Customer Reviews for Lake Station Ace Hardware
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

1,175 reviews

3461 Central Ave   Lake Station, IN 46405

(219) 962-1596

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8:30 am - 6:30 pm
  • Sat: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm
  • Sun: 9:30 am - 3:30 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021: 8:00 am - 3:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021: 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • 1/1/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(219) 962-1596

3461 Central Ave
Lake Station, IN 46405

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8:30 am - 6:30 pm
  • Sat: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm
  • Sun: 9:30 am - 3:30 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021: 8:00 am - 3:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021: 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • 1/1/2022: Closed

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
4.0

I could NOT find the drop box for my keys. I wish someone had told me because I had to come back the next day to finish the return process

Samuel L. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SHARICKA W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSE F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Madison E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

William G. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TIMOTHY H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SAM A. 
Rating:
5.0

Very easy to drop off and plenty of space to park, key drop off was conveniently located.

STEPHANIE L. 
Rating:
5.0

the service was great

JAMES W. 
Rating:
1.0

Still have not received my deposit back that I paid in cash and its been almost two weeks

Vicky G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TIMOTHY B. 
Rating:
1.0

SUPER PISSED! Gas meter was between a 1/4 and an 1/8 of a tank but you can't choose the in between line. So i put about 1 gal of gas. WHY WAS I CHARGED FOR 6 GALLONS FOR GOING ONLY 21 MILES?!?!?! I had the truck for a total of 4 hours. SO, THESE TRUCKS ONLY GET 3.5 MILES TO THE GALLON? Oh, and why can you only rent them 1 hour after opening and the key is NOT in the lock box? You have to go in and find someone to get the key. Also, I tried to get the truck early but they won't give up the key so I waited until 2 mins after my confirmed time and received a notice that my reservation was canceled and had to start all over again.

Juliana P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

EARL T. 
Rating:
5.0

Shane is wonderful and very helpful. He got me the perfect equipment t for my project and even remember me when I returned. Great customer service

PENELOPE H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark R. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing they exceeded all my expectations.

WILLIAM M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MATTHEW L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Daniel C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tom S. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service , Sean was very helpful. Went above what most employees would do. This was 3rd time I rented , from them this year.

tina P. 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DAVID B. 
Rating:
2.0

The attitude of the store personnel was less than something to be desired. Signage in the store was non-existent as to where to go and when I asked the clerk who was walking around in the store, she said 'get in line' in a gruff voice. The clerk behind the counter was helpful and connected the trailer for me. When I went back in to take care of the paperwork a 2nd clerk became very annoyed that my reservation had been changed to another location and had to check me in. He also was visibly annoyed with the U-Haul software that he had to work with. This is the only close location that has a variety of equipment so, in essence, 'It's the only game in town.

Joseph W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

VIVIAN R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TAWONE D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christopher T. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Andrew S. 
Rating:
5.0

Keep Better Track of Receiving Trucks Back. I Got a Call the Next Day Asking Had I Returned the Truck.

Antyanna T. 
Rating:
1.0

The guy at the drop off wasn't very friendly and was not informative at all

CRYSTALDAWN C. 
Rating:
3.0

They aren't very nice for picking up equipment

BRITTNEY J. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Reginald J. 
Rating:
5.0

Staff very helpful and courteous

Linda L. 
Rating:
5.0

The only issue is the age of the car transport. My car was a 2018 Chevy and I could not open the driver once it was on the trailer. It was horrible, my daughter had to ride in the car for 500 miles. It was extremely embarrassing for her. A newer transport would have been nice.

Joseph V. 
Rating:
5.0

Store manager that handled my rental went above and beyond to make it easy on me. Very nice guy. I recommend them 100% for uhaul rentals.

Michael A. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ELIZABETH C. 
Rating:
4.0

Truck was great. Self check-in using my phone was not great. I will not go through that ridiculous hassle again.

John F. 
Rating:
1.0

I was way overcharged and charged for gas and a service fee even though I have proof that I added gas to the tank.

Nicole W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jaime S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Terry S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brian E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jaime S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMES M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

michelle F. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

michael D. 
Rating:
5.0

Hard to improve a great experience of renting with U-Haul at Lake Station In ! Outstanding store, every thing was explained, safety checked before leaving , cleaned trailer ready to go ! Well done!

James M. 
Rating:
5.0

Super friendly staff! Clean vehicles. I'll definitely rent here again!

Kelly K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Marie J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lori R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jarrett B. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing everything was great easy drop off and pickup

Charlie N. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

STANLEY J. 
Rating:
3.0

Confusing policies. Poor communication.

Joseph M. 
Rating:
5.0

Best experience

john L. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing everyone was great

Antonio B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SHANNON K. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything went smoothly

Cody D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Melanie M. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing very helpful

Dean R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tkeyah S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jennifer W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Luke K. 
Rating:
1.0

You guys have some lazy ass employees. Especially your employee bingo he should be fired

ANTONIO U. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

THOMAS C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRANDON P. 
Rating:
3.0

Let's get this straight. Lake Station was not the pick up location. It is where we were sent because U-Haul messed up our reservation. At Lake Station, the guys were very nice. We booked for Roselawn, IN, 20 foot truck, 8:00 am pickup. No one called us to confirm as was indicated would happen. We did log on at 7:00 am and it still read Roselawn, IN 8:00 am. We get there and there is a truck, 26 foot, broken AC, in-town use only. The guy cannot find us in the reservation system. He called dispatch, who found us, but said the only truck in state that could be used to go out of state was in Lake Station (this is 44 miles from where we needed it to be). It was also 15 ft, not 20 ft. We had no choice but to accept it. The dispatch person gave us extra miles on the rental and we were supposed to get a partial refund, but that has not come through yet. We drove straight to Lake Station but when we got there the guy said they couldn't release the truck because they don't do pickups until after 10:00. Thankfully, they processed our truck early, so we didn't have to wait until 10:00. However, dispatch said it would be ready and waiting when we got there. To make this situation even worse, the 15 ft was too small. We had to leave things behind because there was not enough free miles to do a second trip. We are out the extra gas money for the Lake Station drive and no partial refund yet.... H-Haul put us in a horrible situation and clearly does not care about customers.

Jeanine C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dina G. 
Rating:
4.0

It was the first time I have ever rented a trailer. I found the equipment worked very well and met all my expectations. The people were courteous and friendly.

thomas O. 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly courteous efficient staff.

Donald S. 
Rating:
5.0

N/a

MARGARET W. 
Rating:
1.0

I was over charged by $191 dollars. And still haven't received it back.

Frank E. 
Rating:
5.0

This is for U-haul in general, not this location. My pick up and drop locations were changed, by U-haul, which resulted in extra miles on the rental that I ended up getting charged for. I went from being able to walk to my pick up location to driving a half hour to get there. For the drop off, went from 5 minutes away to 15 minutes away.

Daniel S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Johnny F. 
Rating:
4.0

Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent customer service.

KAREN M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ALVARO G. 
Rating:
3.0

Be more organized. Need additional staff. Nice people.

Brian F. 
Rating:
1.0

Payed for a dolly didn't receive it or get a refund for it, overfilled gas tank and didn't get reimbursed. Horrible customer service

Jordan C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Maurice D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DONALD C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

patti H. 
Rating:
5.0

Personal were helpful and friendly

Patti H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DONALD C. 
Rating:
2.0

They didn't record my equipment as returned and I received notices from u-haul. I had to go back to Lake Station to straighten it out. My daughter rented from Lake Station and the thing happened to her.

Joseph M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Donna F. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent customer service by Perry and his coworkers.

Juanita G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Marjorie B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tedra D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TRENNELL S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sierra B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TERRENCE G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KATHRYN R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Marc B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Anthony D. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Stephen O. 
Rating:
3.0

The employee that helped me rent it didn't tell me which of the 2 parking lots the truck was in or come outside and do the damage inspection like previous times I've rented a truck.

SAVANNAH V. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing I had no issues

Janice J. 
Rating:
2.0

Got charged extra for 7 miles when I was told to return truck to wrong location

Michael B. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly.

Kimberly F. 
Rating:
1.0

Horrible service , uhaul website barley worked , wouldn't give me actual charges , returned vehicle a few hours after rented didn't get any money back and was charged another $1.43 for I don't know why! I rent often and this is such bad service and overcharging people without notice is very unprofessional and shady to be polite! The uhaul locate said they don't deal with charges call uhaul 🤷🏼‍♂️ They check them out and in don't they?

WALLY S. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top