Customer Reviews for Michaels Service Center Inc
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

984 reviews

820 W Franklin Blvd   Gastonia, NC 28052
(Hwy 74 W)

(704) 865-0444

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 5:30 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 1 pm
  • Sun: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(704) 865-0444

820 W Franklin Blvd
Gastonia, NC 28052
(Hwy 74 W)

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 5:30 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 1 pm
  • Sun: Closed
No photos available
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jenna R. 
Rating:
3.0

I requested pick-up in Lincolnton but was notified to pick-up in Gastonia, more than 20 miles away and an hour later than I requested. I was given a vehicle with NO gas! I was told I would have to go to the station less than a mile up the road to fill up before my trip. I was given a $72 fuel credit but told to save my receipt and I would be reimbursed upon drop-off. That didn't happen! I'll never use Uhaul again!!

Kelsie C. 
Rating:
5.0

No comment necessary. Outstanding service & product at this location. Will be coming back.

Todd H. 
Rating:
5.0

The best and most simplest U-Haul location I've ever dealt with

Stanley W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ladonna K. 
Rating:
5.0

Show them how the fenders fold down so noone else weighting 275 has to crawl out the window of a dodge Dart! I got out and saw that rubber latch and knew immediately I had took the hard row to hoe!!! Funny now, but it will be better service to show that.

Landon S. 
Rating:
5.0

The people at Michael's Service Center, Gastonia is really nice people. I rent a U-Haul from them twice a year to haul my golf cart to my camper site in Morganton NC. Thank you for your kindness!

Yolanda H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

christa W. 
Rating:
5.0

Local folks, local small business, local advice.

randy W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jason N. 
Rating:
5.0

Michael's did an excellent job!

Michael C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

douglashans J. 
Rating:
5.0

I highly recommend this location! The gentleman there was very helpful! He went above and beyond helping me with my trailer. I cannot give him enough praises! I would definitely give this location the highest recommendation there is. I am an older woman in my 60's , moved from Florida and he readily helped me!

Kathleen B. 
Rating:
5.0

I was pleasantly surprised with this location. Definitely a family feel, exceptional customer service, knowledgeable, and equipment was extremely well kept.

Michael M. 
Rating:
5.0

Reservations made and truck was ready at the designated time. Staff was friendly and explained everything completely

warrenbrice W. 
Rating:
5.0

Tow dolly prices are high. Too High for less than 2 hours of usage.

aldenclint W. 
Rating:
5.0

Bobbie was very helpful and professional. I will recommend their location to all. Thank you

reginalde H. 
Rating:
5.0

Great experience with u haul service center

tracy L. 
Rating:
5.0

Peace & Good Day Please check Air Conditioner on our truck. It doesn't work. Thank you for your kindness. The Legacy Continues

lady G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

juan P. 
Rating:
3.0

Everything was fine until we tried dropping off after hours. We tried to use link sent by U-Haul, tried going straight to the website and created an account, downloaded the app, after trying all several times, it would not let us continue. Also tried on two different phones, wouldn't take us past the point where you submitted your photo. Hope you guys aren't charging a fee for those who try using the site and it just freezes up

kimberlycole B. 
Rating:
3.0

Need better communication between phone order with specific equipment asked for and pickup location. Asked for car tow dolly with brakes and went to pick it up at the location that had only regular tow dolly without brakes. Store owner said UHaul has no such dolly! Called UHaul and was told by the person on the phone the exact same thing "no such dolly" ! The thing is I went to the local UHaul rental 3 weeks prior and looked at one sitting in the lot and requested to have that very type with brake assist. Had to convince the UHaul assistant on the phone that they in fact do have the equipment . Was put on hold for over 10 minutes but when she returned she apologized for not knowing UHaul had this type of dolly. They found another location that had what I needed and I was able to get it. Did cost me a coupe of hours getting loaded and on the road but all is well. Just want to mention that the person for UHaul on the phone was always polite and did find what I needed but the first pickup location I was sent to the store owner was really rude and argent and told me I didn't know what I was talking about. I will never use that store or location again.

greg W. 
Rating:
5.0

I am completely satisfied with the experience I have had with Michael's Service Center

Aliya R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

williams W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

william S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

reginalde H. 
Rating:
5.0

No improvements needed. Friendly and helpful staff! Kind and caring.

chasidy M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gralin B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

tina G. 
Rating:
1.0

Wasn't clean in the inside when i got it and i got charged a cleaning fee for a mess i never made . I expressed this before pulling off. Was also really rude to my boyfriend telling him he was fat in his licenses picture and it can't be him because he lost weight

Destinee L. 
Rating:
5.0

Very polite and professional staff. A pleasure to deal with

Fred S. 
Rating:
5.0

Dopped off after hours. Once O got the app working it was great. Had issues logging in. Had to re-create account. App authentication needs improvement. I do like functionality and ability to take photos and turn in anytime.

Bruce H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Susan W. 
Rating:
5.0

Honestly the experience was great ! Wonderful location I recommend whoever drop off here or pick up it's great !

Oren J. 
Rating:
1.0

The representative at that location was very unprofessional, rude, and racist. I had such a terrible experience at that location, that I will no longer be doing business with your company ever again!

Teairra D. 
Rating:
5.0

The lady who assisted me was very friendly and helpful.

Vivian G. 
Rating:
5.0

Great staff, made our move so easy.

jeffery C. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gerald T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Donnie L. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KENNETH M. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Hope A. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

barbara M. 
Rating:
1.0

Horrible customer service..wouldn't dare recommend

DEREK G. 
Rating:
2.0

Unprofessional

CRYSTAL G. 
Rating:
1.0

I returned the truck almost 24 hrs early and with 100 less mileage than on the contract, but I still get charged the full amount. I spoke with customer service and they explained to me the price is based on the destination's distances. So I got OVER quoted and not refunded my money when I went 100 miles and 24 hours less than the expected dates. I rent quite a bit from U-Haul, but this will deter me in the future for recommending or using this service.

William K. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing to improve on, very good service and friendly staff. Like talking with some old friends.

Michael W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSEPH P. 
Rating:
5.0

Great experience!

Johnathan W. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Terry G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Matthew L. 
Rating:
5.0

Yes,I was second do to I've to and impressed with your be people. Gas mileage was low but it then I've not driven anything in but a small truck before either

Curtis B. 
Rating:
5.0

Always very helpful!!!

KATRINA B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

jan G. 
Rating:
5.0

great people. very personalble and knowledgeable. highly recommend!

Raymond M. 
Rating:
1.0

I arrived 15 minutes before my reservation but ended up waiting for over 2 hours for the truck. No inspection or any cleaning done between previous renters and me. Truck was filthy! Spilled soda, nasty center console and windows were filthy. Truck had a HARD pull to the right when you hit the brakes and was missing marker lights and you could see daylight from inside the box, good thing it didn't rain. They didn't have the dolly I reserved nor did they have the furniture pads. Location was sketchy and employees not service minded at all. I won't ever go here again nor will I recommend anyone go here.

Justin L. 
Rating:
5.0

Wonderful Customer Service. Would certainly use again.

Laura W. 
Rating:
5.0

I was very pleased with how easy the staff made the rental process. Very friendly and very professional attitude. I would go back if I ever need to rent a U-Haul.

PATRICIA L. 
Rating:
5.0

Wonderful service, everything was clean and ready at the exact time I needed it. Make sure to have a reservation!

Richard G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

dominick D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

biggerstaff F. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MAURICE T. 
Rating:
5.0

great friendly staff

biggerstaff F. 
Rating:
5.0

This location was staffed by the absolutely finest people I could hope to work with. They were fast, efficient and so very friendly that they took the stress right out of an otherwise tense time involving our move.

scott G. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Matthew S. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing the people were very friendly and very helpful.

dennislee W. 
Rating:
5.0

The whole transaction was painless and effortless.

HERMAN R. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Chad T. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHAD T. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Allison G. 
Rating:
5.0

Very helpful and fast

DOMINICK D. 
Rating:
5.0

The prices are missleading. A 29.99 rental turned into over $140 dollars. It's dishonest.

William B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DAVID H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ARTHUR L. 
Rating:
5.0

Bobbi and staff were extremely helpful and friendly Persons at other UHAUL locations should strive to their standards

Kathy S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CESAR P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Roland H. 
Rating:
2.0

It's too far away from where we live in Belmont. I thought i had signed up for the East Wilkerson BLVD location. However, your EXTENDED hours on Saturday was a HUGE benefit.

Robert S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHANTRELLE B. 
Rating:
5.0

Give me the Dale Earnhardt sun drop banner.

KIMBERLY H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert D. 
Rating:
5.0

The truck was clean and the air worked. No maintenance issues. My experience was great. The service was excellent. Very friendly and professional staff. Thanks!

TAWANNA B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bryan B. 
Rating:
2.0

Check the vehicle before renting it out. We had to wait on someone to come change a bad tire for over an hour. Then I got charged for 2 dollys. The only one we had was the crappy useless one in the truck.

Brent C. 
Rating:
5.0

Truck was available at this location. Local dealer at Michael's was a lot more helpful than U-Haul was. Thanks to local owner, my moving experience was great. Don't call U-Haul on the phone they won't help, call local dealer with the trucks they will solve the issue. Big U-Haul doesn't care about the little guy but dealers do.

ROBERT M. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

berfi G. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Yolonda C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

steven todd M. 
Rating:
4.0

The people at this location was great! Was very quick and efficient. Very happy with the service from this location. Now the truck itself is a different story. The truck has numerous issues and shouldn't be on the road, especially going from North Carolina to Ohio.

LISA B. 
Rating:
3.0

I found the check out process to be ridiculous. Take a picture of this and take a picture of that. Of course, you don't know all this until you are about to drop keys in the hole on the door. Too many questions. Or, you can pay them an extra $20.00 and they will do it. Also, the pay per mile is also ridiculous. Far too many charges. Used to you paid the initial cost of rental and replaced the amount of gas used. Now, not only do you do that, but pay per mile. U-haul is ripping people off.

davidmattthew K. 
Rating:
2.0

The person I spoke with on the phone was rude and had no information that I was requesting. I ask how it worked for me to get my rental after regular business hours. How do I get a key and so on. Guy said hell if he knows. I told him I don't know how to do the online check in and out after hours and he told me I had until 5 o'clock to figure it out. He was no help to me at all. Luckily, you guys at Uhaul made it easy to follow online.

todd G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TIA S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

jeremy L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TRENT K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lamorris W. 
Rating:
3.0

Have an employee explane the controls of the cab area. Some people might not understand them. Just a suggestion.

eric andrew P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Alexander F. 
Rating:
3.0

The truck ran horribly. The drivers side head light was out. It smoked upon starting. Truck needs work.

Brandy C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jason Y. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

Back
To Top