Customer Reviews for Heritage Home Hardware Building Centre
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

444 reviews

594 Second Line E   Sault Sainte Marie, ON P6B4K1

(705) 251-0029

Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 9 am - 5 pm
  • Sun: 11 am - 5 pm

Special Operating Hours

  • 4/11/2021: Closed
  • 4/18/2021: Closed
  • 4/25/2021: Closed
  • 5/2/2021: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(705) 251-0029

594 Second Line E
Sault Sainte Marie, ON P6B4K1

Services at this Location:

Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 9 am - 5 pm
  • Sun: 11 am - 5 pm

Special Operating Hours

  • 4/11/2021: Closed
  • 4/18/2021: Closed
  • 4/25/2021: Closed
  • 5/2/2021: Closed
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

was originally scheduled to pick up trailer at Crazy 8 construction on black dirt rd in sault ste marie.on april 3 at 9am. when i arrived there the business wasnt open and no one was around.not a happy customer. scrambled around to find the next nearest uhaul site which was the home hardware location. sales rep steve amazingly helpful to get me out of a jam.cant thank him enough. not particularly happy with uhaul booking or Crazy 8 construction location

Darin V. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James H. 
Rating:
3.0

Clearly state what day and time the truck is due back. Clean the cab well.

MEAGHANAUDREY J. 
Rating:
5.0

Inside of the Uhaul wasn't very clean at all. I was expecting to receive cleaning rules regarding the Uhaul due to the pandemic... but it looked like there was cigarette ashes in the ash tray and it was just overall pretty dirty. I got pictures of it helps.

Cody S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert L. 
Rating:
5.0

There were crumbs on the seat of the truck and fingerprints all over the dash and radio pad. With Covid I would have thought it would be cleaned between users. When I returned it I selected not clean enough for next user and was billed $25 for that. Very surprised that I have to pay an additional fee. The vehicle should be cleaned between each user and that cost should be included in the rental fee. The staff at the location (ashleigh) was very helpful when picking up the truck. I was stuck on how to do it on the online app and she worked through it. Very helpful lady.

Melissa S. 
Rating:
5.0

I reserved a dolly 1 month before leaving thunder bay. The day before departure I was informed that there was not a dolly available. A dolly was found in terrace bay(baxters) a two hour drive along my route.When I arrived to pick it up the dolly was frozen in to ice and snow and the location was closed. I called uhaul and spoke with an agent who found another dolly in Marathon another hour away but along my route. I told the agen to phone ahead to ensure that this dolly was not frozen in ice and snow. When I arrived the dolly was frozen in ice and snow and could not be freed. Now imagine my utter frustration and degree of piss offness. I had reserved a 10' truck and a dolly to tow a car with. Fortunatly there were two of us and one could drive the car and one the truck. This was supposed to save us on fuel etc as advertised by uhaul. I picked up a dolly the next day in Sault Ste Marie and towed the car for the last 650 kms So bottom line I had to drive 700km or 400 miles to do all this. I doubt that I saved anything and my frustration level was beyond reason .Customer service from uhaul was non existent between thunder bay and SSM. Explain to me why when I told Amir that terrace bay was frozen in to make sure that he called Marathon uhaul to ensure that the same problem did not reoccur and he didn't. At least the guys in sault were professional and made sure that everything was ready. Why you may ask? Because I personally called them and explained the shit that I had to go thru the day before!!!!! Hopefully this will land on someones desk who actually cares about their customers. To be clear I have been a repeat customer but will now question other options before using uhaul again. Did you read this? Drop me a line to confirm. I won't hold my breath.

PHILIPJ G. 
Rating:
4.0

Quicker drop off process would be appreciated.

DUANED W. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LIAMROBERT R. 
Rating:
1.0

Very disorganized. Vehicles must be ready. Get better staff

ROYD L. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAIMEEMICHELE M. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GEORGEAB B. 
Rating:
5.0

great

Veikko T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHESTER Y. 
Rating:
5.0

Very positive experience. Steve was the one person I had contact with. I had a lot of problems with my move itself needing to keep the truck a little longer. Steve was very friendly and helpful. Thanks.

HELENEA M. 
Rating:
5.0

I was very appreciative of Steve's assistance.

VALERIE B. 
Rating:
3.0

Outlet is not clearly marked from the street and difficult to find the counter once you are in the store. But there was plenty of help once you got there.

JOHNDAVID M. 
Rating:
5.0

Helpful and friendly staff will happily recommend.

JUSTIN E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Richard L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kristy R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Darlene O. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steve A. 
Rating:
5.0

Steve at the store itself was wonderful, from a technical standpoint uhaul as the larger company can work on the app and ensure it will work all the time.

JORDAN C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ismael D. 
Rating:
5.0

I saw a few trailers being maintained, so that shows there is ongoing care for the equipment. That's good. This rental was just for a 4x8 trailer simply to move a large desk. Pickup was quick and simple, had no issues at all with the trailer, and drop off was easy as well. Quick, simple, easy. This is what I have generally come to expect of Uhaul, and is what keeps me coming back any time I need a trailer or truck.

Matthew T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Georgina S. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Heather W. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rebecca P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gabriel A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ALEXANDER E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SABRINARANA C. 
Rating:
3.0

When you book in a month advance ,what you reserve should be available

PAULW G. 
Rating:
3.0

Put another outlet closer to east end of the city

JAMESE B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Samantha L. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent service. Continue this service you will be a success. Thank you. Take care and be safe

BRUCEA V. 
Rating:
5.0

I've had nothing but wonderful experiences renting UHaul trucks from Heritage Home Hardware.

Amanda Z. 
Rating:
1.0

Learn how to treat customers with class. So sad of a business.

MARIO T. 
Rating:
5.0

drop off was great no problems,how ever the truck was NOT good,the transmission had a delay into putting into drive specially when it was cold,once it warmed up it was better, the truck ran outta gas with the gauge reading 1/8 of a tank 10 k's from a gas station at 3.00 AM.once we got to our destination the transmission was acting up big time,a fault light came on the dash then the defaulted to second gear only,started off in second and stayed in second gear, the engine wasent running right and used way more fuel than it should of, didn't think it was gonna make it to the drop off, bad experience rental, i think i should aleast get some of my money back for all the inconveniences

Geoff M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeffrey C. 
Rating:
3.0

Truck was not clean, much less Covid cleaned. I had to spray sanitize everything. First truck they gave me had the ABS and check brakes lights on. Fortunately they had a second truck same size I could have.

DAVE C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeffrey C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christopher M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jennifer H. 
Rating:
5.0

You need more UHaul trucks in Sault Ste. Marie.

Kenneth G. 
Rating:
5.0

I was very disappointed with Uhaul booking. I booked an enclosed 6X12 trailer a month before my move and multiple times my booking was changed by Uhaul to a 5X8 open trailer. The people at Heritage Home hardware worked very hard to get me what I wanted but Uhaul once again gave a way my booking the day before I was to pick it up. Not very good customer service by Uhaul.

David B. 
Rating:
1.0

Reserved a van for 9am but was not available until 4pm. Had to switch to a UHaul truck instead and expose my furniture to rain.

SIMONE B. 
Rating:
2.0

I attempted to return your 15' truck to Home Hardware in Sault Ste. Marie on Saturday night at around 5 P.M. but the Home Hardware store closed at 5 P.M. I left the vehicle locked and parked in a well-lit area of the parking lot immediately in front of the dealer's store. Steve, the dealer rep was very rude because he had called me at 10:15 A.M. on Sunday to find out where the truck keys were because he had a customer who wanted to lease the vehicle right away. I told Steve that I had a contract for that vehicle until Monday, but that didn't stop Steve from abruptly and rudely hanging up on me. Not impressed with Steve's attitude.

Robert T. 
Rating:
4.0

Reserved a box trailer (available) only to have someone from uhaul call the next day and say it wasn't available. No trucks, no box trailers for amid month weekend rental. Come to find out that with CoVID U-Haul moving equipment to higher density areas to rent more with border closed. Not much equipment choice left locally.

Wayne V. 
Rating:
3.0

I originally booked a truck from Bruce Mines then it was cancelled and rebooked by u haul to Crazy 8 construction in Sault Ste. Marie they contacted me 4 days before pick up and said if there's any issue they would advise me. Well they didn't call me until I was 10 minutes from their location saying the truck was not returned for me to receive. I carried on to their location and the owner found me a truck from Home Hardware but it was 20' instead of a 26' for the same cost. I should of gotten a discount to only pay for what I had received. I had to leave furniture behind because it would not fit in a 6' shorter truck. Home hardware was great in getting me on the road as this whole process was timely.

Andy T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

bonnie D. 
Rating:
3.0

Review details of charges upon pick up

Mitchell H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Randy W. 
Rating:
3.0

Car hauler rental. Release on tie downs difficult to unload

Wayne V. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jason C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MICHAEL D. 
Rating:
5.0

Spray inside the cab to kill smoke smell.

David S. 
Rating:
5.0

U-Haul's centralized reservation system was horrible. I booked a 5x8 trailer a week in advance to be picked up at this location. U-Haul changed my order a few times and finally indicated I was to pick up a 6x12 at a different location in town. I arrived at this new location, at the confirmed time and there was no staff on site. When the staff arrived, I told them my preference was for 5x8, so they called the Home Hardware location (which is where my original reservation was) and they had one and would hold it for me. Thankfully the staff at the three locations were helpful!

Matthew B. 
Rating:
5.0

I had ordered a 15 foot truck 2 months in advance. I was advised 24 hours before my move that I would only have a 9 foot cargo van. When I advised the CSR that I had a 3 bedroom house to move she said you'll just have to make more trips. YOU CHARGE MILEAGE! So I had to make 3 trips when I planned on 1. My reservation was for 2 days and they only had me in for one. Thank goodness Steve at Home Haradware went above and beyond to help me!

Deborah S. 
Rating:
5.0

N/A. We did all our stuff online. Uhaul rep inside appreciated it

Alan W. 
Rating:
1.0

Truck wasn't swept out when I rented so I had to sweep out to avoid $25 surcharge. I had added a dolly to my rental but there was no dolly left in the truck for me. I call to tell them about the missing dolly and they assure me that I won't be charged for it. Then I get my bill and they charged me for the dolly rental plus charged me double because they say it's missing. Terrible service. Never renting from this location again.

Lucas B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

NICK N. 
Rating:
4.0

Service was very helpful and friendly

Terry A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Colin S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

doug C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Allen R. 
Rating:
1.0

On June 11th, I made a reservation for a 20' truck to be picked up on JULY 31. On July 30th, I was told no 20' truck was available (even though I had a reservation) and they couldn't tell me when one would be. They later found a 26' truck (not what I reserved) in Bruce Mines but I would have to drive there to get it. Before driving to Bruce Mines, I called to confirm it was actually there. It wasn't so my pick-up was changed to AUGUST 1. Then, the order was changed to pick-up at the Sault Ste. Marie location. We wasted an entire day by having to wait for the truck. We had to move the goods twice - once to temporary storage (for one night since we needed to vacate the house by July 31) and then to the truck. We incurred expenses for the temporary storage. We incurred additional expenses in fuel for a truck that was bigger than the one I had reserved several weeks in advance. In summary, just a terrible experience with U-Haul. The rep at the location tried his best to help but there seems to be a systematic problem with reservations and fleet management at U-Haul. Never again.

Dennis Z. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Luigi B. 
Rating:
5.0

This location was an excellent walk-in experience - but your online U-Haul ordering experience was disgusting. I had confirmed all my details and you had absolutely confirmed availability of a covered trailer at another location. It wasn't there and the proprietor (Pidge's Car Wash) simply laughed at the unavailability and took no responsibility, leaving me racing around town to other locations hoping to find something. YOUR ONLINE ORDERING PROCESS IS DECEPTIVE AND COMPLETELY USELESS, MAKING ME NEVER TRUST THE UHAUL ONLINE ORDERING PROCESS EVER AGAIN.

ian P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tina H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steve P. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly staff. Went out of their way to try to accommodate me.

kelly G. 
Rating:
5.0

Very helpful. After explaining all the issues with the trailer I was returning the staff immediately took it out of service and contacted their local mechanics to ensure the next user of the trailer had a safe and well maintained piece of equipment.

Donald M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMESC M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Randa A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Carrie C. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing is was a good experience thanks

dennis D. 
Rating:
3.0

Our location was changed several times, due to an equipment failure and we were never notified. The Regional Manager was to call us, to wxplain what occured but we never heard from anyone at all. We got a 26 foot truck as opposed to our 16 with a car carrier we wanted. Representatives at the location itself were great and helpful, but what we ordered versus what we got was a nightmare! Gas mileage was terrible as well on the vehicle in question, and the smell of antifreeze was throughout the cab the entire journey as well for a 26000 mileage vehicle.

Gordon L. 
Rating:
5.0

This was the second time that I rented from this location and the service on this occasion was just as good as previously. Excellent!

Ian B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert B. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joshua F. 
Rating:
5.0

I'm sure there's always room for improvement, however, I couldn't find it at this location. Even during the covid pandemic, I was treated with respect and I was 100% satisfied with my experience. Zero hassle.

Jamie P. 
Rating:
4.0

Equipment was clean but the lights on the trailer weren't working the way they should have. Almost a hour delay. The people worked hard to get the lights working which seemed to be a short in the trailer.

dave B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Larry N. 
Rating:
5.0

Rented an auto hauler one way to S Ontario. Kevin got me signed up quickly and I was on my way in no time.

Michael P. 
Rating:
2.0

If you want to wait hours and watch them struggle with their own uhaul programs. After I booked online and filled in all the extra information. Plus the trailer had a broken cable for the lights.

Beau G. 
Rating:
2.0

I'm not impressed I am being charged for 2 rental periods because of the 30 minute wait to get into the store then they have one person who deals with uhaul rentals whom was dealing with store customers and I had to wait 15-20 minutes to get the trailer which in turn left me returning it an hour late.

Shannon C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tammy B. 
Rating:
5.0

The computer was a little slow on pickup

PETER N. 
Rating:
5.0

Thank you Uhau team!!! You guys are number one ??

Carlo P. 
Rating:
4.0

Trailer was not ready at promised time and I had to wait an extra 75 mins to get trailer after a few trips into store to question when it would be available. Tailgate on trailer was missing the rod to secure it and was replaced by a large codder Key.

David B. 
Rating:
5.0

Kevin, in particular, went above and beyond.

ANDRES T. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Virginia S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Thomas L. 
Rating:
5.0

I had an unusually helpful experience today, everyone involved in my check in and check out process was very helpful. Will use uhual from this specific location when I can

Matthew S. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly and helpful.

Katharina M. 
Rating:
5.0

They tend to have the right inventory of truck, trailer and vans on hand to rent.....

Michael N. 
Rating:
4.0

Price was great. Vehicle was dirty and smelt like smoke. It also was stated full. However I drove a total 17km. I topped up the tank about 4 km short of the return location and it cost me $25.00 so there is no way it was topped up upon my receiving it.

wendy M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Richard S. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph C. 
Rating:
5.0

This dealer has excellent customer service -- online website is terrible and would not recommend it or use it again

Stephen S. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top