Customer Reviews for The Hardware Company
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

263 reviews

807 N Main St   Gretna, VA 24557

(434) 656-2447

Office Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8:30 am–5 pm
  • Sat-Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 5/26/2024: Closed
  • 5/27/2024: Closed
  • 7/4/2024: Closed
  • 7/5/2024: Closed
  • 7/6/2024: Closed
  • 7/7/2024: Closed
  • 8/30/2024: Closed
  • 8/31/2024: Closed
  • 9/1/2024: Closed
  • 9/2/2024: Closed
  • 9/3/2024: Closed
  • 10/4/2024: Closed
  • 10/5/2024: Closed
  • 10/6/2024: Closed
  • 11/28/2024: Closed
  • 11/29/2024: Closed
  • 11/30/2024: Closed
  • 12/1/2024: Closed
  • 12/20/2024: Closed
  • 12/21/2024: Closed
  • 12/22/2024: Closed
  • 12/23/2024: Closed
  • 12/24/2024: Closed
  • 12/25/2024: Closed
  • 12/26/2024: Closed
  • 12/27/2024: Closed
  • 12/28/2024: Closed
  • 12/29/2024: Closed
  • 12/30/2024: Closed
  • 12/31/2024: Closed
  • 1/1/2025: Closed
  • 1/2/2025: Closed
  • 1/3/2025: Closed
  • 1/4/2025: Closed
  • 1/5/2025: Closed

Show All Hours

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(434) 656-2447

807 N Main St
Gretna, VA 24557

Services at this Location:

Office Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8:30 am–5 pm
  • Sat-Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 5/26/2024: Closed
  • 5/27/2024: Closed
  • 7/4/2024: Closed
  • 7/5/2024: Closed
  • 7/6/2024: Closed
  • 7/7/2024: Closed
  • 8/30/2024: Closed
  • 8/31/2024: Closed
  • 9/1/2024: Closed
  • 9/2/2024: Closed
  • 9/3/2024: Closed
  • 10/4/2024: Closed
  • 10/5/2024: Closed
  • 10/6/2024: Closed
  • 11/28/2024: Closed
  • 11/29/2024: Closed
  • 11/30/2024: Closed
  • 12/1/2024: Closed
  • 12/20/2024: Closed
  • 12/21/2024: Closed
  • 12/22/2024: Closed
  • 12/23/2024: Closed
  • 12/24/2024: Closed
  • 12/25/2024: Closed
  • 12/26/2024: Closed
  • 12/27/2024: Closed
  • 12/28/2024: Closed
  • 12/29/2024: Closed
  • 12/30/2024: Closed
  • 12/31/2024: Closed
  • 1/1/2025: Closed
  • 1/2/2025: Closed
  • 1/3/2025: Closed
  • 1/4/2025: Closed
  • 1/5/2025: Closed

Show All Hours

  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

The lady was super helpful, friendly, and waiting right outside to assist me.

Juno B 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Thomas F 
Rating:
5.0

Everything went well and the associate at the Gretna location is very nice

Tamatha T 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nicholas F 
Rating:
5.0

Easy drop off

Charles H 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Casey C 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

charles h 
Rating:
5.0

Doing everything right.

MATTHEWSHAWN M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Arlene W 
Rating:
3.0

Facility is junky but driveway area where UHauls are parked was clean. It was difficult unhooking trailer due to no stand and I had to get a jack to jack the trailer up off of the ball to disconnect.

Anne H 
Rating:
3.0

Ended up being charged for a dirty cab of a uhaul and it was just like I got it.

Ann M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ashley L 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mary E 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kathy S 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Arlene B 
Rating:
5.0

Awesome service

ROBERT C 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sara S 
Rating:
5.0

Linda was very helpful!

Jamie E 
Rating:
5.0

They could be lenient or provide better time/hours of use.

Thelbert W 
Rating:
5.0

More lenient with rental hours/time.

Thelbert W 
Rating:
5.0

very nice staff

JAMES M 
Rating:
4.0

On line dispatch & return process is not easy; poor instructions especially for returning vehicles. Format for on line could be simpler/ easier to see at a glance. Had to sign in again to start the return process.

Ed A 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing. You get 5 stars for reservations pickup and drop off

Randall T 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jody A 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steven D 
Rating:
5.0

The location was closed so I used the online return option.

Chantel H 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Audry F 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was great...no problems!!!

Francis G 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

robert d 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Logan P 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

HARRY T 
Rating:
4.0

Used the app to check in, worked great.

Charles M 
Rating:
1.0

Fix trucks like transmissions and get people the trucks they want.

Mary F 
Rating:
5.0

Always a good experience!

Rosemary B 
Rating:
4.0

On the weekend before or pick up our reservation was changed from one location to another 20 miles away. I got a voice mail from the new location and then had to call the 800 number to confirm. The website with our reservation never updated.

Deborah B 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tony R 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sandra C 
Rating:
5.0

Very easy drop off

JOHNBYRON S 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tracy M 
Rating:
5.0

All was good!

ROGER,DALE G 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Chris H 
Rating:
5.0

The Temporary license had expired long ago. U-Haul should have taken csre of that.

Jennifer S 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

james e 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

brian k 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ken S 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Istvan I 
Rating:
3.0

The location was closed so I completed the pick up through an online process, but everything went well.

Larry S 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joan C 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MICHAELEDWARD V 
Rating:
5.0

***The tires on the truck we rented were SLICK, and we had snow the weekend we rented it! It was unsafe to be on the road, much less in snowy conditions. I was charged an additional $50 after returning the truck. For what?!

RACHAELKELLY B 
Rating:
5.0

Perfect and convenient service.

Robert B 
Rating:
3.0

I think the service was great kind and courtesy I had a great experience

JADASHARON B 
Rating:
3.0

I don’t think the trailer was as clean as it could have been. We got a film of some kind of dust (that you couldn’t see when you opened the trailer) on some of our furniture. My coffee table got the worst of it. I’m not really sure what it was. I don’t think it’s the owner of the place’s fault. It looked clean/swept when you opened it up but it wasn’t. They probably didn’t notice either. I can send you pictures if you’d like.

Mary C 
Rating:
5.0

Very good service n nice people

Larry L 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kenneth J 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KAYEDALTON M 
Rating:
1.0

Awful,,, Hateful lady Asia.. I want taped phone cal with my secretary. She said she did not like my secretary so she canceled my reservation so when i got there to pick it up they had none,, I made this reservation in person myself. Had to drive 1 hr away to pick up trailer and the lady said because of what Asia had done and i had to drive 1 hr out of my way she would let me have it for $340.00 and when i got there that lady said take it up with Uhaul cause she did not make enough money anyway and charged me $438.90

CLAYTONODELL W 
Rating:
5.0

The Box truck that we received had a loose driver's side mirror & therefore we had to drive in busy traffic, while trying hold the mirror up, from Gretna, Va to Lynchburg, Va & to Chatham Virginia. The truck lacked maintenance, and there was not suitable to drive. We finally purchased a elastic cord to try to hold mirror in 1 position. The cord was left to hopeful help the next customer, who gets to drive the truck, they will be able to see the Traffic behind & beside them.

MAE S 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RALPH P 
Rating:
5.0

Everything went great!

CHRISTOPHERTODD W 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Shane N 
Rating:
5.0

Customer service was excellent they came out to make sure everything was good and hooked up right and we didn't have any questions and when we returned it they were right there again to assist

JEREMYWAYNE F 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Erika R 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rebecca R 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MYRAJAN R 
Rating:
5.0

Very welcoming and advised that I would be recieving email which I did. Very professional.

RUSSELL D 
Rating:
5.0

Great Customer Service!

WILLIAMBURROWS R 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOHNHAROLD D 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RUSSELLOLLIVER G 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SUSANNEBETH C 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

EMMAJOYCE B 
Rating:
5.0

I will be moving next month and I will definitely use this location again.

TARAELIZABETH D 
Rating:
5.0

The young lady was awesome to work with.

Colleen M 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent place to do business - check in and check out were quick and easy. Will definitely be back and highly recommend to others needing a U-Haul in Pittsylvania County, VA! Thanks!

LISAGEORGETTE M 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly and helpful. Something we all appreciate.

ALFREDO C 
Rating:
5.0

No issues. Everything was great. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Smooth process from online reservation to return.

BRANDONCHRISTOPH T 
Rating:
5.0

Not much. Everything was great.

Willie I 
Rating:
5.0

No issues with the drop off locations, everything went well, I dropped the trailer off on Saturday evening since the use of the trailer went perfect, will use U-Haul again when the need arises..

Alfred L 
Rating:
5.0

Great people, always helpful.

ELIZABETHPAIGE M 
Rating:
5.0

Gretna U-Haul has been great for us for years. We had trouble finding anyone to answer phones,etc. in the Charlottesville area, so we had to rent from Gretna drove to Charlottesville, made our move and back to Gretna. We were upset that we had to pay extra because no one would help us in the Charlottesville area. No one. Customer service needs work on in that area.

Elizabeth B 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSEPHCLOYD C 
Rating:
1.0

They charge $1.19 a mile i rent uhauls all over the country. I usually pay 79 cents a mile

MARK W 
Rating:
5.0

Ms. Linda Higgins & the gentleman were very Professional, kind & thoughtful. They even stayed past their closing time to assist me. I would use their services again if needed, and would also recommend anyone in need of a UHAUL to visit them 1st in Gretna Va.

MAE S 
Rating:
5.0

Love the location have used this location twice so far love the service quick and very friendly. Plan to continue using this location for all my future hauling needs.Thanks again.

MAURICEFRANK C 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHADWICKMARVIN O 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Angela B 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

NANCYE D 
Rating:
5.0

The whole experience was great. Young lady who helped when we picked up trailer was very friendly and helpful. No complaints.

BRIANOLIVER R 
Rating:
3.0

Too expensive. Over 100$ and I only moved 15 miles. Wasn't expecting this price when the move was planned.

TONNEAUJOT S 
Rating:
5.0

No improvements needed!

KARENLYNN H 
Rating:
5.0

I have picked up and dropped off here a half dozen times. These folks are so nice, so organized, and equipment is always as expected.

GREGORY H 
Rating:
5.0

Met the husband and wife that operate this location.. down to earth, make you feel at home kind of business

JOSEPHWAYNE L 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHARLES H 
Rating:
5.0

Better QA checks on equipment per my comments

Randall E 
Rating:
5.0

The employee was professional and kind.

Marisa T 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KALEENMICHELE M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Samantha T 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent experience from start to finish! I can't see the need for any improvements except for the online reservation...it took me way to long to register!

Karen H 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing, everything went as smooth as silk.

Suzanne B 
Rating:
5.0

N/A

Laura G 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top