5.0

Staff was friendly.

Janet A. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

  • Trucks for Sale

    We have the largest selection in the industry!

Back
To Top