Empire Car Rental (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Empire Car Rental (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |

Address

186 Mulock Ave
Toronto, ON M6N3C8

(416) 532-9191

(Keele & St Clair)
Driving directions

Features  

  • 24 hour dropoff

Customer Reviews for Empire Car Rental

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of Empire Car Rental

Overall rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Greg R. on 7/29/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The final price was what was estimated, but there's a $1.25 charge that is not explained anywhere

Stephen S. on 7/27/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Give'em to Fred. Fred is awesome!

Amanda J. on 7/20/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

This location is actually kind of frightening. It is an abandoned parking lot filled with potholes. I would not recommend this location to anyone as it does not feel safe.

Nina M. on 7/18/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It would be good if someone was there to do the rental contract at the time specified. We did it over the phone which was quick and painless but also felt a bit sketchy. It did however, all run really smoothly so thank you for that.

Cheryl K. on 7/13/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

We were just a little concerned there was not too much light in the lot when returning the trailer after dark but other than that it was good with knowledgeable staff.

ZAMIR C. on 7/12/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Fix the drive way and entrance road !

Mark P. on 7/9/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Thea area around the rental yard has quite a bit of litter on the ground.

Stephanie M. on 7/5/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The location was fine, but I originally rented from a different location. UHaul called me the morning of my move to tell me that the truck was no longer available at that location. I had to drive an extra 8 km to get the truck. I had great customer service along the way, but there should be a guarantee on location when you book the truck in the first place.

David A. on 7/3/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Great staff... great locatipn . Bery c9nveniwmt and fair price...I have used Uhail 3 times in last year. Always good

roxanna w. on 7/1/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

This was a very sketchy location. The truck was not very clean (e.g. nut shells were on the floor near the seatbelt so I didn't want to use the seatbelt in the middle). However the location functioned - I.e. it got the job done.

John C. on 7/1/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The U-Haul agent was well prepared, knowledgable and polite. The 20 ft truck was in perfect condition, clean inside the cab, but very dirty inside the truck.

Douglas H. on 6/28/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Clean your trucks Accurately measure the fuel level before asking customer to sign contract Do a walk around of vehicle with customer to ensure everything is in order Have a phone number at the location that has a voice mail set up or where someone actually picks up the phone Actually give me address of where I am dropping off vehicle.

AMANDA PATTENDEN J. on 6/25/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

We were moving from Newmarket to Toronto with a 20 foot truck and originally picked this location for drop off. In the morning while we were loading the truck I got a phone call sending us to a different location (the one on Weston Road) and was told our drop off spot was written down and confirmed for that location which was no big deal. We finished our move and brought the truck back to the newer location and upon arrival were told that there was no room and sent us to a different location. This was annoying because we're not used to driving in Toronto, especially not with a big moving truck but we were okay with it. As we arrived at the second location we were sent to, which was not easy to get to at all, they also told us there was no room. At this point it was getting late in the day and we had been moving all day so we were tired and this was very annoying as well. They then told us to take it to the ORIGINAL location that we signed up for, which was even more difficult to drive to. After driving around trying to find this location (as well as driving from one uhaul to the other for a couple hours) we finally found the location. Once we arrived they also told us they didn't have enough room and tried to send us to one of the other two locations again which was absolutely ridiculous. Eventually they took the truck in after hours of us driving around, as well as putting extra gas in the cars. This was all very annoying but it was whatever. A few days later I got a bill in the mail charging us for extra gas as well as extra mileage which is complete bullshit because we put extra gas in the car in the first place and it was UHAULS fault that we were driving around extra and all over Toronto. I am completely appalled by the fact that they billed me extra for this and think that it is very unfair, especially since the lady at the final uhaul told us we had 'plenty of gas.' I truly hope I do not have to move again so I don't even have to think about dealing with uhaul ever again.

Annie W. on 6/24/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The van we rented was in such poor conditions that every time we hit a bump in the road I prayed the car wouldn't fall apart. I've never been so anxious in a moving vehicle in my life. Please do something about the suspensions to make for a smoother ride.

Fernando R. on 6/24/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

First and foremost one should be able to return equipment to a close location. I had one a few blocks from me and couldn't return there. Then someone from U-Haul changed my drop off location w/o my authorization to a further away location and it was a waste of my time on the phone to correct your mistake. They lied leaving message saying it was closer to me. Second the location I returned is a real dump. And the attendant (wearing shades) did not cared, was not helpful and wasn't friendly. He basically sat and didn't looked at me.

BLAZING K. on 6/21/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great spot...good service

Emily I. on 6/20/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This was the second time I've picked up a rental from Empire Car Rental - great service, very friendly & knowledgeable. The rep was able to make a quick change to a smaller truck which was great. Would recommend to friends/family.

ira l. on 6/15/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The voice mail didnt work and they would not answer the phone. i booked for 10 days but reservation was adjusted to 3 and "just call in to extend if you need it"..but could not get through. Luckily through the 800 number they were able to help continue reservation until the 10th day.

Tammy M. on 6/10/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

All was quick and smooth and friendly!

leonardo p. on 6/9/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The only improvement I would like to see is a better lit location.

Meg S. on 6/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing to improve - the services was fast, helpful, and met all our needs.

WOESER T. on 6/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Truck was not in a good shape mechanically. The steering wheel shacked a lot during braking and highway speed.

Chih Liang L. on 6/6/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Really customer service representative on the site. Friendly and solution oriented.

Ali N. on 6/5/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The person who took care of us at this location was professional in his attitude and helpful. Would definitely bring my business here again.

Steve K. on 6/5/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Van was dirty and musty. Smelled heavily of cigarettes. Fine when you're hauling lumber, but when you are moving an apartment it's not what you want. This pick up location is convenient to pick things up from, but is pretty sketchy, especially to leave cars on the street. Staff is friendly and efficient enough.

Farhan Z. on 6/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Very helpful and polite. Wonderful attitude and organized.

Amy L. on 5/31/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The brakes on the 17' truck were pretty bad. Makes for a frightening drive with an empty truck, let alone a full one.

Aika F. on 5/30/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I would not recommend this place.

Javier Siloe B. on 5/30/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Clean the cargo cans and trucks before the costumes arrival

Suzanne M. on 5/30/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

A little hard to find. The sign was partially hidden by bush.

Surya K. on 5/29/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This location is a scam. They gave me an unclean van which I had to clean because the Oshawa location was going to charge me for their laziness. They also scammed me by putting in less miles on the contract than in the car. I drove exactly 80kms but when I got to the OShawa location, they said I drove 257 miels and said they will charge me for the miles. I had to fight tooth and nail to get them to take it off. Never again from here.

Alexandra H. on 5/27/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Sketchy looking ocation but the guy was nice. However, he gave us incorrect information (that the insurance coverage would be pro-rated to the number of days we actually used the van vs the number of days in our contract. When we returned the van 2 days early we were disappointed not to get a refund on the extra 2 days of insurance.

Johann V. on 5/16/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Instructions to get there off St Clair unclrat

Amy L. on 5/12/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

This location not only did not have staff in the early afternoon, but it was dingy and felt incredibly unsafe. I dropped the truck off alone, in an unkempt lot with only a trailer for the office, and called my husband to talk to me while I left the premises. Truly a bad experience.

michael m. on 5/3/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I was told that I could park my car on the adjacent street to the Uhaul rental office and lot. I was told that I could Park my car past 12:00 AM and that the city was simply tardy in taking down the signs and I need not worry about getting a ticket. Sure enough, I received a ticket for $30 dollars. I could have easily picked up my car before 12 o'clock and didn't do so on the advice I received from the people working at U-Haul. I am disappointed to throw my money away on faulty advice that I thought was valid

STEVEN S. on 4/30/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The guy was friendly though he left his sunglasses on which was odd. The van had no windshield wiper fluid and a message that a tire needed air kept coming up. Why can't you always get a vehicle which is full of gas and just return it full instead of guessing and hoping you got it back to 3/8th full!

Humberto P. on 4/28/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The van had low air pressure to the point where there was a warning light. we added air but the light persisted. the van had no windshield washer fluid. Seems the van needed more maintenance before being handed to us.Adding to the fact that this location is muddy and filled with big holes.

Ricky P. on 4/28/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Inform me that the Pick-Up location has been changed before I go to the original location. If the new location wasn't down the street, I would have missed the elevator time I had booked for the move.

Bentley B. on 4/27/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The truck was low on oil, and it didn't have heated mirrors so driving through the rain at night was hazardous Also, the truck we'd rented a couple weeks prior had been missing a windshield wiper. We were told then that it was being replaced immediately, but when we went in yesterday, the wiper sitting on the counter. It didn't inspire confidence. Beyond that though, the service was both courteous and efficient.

Linda T. on 4/25/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The odomoeter reading was at least 500km inaccurate from the rental agreement to what vehicle read.Km out read 7378km. Only noted after I was about 16 km into trip that odometer read 7843. I picked up vehicle at 1:22 pm and at 2:59 pm noticed the discrepancy. As well, the fuel tank was not full - I could not have used 1/2 tank gas in that period. Do not recommend renting from this location. Please follow up with me.

Rahul S. on 4/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Hiya! Just wanted to double check the fuel charge on the rental... Did I misread the final bill? 9 litres of fuel to drive 4 miles? Let me know when you can. Thanks,

Milagros B. on 4/23/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Location was not quite accessible by transit. However, the service was pretty good.

Kyla E. on 4/22/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

It was fine because it was a sunny, warm day but the fact that the location was a dumpy trailer in the middle of nowhere with no waiting area for the long line of people if it had been raining or cold it would have been a miserable experience and the wait was VERY long.

Cristina B. on 4/9/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Please fix the address and phone number for the location because there was a lot of confusion when I was trying to find the place! It was across the street from where the address told me, and the phone number brought me to the auto shop across the street and not the U-Haul place. Other than that, great experience with the U-Haul staff and with the truck!

Sarah I. on 4/1/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Man running this location was super nice and helpful! :)