Customer Reviews for VWSS Rome LLC
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

138 reviews

466 Hilliard Rome Rd   Columbus, OH 43228

(614) 870-7716

Location Hours

  • Monday - Friday:
    9:30 am - 1 pm / 1:30 pm - 6 pm
  • Saturday:
    9:30 am - 1 pm / 1:30 pm - 5 pm
  • Sunday:
    12 pm - 4 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021: 8:00 am - 3:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021: 8:00 am - 3:00 pm
  • 1/1/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(614) 870-7716

466 Hilliard Rome Rd
Columbus, OH 43228

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Monday - Friday:
    9:30 am - 1 pm / 1:30 pm - 6 pm
  • Saturday:
    9:30 am - 1 pm / 1:30 pm - 5 pm
  • Sunday:
    12 pm - 4 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021: 8:00 am - 3:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021: 8:00 am - 3:00 pm
  • 1/1/2022: Closed
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
4.0

This was our third location the day of pick up. I called the Dublin store to confirm pick up and was told truck was broken. They gave me location in Hilliard. When I called that store to confirm, they said customer was late in bringing back and routed me to 3rd store. Was told I would get discount, but couldn't get system in store to produce the new price. Was told supervisor would call me in Monday. No call so I called Tuesday. They did refund me the difference. Glad it all worked out, but I'm also glad I kept calling to confirm and to get discount.

DAVID J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JANICE R. 
Rating:
2.0

Truck was dusty. Steering was misaligned and truck wobbled on the freeway.

Chris M. 
Rating:
5.0

Wondering when I will get confirmation that I turned it in yesterday

TIMOTHY S. 
Rating:
1.0

I paid for moving blankets, they weren't in the truck, they told me they were out. I asked for a refund on them, they said they couldn't do that until I returned the truck. They told me to not use my phone to do the return and to just use the drop box and they would refund me for the blankets and not charge me for the after hours fee. I was still charged the 20 dollar fee.

Anthony V. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

AMAR O. 
Rating:
5.0

Every u-Haul truck I have ever driven has had very (sometimes dangerously) loose steering - so much play in the wheel that it is almost like driving the Old Times Car Ride at Cedar Point Amusement Park. It would be wonderful if these trucks were easier to steer!

KRISTA H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHAD M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSEPH J. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOHN F. 
Rating:
5.0

Had some issues using the website on our smartphone. It didn't recognize that we were at the site at first, and then the website said it 'ran out of memory' when submitting photos when turning in the truck. Used the website on my spouse's smartphone, and it worked fine.

Gregory N. 
Rating:
2.0

Fix the online portal with the correct prices on the website , kinda a sense of false advertisement in pricing

HAYDEE M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dennis M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JESSICA B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

HAROLD H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROBERT H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jamie M. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was fine but then the company asked me to provide uncompensated feedback to them. If they think they can benefit from me taking the time to review their service, they should pay me for that service. Would not recommend

MATTHEW S. 
Rating:
3.0

The attention was excellent! The lady in the front desk was very kind, but my rental van was not full gas, i paid 21$ for reload gas for 34 miles of use, it's no fair. The next time I will take a picture to gas indicator!!!!!!! But in general was a good service

Daniel D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gabriel A. 
Rating:
1.0

The truck we got was filthy with pizza pieces and wine corks along with dust and other stuff . We noticed it when we got the truck at my location to load. Have taken and shared the pictures with U-Haul before loading .

Andrew M. 
Rating:
2.0

Didn't have the right size truck that I reserved. Reserved a 26' and they only had a 20' truck for me. Not happy.

ASHLEY K. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

William M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BARBARA F. 
Rating:
5.0

Very helpful people

MARSHALL L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Shane S. 
Rating:
3.0

When I picked up the vehicle it was making a loud rattle noise when I started it. I informed the attendant that it was making the noise and the check engine light was on, she told me that they knew about it and it was safe to drive. I didn't feel it was safe to drive for me. Luckily I was only going a few miles or I would have refused the truck.

JAMISON M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

INAS ABDEL ATTI H. 
Rating:
5.0

It was simple

MATTHEW S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARY W. 
Rating:
5.0

The lady at the counter was so nice and friendly

JEWEL D. 
Rating:
3.0

We just really needed a dolly and there weren't any available. It made it much harder to move.

Corrie H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SCHLAINE H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nana Yaw O. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Edvin Q. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KEVIN M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Shanna R. 
Rating:
3.0

The truck was dirty with melted ice cream and drink from previous rental in console. Back was not swept out and had several moving blankets left in it. I didn't order any. Location did not have appliance dolly or regular dolly as reserved.

CARRIE W. 
Rating:
4.0

I requested a dolly and furniture pads but did not receive them with my truck. I was promptly refunded, thank you for that. I also like the ease of picking up and returning when the location isn't open.

Javelyn E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Charla S. 
Rating:
5.0

Th service and equipment were outstanding.

RICHARD H. 
Rating:
5.0

The folks at VWSS Rome LLC were incredibly kind and helpful when I picked up the in town van this morning. There was an issue with my reservation because of a difference of timing but they handled it quickly and sent me on my way. The return process was very easy as well and there are several gas stations nearby.

NICOLE S. 
Rating:
1.0

Person at location would not hook up my trailer. Same person said I cut leave it when I return in the return area I have to push it back myself. Then sent out a lady to see if the lights work and they sisnt and said I see this a lot, when your van is wider then the trailer it's OK. And said I'm good to go.

YISROEL C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jarrod H. 
Rating:
5.0

nothimg really

NATHANIEL P. 
Rating:
5.0

The only thing that I would complain about, is that the movers that we had hired, never showed. I got an automated confirmation text but they never showed

Brandon T. 
Rating:
3.0

We went to the wrong location first because the address in my email confirmation from UHaul was not where they had my reservation. So we wasted time and had to pay for additional miles on the truck. Also, the after-hours return process was terrible. Not everyone has a smart phone. So asking people to submit a whole bunch of photos and turn on the highly invasive Location Services in order to verify our return is not ok. There needs to be other options - ones that don't include being punished with an additional fee. Bottom line, I will not be using UHaul again.

Rebekah D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ADAM L. 
Rating:
4.0

The cellphone check-in and checkout process needs to be more streamlined.

ROBERT W. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ZOE S. 
Rating:
1.0

Truck wasn't clean had prissy clothes blankets from previous renter

RENEE F. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JILL D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MURAD D. 
Rating:
2.0

The location opened up at 9:30am, but I had to wait for the computer to system to boot up. After several minutes of waiting the desk clerk had to reset his password to login. The clerk gave me the keys and told me to go find it around the corner. Understandable, but having someone walk me to the vehicle and show me the features of the vehicle would be a nice gesture. I ordered 4 dollies and did not receive one. I was told it wasn't this location's responsibility to have them. I could call customer service and have the charge removed. But, I needed the dollies so I had to go through the trouble of calling around and locating the dollies and then retrieving them myself.

William S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James S. 
Rating:
3.0

Our reservation was made for Canal Winchester and the night before we were told pick-up would be in Lancaster. When we arrived in Lancaster, they indicated they mistakenly gave the truck away and we were rerouted all the way to Hilliard. We then had to return to Lancaster to pick up our auto transport. The process was inconvenient, frustrating, and cumbersome. The back of the truck was quite dirty, as if the previous people did not sweep it out. Also, we were told by both the Hilliard and the Lancaster service reps that if we returned our equipment at least 24 hours early, we would receive a credit for the unused portion of our time commitment. However, when we returned in Surfside Beach, we were told that was not accurate and we did not receive any adjustment although we returned our equipment 24 hours early.

GREGORY R. 
Rating:
2.0

Ensure trucks provided are clean and swept out. We had broken glass, dirt, mud, etc in the back and in the cab.

William D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHAZ H. 
Rating:
5.0

Good place, excellent service, customer service very nice and helpful thank you so much.

NOUREDINE H. 
Rating:
1.0

Wrong billing, false charges and no help or responsibility trying to resolve egregious misleading business practices!

DAVID P. 
Rating:
5.0

Great people, great location

CESAR M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

EBENEZER I. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KAREN M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DAVONNA O. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing, everything went absolutely perfect. Equipment was well maintained and actually comfortable to ride in. Staff at facility went out of their way to help us out. We've actually had experiences with several U-Haul facilities in the Columbus area after a pretty bad situation and we have nothing but positive things to say

Jennie L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Emilie P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

THOMAS S. 
Rating:
1.0

I was told I could pick up a truck first in Granville, then in Newark, then suddenly there was no truck available, so it was required that I drive 45 minutes from Granville to Hilliard Rome Rd to pick up the truck 30 minutes later than my intended pickup time. Also, the time was changed twice, once without me receiving any notification.

PAUL C. 
Rating:
3.0

The truck was not cleaned or sanitized. I had to clean the inside with sanitizing wipes. Whoever previously rented the truck was smoking. The passenger door would not completely close. The employee were nice and friendly with professional customer services.

BRENT F. 
Rating:
3.0

Didn't have the dolly I reserved, I was told the amount would be deducted and it wasn't, Gas gauges didn't work well I put more gas in than I used.

Adam N. 
Rating:
3.0

No dolly for us even though we requested one. A bunch of broken glass left in the back of the truck.

KRISTA C. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

jin J. 
Rating:
3.0

The sign on the business door said closed. I was using online check-in but a customer service female was 10 ft inside watching. I went back and forth to my car because the chat customer service kept telling me to get my key inside of through the lock box. I yanked on the door and saw her just sitting there with no customers. I asked her why she still had the closed sign up and she stated, because the business was just taken over??! 🤨 what??? Then I asked if she saw me having issues and she said yes and then had no response. Completely shocked at her complete lack of awareness to help a customer and lack of common sense to take the sign down that said closed....

Jennifer K. 
Rating:
5.0

Still have not received a receipt

JEFFREY K. 
Rating:
5.0

Great experience overall. Did the online sign in and check out... super easy!!

Travis L. 
Rating:
5.0

The lady at the desk was friendly and helpful. It would be nice if you could fix the potholes at the entrance to the lot.

RICHARD S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROMY G. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Arnold M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

IRIS S. 
Rating:
4.0

No dolly and no blankets. Why can we select them and purchase if they are not available?

David K. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Layla T. 
Rating:
5.0

The inside of the truck smelled like someone just got done smoking a pack of cigarettes. Minor dirt and dust on the inside as well. The process to pick up the truck and drop off the truck was really easy and convenient. I used the website for the check-in and drop-off.

Lindsey B. 
Rating:
5.0

Was greeted Immediately walking in the store and she was very very helpful extremely friendly and very knowledgeable. I would hire her in a heartbeat to work for my company. Great customer service will return

Timothy D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robin G. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent service and very friendly.

DANIEL E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHARLES B. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Matthew S. 
Rating:
3.0

Open earlier. On line pick up is too complicated. 4 miles per gallon on a 17 ft is way too inefficient

ROGER D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

PEDRO B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ELIZABETH W. 
Rating:
1.0

The girls at the Hilliard u-haul location were awesome, nice & helpful but on my receipt said it was 118.& Some change, well my card got charged $193.20 $75.00 more than sposed to & I haven't received this $ back which the girls said I was prob charged a deposit because my card was a prepaid card. But been a WK & haven't got that money back yet. I'm so angry about this. I didn't even get my deposit back on the trailer I got over a month ago now either so don't count on getting any deposit back cuz u won't get it! I'm waiting on a $54 deposit from trailer & $75 deposit from the truck I rented. This is not good business!! A deposit is sposed to b paid back not kept. & I put gas in truck & had it back when sposed to nothing wrong wit anything, so what's the deal??? Where's my $$$???

CARRIE Y. 
Rating:
5.0

Keep doing what you're doing. Good experience!

Benjamin W. 
Rating:
5.0

Everyone were extremely polite.

CHRIS M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DANIEL K. 
Rating:
5.0

I reserved a truck at Georgesville Rd location. Then the day before I was scheduled to pick up the truck I was told it was not available. I had to go to a location further away from where I needed the truck. Not happy about that. Your reservation system gets 1 star.

WILLIAM G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSHUA B. 
Rating:
5.0

In general for uhaul and not this location. You need to schedule trucks better and notify customer about changes

DONALD L. 
Rating:
5.0

I don't think you need to do anything?

RICHARD H. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

WILLIAM M. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top