Customer Reviews for The Hardware Company
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

204 reviews

807 N Main St   Gretna, VA 24557

(434) 656-2447

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8:30 am - 5 pm
  • Sat-Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 8/13/2021 - 8/16/2021: Closed
  • 9/3/2021 - 9/6/2021: Closed
  • 11/24/2021 - 11/29/2021: Closed
  • 12/23/2021 - 12/27/2021: Closed
  • 1/1/2022 - 1/2/2022: Closed

Show All Hours

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(434) 656-2447

807 N Main St
Gretna, VA 24557

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8:30 am - 5 pm
  • Sat-Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 8/13/2021 - 8/16/2021: Closed
  • 9/3/2021 - 9/6/2021: Closed
  • 11/24/2021 - 11/29/2021: Closed
  • 12/23/2021 - 12/27/2021: Closed
  • 1/1/2022 - 1/2/2022: Closed

Show All Hours

  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Everything went great!

CHRISTOPHERTODD W. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Shane N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer service was excellent they came out to make sure everything was good and hooked up right and we didn't have any questions and when we returned it they were right there again to assist

JEREMYWAYNE F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Erika R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rebecca R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MYRAJAN R. 
Rating:
5.0

Very welcoming and advised that I would be recieving email which I did. Very professional.

RUSSELL D. 
Rating:
5.0

Great Customer Service!

WILLIAMBURROWS R. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOHNHAROLD D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RUSSELLOLLIVER G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SUSANNEBETH C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

EMMAJOYCE B. 
Rating:
5.0

I will be moving next month and I will definitely use this location again.

TARAELIZABETH D. 
Rating:
5.0

The young lady was awesome to work with.

Colleen M. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent place to do business - check in and check out were quick and easy. Will definitely be back and highly recommend to others needing a U-Haul in Pittsylvania County, VA! Thanks!

LISAGEORGETTE M. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly and helpful. Something we all appreciate.

ALFREDO C. 
Rating:
5.0

No issues. Everything was great. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Smooth process from online reservation to return.

BRANDONCHRISTOPH T. 
Rating:
5.0

Not much. Everything was great.

Willie I. 
Rating:
5.0

No issues with the drop off locations, everything went well, I dropped the trailer off on Saturday evening since the use of the trailer went perfect, will use U-Haul again when the need arises..

Alfred L. 
Rating:
5.0

Great people, always helpful.

ELIZABETHPAIGE M B. 
Rating:
5.0

Gretna U-Haul has been great for us for years. We had trouble finding anyone to answer phones,etc. in the Charlottesville area, so we had to rent from Gretna drove to Charlottesville, made our move and back to Gretna. We were upset that we had to pay extra because no one would help us in the Charlottesville area. No one. Customer service needs work on in that area.

Elizabeth B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSEPHCLOYD C. 
Rating:
1.0

They charge $1.19 a mile i rent uhauls all over the country. I usually pay 79 cents a mile

MARK W. 
Rating:
5.0

Ms. Linda Higgins & the gentleman were very Professional, kind & thoughtful. They even stayed past their closing time to assist me. I would use their services again if needed, and would also recommend anyone in need of a UHAUL to visit them 1st in Gretna Va.

MAE S. 
Rating:
5.0

Love the location have used this location twice so far love the service quick and very friendly. Plan to continue using this location for all my future hauling needs.Thanks again.

MAURICEFRANK C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHADWICKMARVIN O. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Angela B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

NANCYE D. 
Rating:
5.0

The whole experience was great. Young lady who helped when we picked up trailer was very friendly and helpful. No complaints.

BRIANOLIVER R. 
Rating:
3.0

Too expensive. Over 100$ and I only moved 15 miles. Wasn't expecting this price when the move was planned.

TONNEAUJOT S. 
Rating:
5.0

No improvements needed!

KARENLYNN H. 
Rating:
5.0

I have picked up and dropped off here a half dozen times. These folks are so nice, so organized, and equipment is always as expected.

GREGORY H. 
Rating:
5.0

Met the husband and wife that operate this location.. down to earth, make you feel at home kind of business

JOSEPHWAYNE L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHARLES H. 
Rating:
5.0

Better QA checks on equipment per my comments

Randall E T. 
Rating:
5.0

The employee was professional and kind.

Marisa T. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KALEENMICHELE M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Samantha T. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent experience from start to finish! I can't see the need for any improvements except for the online reservation...it took me way to long to register!

Karen H. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing, everything went as smooth as silk.

Suzanne B. 
Rating:
5.0

N/A

Laura G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Marshall T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Teresa D. 
Rating:
5.0

Very pleased with service. Vehicle was sanitized in cab.

William T. 
Rating:
3.0

The location had very poor cellphone service -where it was located- took about 20 minutes for the online pickup to complete

Brooke C. 
Rating:
5.0

Replace the windshield wipers They were bad.. Everything else was good

Donnie B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Riemann K. 
Rating:
5.0

Great people at the Gretna drop off.

Beth M. 
Rating:
5.0

Pleased as is

William T. 
Rating:
5.0

Extended weekend hours would be helpful.

William T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Leatrice L. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Adiquis M. 
Rating:
3.0

Would like to know why U-Haul offers a discount for drop off at a particular location, redirects drop off to a different location, and then removes the discount, and then, double charges. 434656-1810

Thomas L. 
Rating:
5.0

Very nice

Debora A. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent and very nice to do business with. ??

DARRYL P. 
Rating:
5.0

I was made to feel very welcome! Thank you for that!

Dennis H. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Patrick V. 
Rating:
5.0

frendly

Barry L. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Allen G. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Scott B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rachel P. 
Rating:
3.0

Two dolly needs a ratchet cable and tilt ramps. The sliding g ramps are very hard to pull out

Danny T. 
Rating:
5.0

We get the best service here!

Robert B. 
Rating:
3.0

The truck was cover in red mud and the back of truck in cargo area was tons of RED DIRT! I had to clean it out before putting my clean fabric furniture and mattresses in it. I was VERY UNHAPPY with the condition of truck!

Sandy M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Donald H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

sylvia K. 
Rating:
3.0

Vehicle had slick tires and so I got stuck in wet grass and had to be towed which caused a two hour delay. The brakes would go all the way to the floor board, the shocks were worn out and it rode really rough bouncing the contents on the back all over the place, and the check engine light came on! Not to mention how slow the internet service was were I rented it from. Just an overall terrible experience!

Margaret P. 
Rating:
5.0

The tires need balanceing other than good.

Ronnie F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Beverly W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kimberly K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Carolyn M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Yolanda R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Scott M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Aubrey B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brian B. 
Rating:
1.0

Honoring a reservation is always nice. Or if not going to honor it, not allowing it to be rented online would be nice so that people can plan around it.

dallas J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tim W. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Chris B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Katrina R. 
Rating:
5.0

Super friendly!!!!

William V. 
Rating:
3.0

The windshield wipers on the truck I was provided were basically coming apart. When it rained a bit, I could hardly see. The truck was also dirty. But the main issue I have with your company is that I could not contact anyone for Assistance at your toll-free number. The question I have for you, is why do you have a toll-free number at all if no one ever picks up the phone? I stayed on hold on numerous occasions from 10 to 20 minutes and never heard from anyone! It also took about 10 hours for someone to Email me back once I had contacted you. Very disappointed in your company this time!

charles I. 
Rating:
3.0

Really never again!

RHONDA M. 
Rating:
5.0

Spot on!

roger H. 
Rating:
5.0

I got charged for two days due to being 30 minutes late on the return.

THELBERT W. 
Rating:
4.0

was quoted a different milage than what was used

paul D. 
Rating:
3.0

I was rented a 8 X 10 double axle trailer which was fine. I used it for approx. 1 week and it worked out just fine clean etc. Then I rented a one way large cab over truck which should not have been on the road. It had been in a accident prior to me renting and tracked crooked . And I mean real crooket , got pulled over twice cause police felt it was unsafe. People were pulling around me at traffic lights and pointing to the rear of truck. 1st couple of times I thought I had left door open and things were falling out but they were referring to the tracking of the truck. The rental location had to of know this truck was not right cause I made note of the braodside damage before I rented it but did not realize it was tracking at a angle before I left. BAD BUSINESS ON THEIR PART.

Steve D. 
Rating:
3.0

Trailer could use a jack but other than that experience was great!

William D. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jack A. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Donna H. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Alfred A. 
Rating:
5.0

Perfect

bhaveshbhai C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

wayne L. 
Rating:
3.0

Linda was great, this truck needs work steering was off needs alignment and the shocks are bad.

Rosemary S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Radi A. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

William M. 
Rating:
4.0

I requested a 17' truck on my reservation and all they had was a 20'. The location was moved by U-Haul and I wasn't charged extra but due to the 3' extra I had to cut down 5 trees to get the truck in the space. Better communication is certainly needed when changing a reservation without the knowledge of the customer.

Aaron V. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Janet A. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Theresa B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bernard B. 
Rating:
1.0

The Hardware Co dispatched a truck to me with some mechanical problems, i.e., weak battery, slightly loose steering, and possibly a faulty ramp). I also had to jump start the battery which caused a delay in my departure. Furthermore, they were unreachable when I tried to contact someone for assistance since they were closed on the weekends.

mike W. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top