Customer Reviews for Shutter's Tire & Auto
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

1,373 reviews

302 Broadway St   Alexandria, MN 56308

(320) 763-2371

Office Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8 am–5 pm
  • Sat: 8:30 am–12 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 5/24/2024: 8:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 5/25/2024: Closed
  • 5/26/2024: Closed
  • 5/27/2024: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(320) 763-2371

302 Broadway St
Alexandria, MN 56308

Services at this Location:

Office Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8 am–5 pm
  • Sat: 8:30 am–12 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 5/24/2024: 8:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 5/25/2024: Closed
  • 5/26/2024: Closed
  • 5/27/2024: Closed
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Easy pick up. They were Friendly and easy to deal with.

John K 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ryan F 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jim S 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Charlene M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Pete B 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Roy B 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jim B 
Rating:
5.0

Great return experience.

Jill S 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeff C 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Todd G 
Rating:
5.0

When the app would not work these guys got me in and ready fast and very kind people

Roland B 
Rating:
3.0

Felt rushed as the worker had a lot going on besides helping with my renting a U-Haul trailer.

Mark M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brian N 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James Z 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Wanda H 
Rating:
5.0

Give option of where to pick up truck. I picked sauk centre and a couple hours later I get email saying I couldn't pick up there because there wasn't one there but it is sitting there in their lot where it's been for atleast a week. The return truck on app didn't work so I had to call and hope they returned my truck without any late fees .

Faith B 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Johanna P 
Rating:
3.0

The trailer was full of mud and dirt, frozen and had to lay blanket down so my furniture didn’t get filthy, but some still did, I did complain when dropped of and that was another issue in itself,

James C 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

April K 
Rating:
1.0

Requesting refund as truck was loaded with trash, dead mice, cockroaches, drywall, horror story!

Jesse C 
Rating:
5.0

they were good help . thank you.

jesse c 
Rating:
4.0

Very unhappy that I was quoted $44.95 over the phone but when I picked up the tow dolly was advised it was going to be $111.00. I was going one way with the dolly and was actually bringing it back to the location someone had rented it from the day before. Called the U haul regional office and disputed the charges and was told the price was set by corporate and wouldn’t charge me what I was quoted.

Steve C 
Rating:
5.0

I was very impressed with the personnel working at Shutter’s. They provided an easy place to park the UHaul / trailer combination without having to back the truck and trailer into a spot which was really nice.

Thomas O 
Rating:
2.0

Let them know there is a deposit, I went through the entire rental process and not once did I see anything about a 200 dollar lost/damage charge. It was a complete waste of money because all the money I had for several trips back and forth for gas went to the deposit that I was never told about or shown or anything. It would be one thing to say last minute, "oh hey there's going to be a big charge for damages as a deposit" but nothing was ever said or written down before the rental purchase. I Did get the charge on my bill that was emailed to me later in the day, but Nothing was ever mentioned beforehand about the ridiculous price. I'm very saddened that this is just further proof of "hidden fees" and just rather untrustworthy business. Like I said, it would be different if someone said something or printed off the Full price list of everything that I would be charged, something transparent about the prices, but I feel I was wronged in the sense that nothing was said and the money i had planned on using for gas was taken literally without my knowledge until after the fact. The U-Haul company is being represented in an untrustworthy and distasteful manner at the location I used.

Dillan S 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brian R 
Rating:
1.0

No gas in the tank. Ended up filling the tank but only used less than a quarter of a tank. No reimbursement. Pretty much a joke. Seems like that’s what they do to keep them gassed up. Leave it to the customers to fill it. Some get screwed and others don’t

Joseph L 
Rating:
4.0

cab was full of dog hair

Jerald L 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JEFF F 
Rating:
4.0

I called to say I’d be late returning the trailer and John was very accommodating and let me know it was ok and to be safe traveling-first!!

Elizabeth H 
Rating:
2.0

Why did I get charged twice?

Lucas B 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Julianne M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Eric L 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Selvin S 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nicole B 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert G 
Rating:
5.0

Have used Shutters numerous times. Always easy, both in-person and mobile...and the equipment is always staged and ready to go.

Jeremy P 
Rating:
5.0

Had a very uneventful experience. Everything worked as planned. The blankets in the truck were nice to have available.

Ron C 
Rating:
5.0

Very helpful. Offered to unhitch the trailer. Offered understanding, empathy and an apology for pad issue.

David W 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Edgar S 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James Z 
Rating:
4.0

I think it is poor customer service when you make us use our phone to check the vehicle over before leaving and then send us the receipt in a format that we cannot enlarge to see exactly what it says.

Junette F 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brian N 
Rating:
5.0

The customer service was excellent, the parking was ample, all around great. However, I would NOT recommend having to drive 100 miles one-way to pick up a reservation that had been made for 2 weeks prior with only 1 day’s notice. U-Haul provided an extra 120 miles for free on my trip, but that did me no good because I had to drive the 100 miles extra in the first place. So, what I got out of the deal was a larger fuel bill. If U-Haul had given me more notice I would not have been backed into a corner with only 1 option. I understand that customers dictate where trucks end up and when, but a company that large with what I assume is sophisticated software couldn’t provide more than 24 hours of notice that my reservation couldn’t be fulfilled as expected. Then nothing to offfer aside from “I’m sorry sir, there is nothing we can do.” The customer service representative I spoke to was very friendly and professional and the gentleman at Shutter’s Tire and Auto was awesome. As for U-Haul, I cannot say I recommend planning a 1,400 mile move and counting on them.

DREW S 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Judith M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James p 
Rating:
5.0

This review has nothing to do with the pick up or drop offs. This is about the scheduling system and reservation process, getting what the customers needs and where they wanna to pick it up from. A month in advance reservation should have been more than enough time to get my unit there. So this time I was unhappy with corporate uhaul.

Brian K 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kirk L 
Rating:
3.0

Windshield was not clean. Finding a parking spot at the pickup place was difficult. Cars were parked all over randomly.

Chris B 
Rating:
5.0

Not much really, the van was clean, well maintained, easy to handle and easy to rent. The people I talked to were friendly and helpful. I wish there was another van there, as I had to wait for it, but I'm sure

Teresa T 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DOUGLAS G 
Rating:
5.0

Really did a great job helping unload the trailer and great service.

Gerald S 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jon K 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tracie D 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Frank L 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing I know of. The truck was ready the guy was professional and had no issues. Everything went great.... A+++

Delroy M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Morgan J 
Rating:
5.0

Shutter's U-haul staff member was very efficient and cordial. Thank you for your help.

Timothy A 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing, great customer service

Stan K 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly team at this location.

Jeffrey B 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James L 
Rating:
4.0

The truck was very old and lLOUD!

Elizabeth K 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark R 
Rating:
5.0

After hours drop Off and using app on phone was a time saver

Dennis M 
Rating:
5.0

My experience was awesome... nothing can be improved on.

Paul D 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James B 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James C 
Rating:
3.0

The place was closed so I used the online check in app. For some reason the online app was not working and I was overcharged 2 days. Called the regional office and was told it wasn't there problem. Talked to person at Shutter's and was told they couldn't do anything. Was told by one of the employees that the online check in doesn't work all the time.

Margaret S 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Heidi M 
Rating:
5.0

This location was very friendly and accommodating. I’d use them again.

Janice S 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert D 
Rating:
5.0

This location is convenient and the staff is helpful and friendly.

Bob S 
Rating:
5.0

N/C

Tom B 
Rating:
5.0

Keys drop off box was easy to located.

David O 
Rating:
4.0

When gassing truck it seemed the gas gauge was stuck. When it worked again the gauge said it was 7/8 full. It would have been nice if I could have been reembursed for the over fill. Moving is expensive enough as it is.

Vicki M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Thomas P 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dan S 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Doug D 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was good call

Edward T 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James S 
Rating:
2.0

For the next time please set proper expectations. It was fine that I had to do remote pick up and drop off but it was frustrating because nobody said anything about that or about the location being closed. There was another person picking up who had the same situation and wasn’t tech savvy who had waited around for over 2 hours. I ended up helping him through the process so he could get his truck. That is unacceptable.

Sam M 
Rating:
5.0

I called to confirm that I could drop off after hours. Which I did. I've dropped off here on two occasions. Easily accessible and plenty of yard space for equipment. Thanks.

Mark J 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Charleen P 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

wayne c 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Samantha P 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James B 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Alan N 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James B 
Rating:
5.0

I showed up just before closing time. They still worked with me and got me into a truck. Super helpful and friendly. Will rent from Shutters Tire and Auto agin.

Cody K 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Larry L 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ashley P 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Don D 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dean D 
Rating:
5.0

Great place to rent from.

William W 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph G 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BriAnna M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David T 
Rating:
5.0

good friendly service

LEON M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GARY D 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Greg G 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael F 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top