Customer Reviews for Golden State Storage
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

1,066 reviews

161 E Gonzales Rd   Oxnard, CA 93036

(805) 351-3180

Hours

  • Mon–Sat
    9 am–4:30 pm
  • Sunday
    11 am–4 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2022: 9:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 12/25/2022: Closed
  • 12/31/2022: 9:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 1/1/2023: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(805) 351-3180

161 E Gonzales Rd
Oxnard, CA 93036

Services at this Location:

Hours

  • Mon–Sat
    9 am–4:30 pm
  • Sunday
    11 am–4 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2022: 9:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 12/25/2022: Closed
  • 12/31/2022: 9:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 1/1/2023: Closed
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CRYSTAL F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Angel R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Thomas T. 
Rating:
5.0

Richard and John are always so kind and very helpful. This was my 2nd time at this location. Always a pleasure.

Rafael T. 
Rating:
5.0

Thanks so much to Richard who was so very helpful and flexible with out move today!

Cheryl D. 
Rating:
5.0

John was awesome. He had exactly what we needed, last minute, and exactly when we needed it. He was friendly courteous and kind. We would definitely use his services again. Thanks John.

Nancy R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jay F. 
Rating:
5.0

None

Alexsey C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Amanda T. 
Rating:
5.0

The truck air conditioning stopped working in the middle of the desert. With the heat of the engine the truck was like a sauna.

Joel J. 
Rating:
4.0

I have rented from this location several times over the past few years. John has always been so pleasant and helpful, I have had a truly positive experience every time I have rented.

Deborah K. 
Rating:
5.0

Staff was very helpful

Tonie V. 
Rating:
5.0

Thank you!!

David G. 
Rating:
5.0

Richard was super friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend!

JOHN M. 
Rating:
5.0

This location is exceptional. The guy who runs this location is really nice. Recommend because he is old school with his work ethic, don't find that much anymore… 5 stars

Rebecca B. 
Rating:
3.0

The $19.95 advertisement is misleading. I rented a uhaul truck for 2 hours, drove 23 round trip miles, for a charge of $71.82+$33 for gas so total cost was $104.82 for 2 hrs and 23 miles. Seems a bit excessive.

Catherine N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Heather W. 
Rating:
5.0

John was extremely helpful and seemed glad to have our business. Facility was near and clean. Truck in good shape and ready to go.

Thomas E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Josh L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kirk S. 
Rating:
5.0

Fast, effecient pick up and return. Nice, clean vehicle and everything worked properly. Office was clean and staff was well versed and pleasant..

Paul K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Craig B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Samantha I. 
Rating:
5.0

Great folks, helpful and accomodating.

Tom D. 
Rating:
4.0

More clean in driver side

Owne J. 
Rating:
5.0

Fantastic service at a convenient location!

Christine S. 
Rating:
5.0

I'm delightfully surprised by how smoothly everything went. The staff were the best!

Patricia R. 
Rating:
5.0

Verify customer a day before, so there's no need to call anyone the day of the move.

Fernando C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

candace C. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent experience

ROGER Q. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MITCHELL S. 
Rating:
5.0

Very efficient manager at the location. He was very on top of things and if I have to choose a location in the future, this would be the one.

John D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mike N. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy booking process, not easy to make changes online but the local manager, John, was extremely helpful and made the necessary change to a different drop-off location.

Thomas T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dave L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ted Q. 
Rating:
5.0

On the positive side, service was great in Oxnard, not in Ranchita

Michael S. 
Rating:
5.0

Improve the Uhaul website,

Luis O. 
Rating:
5.0

The checkout process for the 24/7 rental is beyond absurd. The need to wait around while an agent verifies me is one of the most painstaking rental experiences I have had. Much better would be to adopt a model like Zipcar, et al - you have my information on file, I should just be able to show up and get the code for the lockbox. Seriously, I have purchased firearms with less hullabaloo than you require to rent a rickety old truck. I need a selfie AND you have to call two alternate contacts? Ridiculous!

Jason M. 
Rating:
5.0

This truck rental went as smooth as silk. The truck was ready when I arrived and was a easy as pie.

Thomas C. 
Rating:
3.0

Better signage from the street. Agents were very helpful, pleasant and clear. Good place.

Robert C. 
Rating:
5.0

Nice place

Oscar D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Hope P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dante C. 
Rating:
5.0

This Uhaul pickup was outstanding. I didn't catch his name, but the gentleman who helped me was very helpful and courteous. He made extra effort to make sure everything was taken care of for my rental. I would definitely use this location again.

Greg B. 
Rating:
5.0

The man that helped us was excellent in customer service very friendly and I will definitely be back

Wendy H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Melissa C. 
Rating:
5.0

Golden State Storage is an excellently run facility. Uhaul, on the other hand, is not. The 3/8 tank of gas is absurd. The measure did not provide enough gas, and was impossible to gage upon refill. Either there should be a refund if you bring the vehicle back with more gas than when you picked it up, or the tank should be full when you pick it up, and full when you return it. As it is now, Uhaul is making sure it's impossible to refill accurately, and is bilking customers. I'm sure there's a class action lawsuit here.

Kathy Z. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Greg K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Angelina O. 
Rating:
5.0

Richard is simply amazing

Steve N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

zulema S. 
Rating:
4.0

I originally went to the U-Haul at 2420 North Oxnard Blvd. and spoke with the general manager whose name is Maria. I will never go back to that U-Haul location again. Maria has no business being a general manager. I have rented from that location several times and I will never go back. Thank goodness for the team at Golden State storage. Perhaps I would be better off in the future using Penske.

ANTHONY L. 
Rating:
5.0

The customer service agent was amazing.

Teagan L. 
Rating:
5.0

The manager John was excellent and explained everything. He changed vehicle for me a gave me the original price I was quoted. Nice clean facility. A very pleasant experience. His assistant Richard was great too!! Thank you!!!

Robert N. 
Rating:
5.0

Super friendly and great customer service.

Krista D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Chandler S. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing to improve. Amazing customer service, very friendly, personable yet professional, informative. Thank you

Brandon S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

blanca G. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly very courteous very professional staff

Jerry M. 
Rating:
5.0

John was very helpful and was able to on short notice (immediately) rent us a truck with no problem.

AARON S. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service . The gentlemen that helped me was very thorough. We looked the truck over and verified mileage and fuel level was as we expected. Very good customer service and always is at this location. We have rented from here before and will again when we need a U-Haul.

David P. 
Rating:
5.0

Why change a good service that works well.

Roger C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lisa C. 
Rating:
5.0

Richard Little was wonderful to work with. Kind and polite and very professional.

CARLENE W. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing!

ROGER C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSEPH L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

WILLIAM P. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing everything was perfect excellent customer service with a smile

RUDOLF V. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

PATRICIA R. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer service Rep was very friendly and helpful! Even provided us with a couple COLD waters! Thank you

Rudolf V. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Vered I. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Caroline T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TIMOTHY H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Khadijah B. 
Rating:
5.0

I have been so impressed with Richard and John, that I think they're just excellent in every way. The customer service was just over the top. Other employees could learn a lot from them! You definitely have a loyal customer here!

JANET Z. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MANUEL M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

PAUL C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TYLER G. 
Rating:
5.0

John was pleasant, friendly, and helpful. We've rented several items recently. Thanks

REBECCA L. 
Rating:
5.0

I made my Oder for one place and for 2 days and was given 24 hour only

ERNESTO D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MIGUEL B. 
Rating:
1.0

Do not make reservations if vehicles are not available

RUBEN A. 
Rating:
5.0

A+++

DENNIS P. 
Rating:
5.0

I called this location to reserve a truck. After hearing the recording to Golden State Storage, I hung up and drove there since it's very near me. Your recording should include U-Haul, or it'll cause callers to think they have a bad number as it did me.

RICK H. 
Rating:
5.0

Rep Richard is always nice and makes the process easy and always in good spirits

JOHN L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JULIA S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMES W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DAVID G. 
Rating:
5.0

Richard and John are the best I appericate there service and friendly demeanor, amazing! Thanks for the help!

SHARI P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

REYNALDO R. 
Rating:
5.0

Both Richard and John were very helpful and very friendly They had a great attitude it's unusual these days when customer service is often not what one would hope

PHILIP S. 
Rating:
5.0

John was super helpful and friendly!! Thank you!

BECKY L. 
Rating:
5.0

They are very friendly and helpful. Thank you for answering all my questions.

VIRGINIA G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Deborah L. 
Rating:
5.0

Great Service and Prompt to get a Reservation.

RICHARD V. 
Rating:
3.0

Way more than advertised On the mileage

Daniel F. 
Rating:
5.0

Great staff at this location. John and Richard have excellent customer service!

Ricardo T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bettina L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GEOFFREY K. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

Back
To Top