Customer Reviews for North Tongass Mini Storage
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

280 reviews

8119 N Tongass   Ketchikan, AK 99901
(Mi Marker 819)

(907) 247-2461

Hours

  • Mon–Fri
    8 am–4 pm
  • Sat–Sun
    Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 2/6/2023: Closed
  • 2/10/2023: Closed
  • 2/17/2023: Closed
  • 2/23/2023: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(907) 247-2461

8119 N Tongass
Ketchikan, AK 99901
(Mi Marker 819)

Services at this Location:

Hours

  • Mon–Fri
    8 am–4 pm
  • Sat–Sun
    Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 2/6/2023: Closed
  • 2/10/2023: Closed
  • 2/17/2023: Closed
  • 2/23/2023: Closed
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Hanah Z. 
Rating:
5.0

Thanks

John N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer service was excellent. The store is clean and well supplied. Thanks for providing this necessary business

John N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jerry K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Malcolm S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sheila P. 
Rating:
5.0

Can't think of a thing except it would be nice if your location was closer to town.

Dan G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Wendy R. 
Rating:
5.0

This storage unit rental was a very good experience. Maya Bess was super helpful anytime we came to the office for packing supplies, questions or problems.

Debra S.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Please have available a net for cargo (boxes,etc) bracing so minimal shifting during transportation. It is like a safety net. Even if at a small rental fee, I would appreciate it. Thanks Awesome customer service and the vehicle wasn't hard to drive, initially it was a fear but I am a happy customer looking forward to using the company again. Thanks

Diane M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Hanah Z. 
Rating:
5.0

Very understanding and friendly staff.

Tammy R. 
Rating:
5.0

Courteous and great service

Veronica R. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rebecca G. 
Rating:
3.0

Very helpful young man who was taking care of me with the booking and checking out process.

JARED E. 
Rating:
5.0

Great job and thank you so much

steven F. 
Rating:
4.0

Everything was good. The squeaky chassis was annoying but the truck did the job. My only complaint being; When we tried to drop off early via online a very rude old man came over and started to harass my husband for where he had parked the uhaul. My husband parked it in a perfectly acceptable spot not blocking any traffic or access to the storage units. This older man (a good 25 years our senior at least) started to raise his voice and call my husband names when my husband tried to calmly explain that he was just dropping it off and his complaints need to be directed towards the business. My husband kept himself restrained through the man's yelling of insults and belittling and an employee came out from the building to move the truck away to diffuse the situation.

Matt H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dennis W. 
Rating:
3.0

Cracked windshield, driver window handle know falls off, parking brake release handle mechanism bent. Sure would like p/u trucks at this site.

John D. 
Rating:
4.0

Good customer service

Doug E. 
Rating:
5.0

Great people working there!

Pat C. 
Rating:
5.0

I couldn't sign in with my log in info, to avoid the $20 fee, I don't appreciate the stress of trying to sign in to site I've used a bunch of times and it just didn't work so uhaul slapped me with an extra $20.... not cool!

Carlos B. 
Rating:
5.0

Awesome friendly service, thank you!!

CHRISTINA A. 
Rating:
4.0

I was overbilled for this, my receipt attached is for $131, I was billed an additional 227 twice, please refund my card for this excessive billing Paul McMurtrie https://www.uhaul.com/Orders/Receipt?ContractID=490229353&CustomerID=af88a3ce-3059-4074-ae47-27b6bbbd7c3f&TransactionID=1581501605

PAULDANIEL M. 
Rating:
3.0

Maybe have trailer harness input/outputs on hand for sale/rent? I dont mind giving a local company business but having to run all the way back in to oreillys was a little much, other than that everything was okay.. the agent helped me put the trailer on & took it off for me too. He was nice, thorough, & other than having to leave to get the trailer harness, it was a smooth-ish transaction.

Rebecca G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph G. 
Rating:
1.0

This location needs to accept the responsibility that once they make, confirm and accept payment for a rental, that they need to make sure the equipment is there! Especially when the reservation is 2 full months in advance! The windshield was so nasty on the inside, we had to stop and buy Windex and paper towels to clean it. The truck was not ready until 2 days and 3.15 hours later than reserved for, giving me 6 hours to load a 3 bedroom, 2 bath house, before having to be on the ferry off of the island. All I got was a text saying “I'm sorry but I am probably going to have to cancel your reservation, we don't have the equipment,” this was 9 days prior to the pick up date. I got in touch with the regional scheduling office who jumped through hoops to ensure there was a truck there and available to me. However, as I said, it was not ready until 6 hours prior to me leaving. It was the most stressful situation you could imagine, as I was faced with the possibility of having to leave everything I owned behind. Someone who cares about people and the business should open a uhaul store there, this place is a joke.

Shannon S. 
Rating:
3.0

This is a formal complaint with U-Haul Living on a remote Island in Alaska without a personal vehicle, I had selected U-HAUL as my means of moving to Indiana via Alaska Marine Highway Systems (AMHS) to ferry down to Bellingham, WA. I made the reservation for U-HAUL on 2/25/2022, calling 1-800-468-4285, and spoke with an agent. She helped me book the 10' Truck from Ketchikan, AK for pick up on 7/13/2022 in the amount of $2,668.20. After booking the 10' Truck with U-HAUL, I then proceeded with booking my passage of U-HAUL truck to Bellingham, WA via AMHS M/V Kennecott, voyage to set sail on 7/14/2022 in the amount of $2,246.00. A few months had gone by since my booking, and I had decided to call our local U-HAUL agent in Ketchikan, AK, 907-247-2461, to get dimensions of U-HAUL cab to accommodate a carrier for my cats on 6/11/2022. The local agent Maya Sess, looked up my booking and then stated that 10' Trucks are not allowed off the island of which Ketchikan is located, and that I should have contacted her first. I have not moved anywhere in 10 years, and was not aware of this detail. U-HAUL agent Maya Sess in Ketchikan stated that any bookings done online or through corporation would not have known this detail, and wished that corporate headquarters would change this bit of information on their U-HAUL website, and gave me a contact number for U-HAUL Alaska headquarters. I was flabbergasted of this update, and called the number she gave me 907-562-2735 and spoke with agent Sharon. I had to explain my situation that I am moving from a very small rental, with 2 cats, and did not require a large truck to move. Anchorage U-HAUL agent Sharon was able to contact agent in Ketchikan to request next size up 15' Truck as that being the smallest truck U-HAUL would allow off the island. I had agreed to the next size up, and thankfully the 15' Truck was available. Once that was dealt with and secured, I then proceeded to update my reservation with length adjustment with AMHS ferry. AMHS agent said an additional 3' was needed for upgrade, and that that space was available. Paid additional $30 for 3' of space to accommodate 15' truck. My sister had flown up a few days before pickup date of U-HAUL. The day before pick up, Maya Sess of Ketchikan U-HAUL agent called stating that the 15' truck has a broken door and would require parts shipped in to fix it, and that the only truck available is the 20' Truck, and that if I did not want it there are 5 more renters waiting in line to use it. I told her I would accept it as it is the only option I have so close to departure time on the ferry. I called AMHS to see if space was available to accommodate the upgraded 20' Truck. AMHS agent claims an additional 7' would need to be added, and by doing so would put that size of vehicle in Premium status. I was out of options and had to agree, the upgraded fee jumped up to an additional $2,283.00, a doubled fee!! I called the Anchorage U-HAUL headquarters to see if any compensation could be made for such a drastic change in price in such a short amount of notice. He, Scott, claimed nothing could be done on his end. Very disappointing, and frustrating. Not only a giant increase in size of truck, ferry fees, and to add to financial punch gas prices for said 20' Truck. Gas prices for 20' Truck driving from Bellingham, WA to Central, IN totaled in $1,233.24. Due to lack of clarity and communication from U-HAUL, I have been financially burdened for circumstances outside of my control. I am requesting reimbursement for shocking ferry fees and fuel costs for a much larger truck. I have no employment, so this unexpected moving cost hits especially hard. For future movers to/from Ketchikan please update U-HAUL website to reflect no online bookings/ or 1-800-468-4285 bookings to do with Ketchikan and to ONLY contact agent in Ketchikan for all U-HAUL bookings at 1-907-247-2461.

Sonya M. 
Rating:
5.0

Facility and unit were fine. I found the office manager a bit rude at times. During the height of COVID you were NOT allowed to wear a mask into the office. Supposedly for safety reasons but with a huge TRUMP sign right behind her on the wall....I felt it was politically motivated and I felt that I was needlessly exposing myself in order to do business with U Haul.

Gerald B.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer service was fantastic and ensured I was able to get the equipment I needed as soon as possible

Max R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bradley G. 
Rating:
4.0

add more service pick up truck

shaun G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael S. 
Rating:
5.0

Great experience. Would highly recommend.

Koby H. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

mark K. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Wayne O. 
Rating:
5.0

Really easy check out process. They have the equipment that we needed to make our in town move a lot easier.

Megan F. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing! Great service!

Yvette C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Loren S. 
Rating:
3.0

Good service… helpful staff.

Robert J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Marcia M. 
Rating:
5.0

Very great

Donald D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Carol M. 
Rating:
5.0

The manager was very helpful and everything went smoothly.

Cari W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer service was amazing, we actually only rented to move one piece of furniture and we were able to borrow some straps that made the job much easier! :)

Cole I. 
Rating:
5.0

Location is kinda far out of town. Shuttle would be much appreciated.

Jim F. 
Rating:
1.0

So much confusion! I received a call the day before I delivered the trailer, telling me that i needed to deliver the trailer to a different place (Bear Valley Mini-Storage) than I was originally instructed to do. However, when I attempted to deliver the trailer, I was told that they could not accept it, as they were no authorized until Jan. 1...that I needed to take the trailer to the original location (as described in the initial agreement). I was advised to ignore any protestations from the lady at the other location...to just drop off the trailer and leave. It became clear that I was in the middle of some sort of feud. It was irritating and inconvenient, but I did as instructed. I delivered the trailer at the original location, but the lady screamed at us, telling us that we couldn't leave the trailer at that site, and that she would not report the trailer delivered. There was a great deal of screaming, but I couldn't understand most of what she said. Not wishing to endure verbal abuse, we simply drove off, without any processing of paperwork. Subsequently, I received a call from the Regional Manager, apparently located in Fairbanks. He apologized and provided a brief explanation about the source of the conflict. He further reported that the lady had accused me of hitting her car...but that he had video evidence that clearly demonstrated that not to be true. I informed him that my son was in the truck with me and had witnessed the entire episode. I subsequently received a text that informed me that an additional $200 had been charged to my credit card because the trailer had been kept beyond the 9 days allowed (it was on a barge from Seattle to Ketchikan). As I understood it, the matter was resolved. The Regional Manager was very helpful and reasonable, as were the lady and man at the Bear Valley Mini-Storage facility). However, the lady at the originally-designated delivery site was abusive, confrontational, and very unhelpful. My experience with U-Haul was uneventful until I tried to return the trailer. However, the delivery experience is not one I care to repeat. Ignoring the gas and time i wasted trying to return the trailer, I have no idea what I was expected to do when neither of the reported delivery sites was willing to accept the trailer. I don't know what the source of the conflict is, but it put me in an impossible situation...I had to deliver the trailer at some location so as to avoid additional late charges (which was beyond my control, due to the time required to drive across country and ship the trailer via barge). This may have just been an issue on the part of the lady who managed the originally-designated site, but it left me with a bad taste over the experience. I understand that personnel issues do arise, but this one was absurd1 However, I was treated well by the Bear Valley Mini-Storage folks, and the Regional Manager did his best to be helpful. Still, in the overall analysis, I was able to achieve my purpose in renting a U-Haul trailer. I sure hope I never have reason to encounter the abusive lady, as she was extremely unpleasant1

Richard C. 
Rating:
5.0

Bree was awesome! We had a glitch with u-haul corp. and she help us get it figured out and we were soon on our way. If you are moving your things around the island and want to do it all at once or leaving the island then go see Bree, she has what you need from truck rentals to all your packing needs. Thank you Bree

Pamela S. 
Rating:
5.0

The two boys that were sent out with the truck to help us move were wonderful. They took care of everything truck rental and driving and returning the truck.

Kitty E. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing, They had movers to help with my move. I was able to have Bree take care of everything and all I had to do was sit back.

Janet H. 
Rating:
5.0

Local property manager Ms. Bree very friendly and knowledgeable. Glad she explained everything thoroughly. Work got done eith 15' Van, easy to operate and use. Made work easy to move. Thank you UHaul.

Joseph R. 
Rating:
2.0

There was no person to check in or out. There was a spot on the body and a half a tank of gas that I would have asked about if someone had been there. I do not like your online rental and pick up

thomas R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kristin W. 
Rating:
4.0

Very friendly staff and upbeat facility

Dawn M. 
Rating:
1.0

I feel I was overcharged for this rental. I called on a Monday to reserve for friday oct. 1 at 330 pm until 330 pm Sunday oct. 3. I received a call saying I was late picking up prior to 330pm oct 1 saying I was to pick up at 330am, (not sure how that would have even worked) I have a text message confirming my 330 pm pick up on oct. 1. I received an additional call approx 2 pm on oct 1 saying I was scheduled for a Thursday sept. 30 pickup. After I explained that my original pickup was for 330 pm that day ( I showed her original message confirming my friday at 330 pm pickup and she blamed the error on “corporate”) she also said that I needed to be early so she could check on boats at the harbor so I left work early to up early from original requested pickup time at 245 pm. I was told to return by 330 pm Sunday and she would check me in. I dropped off Sunday at 3 pm which I thought was 30 min. early from original appointment and I got charged for 3 days for 48 hr and 15 min technically even though I was asked to show early from original pick up date. I feel this was an unjust charge. I tried calling to get clarity on additional day charge and she just said I was being rude when I was simply stating the reasons I felt she was over charging me. It's not right that I get hurried before my schedule for the operator to go check on something unrelated to the uhaul business. Additionally it showed I used 168 miles at .99 per mile. I figure I only used approx. 105 miles as I live on an island with only 30 miles of road and I only made 3 round trips in a 17 mile stretch of road so I feel the miles are not accurately tracked as well. Overall completely unsatisfied and will do anything to avoid using this service at this location in the future which is unfortunate due to not many options on an island that rains a lot. I have been a local fir 25 years snd this service is terrible.

Ryan O. 
Rating:
1.0

Read on the door " No Masks Allowed",when walking into the office and behind the office desk reads, "Fuck Biden". Would not rent to me unless I removed my mask in a city of the highest COVID area per capita in the county. UHauls representative "Bree" may be the most vile, person I have ever run across in my life both personally and professionally. She has gained local notoriety and I would assume after speaking to numerous locals that she has quite the reputation. Stay clear of this individual. She made me stand in a torrential rain and windstorm when dropping off waiting for a taxi, hummmm....think she might be a bit unstable. UHaul, you might want to check on this representative. I will be calling headquarters.

DUANE D. 
Rating:
1.0

Agent wouldn't accept 24/7 service request and would not rent me the truck. She was extremely rude and in pleasant. She cussed at me and told me to leave or give her money for time truck. Will never rent from there again. She makes UHaul look HORRIBLE in Ketchikan.

Jeff W. 
Rating:
2.0

The person working the counter ridiculed me for wearing a mask even though the community was on high Covid status. She refused to help me until I took it off. Also, there were political signs in the office that included spelled out foul language. I found this very inappropriate and offensive.

ROBERT W. 
Rating:
5.0

Brie was very pleasant and helpfull. Trailer was very clean and well maintained. We will absolutly be using U-Haul again. Aloha!!

Willie-Joe C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

NORMAN S. 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

manoel A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jack S. 
Rating:
5.0

Great customer service.

Roger B. 
Rating:
5.0

I know there is a communication barrier between 24/7 and southern southeast Alaska but I'm not sure how resolve that. Overall the staff and manager were very helpful and understanding despite the online experience I was having, they helped me .

Jack S. 
Rating:
1.0

The woman who rents the uhaul lies about insurance and tell you that you have to buy it. After doing some research it's a big problem. I want to file a official complaint.

Dominic F. 
Rating:
1.0

Clerk needs to remove sign that says she's loud not rude. Keep door locked until 9:00 AM if she doesn't want customers coming in. Change the tone of her voice if she doesn't want people to think she's rude.

Todd A. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Emily G. 
Rating:
5.0

Very pleasant office staff.

REBECCA M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark S.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

I can think of no way - this experience with Uhaul was great. Thanks!

Jarrod N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert K. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DANIEL W. 
Rating:
5.0

The lady in the office was amazing!! She really knows her business and made me feel like she was watching out for me. That's very special and superior customer service!

Jamie K. 
Rating:
4.0

I had an excellent experience renting my Uhaul. It was easy to do, including online, and I had the best and friendliest customer service from my local Uhaul representative.

Donna T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSEPH N. 
Rating:
5.0

Bree was wonderful and so helpful.

GILBERT V. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sam T. 
Rating:
5.0

We were a few hours late returning due to circumstances beyond our control. While the Agent did provide us with a phone number to call to try and get the additional $40 charge reversed I am surprised she was not able to waive the fee at that location.

JAMES M. 
Rating:
2.0

Make it clear that the UHaul app is needed to pick up the rental. Online doesn't work. (After trying for about 10 minutes, I called customer service and waited for 15 minutes to talk to someone. She said online doesn't work for check-in. I had to download the app and sign in. There is spotty service at the Ketchikan UHaul location, so it took a long time. I parried my car to get the truck and came back to a warning that I would be towed. It was marked as being in a fire lane, but there were no signs posted. When I was turning in the key, I saw a small typewritten sign on the door stating that there was no parking. Since the office was closed, however, I had no reason to see that little sign before I got the truck. The time on the sticker was the time that I pulled out with the truck. Someone evidently watched for me to leave before going out and placing the sticker. I could go on and on, but I'll stop. It was a terrible experience.

Gwenda S. 
Rating:
1.0

Trying to charge me for damages I didn't cause AND when I had Safemove Plus coverage 🙄

Melina C. 
Rating:
5.0

This was the friendliest and most pleasant moving experience that I have had.

Sam T. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service and very helpful staff. Can't ask for better.

CHARLENE C. 
Rating:
2.0

Both places were poorly located

FRANK B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Roberto L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOHN S. 
Rating:
1.0

Experience with Bree was a nightmare! She was rude, (We have mot been hollared at by personnel before) deceptive, and told us she has her own policies and rules. Charged us an amount above our contract without consent or signature. Gives U Haul a very bad experience and reputation. Will never use this U Haul location again, and we can not give it a positive recommendation.

ROY A. 
Rating:
1.0

You could hire someone who is professional and friendly.

Benjamin M. 
Rating:
4.0

The fees and process better communicated. There was significant miscommunication during this process. The experience overall was positive and after request for better communication to get fees and charges explained, solution was implemented.

DARRYL D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JASON G. 
Rating:
5.0

Most accommodating and friendly/helpful service.

Judy H. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOHN G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

HOUSTON L. 
Rating:
5.0

The lady who checked me in and out was very friendly and polite. Very good experience.

DOUGLAS A. 
Rating:
1.0

I have literally never experienced such horrible customer service in my life. I will NEVER recommend this place as long as you keep your current manager.My Husband and I just bought our first home. We were so excited when we arrived at the u haul to finally move into our home. But when we arrived we were not greeted and instantly The agent at the location Bree Macauley was rude and demanding. Instead of welcoming us she greeted us with what are you here for and shut the door. She was short and snippy, extremely rude and brought our mood down real quick. To the point I about asked the lady what the hell her problem was. I am a SUPER friendly person and have never experienced this type of service before. I knew the previous manager and she was so friendly ! I was honestly nervous to begin with based off your previous reviews. You would think u haul would hire somebody whos going to bring in business not throw it away. Ohh and to top it off.. What was supposed to be 149.35 quickly turned into $275!!! She handed me a card and told me they appreciate reviews... Have you guys read rhe reviews on this woman??? How in the world does she still has her job, i have no idea.

Marina S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Alaska Air Lines M. 
Rating:
1.0

This lady is the most rude individual I've ever had to deal with. She had the nerve to say I was the problem. She started it from the first minute we met. The rigs are great the service is horrendous.

Frank D. 
Rating:
5.0

Our service rep, Brie, was outstanding!

myrna L. 
Rating:
2.0

The location is out of town, so was very difficult to get online to do self check in. The manager had the day off and didn't answer any of the phone numbers listed on the door. When I was done she called and accused me of stealing $3000 of merchandise that was supposedly in the back of the truck. Donations. She hadn't even checked the other trucks and threatened me that if I didn't return it she would be calling the police this morning. They haven't arrived yet, and I hope they don't. She accused me six years ago also, of not filling gas tank without even looking at it! Charged me extra money until I called, she went and looked at dash and finally removed the extra charge. She doesn't seem to be the kind of person for you to have running your business here.

Wendy H. 
Rating:
5.0

Very pleasant experience, very well run considering the virus pandemic times we live in. very happy with U-Haul. thanks

Steven D. 
Rating:
2.0

Very disappointed in the $250 return fee for a representative to pick up the truck from The Ferry terminal and drive less than 10 mins. Explanation to cover their insurance seems excessive. This is the 2nd rental and the previous one was $50 fee less than 4 years ago. $250 seems unreasonable.

Gretchen C. 
Rating:
5.0

Bree is very helpful and professional!!

CALEB T. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Self-Storage

    We have the most coverage in North America!

  • Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top