Customer Reviews for Michigan Sports Academy Livingston
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

112 reviews

1260 E Grand River Ave   Howell, MI 48843

(517) 546-8073

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 10 am - 7 pm
  • Sat-Sun: 10 am - 5 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 10/31/2021: Closed
  • 11/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021 - 1/1/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(517) 546-8073

1260 E Grand River Ave
Howell, MI 48843

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 10 am - 7 pm
  • Sat-Sun: 10 am - 5 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 10/31/2021: Closed
  • 11/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021 - 1/1/2022: Closed
  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Good people.

Chris B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Stevie J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LAWRENCE MICHAEL B. 
Rating:
5.0

Very good customer service. They helped me immediately.

Jason F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joyce W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bradley M. 
Rating:
5.0

The online check in needs serious work. I tried several times to get a code to log in, but got nothing. I also tried calling the 800 number and was hung up on. I had to leave a note and pray that I don't get charged for the second 8 hours. I will NEVERdo another online check in.

Steven H. 
Rating:
5.0

We had the best care!

Johannes H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tyler S. 
Rating:
5.0

The door on the trailer was a little difficult to close, and jammed several times, but other than that it was a great experience.

Taylor S. 
Rating:
4.0

Have more details about pre-existing damage.

Brian W. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly staff, easy to work with. Truck was ready and waiting for us.

EMILY F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kevin D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Thomas S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David B. 
Rating:
5.0

The owner was very helpful. I was originally supposed to pick up the trailer at this location but somehow that reservation could not be fulfilled. He helped me to line up picking up a trailer at a different location and then dropping it off at his location

NORMAN LEE P. 
Rating:
5.0

Dropped off the truck and trailer, employee took the keys and said "have a good day", quick and easy.

Steven M. 
Rating:
1.0

Dropped off the uhaul, the rep that brought it in was friendly, until after he had the truck. Within 4 minutes of it being dropped off, he sent a charge to my credit card for a fuel charge of $20+ right after i just put $30 in the tank to bring it to where it was per contract. I called asking for an explanation and he advised that he was still in the truck so he hasn't even made it out yet, leading me to believe that he just sent the charge without even taking a look. Then proceeded telling me that it was for mileage which i was 70ish miles under limit, i advised this than i told him that on the receipt it says “fuel charge” and he then scuffed and said it shouldn't show that detail on my side leading me to believe that he was happy to send an extra charge to my credit card without having to explain why. Between this issue, and all the other issues i dealt with using uhaul, i will hire a full moving company before using them again.

Caleb G. 
Rating:
5.0

The U-Haul associate was incredibly helpful with helping us get our new trailer set up. He even helped us transload our cargo from the old trailer to the new trailer.

Benjamin M. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing about the location. The 26 foot truck needs some improvements. The ride is very uncomfortable. I appreciate that this is a super duty truck for carrying heavy loads. But the ride comfort is too harsh in my opinion. Power windows and door locks would be an improvement. Like that it has a gasoline engine and not diesel.

Thomas C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

William V. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

William W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Eric N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Scott B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Andrew Z. 
Rating:
5.0

Great customer service contact

William C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Taylor B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CODY JAMES F. 
Rating:
5.0

Hopefully have more equipment available

Ross A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James M. 
Rating:
4.0

The location was great, the company sucked.. I reserved a truck 2weeks before I needed it, did the online check in, got a call a few days before telling me that I had to pickup at a different location, no problem and bigger truck, again no problem. But when I get there you changed my time to late afternoon, not telling me, and this was a VERY BIG PROBLEM. I ended up going to 2 other places to get a truck that you could and should have had ready for me, I wasted 2and 1/2 hours getting something you should have had ready for me. What's the point in making a reservation if I can't have it. Someone needs to get there crap together. It's stressful enough for us to move, and for someone like me who lost a spouse that's why they are moving I didn't need this..

Julia O. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Frank M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Doug M. 
Rating:
5.0

This was not our first choice to pick up the u haul truck. the location that had said they would have truck for us, could not meet that obligation and sent us 45 minutes away to pick up the truck. When we got there the 26ft truck we had reserved was not there. previous renter had not returned the truck. This location tried to find a solution and the best they could do was give us a 20 ft truck. NOT IDEAL, but better than no truck. The gentleman at Michigan Sports Academy was great in all the calling he did to try to figure something out.

Shawn E. 
Rating:
5.0

Great customer service. But I left a cash deposit and was told I'd get my cash back when I drop the truck off in south Lyon. The south Lyon location issued a check, I call and tell them I got a U Haul to move and the check needs to be canceled and I want my “cash deposit” back as promised and they advised me to call U Haul. Called the main manager and I still haven't gotten a call back. Both places were nice, & professional but I shouldn't have to do so much leg work just to get my cash deposit back. It's not the monetary value, it's more the principal.

Joshua D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Larry E. 
Rating:
5.0

In the text/email before checkout maybe let them know they have to take pictures! I turned my keys in before knowing I had to take a picture of the gas and miles. Besides that everything was great.

Tyler J. 
Rating:
4.0

Service and cleanliness/condition of the vehicle were excellent. Thank you

Lynnette L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rex S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James R. 
Rating:
5.0

Very nice and easy process. Will def use them again!

Matthew C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

adriana C. 
Rating:
5.0

The truck we recieved had an issue with the battery. We lost a whole day of moving due to our wait time for roadside assistance

Richard S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nancy A. 
Rating:
5.0

Great to work with Karl King were helpfull

Nick P. 
Rating:
4.0

No issues, excellent customer service

Mark M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Daniel S. 
Rating:
5.0

Great customer service everything was clean and ready to go

Terry K. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Stephen S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Barbara S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christina L. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark M. 
Rating:
5.0

Online check could be fixed a little bit and more simple

Danielle C. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

IAN DONALD B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Julie H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph W. 
Rating:
1.0

Smelled like a fast food restaurant. Empty bottles, dirty seats and sticky steering wheel. You'd think you could spend 10 minutes to wipe down, clean them out especially in the middle of COVID, I would expect much more for a $100 rental. Also, I think the brakes are going out in the van I drove.

Christina C. 
Rating:
5.0

Great experience. Very customer friendly!

John B. 
Rating:
5.0

What a wonderful experience! I've never rented a UHaul before, and Mr. Kling made it super easy.

andrea G. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy, great vehicle, very accommodating.

Timothy B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jay G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tim B. 
Rating:
5.0

It was awesome, don't change a thing.

Mark M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

YVONNE M T. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ronald L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Daniel E. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent staff. Excellent product.

RUSSELL K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ken F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Randy S. 
Rating:
3.0

I was given the wrong size truck (20 foot), and charged the same amount as the 26 foot...I asked why it is the same amount, and the nice young man behind the counter couldn't respond.

ASHLEY H. 
Rating:
4.0

Would be nice to get a credit for an early return date

Mike H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

thomas P. 
Rating:
1.0

You can't reach these guys when you need them - I didn't have this problem, but several people I ran into there did. The U Haul I had was unsafe. I was 17 minutes late returning it and they charged me for a full day, even though someone took it as soon as I returned it. It's a Sports Academy, so they are not focused on this business and their are plenty of places to pick up a truck. I would highly recommend that you use a different U Haul location.

Todd N. 
Rating:
2.0

The lights in the parking lot were out making check-in very difficult/scary after sundown. The truck was clean but ran like garbage. It actually stalled out once.

ADRIANNE P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

HEATHERANN H. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was very good when picking up the car hauler. The hook-up and inspection was excellent plus the agent well informed me on the entire contract

JOHN F G. 
Rating:
4.0

No issues, salesperson was helpful

Mark M. 
Rating:
4.0

A little more pricier than expected but the guy was nice

David H. 
Rating:
5.0

Great customer service. Easy access. Overall, it was a breeze. Online check in. They hooked up the trailer. Fast! I should say I screwed up a part of the online check in. Fixed in seconds. I will go out of my way to come back.

Quinn O. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRANDONLEE P. 
Rating:
5.0

Carl was very professional, kind and helpful. The experience at this u haul location was excellent.

GEORGE LAWRENCE D. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy to get to. Right on a main road.

Oliver A. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lawrence T. 
Rating:
5.0

The customer service was excellent I saw no real room for improvement, except an inspection with us would have been appreciated.

Christopher M. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

darryl B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RONALDJOSEPH K. 
Rating:
5.0

Great facility. Staff is extremely helpful.

Karl K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sara D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MICHAEL ROBERT B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steven B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MICHAEL H. 
Rating:
5.0

Install backup cameras or review mirror camera to see behind the trucks for safety.

David W. 
Rating:
5.0

My comments are in regards to D&H, they need to make sure the location tests the equipment prior to renting it out... within 30 seconds of me getting on the highway the dashboard lite up like a Christmas tree. That truck had issues long before I got into the vehicle. I will never go back to D&H. MSA Livingston were perfect, super nice, understanding of my situation and got me on the road for the day.

michael S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mackenzie S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHRISTOPHER JOHN C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LEWIS JOSEPH D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

PENIMARIE A. 
Rating:
5.0

Karl was super nice . Highly recommended.

Suzy L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Adam H. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

Back
To Top