Customer Reviews for The Hardware Company
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

233 reviews

807 N Main St   Gretna, VA 24557

(434) 656-2447

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8:30 am - 5 pm
  • Sat-Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 7/4/2022 - 7/5/2022: Closed
  • 12/4/2022 - 12/12/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(434) 656-2447

807 N Main St
Gretna, VA 24557

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8:30 am - 5 pm
  • Sat-Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 7/4/2022 - 7/5/2022: Closed
  • 12/4/2022 - 12/12/2022: Closed
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

HARRY T. 
Rating:
4.0

Used the app to check in, worked great.

Charles M. 
Rating:
1.0

Fix trucks like transmissions and get people the trucks they want.

Mary F. 
Rating:
5.0

Always a good experience!

Rosemary B. 
Rating:
4.0

On the weekend before or pick up our reservation was changed from one location to another 20 miles away. I got a voice mail from the new location and then had to call the 800 number to confirm. The website with our reservation never updated.

Deborah B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tony R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sandra C. 
Rating:
5.0

Very easy drop off

JOHNBYRON S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tracy M. 
Rating:
5.0

All was good!

ROGER,DALE G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Chris H. 
Rating:
5.0

The Temporary license had expired long ago. U-Haul should have taken csre of that.

Jennifer S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

james E. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

brian K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ken S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Istvan I. 
Rating:
3.0

The location was closed so I completed the pick up through an online process, but everything went well.

Larry S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joan C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MICHAELEDWARD V. 
Rating:
5.0

***The tires on the truck we rented were SLICK, and we had snow the weekend we rented it! It was unsafe to be on the road, much less in snowy conditions. I was charged an additional $50 after returning the truck. For what?!

RACHAELKELLY B. 
Rating:
5.0

Perfect and convenient service.

Robert B. 
Rating:
3.0

I think the service was great kind and courtesy I had a great experience

JADASHARON B. 
Rating:
3.0

I don't think the trailer was as clean as it could have been. We got a film of some kind of dust (that you couldn't see when you opened the trailer) on some of our furniture. My coffee table got the worst of it. I'm not really sure what it was. I don't think it's the owner of the place's fault. It looked clean/swept when you opened it up but it wasn't. They probably didn't notice either. I can send you pictures if you'd like.

Mary C. 
Rating:
5.0

Very good service n nice people

Larry L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kenneth J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KAYEDALTON M. 
Rating:
1.0

Awful,,, Hateful lady Asia.. I want taped phone cal with my secretary. She said she did not like my secretary so she canceled my reservation so when i got there to pick it up they had none,, I made this reservation in person myself. Had to drive 1 hr away to pick up trailer and the lady said because of what Asia had done and i had to drive 1 hr out of my way she would let me have it for $340.00 and when i got there that lady said take it up with Uhaul cause she did not make enough money anyway and charged me $438.90

CLAYTONODELL W. 
Rating:
5.0

The Box truck that we received had a loose driver's side mirror & therefore we had to drive in busy traffic, while trying hold the mirror up, from Gretna, Va to Lynchburg, Va & to Chatham Virginia. The truck lacked maintenance, and there was not suitable to drive. We finally purchased a elastic cord to try to hold mirror in 1 position. The cord was left to hopeful help the next customer, who gets to drive the truck, they will be able to see the Traffic behind & beside them.

MAE S. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RALPH P. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything went great!

CHRISTOPHERTODD W. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Shane N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer service was excellent they came out to make sure everything was good and hooked up right and we didn't have any questions and when we returned it they were right there again to assist

JEREMYWAYNE F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Erika R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rebecca R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MYRAJAN R. 
Rating:
5.0

Very welcoming and advised that I would be recieving email which I did. Very professional.

RUSSELL D. 
Rating:
5.0

Great Customer Service!

WILLIAMBURROWS R. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOHNHAROLD D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RUSSELLOLLIVER G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SUSANNEBETH C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

EMMAJOYCE B. 
Rating:
5.0

I will be moving next month and I will definitely use this location again.

TARAELIZABETH D. 
Rating:
5.0

The young lady was awesome to work with.

Colleen M. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent place to do business - check in and check out were quick and easy. Will definitely be back and highly recommend to others needing a U-Haul in Pittsylvania County, VA! Thanks!

LISAGEORGETTE M. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly and helpful. Something we all appreciate.

ALFREDO C. 
Rating:
5.0

No issues. Everything was great. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Smooth process from online reservation to return.

BRANDONCHRISTOPH T. 
Rating:
5.0

Not much. Everything was great.

Willie I. 
Rating:
5.0

No issues with the drop off locations, everything went well, I dropped the trailer off on Saturday evening since the use of the trailer went perfect, will use U-Haul again when the need arises..

Alfred L. 
Rating:
5.0

Great people, always helpful.

ELIZABETHPAIGE M B. 
Rating:
5.0

Gretna U-Haul has been great for us for years. We had trouble finding anyone to answer phones,etc. in the Charlottesville area, so we had to rent from Gretna drove to Charlottesville, made our move and back to Gretna. We were upset that we had to pay extra because no one would help us in the Charlottesville area. No one. Customer service needs work on in that area.

Elizabeth B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSEPHCLOYD C. 
Rating:
1.0

They charge $1.19 a mile i rent uhauls all over the country. I usually pay 79 cents a mile

MARK W. 
Rating:
5.0

Ms. Linda Higgins & the gentleman were very Professional, kind & thoughtful. They even stayed past their closing time to assist me. I would use their services again if needed, and would also recommend anyone in need of a UHAUL to visit them 1st in Gretna Va.

MAE S. 
Rating:
5.0

Love the location have used this location twice so far love the service quick and very friendly. Plan to continue using this location for all my future hauling needs.Thanks again.

MAURICEFRANK C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHADWICKMARVIN O. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Angela B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

NANCYE D. 
Rating:
5.0

The whole experience was great. Young lady who helped when we picked up trailer was very friendly and helpful. No complaints.

BRIANOLIVER R. 
Rating:
3.0

Too expensive. Over 100$ and I only moved 15 miles. Wasn't expecting this price when the move was planned.

TONNEAUJOT S. 
Rating:
5.0

No improvements needed!

KARENLYNN H. 
Rating:
5.0

I have picked up and dropped off here a half dozen times. These folks are so nice, so organized, and equipment is always as expected.

GREGORY H. 
Rating:
5.0

Met the husband and wife that operate this location.. down to earth, make you feel at home kind of business

JOSEPHWAYNE L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHARLES H. 
Rating:
5.0

Better QA checks on equipment per my comments

Randall E T. 
Rating:
5.0

The employee was professional and kind.

Marisa T. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KALEENMICHELE M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Samantha T. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent experience from start to finish! I can't see the need for any improvements except for the online reservation...it took me way to long to register!

Karen H. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing, everything went as smooth as silk.

Suzanne B. 
Rating:
5.0

N/A

Laura G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Marshall T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Teresa D. 
Rating:
5.0

Very pleased with service. Vehicle was sanitized in cab.

William T. 
Rating:
3.0

The location had very poor cellphone service -where it was located- took about 20 minutes for the online pickup to complete

Brooke C. 
Rating:
5.0

Replace the windshield wipers They were bad.. Everything else was good

Donnie B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Riemann K. 
Rating:
5.0

Great people at the Gretna drop off.

Beth M. 
Rating:
5.0

Pleased as is

William T. 
Rating:
5.0

Extended weekend hours would be helpful.

William T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Leatrice L. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Adiquis M. 
Rating:
3.0

Would like to know why U-Haul offers a discount for drop off at a particular location, redirects drop off to a different location, and then removes the discount, and then, double charges. 434656-1810

Thomas L. 
Rating:
5.0

Very nice

Debora A. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent and very nice to do business with. ??

DARRYL P. 
Rating:
5.0

I was made to feel very welcome! Thank you for that!

Dennis H. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Patrick V. 
Rating:
5.0

frendly

Barry L. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Allen G. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Scott B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rachel P. 
Rating:
3.0

Two dolly needs a ratchet cable and tilt ramps. The sliding g ramps are very hard to pull out

Danny T. 
Rating:
5.0

We get the best service here!

Robert B. 
Rating:
3.0

The truck was cover in red mud and the back of truck in cargo area was tons of RED DIRT! I had to clean it out before putting my clean fabric furniture and mattresses in it. I was VERY UNHAPPY with the condition of truck!

Sandy M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Donald H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

sylvia K. 
Rating:
3.0

Vehicle had slick tires and so I got stuck in wet grass and had to be towed which caused a two hour delay. The brakes would go all the way to the floor board, the shocks were worn out and it rode really rough bouncing the contents on the back all over the place, and the check engine light came on! Not to mention how slow the internet service was were I rented it from. Just an overall terrible experience!

Margaret P. 
Rating:
5.0

The tires need balanceing other than good.

Ronnie F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Beverly W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kimberly K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Carolyn M. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top