Customer Reviews for Lakewood Ace Hardware
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

599 reviews

3533 Tidewater Dr   Norfolk, VA 23509

(757) 558-4708

Hours

  • Mon–Sat
    8 am–5 pm
  • Sunday
    10 am–5 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/4/2022: Closed
  • 12/5/2022: 8:00 am - 3:00 pm
  • 12/10/2022: Closed
  • 12/12/2022: 8:00 am - 3:00 pm
  • 12/24/2022 - 12/25/2022: Closed
  • 12/30/2022 - 12/31/2022: 8:00 am - 1:00 pm
  • 1/1/2023: Closed

Show All Hours

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(757) 558-4708

3533 Tidewater Dr
Norfolk, VA 23509

Services at this Location:

Hours

  • Mon–Sat
    8 am–5 pm
  • Sunday
    10 am–5 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/4/2022: Closed
  • 12/5/2022: 8:00 am - 3:00 pm
  • 12/10/2022: Closed
  • 12/12/2022: 8:00 am - 3:00 pm
  • 12/24/2022 - 12/25/2022: Closed
  • 12/30/2022 - 12/31/2022: 8:00 am - 1:00 pm
  • 1/1/2023: Closed

Show All Hours

  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
2.0

Make the online check in easier amd the prices clearer

Nathan D. 
Rating:
1.0

The girl at the front desk was incredibly rude and wouldn't even talk to me about the truck or the fact that I was bringing the rental back early and wanted to discuss it with her. She put her hand up and told me to drop the key in the box outside and that I didn't need to do anything else. She also did not tell me where to park the truck. dropped the key in the box and then did the after hours check in because I didn't trust that all I needed to do was put the key in the box.

Joshua K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jonathan S. 
Rating:
3.0

Clean vehicle . Return no one came out to check return just took paper and said thank you.

Robert M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christine W. 
Rating:
5.0

Great customer service

Keisha W. 
Rating:
4.0

It was a great experience working with this location. I would like to give the staff a BRAVO ZULU on their professionalism, caring attitude and good attitude.

Langa T. 
Rating:
4.0

The last person who used the U-Haul left it extremely smelly. It actually smelled like cow manure and the windshield inside was very dirty it needed to be washed. I tried everything to remove the smell but there was no way that I could get that done at affordable price. I definitely do recommend this location for renting a U-Haul; simple, quick and easy using the mobile app. They even go above and beyond to assist you if you need to go inside to rent the U-Haul in person.

Sally N. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dana P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RAYMOND M. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lyneah H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Yiannis P. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Epifanio R. 
Rating:
3.0

Speed up the pick up process

Michael G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jessica F. 
Rating:
5.0

Kind, great customer service

Jessica S. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent experience

Leroy M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARKDAVID S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael M. 
Rating:
5.0

When I first arrived to pickup the rental the lady that work that morning was very friendly and made my experience very easy. But when I drop off the rental the guy that took care of me was very rude and nasty. He didn't want to help, very slow at what he was doing kind made feel away, like he didn't want help me. I hope I never get him again.

Jene R. 
Rating:
5.0

Drop box I used was sketchy. Would feel better with more secure box

Phillip G. 
Rating:
4.0

I've picked up from this location several times and would recommend them.

Angela B. 
Rating:
3.0

The keys to the 26' truck I reserved was not available when I arrived and could not be found for 30 minutes. I requested a smaller truck in order to get out of there and stay on schedule and was given a 20'. Everything else was great.

Michael D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DANITAANNETTE W. 
Rating:
5.0

The vehicle was very dirty! The self-check-in and out process is too long and slow. The App was extremely slow. I will not use that process again because it is quicker to go to the counter. Both check-in and out were over 30 minutes.

Maureen B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph H. 
Rating:
5.0

Continue your current level of customer service.

DOUGLASEDWARD W. 
Rating:
3.0

No further comments at this time.

Rafael R. 
Rating:
3.0

The Ace store manager was a bit rude and the Uhaul was dirty.

Heather T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

travis D. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Delvin B. 
Rating:
5.0

I will go back to this location if I need any further rentals needs, they where professional and easy to work with...basically an around good people and experience, Thanks again! Kim

Kimberly D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Leslie D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nathaniel N. 
Rating:
1.0

The truck was horrible got less than 4 mpg BEFORE even loading it. I was promised a discount since they kept changing where i got the truck and had to go somewhere else for dolly which meant i had to pay 40 more for a damn uber but you refused to give it to me later. Missing moving supplies i ordered app refused to work for drop off. Uhaul made this entire move a nightmare. I will NEVER use you again

DARRELL P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Shyla S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Peter K. 
Rating:
5.0

I've come here twice they are the best and the owner/manager who helped me was the best. Absolutely best service you could imagine. They treat you how they would want to be treated. Would give it endless stars if I could!

Frankie T. 
Rating:
5.0

Very easy rental. I will use them again.

Shawn H. 
Rating:
5.0

They were very sweet and accommodating! However i was concerned that the light in the truck didn't turn off, and the control panel was missing when i tried to check to turn it off. Definitely a concern. Other than that, the people were very nice and adjusted my hours to help with our move.

Avery H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jacob B. 
Rating:
3.0

Over charged and too expensive and truck was very very dirty and several service lights was on on the truck

STARRACHERRELLE G. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mike B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JanMarie H. 
Rating:
1.0

I was charged for a dolly that I did not request and was not provided and had a $30 cleaning fee for salt stains in the truck cabin after it snowed. This was a waste of time and money and I could have gotten it for half at a better location. Will not go again.

JEREMYJONATHON H. 
Rating:
5.0

Ace Hardware,u-hual rental is the best because they are consistent with customer service.

Niyah E. 
Rating:
2.0

Did the check in online and I still have to go through manual check in inside the office, frustrating.

Edwin L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RYANPATRICK H. 
Rating:
2.0

Unswept inside; attendant had difficulty in preparing the paperwork;

OLLITAPANI S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ANTHONY T. 
Rating:
5.0

This is the Uhaul location I will always call or go on line to rent a uhaul truck, the staff is awesome

Michael W. 
Rating:
1.0

Not have a rude employee cussing out someone on the phone while I stand there. Or guy talking down to older African American guy who was just trying to do his job. Military discount would be nice especially if I put 5$ more gas in the truck then when I found it. Only had all of 2 hours. Probably go Penske next time.

Bobby C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Colleen S. 
Rating:
5.0

Great Customer Sevive. Thank you so much Kenny!!💙

cecilia B. 
Rating:
5.0

Quick, easy, and polite.

Jeffrey W. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

PAUL J. 
Rating:
5.0

Very helpful people!

Brittany G. 
Rating:
3.0

The front door is locked when it should be open. There is no signage on the door to let the customer know to call for someone to unlock the door

MARLYS H. 
Rating:
1.0

Store manager charged 160 dollars for 2 hours and said I would get my deposit back but I never got it and I will be sueing U-Haul

Tiara B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LINDONEARL H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Keith R. 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Alexis A. 
Rating:
1.0

Door Locked at 3:15 despite hours listed open till 5:00 pm. Left keys in drop off box. Then calls me at 10 minutes to 9:00 the next day wanting to know where the truck is. Um, right there in their parking lot.....

DEBORAH S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JEFFERY M. 
Rating:
2.0

I reserved my uhaul to be picked up At 9am got there the guy told me the uhaul person doesn't come till 11 so I had to wait 2 hours to even get my uhaul and only had 1 hour and a half to get my stuff in the uhaul and return it. 121$ is what it cost me and I'm very upset.

Memphis W. 
Rating:
1.0

Do better

Brian S. 
Rating:
5.0

Thanks

Sterling J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Andrew A. 
Rating:
3.0

Employees less helpful because “we don't actually work for uhaul”

MARTIN S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lee D. 
Rating:
4.0

The cab was clean but smelled like cigarette smoke. The experience would be better if the cigarette smell was removed.

Janmarie H. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service

Nathaniel P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Desiree H. 
Rating:
3.0

This was a third charge of location for pick up which was very inconvenient

Nicola T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

STEVENALAN M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Laura T. 
Rating:
5.0

Bob was amazing and really helped us out.

Steven S. 
Rating:
5.0

Drop the price a tad.

TIJUANALATOYA A. 
Rating:
3.0

Terrible service setting up appointment. Original location did not put keys in lock box. Had to drive 20 miles away!

Carlton M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

YASMINE KIARRA A. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nelly W. 
Rating:
2.0

Truck tires bad. Didnt feel safe. Hired movers through Uhaul connect. Was meeting them at my home. The worker was like, if you dont take this truck. There isnt anything he could do for us. Basically, I wasn't going to get my stuff moved. The outside tire was flat at pick up. All they did was make a note. I had purchased insurance and movers, I had no control over the equipment. And I was uncomfortable the entire day.

Lisa P. 
Rating:
3.0

I wasn't able to access the link to do a Mark up of the truck. The guy was nice enough to do a walk around it with me

Andrew H. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSEPHMICHAEL S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joel W. 
Rating:
5.0

Check the wheels on the vehicle for dried dirt.

DENISE THOMAS P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Julie S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

veda P. 
Rating:
2.0

The guy at the rental desk sat in the back room and stared at me for about 15 minutes before asking if I needed help

Samuel B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SUSAN P. 
Rating:
1.0

Had to go in ace store, to call guy to open uhaul door twice, waited in the rain. Looks like guy was asleep.

JOSELITO R. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing. Bryan, the ACE employee was great!

RICHARD DAVID M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JANICE ROSE MASO P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JP T. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing. Service was great!

Janis S. 
Rating:
1.0

Uhaul is a rip off my first time using and my last time

TENNILLE LATOYA G. 
Rating:
3.0

I absolutely hate giving bad reviews - I'm the one that always fills out surveys because I enjoy singing praises to those giving good service, because it's an ever shrinking art! Unfortunately, this is not a good survey as the truck I rented had an issue, but unrealized until I hit just under 50 mph on the freeway. Not likely something the location would have noted without driving it themselves before I rented, but the truck would rattle pretty badly at that rate of speed, resulting in my having to turn on my hazards on the freeway to alert other drivers I couldn't go any faster. It made for a frustrating rental as the intention was to go back and forth several times between my home and storage unit, but given the issue, I made two less trips and will have to rent another truck next week as a result. Not really happy about the additional expense for something outside of my control!

Kevin J. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top