Customer Reviews for Lakewood Ace Hardware
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

547 reviews

3533 Tidewater Dr   Norfolk, VA 23509

(757) 558-4708

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8 am - 6:30 pm
  • Sat: 8 am - 5 pm
  • Sun: 10 am - 5 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/4/2021: 8:00 am - 1:30 pm
  • 12/7/2021: 10:00 am - 6:30 pm
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021: 8:00 am - 3:00 pm
  • 1/1/2022: Closed

Show All Hours

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(757) 558-4708

3533 Tidewater Dr
Norfolk, VA 23509

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8 am - 6:30 pm
  • Sat: 8 am - 5 pm
  • Sun: 10 am - 5 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/4/2021: 8:00 am - 1:30 pm
  • 12/7/2021: 10:00 am - 6:30 pm
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021: 8:00 am - 3:00 pm
  • 1/1/2022: Closed

Show All Hours

  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ANTHONY T. 
Rating:
5.0

This is the Uhaul location I will always call or go on line to rent a uhaul truck, the staff is awesome

Michael W. 
Rating:
1.0

Not have a rude employee cussing out someone on the phone while I stand there. Or guy talking down to older African American guy who was just trying to do his job. Military discount would be nice especially if I put 5$ more gas in the truck then when I found it. Only had all of 2 hours. Probably go Penske next time.

Bobby C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Colleen S. 
Rating:
5.0

Great Customer Sevive. Thank you so much Kenny!!💙

cecilia B. 
Rating:
5.0

Quick, easy, and polite.

Jeffrey W. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

PAUL J. 
Rating:
5.0

Very helpful people!

Brittany G. 
Rating:
3.0

The front door is locked when it should be open. There is no signage on the door to let the customer know to call for someone to unlock the door

MARLYS H. 
Rating:
1.0

Store manager charged 160 dollars for 2 hours and said I would get my deposit back but I never got it and I will be sueing U-Haul

Tiara B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LINDONEARL H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Keith R. 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Alexis A. 
Rating:
1.0

Door Locked at 3:15 despite hours listed open till 5:00 pm. Left keys in drop off box. Then calls me at 10 minutes to 9:00 the next day wanting to know where the truck is. Um, right there in their parking lot.....

DEBORAH S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JEFFERY M. 
Rating:
2.0

I reserved my uhaul to be picked up At 9am got there the guy told me the uhaul person doesn't come till 11 so I had to wait 2 hours to even get my uhaul and only had 1 hour and a half to get my stuff in the uhaul and return it. 121$ is what it cost me and I'm very upset.

Memphis W. 
Rating:
1.0

Do better

Brian S. 
Rating:
5.0

Thanks

Sterling J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Andrew A. 
Rating:
3.0

Employees less helpful because “we don't actually work for uhaul”

MARTIN S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lee D. 
Rating:
4.0

The cab was clean but smelled like cigarette smoke. The experience would be better if the cigarette smell was removed.

Janmarie H. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service

Nathaniel P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Desiree H. 
Rating:
3.0

This was a third charge of location for pick up which was very inconvenient

Nicola T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

STEVENALAN M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Laura T. 
Rating:
5.0

Bob was amazing and really helped us out.

Steven S. 
Rating:
5.0

Drop the price a tad.

TIJUANALATOYA A. 
Rating:
3.0

Terrible service setting up appointment. Original location did not put keys in lock box. Had to drive 20 miles away!

Carlton M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

YASMINE KIARRA A. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nelly W. 
Rating:
2.0

Truck tires bad. Didnt feel safe. Hired movers through Uhaul connect. Was meeting them at my home. The worker was like, if you dont take this truck. There isnt anything he could do for us. Basically, I wasn't going to get my stuff moved. The outside tire was flat at pick up. All they did was make a note. I had purchased insurance and movers, I had no control over the equipment. And I was uncomfortable the entire day.

Lisa P. 
Rating:
3.0

I wasn't able to access the link to do a Mark up of the truck. The guy was nice enough to do a walk around it with me

Andrew H. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSEPHMICHAEL S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joel W. 
Rating:
5.0

Check the wheels on the vehicle for dried dirt.

DENISE THOMAS P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Julie S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

veda P. 
Rating:
2.0

The guy at the rental desk sat in the back room and stared at me for about 15 minutes before asking if I needed help

Samuel B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SUSAN P. 
Rating:
1.0

Had to go in ace store, to call guy to open uhaul door twice, waited in the rain. Looks like guy was asleep.

JOSELITO R. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing. Bryan, the ACE employee was great!

RICHARD DAVID M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JANICE ROSE MASO P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JP T. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing. Service was great!

Janis S. 
Rating:
1.0

Uhaul is a rip off my first time using and my last time

TENNILLE LATOYA G. 
Rating:
3.0

I absolutely hate giving bad reviews - I'm the one that always fills out surveys because I enjoy singing praises to those giving good service, because it's an ever shrinking art! Unfortunately, this is not a good survey as the truck I rented had an issue, but unrealized until I hit just under 50 mph on the freeway. Not likely something the location would have noted without driving it themselves before I rented, but the truck would rattle pretty badly at that rate of speed, resulting in my having to turn on my hazards on the freeway to alert other drivers I couldn't go any faster. It made for a frustrating rental as the intention was to go back and forth several times between my home and storage unit, but given the issue, I made two less trips and will have to rent another truck next week as a result. Not really happy about the additional expense for something outside of my control!

Kevin J. 
Rating:
5.0

Quick professional service. Thank you.

Leonid T. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tracy C. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Caitlin T. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service. Could not ask for mor!

dana G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Taiquan R. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing, other than making it free.

Donald S. 
Rating:
1.0

Cab of Truck was filthy and had a bad smell found chicken in the passenger door. $108.17 and had to clean up someone else's mess as it was making me sick driving the truck. Checking the truck back in was 45 minutes because the tablet they were using kept freezing up and the lady ended up having to call too get me done and out the door. Very dissatisfied.

FREDERICK V. 
Rating:
5.0

Was close

LESLIE DAVID T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CARLA V. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

mark B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Frederick M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DANTE SHAUNE G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Shammia L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lanzo W. 
Rating:
3.0

None right now.

BRANDON R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHEN T. 
Rating:
3.0

The guy that waited on me was very impersonal I had to ask where do I park the truck I saw no trucks at the front of the store they went to the side of the store there were no signs the store it was part of the Ace hardware or something I'm not sure was hard to get in and out of the aisles almost look like a fire hazard I know I was there just to drop a truck off the guy didn't check the gas which I made sure I put gas in it but he didn't check the mileage he did none of that maybe he's having a bad day maybe he was tired I don't know nonetheless not that personal Percival other guy but Saturday afternoon I wouldn't go back into that store claustrophobic

Terri S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Norma K. 
Rating:
3.0

I pre paid for my mileage didn't go over and for whatever reason only got $34 after paying $162 and change expecting to get my FULL deposit as I did last time unfortunately it didn't happen that way had to call Go uhaul where the rep helped me as much as she could currently waiting on manager to call me

Shelita M. 
Rating:
1.0

Acted like they didn't have a truck for us. Had a reservation for 10:00 but told us they were too busy to help. What's the point of a reservation? Truck was DISGUSTING. Had check engine light on. Reserved a dolly. Told they may or may not have one and we'd just have to figure it out. Dirty location. Rude staff. Gross trucks. We would never come here again.

Lauren B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MCCOY A. 
Rating:
5.0

The back of the truck could have been swept out more for my liking, but it had no effect on the kitchen cabinets we moved.

Lee D. 
Rating:
5.0

Naomi, Bob and Laura and the crew there really went above and beyond to get all the items we needed for our move. We had to change to a 26 ft truck at the last minute and they really came through including helping us get truck share up and working to pick it up a little early. 10 stars if I could.

Bruce B. 
Rating:
3.0

May wish to indicate this is ACE hardware location in shopping center.

Robert J. 
Rating:
1.0

The truck at this location was very old and need to be discontinued. The steering and handling of this begin was very dangerous. I've drove uhauls in my past and never did I have one this bad. I was able to bring the uhaul back safely but It was very unsafe. This location should no longer have uhaul service. They are unorganized and a huge mess.

Calvin S. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Anthony G. 
Rating:
3.0

I will never use uhaul again, so recommending this to a friend is not applicable.

JASONROBERT B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gia F. 
Rating:
3.0

More staff the wait was too long

JAJUAN, AHMON W. 
Rating:
3.0

I reserved 2 dozen pads and only 15 were available at this location. The system needs to be fixed so that expectations cannot be met. This is problematic when one is planning a move. This situation also happened to a friend. He had to go to Wal-Mart and spend lots of money on cheap mattress covers and bedspreads.

Leslie A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jordon J. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SHAYLA F. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

pamela M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James M. 
Rating:
1.0

Reserved location 2 miles away and was told my reservation was on Tidewater drive over 20 miles away in a difficult place to pull out of. Uhaul door was locked and required my going to hardware store on other side of building and having them call. Terrible experience. Uhaul person expected ME to hook it up too. I'll need another trailer in two weeks at Greenbrier location and if it happens again I will make other plans and not use you again.

William L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Daniel H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GREGORYMARSHALL G. 
Rating:
5.0

have your other reps well trained with using the software. I initially wanted to pick up the truck on the 27th to get an early start, however for some reason the system wasnt working. I had to go back the next day, all that had to be done was restart my contract and got me out in less than 10 minutes - thanks to KURT out of the U-HAUL NEIGHBORHOOD DEALER on 3533 Tidewater Drive located in Norfolk, Virginia! He should be in management with the way he handled my dilemma.

Maria O. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kevin P. 
Rating:
3.0

Most of the employees seemed unwilling to work. Only the man who actually rang me up seemed to care whatsoever, and to be honest the guy deserves a raise for doing the work he did, especially in 110 degree weather.

Ryan E. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Karen B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James P. 
Rating:
5.0

Discount

BARBARAMARIE A. 
Rating:
3.0

Wait time in the store was longer than expected after online check in

george S. 
Rating:
3.0

We were picking up our rental at 8:00. The woman who was waiting on us was not nice. She was overwhelmed as nothing had been checked in and passed her unpleasantness on the the customer ahead of us and ourselves. The cost was over the top and even though u-haul says they give military discounts she said we would have to take it up with u-haul directly. It was $250.00 for an hour and a half round trip. The truck we rented needed maintenance due to the lights on the dash. We have rented many times with u-haul But I think this was the last time. From the service to the cost it was a train wreck. Thank you.

Jose R. 
Rating:
2.0

I set up to pickup by phone, but when I got there the website said no vehicle was assigned and I had to go inside. I didn't get waited on until about 45 minutes after pickup time. The employee said the vehicle that I ordered was not available. I mentioned to him that it was parked outside. Ultimately I was able to get it. I think the issues may have been both from U-Haul and the rental location.

Tracy C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KIMBERLY J. 
Rating:
3.0

When you do your courtesy call the night before the pick up, you should probably also call the locations to make sure they're ready. Totally unprofessional experience.

Alishia P. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DAVIDSTEVEN B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Monica R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Denice G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christy W. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top