Customer Reviews for Empire Car Rental
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

2,917 reviews

87 Ethel Ave   Toronto, ON M6N4Z7
(Keele & St Clair)

(416) 532-9191

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 6 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Sun: 10 am - 2 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 10/4/2022 - 10/5/2022: Closed
  • 10/10/2022 - 10/12/2022: Closed
  • 10/18/2022: Closed
  • 12/25/2022 - 12/26/2022: Closed
  • 1/1/2023 - 1/2/2023: Closed

Show All Hours

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(416) 532-9191

87 Ethel Ave
Toronto, ON M6N4Z7
(Keele & St Clair)

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 6 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Sun: 10 am - 2 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 10/4/2022 - 10/5/2022: Closed
  • 10/10/2022 - 10/12/2022: Closed
  • 10/18/2022: Closed
  • 12/25/2022 - 12/26/2022: Closed
  • 1/1/2023 - 1/2/2023: Closed

Show All Hours

  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

The drop off place wasn't clean. The lot was part of a larger trucking firm/junkyard type of a place. It was hard to find. All u haul equipment was organized well. The lady who was working there was great - friendly, kind and helpful. Her office space was a messy dirty old trailer.

sarah R. 
Rating:
3.0

Maintain tire pressure of vehicles, ensure the floor of truck is safe and not caving in with weight, place dollies in truck when dollies are reserved.

Kyle G. 
Rating:
3.0

less air in the rear tire. consume too much gas. drive 8" van 17km, add 6.88 liter gas

JINGHAI L. 
Rating:
1.0

I was charged for fuel though I filled up the tank to the amount that was filled when I picked up the vehicle

jess F. 
Rating:
5.0

.

NextLevel C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jamey S. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Enache M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kira V. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JASON S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Chen K. 
Rating:
1.0

You guys charged me an extra day on my rental, plus i actually returned the truck with more gas than when it was given to me, and i got a surcharge. I have pictures as proof.

steven S. 
Rating:
1.0

The quote I received when I booked the reservation did not match what I was charged. (Received a quote of $34 and was charged over $100.

Gregory E. 
Rating:
5.0

Good location and excellent help (again) from the woman who provided assistance with the drop-off.

Kate H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

mark C. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Craig L. 
Rating:
5.0

I came from out of the way because my local uhaul didn't have the size of trailer I needed on short notice. This location is huge with tons of equipment. The Manager Fred is so knowledgeable and friendly. He made the experience worth the trip. I'll be back.

Jessica C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

antonio N. 
Rating:
5.0

Amazing staff and convenient location. Thanks!

Francis D. 
Rating:
5.0

the location was fine, what was disappointing was that I initially made the reservation in the cherry beach location. and was not aware that it had been changed until I called uhaul on the day of the reservation. this was very disruptive and disappointing.

Alexander D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Timothy H. 
Rating:
5.0

My check-in was very quick and the service was very friendly. I had an excellent experience, which I appreciate. I will definitely be returning.

Phil B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JASON S. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Takeisha C. 
Rating:
5.0

Not contactlsss dropoff for some reason. Manager wanted me to bring key to their office

mark S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Omer R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mani M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Benjamin C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Carmen C. 
Rating:
1.0

The man who arrived to open the office location was rude and not welcoming at all. Not what you want to see in the morning of an already stressful moving day. He was yelling at customers from across the lot to moe their cars and threatening to have them towed...This is as he was driving into the lot and as he was getting out of his car. The lady who arrived shortly after him was a dlight however. The complete opposite of the man. She was kind, courteous, light hearted and made the checkout experience delightful.

CALIN V. 
Rating:
1.0

We went to pick up the truck and it wasn't there and was forced to drive 20km to get another one from a different location

Jerry B. 
Rating:
2.0

This location was a 40 min drive, with traffic, from where I had booked pickup - UHaul needs to be figuring out how customers can pick up their reserved trailers at the location chosen. Adding hours to moving day doesn't make sense. After discussing this with others it seems to be a frequent problem for customers.

Karen D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

patricia C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Vitaly K. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Adam C. 
Rating:
3.0

Reservations were compromised caused panic and confusion price and location kept changing…. Not happy will be calling head office

IVANO E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROBERT B. 
Rating:
3.0

I was surprised this location is just a bit dirt lot. Signage on where to return trailer wasn't clear, and there wasn't staff handy to assist.

Paul H. 
Rating:
3.0

Great customer service, friendly staff

John M. 
Rating:
4.0

Ensure the right equipment is available

John P. 
Rating:
1.0

I was cheated out of money and given no information. Will never use Uhaul again.

Sohail A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Zigang G. 
Rating:
2.0

Had a confirmed reservation. Called the day before and reconfirmed. Arrived and was told no trucks were available even though there were clearly trucks of the right size in the lot. Had to kind of force them to give me one of the trucks there. Not pleasant

CHERIF K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Hamraj K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

colin S. 
Rating:
3.0

It was raining and there must have been a leak from the roof of the truck, so my couch inside got very wet and water-stained/ruined.

Mark B. 
Rating:
5.0

Great friendly staff! Plus, checked me in and got me out very promptly.

Hans K. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sudipta S. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Timothy E. 
Rating:
5.0

Thank you!

Yehoshua M. 
Rating:
3.0

Our trailer let in alot of water (it was pouring heavily all day). Our matress, box spring, and various items in cardboard boxes were damaged by the water that accumulated inside the trailer during highway travel. A warning that the trailers are not waterproof would help customers prepare, plan and manage expectations.

Joel P. 
Rating:
1.0

I am charged extra for gas(23l) $46.56 + 30$ Service fee but ı Returned at the same levrek of gas. I reached costumer service 2 days ago the person told me that we Weill call you. But never received a call. I sent an email that provided with bill but email doesn't work. This is a shame that uhaul have this kid of organization.

Burak D. 
Rating:
3.0

When we arrived, we were assigned a van that was already assigned to a different customer. One of the staff was thankfully there and helped us out since getting on the phone with customer service got us nowhere.

Tamara J. 
Rating:
4.0

Fast and convenient location.

Jason V. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Olivier G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Douglas H. 
Rating:
5.0

Pick up was quick & easy.

Warner C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael P. 
Rating:
3.0

The parking area is a muddy dirt patch and the office is a trailer. Although the service was fine the location looks temporary.

Chris H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tejas K. 
Rating:
2.0

They failed to report the correct mileage for the rental truck resulting in an additional 1200 kms being added to our bill. Luckily the drop off location was able to fix it before charging us another 1000 dollars.

Spencer H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Andrew L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Safa A. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing. The man working on this day was so great.

Paige L. 
Rating:
1.0

We had a very hard experience to get the keys

VICENTE E. 
Rating:
5.0

When I entered my booking, I requested 6 hours but the order showed up as a 3 hour order in the confirmation email. I wasn't sure how to fix that. Eventually I got through by phone to a main booking person and they fixed it for me but it was stressful not being sure if we had it for the whole day or not. The person at the location was great, very helpful and efficient and the app check-in process upon drop off was cool

John K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Heather R. 
Rating:
2.0

I was charged for a dolly, that I did not receive, despite calling this agent the moment I drove off his lot to let him know that I didn't have a dolly in the truck I rented. I emailed them after receiving my bill, and still haven't heard back. This was about 2 weeks ago now. Does Uhaul not care about how their neighourhood dealers treat their customers? This dolly is the smallest mistake that could easily bring this business a good review, but instead, I won't be using Uhaul again.

Peter K. 
Rating:
5.0

Overall great experience. This location was the best uhaul I have been to so far, they made a stressful move easy! Thanks Fred, you and your team are the best!!

ricky V. 
Rating:
3.0

Rented a trailer and stood in line to do the check in and once I finally made it into the office I was instructed to go and hook up before they could finalize the rental agreement. I would recommend that maybe it would be more efficient to communicate this process in advance and avoid the waiting in line to just be sent back outside to hook up.

Greg F. 
Rating:
5.0

Amazing customer service. I always come to this location, easy, fast and usually have the equipment I need.

RUI M. 
Rating:
5.0

The employee was amazing , helpful , friendly and super efficient . It was super busy on Sunday of 21 of August and she gave us the keys right on time .

KHALDOUN T. 
Rating:
5.0

Best staff

Jay B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kelly C. 
Rating:
4.0

Very friendly customer service, easy pick up and drop off. Would use again

Veronika R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Camilo M. 
Rating:
5.0

Phenomenal customer service, and very straight forward process!

Steven P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kata G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jun S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ann H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Matt W. 
Rating:
5.0

The guy who helped us (don't know his name) was very helpful!

Aleksandra G. 
Rating:
1.0

Hi, I unfortunately used the services at this location and strongly regret. On August 18th, I went to pick a truck and a very rude man was working behind de counter. After the worse customer service I have ever received, I left the premises with a van. He asked me where I was going and I gave him the address and made the payment. I dropped of the truck at the exactly time it was agreed and I made sure to fill up the gas tank before I brought the van back. The morning after my rental I had a charge into my credit card of $32 without a receipt or explanation. I called the office and they could tell me why the money was deducted from my account but they kept saying at first that I did not put gas which is not true and I do have a receipt. after he said that I exceed the amount of kilometres that I told them. I never gave an estimated number and the person working behind the counter made the calculation after I gave him the address. He stated that I exceeded 20km, which makes no sense because I went straight to the address without any detour. I asked them for a receipt with the breakdown of the amount I was paying extra and I never received a reply. So far, this is the worse service I have ever received and I would never recommend to anyone.

Raquel C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gregory D. 
Rating:
5.0

Helpful Staff, great experience!

Erich K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Pavol H. 
Rating:
4.0

your website can be inconsistent and can "throw out" a user mid-transaction (particularly pick-up).

Mark H. 
Rating:
5.0

Always go above and beyond if need be!

IRFAN D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Samira A. 
Rating:
1.0

We have an issue before and was not resolved. Very bad service

Mauricio P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Andrew G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

carl D. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was ready to go at the agreed to time. Helpful in answering questions. Very efficient!

Jonathan W. 
Rating:
1.0

I've rented from many uhauls in the past and this location is the absolute worst. The process of lining up to be told that I should have hooked up first and then back to the line and then the waiting for someone to empty the trailer (it should have already been emptied) to line up and wait again for the contract the. To lineup again in the car waiting for the checking of break lights. There is no organization and whoever screams the loudest gets service. It's ridiculous. I would not recommend this location.

rita B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Farai G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Judy C. 
Rating:
3.0

You need to know who your dealerships are. U-Haul corporate sent me to two locations that WEREN'T actual U-Haul dealerships. How do you not know who your franchisees are and aren't? This wasn't the pick up or drop off locations' fault, this is U-Haul Corporate's fault.

Jocelyne I. 
Rating:
1.0

Actual price was 3 times the quoted price

Javier O. 
Rating:
2.0

a HUGE mess, getting at the trailer we were renting meant walking through an ankle deep mud puddle, more than an hour from arriving to getting out with the trailer, long lines, slow and poor service, very very disorganized.

John B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bruna N. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top