Empire Car Rental (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Empire Car Rental (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |

Address

186 Mulock Ave
Toronto, ON M6N3C8

(416) 532-9191

(Keele & St Clair)
Driving directions

Details

Standard Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 6 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Sun: 10 am - 2 pm

Special Operating Hours

Features  

  • 24 hour dropoff

View Rentals

Customer Reviews for Empire Car Rental

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of Empire Car Rental

Overall rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Samuel L. on 2/5/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

These guys ripped me off. I made sure to purchase $10 worth of gas after my short trip to ikea and back. After filling it up I ensured the levels were at 3/4 tank. I left slightly over 3/4, yet I got charged extra. These guys are shady. There's no way a round trip to ikea was over 50km, I google mapped it. I'm sure I got ripped off there, but have no proof for that. NEVER AGAIN!

JAKE K. on 2/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great experience overall. I had a small problem with my bill and the friendly staff took care of it right away. Thank you, I'll definitely be renting again in the future!

CARRIE R. on 2/2/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The employee at the desk was NOT the issue. He was professional, friendly and efficient as well as the employee who retrieved my truck for me. The issue was there was only one employee at the desk and the location/condition of the lot. The gentleman ahead of me was renting to drive to Phillie. There were several questions and issues with this man, therefore I had to wait a half hour before I was able to get access to the truck I had reserved. Which ate into the time that we had the elevator reserved for at the move location. In addition, having a trailer in a parking lot with massive pot holes full of mud, as the rental office is not a great experience for anyone. I would definately not use this location again.

Christina V. on 2/1/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Pros -The vehicle was good, it ran perfectly as far as I could tell. Cons -the lot is not properly paved a person who rented a truck before us got stuck because of it. -difficult to figure out where to park. -there was a delay getting the vehicle because the computer system got clogged up as it was opening.

trang t. on 1/29/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The staff was really friendly and helpful. Great experience. Thank you very much!!

Michael S. on 1/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The customer service was very friendly and helpful.

SHER R. on 1/19/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

They did to actually check the truck with the customer. Oil change light came on as soon as I got on the highway fro a 5 hour trip and the gas wasn`t really 3/4 full...

Allison F. on 1/17/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

pave the road more sign visibility

DERICK M. on 1/16/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Their was conflicting gas amounts between the paper work in the office and the actual gage in the truck. I brought the vehicle back with more then I picked it up with and was still squeezed for additional charges. All in all the rental process was easy and quick.

KEITH R. on 1/13/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The door was frozen shut. The attendant tried to open it by banging on the seal with a rubber mallet, but it didn't work. I had to the it myself with boiling water.

Connor S. on 1/8/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent service and reasonably priced. Needed to down size van on arrival which was no problem with the staff. Drop off time was very flexible which worked out great because I ran a little late with my move! I would recommend U-Haul to anyone ??

JORGE R. on 1/6/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The only thing I did not like was that I had to fuel up the truck right after I picked it up, the truck had no fuel at all (little bold flasing few meters after I turn the engine on) In eneded Putting more fuel that I actually used. Either than that all good, good service.

JULIENNE W. on 1/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The Uhaul representative was very helpful and provided an excellent explanation of the contract.

BRUCE B. on 1/2/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Difficult to find. Poor directions given. Charged for gas after we had refilled to takeout level. Poor policy not to have tank full at pickup.

Omid G. on 12/31/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

It wasn't the cleanest place. Not well lid, just a yard with a container office. (Very shady place) Upon arrival the clerk was not there and I had to wait for her, I had to call a number posted on there door. The van smelled like smoke. We did not check the equipment together before I signed it out. Personally, I prefer to rent from someone that doesn't operate a business from a backyard.

ALI I. on 12/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Better signage to locate office! Wonderful help all around once there.

Sam S. on 12/29/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Winter tires. The snow storm hit, and though it was forecast I just could not get the van up any hills, it was a very long circuitous route without any slopes to get it back to the lot. I like empire I've rented there a lot but driving that particular van in the snow felt dangerous.

Jo C. on 12/17/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was not happy with the charge for insurance which was not discussed with me on either call to the call center (where they were clear on the other rates) or at the rental depot.

nipun b. on 12/15/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was excellent. Staff was very polite and friendly. loved the u haul experience. Truck with ramp is a must I suggest. Glad to have chosen u haul. However the office probably could have been better, but for the price that I payed who's complaining.

DAVID G. on 12/14/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I only dropped off here. The u-haul location is a trailer placed on a random piece of land which has garbage everywhere.

shawn w. on 12/12/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Initially I tried the location convenient to me at 1668 Queen St W, Toronto, ON M6R 1B3, but there was none in the office on a friday at 4pm. I tried calling but nobody answered and the message service was full. There was a couple in the parking lot waiting for a key to be dropped off by a Uhaul employee. The said the person was late and had not kept in contact. I would never use the 1668 Queen location, even though they are much closer to me. The 186 Mulockk ave location was a great experience. The Google maps address says the location is 1520 St. Clair ave, so finding it was hard.

Jennifer M. on 12/11/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Not much. The guys working there were very friendly and thorough. Made the move go very smoothly! Thank you.

MANUEL L. on 12/6/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

fantastic

Stewart S. on 12/4/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The customer service and staff on duty was great, however the van was dirty and smelt of smoke, and the location/setting doesn't fill you with much confidence.

philmon k. on 12/3/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I have 3 points to make. -Customers service is terrible. I had to make 2 trips to this location just to get my deposit back. -Hours show that they are open to 6pm but no one is there at 5pm ??? - If a customer make a deposit for a rental , please have the full amount of the deposit on the bill. Not just half of it.

manuel l. on 12/3/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

yoga is cool

Jake K. on 12/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Employee was very helpful! A great experience. Thank you!

STEWART B. on 11/30/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Poor security. Did not feel good leaving the vehicle at this location.

Mandy U. on 11/30/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Gentleman at counter was really friendly and handled a pretty long line with ease and wit. Great experience!

Rick P. on 11/29/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Improve the condition of the parking lot. otherwise great service, good truck.

ERIC G. on 11/23/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent customer service. The speed of service was also appreciated.

VALERIE M. on 11/22/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The yard is rather muddy and the pits on the soil. They didn't look like it was clean it but I wasn't expect it to be super clean. It's a moving truck. They kindly gave me blankets because it was a rainy day and he bed was wet. They didn't charge me for the blankets and I was happy about that. It served the purpose and service was helpful.

MEG S. on 11/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff was very helpful - knowledgeable and quick service - thank you very much - we will use this location in the future.

CHRISTOPHER W. on 11/10/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sales rep was very helpful and made sure I understood the contract, was comfortable with the vehicle, etc. A number of reviews on here are negative but I had a very positive experience with this location. Also, highly recommend purchasing the cheap Smart Move insurance. The cargo van I rented was hit while parked on the street. We didn't witness it but the front end had considerable damage. The insurance covered everything except for the $150 deductible.

Andrea R. on 11/9/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

My 2-day rental with 800km quoted my price at $197.00 - Then for some reason I was charged $358.73. This is completely false advertising and I will be making a complaint to the Canadian Better Business Bureau.

GRAEME D. on 11/8/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

dirty parking lot, very intimidating location, not clean. A physical building rather than a trailer would be more inviting.

JACQUELYN C. on 11/8/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It was pretty muddy, which made it hard to drive into, and not the easiest place to find (no clear signage, at the end of a dead-end street, etc.). Still relatively convenient and the staff was helpful.

ARTAN M. on 11/5/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I did not pick up the vehicle at this location. as a matter of fact i got a run around and i ended up getting the vehicle at 5PM after UHaul changed location three times. Extremely poor, EXTREMELY dissatisfied.

NOELLE G. on 11/4/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Both employees were wonderful! Very helpful! Thank you!

Derek B. on 11/3/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Basically a giant mud pit with a sketchy trailer parked with key drop off. Did an after hours drop off where the web browser checkout failed five times before I download the phone app. This also failed twice before working. We called customer support and were hung up on the first time. The second person was not very helpful. Finally the app worked and we left.

MIRIAM K. on 11/2/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The area is very dark and desolate. Not recommended for after-dark drop off for people alone. I was very glad to have asked a friend to come with me. That should be advertised.

NICK G. on 11/2/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The woman working there was fantastic. I would suggest making the advanced check in mandatory or increase visibility of that. Of the 6 or so rentaly being processed at that time I was the only one that knew it was there. It would drastically improve turnaround time at the office.

PAM M. on 11/2/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

There should be no smoking policy in the UHaul vans or trucks for those that are affected by cigarettes. In the rental place, no pets in there too

ELLIOTT P. on 10/31/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I ordered a moving dolly with my truck, which was confirmed with my order. Upon arrival I was told the dolly was not available. Nobody bothered to call me or reach out to me beforehand about this. The dolly was a crucial part of my move. It's unprofessional on this location's party to assume that I would be okay with not having the product I requested.

Kyle M. on 10/30/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Truck was dirty inside, and had a flat tire that we didn't notice until getting it home. They fixed it, but it nearly messed up the timing of our whole day. That being said, the guy at this location's office was great to deal with.

ALEXIA K. on 10/25/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I made a reservation to a location and I got a call a day before to inform me that what I ordered was not available. I had to go way too far from the initial pickup place and I did not have the choice because of the last minute notice. I understand you are cheaper but this is terrible service.

ALYSSA C. on 10/23/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Great staff working at this location! Friendly and accommodating. Will use again in the future. Thank you!

Ryan B. on 10/21/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Location was a junk yard. The person running the trailer was not there when I arrived.