Customer Reviews for Portage Ace Hardware
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

191 reviews

5979 Central Ave   Portage, IN 46368

(219) 841-7809

Location Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 8 am - 6 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 4 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021: 8:00 am - 1:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
  • 1/1/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(219) 841-7809

5979 Central Ave
Portage, IN 46368

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 8 am - 6 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 4 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021: 8:00 am - 1:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
  • 1/1/2022: Closed
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Everything ran perfectly, from pick up to drop off. Keep up the good work and service.

EDWARD P. 
Rating:
3.0

I had an extra charge I was never even made aware of and when I went to talk to customer service, the woman who initially took my call was very rude and kept talking over me without answering my question. I asked to speak with her supervisor and still, my question was never answered.

Kori B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DONALD J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LISA C. 
Rating:
3.0

19.99 for a small truck rental, yeah right! Try $142.16!!! Maybe next time be very clear about how brutally you are ripped off if returning the truck late. I was less then two hours late and had a local move. This was a rip off and I might as well have kept the truck a whole other day if I knew this would be the cost. Huge rip off.

SHAWNA C. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

EDWARD K. 
Rating:
1.0

Train employees regarding the app and online check in. Better customer service. It would be great if uhaul didn't charge me for furniture pads I was never given. And also not cancel my reservation due to a miscommunication on the vendor's part. Extremely dissatisfied

Bethany P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steven R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Renee C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

lakeisha M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dennis S. 
Rating:
5.0

Had fun driving it. i found the vehicle with a FULL tank of gas.. didnt even use all the allowed mileage as i didnt have to drive that far. i highly recommend

PAULINE P. 
Rating:
5.0

I dropped off the truck pretty late at night after the location was closed. It was pretty inconvenient to have to take ALL of the pictures and fill out the online forms on the Uhaul website, especially after a long drive. But of course I wanted to avoid the threatened $20 service fee for not filling it all out. Is there not some better way to drop off the key?

Raymond N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

majid M. 
Rating:
5.0

Can't think of anything it was great

David K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOHN D. 
Rating:
5.0

I had no issues

Janice J. 
Rating:
4.0

Friendly and accommodating service.

CHRISTOPHER M. 
Rating:
5.0

Absolutely nothing

TIM B. 
Rating:
3.0

I was very dissatisfied. My location pick up was changed 3 times. The last time it changed, I was 2 hours away from my appointment. People book a rental truck due to a big move that takes time to plan. When you change a location pick up, that really changes things. I will not use uHaul again.

Sue H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMIE C. 
Rating:
5.0

Very fast and a easy.

Richard G. 
Rating:
5.0

Nice friendly service.

Laura H. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing. The people at 'Ace' have this down pat. Again, no changes are necessary!

robert Z. 
Rating:
5.0

Rented A dolly. Helpful service and fast. Thank you

Chandra C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Timothy W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dustin C. 
Rating:
1.0

Second, after I checked out when dropping off the truck at the location Ace Hardware refused the truck at first then we were told to call customer service. We had to call and wait on customer service for the drop off site to allow us to leave the truck. During all this commotion the keys were locked in the truck after we checked it in. We waited with the rep from Ace hardware and tried to call roadside assistance but no one answered the phone! We could no longer wait because our children were waiting for us at home. This whole process was a nightmare!

ALEXANDER D. 
Rating:
1.0

The back of the truck we rented had spilled oil that we had to clean up. So apparently they do not clean their vehicles in between uses. The cab was dirty had had used water bottles on the inside. Also the truck had a exhaust leak which caused it to be super hot by your feet while trying to drive. Very unprofessional and dirty.

Breanna W. 
Rating:
3.0

The truck was loud & shake. It may need some work. The business was not well equipped to handle the rental. I had to complete my request on my phone

Viola D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

stephen Z. 
Rating:
1.0

Horrible Customer Service!!!!! Truck had no AC, and gave me the run around, and acted like they didn't care. Rep at the branch I received the truck from agreed with me that uhaul is a horrible company. And said she wouldn't rent from uhaul either.!?!? What type of circus are you guys running. This company IS A JOKE.

Kuanus H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brad R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARK P. 
Rating:
2.0

Make sure the code for the key lock box is programed before the keys are put inside! I picked up my keys with the app at 3:30pm your store closes at 4pm. The code did Not work!! Thankfully, you were still open to allow me access to my lock box. I had no choice but to move out that day! I would have been SOL otherwise!! I was told that somebody must have forgotten to set the code! REALLY?!? 🙄 Also, too many scratches that were unaccounted for with stickers before driving off the lot. Took about an hour to take all the pics for damages (scratches) that I did not want to be liable for. And mud on the driver side floor boards and running boards. Brass Lock provided for rear door was rusted open did not work, it needed WD-40. Poor attention to simple details.

Heather S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jennifer W. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jack A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lydia V. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michelle A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SHERWYN W. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy check in and return

DEBORAH S. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

juanquinetta R. 
Rating:
5.0

They were very friendly and well prepared and showed me the details of the truck cab and back door operations. The blankets were well packaged. I did find a wallet from a man in Gary and computer charging cord in the cab and mailed it to him the following week.

Ronald W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nicole A. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Summer S. 
Rating:
1.0

Just awful. Look for a better moving service. I guarantee it will be better than this greedy company trying to squeeze you of every penny it possibly can. I drove to the dropoff location it stated only to find out they changed it without notification. I will never use this company again. I only used it in the first place because I have never moved cross country before, and I am not impressed at all. I feel like I was charged 3x more than what I experienced. Do not use this service. I would rate 0 stars if I could.

Cody J. 
Rating:
3.0

Truck was full of mud to the point where we could barely see out the windows. I took some photos. The inside was also dusty and unkept. Also, the employee said that there was a full tank and it was less than full. Not the best experience.

Tara D. 
Rating:
2.0

I reserved online to pick up the truck before the office opened. The key was supposed to be in a lockbox, but they forgot to put it in. I had not wait until the store opened to get my truck, while movers sat idle at my house. The person who waited on me was not friendly, offered no apology, and seemed annoyed with having to help me.

Scott M. 
Rating:
4.0

Slightly tight parking.

RANDALL B. 
Rating:
5.0

Very polite and patient with me.

Jamie F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHRISTOPHER P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Scott G. 
Rating:
5.0

My only concern is that your website shows at $.69 a mile and I was charged $.79 a mile today on my contract.

Lisa C. 
Rating:
5.0

Quick in and out. Smooth pickup and return. The lady that checked me out and the guy that checked me in were both knowledgeable and friendly. The U-Haul share website is clunky when doing a return. It stopped midway thru. Mr. Wilson should be proud of this location.

Paul B. 
Rating:
4.0

The inside of the cab had food crumbs all over the floor.

Aaron F. 
Rating:
1.0

Uhaul was filthy. Had used socks in the seat, food in the cup holder and mashed into the car floor. And behind the seats were water bottles and a pack of black and milds. Completely disgusting. And they forgot our dolly so we had to make a trip back

Jennifer M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tanisha M. 
Rating:
5.0

Much easier and kinder return scenario compared to Merrillville location.

Howard D. 
Rating:
2.0

Renting the uhaul itself was an easy experience and the equipment was clean and in good condition. Picking it up and dropping it off took about thirty minutes each time which was very inconvenient due to the staff at the hardware store

Patrick G. 
Rating:
5.0

Nice people in an easy to find location.

Eugene R. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

john B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

robert N. 
Rating:
1.0

They are VERY RUDE!!!!! They tell you one price and charge you another and when you ask why they avoid you. I work for a major trucking company and use U-Haul a lot. After this I will not be using them again! AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COST!!!!!!!!

Peek E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rick B. 
Rating:
2.0

VERY IMPORTANT, THE MAN THAT WAS ADDRESSING OUR PAPERWORK AND PREP FOR THE U-HAUL VEHICLE WAS VERY RUDE TO ME AND MY BOYFRIEND. HE DID NOT ANSWER OUR QUESTIONS AND ACTED LIKE HE DID NOT WANT TO BE BOTHERED WITH US, WE BEING MINORITIES, I TRULY FEEL LIKE HE WAS A OLD PREJUDICE WHITE MAN. HE WAS NOT ENGAGING WITH US AT ALL, IN THE TIMES WE ARE IN NOW, WHY WOULD HE ACT LIKE THAT, WE ARE HUMAN TO!!! I THINK HE WAS THE ACE HARDWARE MANAGER, TERRIBLE. DARLEEN LINDSAY

Darleen L. 
Rating:
5.0

I had a great experience

susie G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DEBBIE R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

lena W. 
Rating:
5.0

Give us a snack when we return the truck.

DAVID B. 
Rating:
3.0

When checking in to pick up the U-Haul, the lady at the front counter did not know how to do paperwork for this service, so I had to wait about 20 mins for the other gentle employee who could check me in because he was helping another customer get paint at the time. For future customers, I think it would be good if all employees knew how to check in U-Haul renters to minimize the wait especially if the renters are on a schedule and need to coordinate moving help.

Tyrra D. 
Rating:
5.0

N/A

Jose P. 
Rating:
5.0

Nice friendly people and made it easy to rent.Will be back.

Jerry R. 
Rating:
5.0

Positive experience.

ROBERT C. 
Rating:
4.0

The truck was good, price is good. The only problem is the price per miles that's where it gets way to expensive!

Jami R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Chad Y. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was perfect.

Idelmira D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

robert R. 
Rating:
5.0

Love the service!! Love how excellent the gas is on these box trucks!!

ELIZABETH H. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Terry S. 
Rating:
1.0

I wasn't giving the wrong uhaul from what was in my contract so I was over charged. The vehicle smelled like a dirty dog and it had dog hair everywhere!!!!

lawanda A. 
Rating:
5.0

The manager Rich was rude, no eye contact, no greeting nothing. He is not a people person. I was not satisfied with him at all. Wendy was very pleasant and nice. She provided great customer service.

MARY M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ARONA W. 
Rating:
5.0

Great place to go business with. Highly recommend.

JOSEPH O. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

shantel I. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing specific.

DON M. 
Rating:
5.0

nothing... The truck was clean and ready to go at the time of my rental. My move was a spur of the moment need and the folk's at the Ace Hardware location where I rented my truck from was professional and VERY helpful.

William D. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Shelby J. 
Rating:
5.0

You make this easy, simple and affordable. You are awesome. Thanks for everything!

CYNTHIA G. 
Rating:
5.0

The clerk had to use her personal phone to take a picture of my drivers license to upload to your site which I did not like because it exposed my personality information to her phone where it could possibly remain longer than necessary .

Darrin F. 
Rating:
5.0

Location is closer to my place when need to rent a truck to pickup and haul items that my vehicle can't.

PAUL P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Pam F. 
Rating:
4.0

$1.00/mile seems a bit excessive.

Gary B. 
Rating:
5.0

Free Dolly

DENNIS M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David M. 
Rating:
5.0

Great friendly, helpful staff at this site! I especially liked the huge 11 month old dog rambling around the aisles making sure everyone was safe and doing their job! Every site should have one of these!

Lizabeth G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

nicole J. 
Rating:
5.0

It would be helpful that the vehicle not stall out locally on a State Highway during peak rush hour. OBDM codes indicate crank timing is out, as well as as a seperate emissions canister issue. It ain't gonna pass the State emissions test for plate renewal, I can tell you that. I don't think it's the fault of the agenting so much as inferior servicing by company service contractors. I would have used the vehicle longer, but with my core mission completed, thought it best to bail on it before a rod left the block through a hole. Have a nice day.

Paul N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

PAUL P. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top