Customer Reviews for Central Self Storage
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

1,713 reviews

1913 Sherman St   Alameda, CA 94501
(Buena Vista)

(510) 337-0130

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 10 am - 5 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 3 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 8/18/2022: Closed
  • 8/22/2022 - 8/23/2022: Closed
  • 9/5/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(510) 337-0130

1913 Sherman St
Alameda, CA 94501
(Buena Vista)

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 10 am - 5 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 3 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 8/18/2022: Closed
  • 8/22/2022 - 8/23/2022: Closed
  • 9/5/2022: Closed
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
2.0

I had to call for them to open even though it states they known at 10:00 am. I was told I would get a reimbursement for the extra two days and that did not happen. It took nearly 45 minutes to get the truck even though my pick up time was at 1:00

Valerie P. 
Rating:
5.0

I won't use you guys anymore unless I absolutely have to. Way to expensive!!

Christopher H. 
Rating:
5.0

Just continue doing what you are doing.

Wallace N. 
Rating:
2.0

Improve internet access so app can be loaded data entered

Griff N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

FRED E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dani S. 
Rating:
1.0

Staff on 7/16/22 was rude as I've ever experienced at any UHAUL location I've ever been to…..and I've live in 10 different cities in my life so I've been to a few. My pickup time was at 12pm. I arrive at 12:10 because my UBER drove me to the wrong place. Arrived and there was a sign up saying the manager would “return at 12:35”. So I press the call button and the female employee says that I can't do a counter check in because she's busy “eating her lunch”. Another couple came up that had a rental scheduled at 12:30 and she STILL didn't open the door to help us. Once we did our online check in - she cracked the door open two inches and stuck our keys out. So whoever the owner of this place is….. 1) Hire better people. That woman was a bitch. Period. 2) If you have a standing policy that says that no one is going to help customers between 12pm and 12:45pm because your employees are “eating lunch” - then either tell UHAUL that & say that you don't offer in person service during those times. Because if that was the case - I would have made a reservation during a different time frame. If it is a REQUIREMENT for the customer to do an online check in during those times cuz your employees won't get off their lazy asses then tell UHAUL ahead of time so they can tell us (the customer). Either that, or hire more staff so someone is available to cover the person eating and assist customers. It's a baaaaad look for your business - locking the door in the middle of the day & having your employees tell people “hey there - fuck off cuz I'm eating lunch” The UHAUL website wouldn't allow me - but if I could have rated your business a “zero” - I would have. Please TRUST that everyone I know in Alameda will learn how bad your place is.

Dan M. 
Rating:
3.0

Would be nice if the truck could be pulled out of the spot for me - I had never driven a uhaul before and I was by myself so it was scary to back up out of the parking spot. On site parking would be nice as well.

ALLYSON T. 
Rating:
5.0

Fast, clean, orderly. Nice U-Haul location

Michael W. 
Rating:
1.0

Vehicle was already dirty and I still get charged for cleaning fee. Whoever rent a uhaul van that need to clean before you have to return??

duy H. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Charles S. 
Rating:
3.0

I just picked up a truck today at 10:00am and the Engine Oil Light was on dashboard (oil life at 2%). Is this normal to rent out a vehicle that needs to be serviced ? The 8ft bed truck was dirty and the interior had debris, dog fur, windows dirty on the insides, bed of truck had previous hauling debris it it still.

Eva W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer service was great! Thank you. I had some initial issues with the reservation and rental on the website, but the customer rep called me with an update that the rental was not canceled.

John C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

richard D. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kevin C. 
Rating:
4.0

Check-in process when they are not open on Sunday is confusing since it is not easy to find on the Web page.

John M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Thomas L. 
Rating:
4.0

Full tank of gas, rather than 1/2 tank. Automated return check-in.

Andrew S. 
Rating:
5.0

Best location in the EastBay. Bar none!!

Sean M. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bhaiav S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Oscar D. 
Rating:
3.0

The woman at the counter was very rude and I think it is highly inconvenient for a customer to be required to have a phone for the check-in process. The truck we rented was very dirty as well. Due to the agent's rudeness and lack of pre-planning the check-i9n process took nearly one half hour.

Allison S. 
Rating:
4.0

I had a good experience. I had requested to rent a 10-foot truck, but the person at the front desk told me that the 10-foot had not been returned, so I was only offered the 15-foot truck. It ended up being a nice free upgrade.

Hannah B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

jason B. 
Rating:
5.0

Staffs actually care about customers and they take care of customers. Really nice

Inkyu L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ishara B. 
Rating:
1.0

Rude management!

Abigail L. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service - everything was ready on time and in good condition. Check out and check in was very easy. Friendly staff. Definitely recommend!

Florence C. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly person at the front desk. Excellent service. Very clean, everything was in perfect working order. I will definitely come here again and recommend it to a friend. Thank you very much U-Haul. A very satisfied customer.

Braden S. 
Rating:
1.0

I was charged $20 extra because the uhaul app didnt work and the link i was supposed to use to check in went to an expired web page. If i dont get a refund i promise i will never use uhaul again.

Daniel B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Destiny C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Daniel W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

james M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ingrid J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

colien C. 
Rating:
5.0

Great customer service! I have no recommendations. Thanks for the help and support during a difficult move…

beth B. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing! Everything was so easy. Great service.

Aaron G. 
Rating:
5.0

Good customer service. Thank You

SHAWN M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph L. 
Rating:
5.0

Renting a U-Haul at the Sherman location in Alameda and on line was effortless and painless. The location is clean and organized. In less than 20 minutes I was on the road. Drop off was all of 5 min.

April J. 
Rating:
3.0

The blinkers on the van were not working. Call the office there twice. And no one ever called back. Not a terrible experience. The process was easy. But no working blinkers was not good

phil B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Karen R. 
Rating:
5.0

Quick transaction with Francine. The truck is ok but it has this rattling sound underneath while driving. Location is accessible.

FRANCIS D. 
Rating:
5.0

The only potential problem was that I was returning on a Sunday when the office was closed. I didn't want to leave the appliance dolly in the back of the pickup and be liable if it was stolen. The only suggestions were to try to maneuver it into the front seat (that can't be good for the upholstery) or hope someone would be entering the storage unit and I could tuck it away in there and the camera would see me return it. I think this return process could be a little smoother.

Mary B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dana H. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly and helpful customer service. The UHaul app was very easy to use.

George G. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sandra P. 
Rating:
4.0

Truck was unswept and had numerous ‘dings' the passenger door make a startling popping sound . On return the kiosk couldn't find my rental. I had to drop the key and hope for the best.

patrick M. 
Rating:
5.0

Good truck, good move, thanks. Bob

ROBERT S. 
Rating:
5.0

Service as always - top shelf!! Vehicle - older and noisy, but got me where I was going.

Sean M. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Eduard S. 
Rating:
1.0

They did not provide instructions on return of key. Then they offered a locksmith charging 50% more than price I could find. Also the location offers very little than just handing over the key.

Douglas M. 
Rating:
5.0

Sam was great from end to end. She worked with me to figure out when trucks were being returned and let me know as soon as the one I needed came in. Same was a fantastic help. No improvements needed

Becky M. 
Rating:
5.0

1913 Sherman does not make mistakes. I deal with the same person every time in the office and her professionalism is 2nd to none. Would recommend every time.

Sean M. 
Rating:
5.0

Great customer service. Quick fast check in and check out. Will use again

AARON G. 
Rating:
1.0

I had terrible experience!! I was over charged by this place!! I didn't drive 94 miles!! This is a rip off

QUALIK T. 
Rating:
3.0

the 1st day I came to pick up my reserved truck, the keys had been locked inside the day before - and the guy hadn't come yet to retrieve them. I waited over an hour for him to arrive, and then had to leave... the agent re-scheduled me for the next day, but honestly that could've been handled a lot better!

JONATHAN P. 
Rating:
5.0

Overall, i had a great experience. The lady that helped us was fantastic, very helpful and nice. We had an easy pick up and drop off.

Edwin G. 
Rating:
5.0

The people working at the Sherman location are second to none. Very efficient and 100% on the ball. Taking the stress out of renting a vehicle.

Sean M. 
Rating:
2.0

Truck was old, shabby and beat up and the attendant told us to drop the keys in the drop box on Sunday, as they would be closed. There WAS no drop box.

michael Z. 
Rating:
5.0

Have a good day

Abdelmadjid D. 
Rating:
5.0

Good service

AHMAD A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nelson C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brian D. 
Rating:
1.0

The person who helped me was Samantha Gutierrez. She was very rude and wanted to charge me for missing gas after I explained to her that the truck was given to me with 1/4 tank. While we were on the phone with the pickup location trying to get verification, she said her job was done and she put charges through for the vehicle and gas without waiting for us to resolve the situation. She then asked us to leave the office, she slammed the door, locked and lowered the shades. When I realized she hadn't given me a receipt, I knocked on the door but she wouldn't answer. I think that U-Haul should pull the license from this location.

Susanne M. 
Rating:
4.0

You have trucks from the 1980's but expect people to download apps and upload drivers licenses....give people the old school option of just handing the license to the person at the desk and getting receipts printed and given in front of you.

SEAN B. 
Rating:
5.0

The online check-in was one of the poorer experiences I've had in a long time. I uploaded my license the day prior and added quite a bit of info to my online acct. Regardless, the online check-in process the next day made me re-enter all that info. Additionally, there was a photo/facial identification step that should have been more clearly noted prior to having people make the choice between in-person and phone check-in. I don't know what you're doing with this info/data, if you're selling it or what. The whole online check-in process took about 20 minutes and we ended up having to call the 800# to complain. Uhaul, this is the last time you get our business. If you're reading this review, try Lugg or a rideshare instead of Uhaul. You'll get much better customer service.

Brandon W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Simon K. 
Rating:
2.0

The store was closed when I came to for my reservation. The car was not in good condition. Gas was nearly empty, tire pressure and oil change indicators we're on. I was not told about a after service hours charge.

John H. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RAFFI A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brian D. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was so easy and great. Thank you for helping us and being so happy and friendly.

JEANIE P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JIM F. 
Rating:
5.0

The reception was not helpful … with bad attitude… am sorry…

SALOME J. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer service need to improve

Eddy C. 
Rating:
1.0

Road Construction makes after hours delivery impossible, but not reflected on the website. Was directed by security to drop vehicle off at a certain spot, then after returning via the website, was told I had to move the truck to the street because he couldn't allow the truck to be left in the warehouse. Location has no after hours key drop box so it just went in their office mailbox. This was a horrendously poor experience.

Alex C. 
Rating:
1.0

If someone is doing a contact free pickup, tell them they need to submit additional information to be “approved.” I made it to the location to pick up the vehicle and had no idea I needed to do additional steps, so I ended up wasting part of my rental time to go speak with a representative. I received multiple emails from uhaul and not one of them had a note about this.

LAUREN K. 
Rating:
1.0

Charged a cleaning fee. Was not informed of this fee. We only moved one table so nothing was left to need to be cleaned.

DUSTIN L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

NELSON C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSEPH D. 
Rating:
5.0

The staff was very helpful and clear on how to get the rental process started. Courteous, supportive, and accommodating.

JON D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHRISTINA O. 
Rating:
3.0

misc papers behind seats floor not clean I had to drive an hour from home, and return paying for gas just to get this truck. Next time i'll try Penske

Thomas G. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

COLE H. 
Rating:
5.0

Help costumers with confidence

Juan G. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sosefa O. 
Rating:
1.0

First of all my reservation was somehow cancelled. Miraculously someone returned a truck, smaller than what I reserved, so at least we had that. The truck was dirty in the cabin and was dusty in the cargo area. Cherry on top, I was charged $25 for cleaning, even though I returned the truck cleaner than it was. Would not recommend.

ALDO M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARY R. 
Rating:
5.0

I use u haul once and awhile, some bad experiences and some great experiences… this was a fast, fair, and really easy! She took great care of me, explained everything, offered everything necessary… I really appreciate this experience!

STEVE S. 
Rating:
5.0

Employees at the counter are solution based, efficient and good natured. A truck is a truck.....but they make the experience positive.

Sean M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ELIZABETH G. 
Rating:
2.0

There was very little help navigating the app. It timed out before I finished entering in everything and I don't know if all the information entered correctly.

AALIYAH N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JEREMY F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROBERT F. 
Rating:
3.0

Rep seems very adamant that she provided correct information about the rental. she first gave me the wrong truck and made it seems like it was my fault that she had to cancel and reorder the truck. Did not tell me where the dropbox was if she would not be in the office.

SAMON P. 
Rating:
5.0

Really easy and fast rental. Will use for future local furniture purchases.

JENNIFER W. 
Rating:
2.0

When requesting the Uhaul online, there was no information that said if you do not select a drop off location, then you would have to drop off the truck at the same location as the pickup. There was also no warning that said some Uhual pickup locations do not do one-way trips. I found out the day I picked up the Uhual that I had to bring it back, which added another $300 charge. The woman assisting was not at all understanding or compassionate and this experience has ensured I will be using another company next time.

KATHERINE G. 
Rating:
5.0

Samantha there is the best customer service agent I have come across in a very long time. She should be commended for a job well done!

AZIZA T. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARILYN J. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top