Customer Reviews for Solo Storage Howard St
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

902 reviews

2701 Howard St   Port Huron, MI 48060

(810) 982-2631

Hours

  • Mon–Tue
    9 am–5 pm
  • Wednesday
    Closed
  • Thur–Fri
    9 am–5 pm
  • Saturday
    9 am–3 pm
  • Sunday
    Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/7/2022: Closed
  • 12/24/2022 - 12/26/2022: Closed
  • 12/28/2022: Closed
  • 12/31/2022: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
  • 1/2/2023: Closed

Show All Hours

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(810) 982-2631

2701 Howard St
Port Huron, MI 48060

Services at this Location:

Hours

  • Mon–Tue
    9 am–5 pm
  • Wednesday
    Closed
  • Thur–Fri
    9 am–5 pm
  • Saturday
    9 am–3 pm
  • Sunday
    Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/7/2022: Closed
  • 12/24/2022 - 12/26/2022: Closed
  • 12/28/2022: Closed
  • 12/31/2022: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
  • 1/2/2023: Closed

Show All Hours

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
2.0

They overdraft my account I talk to a love Agent and I was assured that I would receive a 33.95 refund. But this over payment has my account all screwed up. Unhappy customer 😥😥

Karen J. 
Rating:
1.0

Have a vehicle that can make the proposed run

Andrew W. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dawn K. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was great, I can't think of anything that needs improvement.

jon C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dan P. 
Rating:
5.0

Great staff!! Friendly, knowledgeable, and equipment was easy to operate and in great shape. Thank you U-haul.

Robert C. 
Rating:
5.0

Met all expectations. My motorcycle broke down in the USA and the easiest solution was to rent a cube van to get it and me back to my home in Canada. It all worked out very well.

Constantine L. 
Rating:
5.0

Had mice destroy hundreds of dollars in electronics and then when I asked what they were gonna do about it they said nothing and then they lie and say that they talk to u when they didn't and try and charge my mother in law's bank card horrible service and I won't recommend using this storage facility

RODNEY S.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing. Manager was kind enough to extend the hold period on my reservation so I could go measure and double check that the item I was moving would indeed fit on the u-haul trailer i reserved.

John M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DEBORAH M.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Counter clerk was very helpful with my return of the car tow dolly. Completing the rental as a one way was easy!

JEFFREY B. 
Rating:
1.0

I don't even know where to start. The person there said he did not work for u haul and could not help me. Asked me to back the trailer into a spot that I was unable to get into. Then charged me for not being able to park it in the correct spot. Could not help me I attach the trailer from my truck. Repeated he did not work for u haul. Makes me not want to rent from this company ever again. The worst customer service I have ever had!!

Margaret M. 
Rating:
5.0

Pick up and drop off convenience apps and website are not compatible with older phones.

Nathan L. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing, everything was great!!

Anthony L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Russell O. 
Rating:
5.0

Why do you charge $7 for a Dolley rental that's so ridiculous lmao. Is that for preventative maintenance on the dolley? So you can get the tires rotated periodically? Makes no sense. Just let me use it for a sec. It's in the truck anyways yaknow? Those plastic tags are a waste of plastic too. Great service tho aside from that I'll come back for sure.

anthony G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ryan D. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dave V. 
Rating:
5.0

I had my service done all through customer service and done on the phone it was so easy and convenient truck was clean very well ran company thank you

James C. 
Rating:
3.0

Truck was a mess. It did work and run, but the inside door handle was falling apart. The outside was a disaster, it's hit & rubbed/scraped on multiple things in its past. It needs to be fixed and painted. The dolly and bags secured to the inside of the truck just get in the way, we were left with 3 items that didn't fit because of those. If I wanted them, I would have purchased them ahead of time. If someone realizes later they need them, that's their fault and they should drive yo a uhaul location and pick one up. Don't short change everyone else on room. Trucks should be provided at full gas, you charge people to refill them, but yet you receive them below full and then I overpay on gas because it's quite difficult to estimate while pumping and still drive it to the drop off location. Stop ripping people off. The pictures provided to show current damage to the truck on checkout are too far away. I was unable to tell from the pictures what damage is already accounted for. When I returned the vehicle, I was told to go to uhaul.com/share to do the after hour vehicle return. The phone number and last name inputs did not show we have a contract. So I was unable to do it there. I called uhaul and did the call me back feature due to the long hold time. I received a text 1 hour later asking how my call with Keisha went from uhaul, I didn't receive that call back till 2 hours later…. I'm the meantime I went back to my text messages from checkout and realized there was a return vehicle link provided (wasn't instructed to use that though), which allowed me to return the vehicle. The lady that helped us was very nice and helpful though, we were very pleased with the customer service at checkout.

Anthony W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Andor J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

larry S. 
Rating:
3.0

Online app did not work correctly. Need a good wireless signal for mobile app. Not user friendly design of website. Horrible wait times for phone assistance. Online chat has too long of wait times as well. Truck ok, loose steering.

Michael S. 
Rating:
1.0

The trailer I rented was not available after it was reserved an hour earlier and then charge 3x the amiunt shown on the bill. Well never use again and will be reporting the over charged bill to better business.

Christopher B. 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly customer service and well maintained equipment with safety check prior to departure

Eric O. 
Rating:
5.0

total Awesome, Secure, Loved the gate security.

WILLIAM S.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Charles P. 
Rating:
5.0

We were originally scheduled for pick up at Kraft road. The office personal there were not able to help and referred us to the scheduling office to directed us to Howard St. The man at Solo Storage was amazingly helpful and able to provide a new piece of equipment. Highly recommend Solo Storage.

Edward L. 
Rating:
3.0

Local dealer was fine. Uhaul was very unhelpful in trying to secure a trailer for the time I needed it. Also jacked the price up $200 from the week before. Good thing no one else has auto trailers as I would be renting from them.

Dennis K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRIAN H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jennifer H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

WILLIAM H. 
Rating:
5.0

Called to pay bill and was told to" shut the f up" and then hung up on...I wouldn't recommend this place to anybody after how they talk to and treat the customer

KEVIN W.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JENNY P. 
Rating:
4.0

The website refused to load to allow for check in on my phone, thankfully the staff at this pickup location were fast and efficient and resolved my issue.

Cora S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Connie J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gregory P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

edith P. 
Rating:
4.0

Update store hours on Google business site

Daniel W. 
Rating:
5.0

Manager went above and beyond through the check-out process. Very friendly and informative of the processes.

Elizabeth L. 
Rating:
5.0

Very well taken care of ,on a Monday...

Kayla B. 
Rating:
5.0

Love the self service drop off after hours.

Peter C. 
Rating:
3.0

I can't comment. Noone was there.

Lillian D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

carol H. 
Rating:
4.0

Good job

mark C. 
Rating:
4.0

Yes the app and what I was told to do was hard to because they were different. Also there needs to be more people. The office was locked when I got done

Barbara H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kelly M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joshua K. 
Rating:
5.0

The location took care of changes I needed We're more helpful than the website

DONNA R. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steven M. 
Rating:
3.0

When I picked up the car hauler, the wiring harness was duct taped together. When I tested the ligths none of them worked. The gentleman at the facility came out and swapped the leading edge of the wiring harness, and the left turn and brake light worked, bu tnot the right. I had driven over 350 miles to pick up this car hauler the nght before, and was heading back on Saturday with a car I needed to get home. I did take the car hauler even thought the right light was not working because I expected the entire drive would be done in light conditions. I expect more from U-Haul

Anthony V. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Donna M. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kenneth B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Scott L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Charles K. 
Rating:
5.0

Great facility!

JEFFREY C.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
4.0

We are a non-profit church that runs a food pantry for the inner-city of Port Huron. We decided to rent one of your 19.95 vehicles to do our quarterly pick-up[. This ended up costing us $52.97. We it would have been nice if we could have gotten a break on the cost as we operate on a shoe string budget but it wasn't offered and when I inquired I was basically told no.

David H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steve P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Keith C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MICHAEL F.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly helpful

JIM S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kyle K. 
Rating:
5.0

Get new locks. The word ones are horrible and I had to get help to get it open

Vickie J. 
Rating:
4.0

We always use this location because it's a few miles away. Very professional.

JESSICA F. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Susan T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeffrey K. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kimberly K. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy online drop off at our convenience.

FERNANDO R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GARY S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

mike G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Douglas W. 
Rating:
5.0

Very fast and so nice! Great availability.

Kimberly K. 
Rating:
5.0

There could be more trailers available

Ron K. 
Rating:
1.0

Same as above

Jacob M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Suzanne B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Cheryl S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Randy B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Chris S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lisa F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

samantha L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Charles H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ann M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Debora H. 
Rating:
1.0

Do not rent from this location! Location lied and said I left a water bottle on dashboard. I took 22 pictures of vehicle before I left it. I even paid for a car wash! First time I've been charged a cleaning fee from U-Haul after 10 rentals!!!!

jennifer K. 
Rating:
5.0

Jeremy is the best

Kenneth M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KELLY H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KIMBERLYANN B. 
Rating:
1.0

They did not process our online pick up properly causing me to drive 30 minutes away to pick up a truck. Location was closed when I arrived.

Victor R. 
Rating:
3.0

We have used u-haul several times over the past 3 years. I have never had so much confusion and trouble getting a reservation. We were looking for a 10 ft stake truck for a one way trip to be returned in Port Sanilac. Called Fort Gratiot and was told they had nothing, not even a larger truck. Called Port Huron and they reserved a 15 ft in Fort Gratiot. Eventually after going back and forth we received two calls from corporate stating they know where all equipment is located and said there was a 10 foot in Fort Gratiot. we received confirmations for the rental. Then we received another call stating they did not have anything and that there was a 15 foot in Port Huron. When we arrived to pick up the truck we were told it was a local truck and we would have to bring it back to this location. That's an extra 30 miles and gas we had to pay for. The outside of the truck was muddy, but the inside was clean. All in all a bad experience.

Edward E. 
Rating:
1.0

The guy behind the counter was rude and charged me for insurance I did not need. I will never rent from this location again.

bobby I. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kimberly J. 
Rating:
1.0

Dropped off transporter and store was closed 2:00 in the afternoon. Called U haul and they told me the store was closed until Saturday. This was on a Thursday. Would have been nice if the gentleman in the store would have told me this. I would not recommend due to the lack of communication on his end.

Steven A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TIMOTHY PATRICK N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TRACEY S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROY G.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
1.0

I was sent to the WRONG location to drop off the auto-transport trailer by the U-Haul dispatcher. I had to drive @ 15 miles to a different location. Then, at the second location, I was not assisted in any way with parking the trailer and disconnecting it. I was told by the person there "I don't do anything to help. I only let U-Haul use my parking lot."

JOHN W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sara W. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Donald R. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was great. i had no problems at all. Excellent service.

GARY LEE B. 
Rating:
5.0

The sales person in the office knew exactly what she was talking about, was very considerate , and explained things very well. I felt very confident working with her.

Judy R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

EDWARD JAMES C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DANNEL ARTHUR P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

REBECCA SUE L. 
Rating:
5.0

The vehicle although appeared clean something bad happened in that van. It smelled of dead human. When I swept out the van I peeled up the corner in the back appears like watered down blood. The van had Arizona plates. The smell was so bad I had to keep Windows down. Should be turned over to a crime lab. I am a sensitive something bad. I was in a time crunch packrat dropped a ball had no time to return for another.

James C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMES M.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Left my car here for winter storage was a great place.

DENNIS B.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

I was mostly satisfied with the units but for the cost, I shouldn't have to worry about my items being destroyed by mice. I agreed to insurance not realizing it only covers burglary which isn't said when signing the contract. The biggest problem was mice. I had a very expensive mattress and multiple boxes with contents chewed and ruined from mice. For the cost and being an indoor facility, I would expect a more proactive approach. I did not visit the unit often to know mice were such a problem. The fact that I had to pay for a full month even if I moved out a few days into the month was a problem. I understand it may be complicated refunding tenants, but there should be a better solution than charging for a full month. Even only paying for a week would have saved me a lot of money. The staff was always polite so that was the nice part of using this facility.

CYNTHIA P.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Solo storage went above and beyond sending me emails my bill was coming due and making polite phone call reminders when I forgot! Very pleasant to work with!

ELLEN K.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SARAH B.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
2.0

Couldn't use your storage- affordability reason, thought this was U-Haul Center, I get one month free storage for renting a uhaul truck. Receptionist was nice. Disappointed, twice no medium boxes

LINDA E.  |  Reservation 
Rating:
5.0

Good job

LYLE W.  |  Reservation 
Rating:
3.0

Sorry I never end up getting the storage unit but the price and size was good.

Darren Z.  |  Reservation 
Rating:
4.0

It is nice.

THERESA C.  |  Reservation 
Rating:
2.0

Backwards way of doing paperwork

JOE R.  |  Reservation 
Rating:
4.0

Nice facility very secure and clean

WALTER J.  |  Reservation 
Rating:
5.0

Very helpful, clean and in a good location. One of the big doors is broken but it was just a little inconvenient.

MORGAN Y.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Had the unit for over a year. When I didn't lock the unit up correctly they called me the day I had opened it. Always gave good advice and recommendations.

BRENDA K.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Very helpful, referred us to a Nearby location for a size that was more suitable for us. No hassle and very friendly. Thank you!

Privacy R.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
2.0

I did not want to be at the rear of the building with no CART available to utilize.

Privacy R.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly and knowledgeable, answered all my questions.

Privacy R.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
4.0

Service was excellent and I was greeted with a smile.

ROBERT G.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
4.0

lady was very nice and helpful place was very secure and clean

Privacy R.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
4.0

The woman was very helpful.the storage place was very clean and well maintained. I would definitely recommend this storage place to others.

Privacy R.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Super clean facility, managed by a very capable, positive, and organized proprietor, who was helpful and efficient.

GILLIAN B.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

The process was easy and quick to setup.

Privacy R.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
4.0

The owner/rep was very nice and tried to find another storage unit place that was what we really needed. Instead of just selling us what was available. We are appreciated that.

Privacy R.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
3.0

Good service. Nice employees.

Privacy R.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
1.0

Reservation was lost and when I called to inquire I was transferred to 3 different people and left on hold for very long amounts of time

Privacy R.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
4.0

Will consider renting here should the need arise in the future.

Privacy R.  |  First Impressions 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Self-Storage

    We have the most coverage in North America!

  • Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top