Customer Reviews for Walts Automotive
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

1,574 reviews

3504 Bodega Av   Petaluma, CA 94952
(Off Hwy 101)

(707) 762-2584

Location Hours

  • Monday:
    Closed
  • Tuesday:
    8 am - 5 pm
  • Wednesday:
    8 am - 11:30 am / 12:30 pm - 5 pm
  • Thursday - Friday:
    8 am - 5 pm
  • Saturday:
    8 am - 2 pm
  • Sunday:
    Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 6/25/2022: 8:00 am - 10:00 am
  • 6/26/2022 - 6/27/2022: Closed
  • 7/13/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(707) 762-2584

3504 Bodega Av
Petaluma, CA 94952
(Off Hwy 101)

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Monday:
    Closed
  • Tuesday:
    8 am - 5 pm
  • Wednesday:
    8 am - 11:30 am / 12:30 pm - 5 pm
  • Thursday - Friday:
    8 am - 5 pm
  • Saturday:
    8 am - 2 pm
  • Sunday:
    Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 6/25/2022: 8:00 am - 10:00 am
  • 6/26/2022 - 6/27/2022: Closed
  • 7/13/2022: Closed
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROBERT L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

elaine M. 
Rating:
5.0

Super convenient pickup & return. Appreciate you being available on Sunday.

Oscar P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Matthew W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Wayne G. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

veronica S. 
Rating:
5.0

They are wonderful !!

Catherine M. 
Rating:
5.0

I am so happy to have found this wonderful neighborhood location. Walt is so personable and helpful. We have rented many times from several different locations and really appreciate Walt's efficiency. We can't wait to need car repairs so we can try him for that as well!

Lisa B. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy, reliable, reasonable rates. I'm a fan if Walt's!

Dru O. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John E. 
Rating:
4.0

Easy pick up drop off

Lou ann B. 
Rating:
5.0

Ms Sue was amazing at receiving the truck/trailer and did everything she could do to make dropping off the equipment as smooth as possible. She took note of any issues I had with the truck( The left rear tire possibly being low, the service message that kept appearing when turning on the truck, along with the dash vents going out while driving but coming back on after a while when I hit a bumpy area of road). She also worked with me to help make up for the pickup location not giving me the pads. I could not have asked for better assistance on dropping off the truck/trailer to her and Walt's business

Daniel L. 
Rating:
5.0

Walt's Automotive was excellent - would chose again. Thanks!

Sarah T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

gregory F. 
Rating:
5.0

1. The staff at Walts was great but I reserved the trailer for the location in San Rafael which was 20+ miles away. Nothing was available there this location was inconvenient. 2. I reserved a 4 x 8 trailer the 5 x 8 trailer was larger than l needed and it's larger profile caused me to use more fuel than necessary.

William L. 
Rating:
5.0

Cool folks

thomas S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Matthew C. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy to spot location with plenty of room to maneuver the rental truck.

Chris W. 
Rating:
5.0

The service at Walt's Haul is always a great experience. He's very helpful.

Rivka B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Greg M. 
Rating:
5.0

Walt's auto is great love this place, very nice people

austin S. 
Rating:
5.0

Very good experience with this company and the manager/owner was very helpful and knowledgeable.

JAMES S. 
Rating:
5.0

I really can't think of anything! Easy and friendly service.Thank you!

deborah T. 
Rating:
4.0

Very friendly and helpful people running this place. Walt helped me mount and hookup my trailer. Basically a UHaul rental facility at a quiet rural auto repair location a few miles outside of downtown Petaluma.

Michael C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Alejandro P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

scott W. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Hayley L. 
Rating:
5.0

I rent here all of the time and was charged a cleaning fee that I deem to be unreasonable. It was raining the night we returned the box truck and I mopped it out. We did everything in our power to return it clean and in the same shape, we received it. I would call the dirt normal circumstances especially given it was raining.

Aimee L. 
Rating:
5.0

I had such a great experience with Walt's Automotive. Walt and Sue were so accommodating and helpful. I didn't have the right hitch and they helped point me in the right direction, wrote down exactly what I needed, and really went out of their way to make sure I got what I needed. And they were both so lovely to interact with. I really appreciated their help.

Maggie F. 
Rating:
1.0

They had poor office hours, which was a problem for me because I locked something in my car. I had to call roadside assistance for help. The location was going to randomly be closed the next two days. Not a real uhaul location, self-drop off is a painful experience.

Phillip J. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Melissa C. 
Rating:
5.0

the staff were very helpful and please don't change a thing!

ADAM S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jacob H. 
Rating:
5.0

The inside of the windshield needs to be cleaned. When lights hit it at night it was hard to see and very dangerous.

John M. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy and friendly

kevin D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Crystal C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RUDOLPH S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MELISSA K. 
Rating:
4.0

Trailer fairly dirty; but inside was fine.

GARY M. 
Rating:
3.0

No space for drop offs, busy road, very little help while returning

ERIC R. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROBERT F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KEVIN M. 
Rating:
4.0

For a none tech person, it was very confusing and frustrating to pick up the van and return it. Although, Walt was extremely helpful in getting me through the procedures.

PERRY B. 
Rating:
4.0

The first place I contacted to do the pickup was less than helpful. The second place was good( Walt's automotive). The equip was fine but the scheduling support leaves a lot to be desired. Some kid in SF. Sent me to the wrong place for my pickup. I called and questioned them it was… oh yea that's wrong. I would have driven 40 mikes out of the way!! Come on

Daniel M. 
Rating:
3.0

The main problem with this location is it closes at 2 o'clock in the afternoon we rented it for the day we got back in at four and nobody was there and the app to sign the vehicle back in is useless we tried for two hours to make it work and then we had to call corporate and they made a record of our drop off

GREGORY D. 
Rating:
1.0

Unable to check in as directed.

Caleb N. 
Rating:
5.0

Walts automotive is an excellent location, he is always present to help and advise, he is very patient and accommodating. It's the location I would drive to for a uhual even passing others The online pickup and drop off with uhaul is painful. It cost me 20 mins of my 6 hour rental today waiting for an associate to verify my details, and then on drop-off i spend 25 mins trying to get the app to take a photo of the odometer before giving up and asking walts automotive for help and manually return my truck on the system. The concept of the app is great, it cost me almost an hour out of a 6 hour rental, super frustrated with it.

Joe D. 
Rating:
5.0

equipment was very clean, waiting for me and ready to go

PETER B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DALEY C. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was fantastic!!!

SEAN M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

STEPHEN M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROBERT L. 
Rating:
1.0

We had to use the app to drop the truck and the app would not take the photo of the dash with mileage and gas. Tried over and over. Called customer service and was on hold. Finally took a regular picture with our phone, dropped the key, and left. I spent about 15 minutes on hold and then got the recording saying wait time was 62 minutes and I put in my phone number for a call back. Got the call back and after "please hold for a customer service representative", it disconnected me. So, I called back and was on hold for over 50 minutes, got through to a rep who made the notes in the account that we had returned the truck, the time, the gas, the mileage. I then told her about the issues we had with pick up and she said I would need to talk to a customer service rep and she transferred me. I was on hold for about another 12 minutes until Valerie came on the line. She was very helpful and understanding, sent an email to the area managers of both pick up and drop off locations. And then I got the bill. Nothing was done to accommodate our horrible experience. Extremely frustrated with UHaul and the lack of restitution for the inconvenience we went through, the smell of the pot and the ensuing headache, and the fact that our mattress smells.

Eric J. 
Rating:
3.0

The equipment was not maintained and a wheel BROKE off the trailer while i was driving. It put my life, my sons life and everyone around us life in danger too. This was extremely dangerous and we could have been killed or in a serious accident because of the negligence of maintenance on this trailer. Highway patrol said it looked like the bearings were not maintenanced and bound up which ripped the entire wheel from the axel. The tire shot off and bounced down the road creating a hazard for everyone and i had to maintain control of my vehicle while the trailer was sparking and dragging on the ground, gouging the asphalt until the road was wide enough for me to pull over. My son and i were stuck on the side of the HIGHWAY between the lane of traffic and a cement barrier wall with only 1 foot of space on each side! It was an extremely dangerous place to be. In addition, i injured my back and our entire travel/trailer unloading plans were put on hold until uhaul got the correct tow truck to us. It took another 2 hours to get the trailer off the tow truck and checked out of the replacement facility. I had to take extra days off work to recover my back and finish my trailer use. I still need to have my truck evaluated to see if the trailer causes any damage to my tow vehicle because of the accident it caused.

JENNIFER Z. 
Rating:
5.0

I rent a ton of uhauls And could not log into my account to check out. I would like to be credited the additional fee it was dark and I could keep trying to make it work

AIMEE L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHRISTOPHER P. 
Rating:
5.0

I was really disappointed that our first location didn't have the equipment we had reserved. And it was in a really sketchy area and the employees pretty much ignored us when we got there. I am glad that we were able to go to Walts since our first location was so awful and didn't have any equipment.

DANIEL R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JORGE F. 
Rating:
1.0

The trailer smelled of pot. We asked for 4 days on the phone and they agreed, and we were only informed after hook up that they wanted it back by very early the next AM. They added on a 50. cleaning fee and late drop off to punish us. Do not recommend

TEDDY H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JACK L. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James N. 
Rating:
2.0

lot was to tight to easily drop off trailer. Small lot on busy road with poor approaches. hard to maneuver truck and trailer with lot full of equipment.

BRUCE J. 
Rating:
3.0

The owner of this location was very professional and helpful. However, I don't know why I was charged an after hours fee (as I had to return it on a sunday) and your online system was not working. I called to get assistance and waited over 60 minutes to get connected and be told the system was not working and then to be connected to another agent only to be DISCONNECTED...I should not be charged for a service fee when it is UHAUL'S fault!!

ERIKA A. 
Rating:
4.0

This location and vendor were VERY professional- HOWEVER, the after hours on-line return was a SERIOUS fail and extremely time consuming and not successful- and was trying to do the return in the rain- you gotta make it easier Uhaul!

ERIKA A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeremy L. 
Rating:
5.0

This location has great customer service!

DAVID C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRENT P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RAYMOND S. 
Rating:
4.0

The drop off site was closed on Mondays which made us put off returning the truck until Tuesday. The drop off location is an auto repair garage so What can I say? The gentleman running the location is probably a mechanic and is professional but probably has more mechanical things on his mind than processing moving vans. I have used this location about 5 years ago when again moving and believe its the same gentleman and he then processed the trailer that we rented just fine. I would use this location again.

MICHAEL J. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAY S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

PIO V. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RAYMOND S. 
Rating:
2.0

Less then pleasant person to work with. Made negative comments on where we lived because of our out of state license made derogatory comments about taking his equipment out of state.

Brian B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David A. 
Rating:
5.0

Walt has high standards Keep everything top notch. Also a very pleasant person.

DEBORAH A. 
Rating:
5.0

One way rental 15' truck. Both ends were helpful and efficient. Thanks U-Haul!

RICHARD M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CANDICE P. 
Rating:
5.0

Walt Is a great asset to Uhaul . He is a a true gem. A good ole boy!! Been renting from Walt for the last 12 years . A++

MORGAN C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

WILLIAM B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Alexia L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DAVID H. 
Rating:
3.0

Truck Return process was much more difficult than it should have been. The app was useless. Ended up calling the 800 number to complete it after 20+ minutes.

Candice P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Colin P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CATHLEEN S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ANTHONY P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARGARET K. 
Rating:
5.0

The guy who helped me was very nice.

William M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeremy L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gregory G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jennifer G. 
Rating:
3.0

The lug nuts were not tight the wheels were wobbly it was not properly maintained and was a safety issue

SHELLY O. 
Rating:
1.0

Rude rental agent ..after reserving truck asked to pick up in another city ..more mileage added to accommodate then removed when I picked up ....I had to contact U-Haul personal to fix mileage 5 times and they still messed it up ...I have rented U-Haul for 40 years have never had so much issues on scheduling side ..I never received a call to fix over charge just a bill ...please fire all of your staff and start over.....thank u

Johnathan B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRIAN B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Anthony P. 
Rating:
4.0

Have the truck where it is close to me.

Diana S. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JEANNETTE S. 
Rating:
5.0

Walt was extremely helpful and flexible with my time frame.

Tiffanie B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Karen O. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KEVIN H. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top