Customer Reviews for State Line Store & Lock
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

1198 reviews

3203 US 21   Fort Mill, SC 29715
(I-77 Exit 90 Carowinds Exit)

(803) 547-6770

Location Hours

  • Mon-Wed: 8 am - 2 pm
  • Thur: 11 am - 2 pm
  • Fri: 8 am - 2 pm
  • Sat-Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 9/6/2021: Closed
  • 11/24/2021: 8:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 11/25/2021 - 11/26/2021: Closed
  • 12/24/2021: 8:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021 - 12/26/2021: Closed
  • 1/1/2022: Closed

Show All Hours

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(803) 547-6770

3203 US 21
Fort Mill, SC 29715
(I-77 Exit 90 Carowinds Exit)

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Wed: 8 am - 2 pm
  • Thur: 11 am - 2 pm
  • Fri: 8 am - 2 pm
  • Sat-Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 9/6/2021: Closed
  • 11/24/2021: 8:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 11/25/2021 - 11/26/2021: Closed
  • 12/24/2021: 8:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021 - 12/26/2021: Closed
  • 1/1/2022: Closed

Show All Hours

  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
4.0

It is slightly difficult to maneuver the truck in/out of its permanent parking area.

ROGER M. 
Rating:
3.0

The truck was absolutely filthy inside the cab but more importantly in the bed. We have white furniture so it was a challenge and worrisome to load our things into it. Very disappointing.

JEREMY M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James D. 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly… But they need to have a tape measure on site. I'll be back.

KEVIN T. 
Rating:
3.0

Instructions said truck would be in the gravel lot on the outside of the fence. However the truck was inside the fence behind a coded gate. Luckily there were other individuals who had codes to let me in and let me out. There were no instructions from the customer service rep we chatted with through the app. Also the “return the truck with a 1/4 tank of gas” is not the most fair and accurate way to do the gas usage. It would be much easier and fair for the tank to be full upon pick up and then fill it back up upon return. This way you don't have to immediately go to the gas station and do research on the vehicle to determine how many gallons will fill to a certain point as well as estimate your mileage. All so you don't pay more than you need to.

Crystal B. 
Rating:
1.0

The woman who works at the front desk is rude. I needed help with hooking up the trailer to my vehicle and at first she flat out refused by saying we don't do that here. Then I told her I will just cancel the order because I have never hooked up a trailer by myself and without someone either helping or checking on what I did, I did not want to leave the parking lot. Then she changed her mind and said she would see what she could do. Her partner ended up helping me. When I asked her where the trailer was located, she said out in the yard. I said where and she said out in the yard. So for 5 minutes I walked through the yard trying to find the unit on the contract to find out that she had told her partner to go get it and bring it up by my car. Then my car threw a fault when the lights were hooked up stating that the right turn signal and taillights were not working properly. They said they were fine, but I was driving it a long distance so I wanted to be sure so I called her back because I was still getting the message when I got it to my house to load. She said I would have to call the 800 number and she could not answer any questions for me. I called the 800 number and scheduled a tech to come out and said he would be there in 90 minutes. I waited the entire 90 minutes and the tech never showed up. I will never use this place again and maybe not U-Haul either. I don't think you want these people representing you!

GAYLA H. 
Rating:
5.0

Convenient place to rent truck, great customer service!

PATRICIA M. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy mobile drop off after hours.

Robert K. 
Rating:
3.0

Huge pain to get the truck, place closed at 2 pm and it was extremely difficult to check-in online.

Johnathan D. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JEFFREY V. 
Rating:
4.0

I forgot to tell the lady but the pickup truck actually had a bunch of ants inside crawling everywhere. I killed a few that was on my shirt and arm. Just to let u know

MARCO M. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Adam F. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KARA K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

HARTMUT K. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kyle A. 
Rating:
4.0

Parking lot is small and very difficult when returning vehicle after hours.

Bryan M. 
Rating:
1.0

The person (Samantha) who runs this location on Carowinds BLVD in Fort Mill, SC was unhelpful, rude, snippy and full of attitude. The equipment was not well maintained! The 15 foot truck had a transmission issue with sticking gears and lunging forward or backwards when shifting to Drive or Reverse. I informed Samantha of this and she just brushed my concearn off. The Trailer I also rented was difficult to loosen the straps because the metal devices were rusted and not well oiled for operation. I would never rent from this location again. This is the first time I've had issues with a I Haul rental and staff. Very disappointing!

Michael I. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Richard V. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Raymond S. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SAMUEL H. 
Rating:
5.0

Had to drive over an hour (each way) to pick up truck. Truck was in a different town. Cost me three hours of my time as well as a second driver's time. Had less than 24 hours notice to amend my plans.

jim M. 
Rating:
5.0

State Line always does a great job for Puroclean . Thanks for your great service to us. We rent once a week .

JEFFREY H. 
Rating:
4.0

Would've been helpful to have someone help me unhook the trailer and put it away. The location I picked up from hooked the trailer up for me.

Jody C. 
Rating:
5.0

Pick up location was moved further away then where I initially wanted to pick up truck.

MATTHEW R. 
Rating:
3.0

Uhaul moved my location to pick up my rental truck and tow dolly last min to the next over state. This put me behind packing and loading for the rest of the day. They did not have the truck or dolly accessable and I had to do do myself, eating even more of my time.

JOSEPH D. 
Rating:
4.0

I rented a one way 26' U-Haul on Wed 6/16 and had to return on Sat 6/19 by 9am. On 6/18 around noon, the lady at this location called me wanting to know when I would be dropping the truck off. I told her I that had until 9am the next day to drop it off but I was on the way to their location with the truck when she called. When I got there, she entered the mileage into the system and said, "Well it looks like they are not going to charge you a late fee." Again, I reiterated that the truck was not due to be returned until the next day at 9am. Then I learned the reason she called was that they started closing early for COVID, but once all COVID restrictions were lifted, they continued to only be open in the mornings and close around noon each day. U-Haul REALLY should make this obvious on their web site when consumers select a drop off point as this would affect their decision of where to drop off the truck. Then she informed me my credit card was going to be debited for another $0.26 because I had gone over my allotted mileage on the trip from Montgomery, AL to Fort Mill, SC by about one half of a single mile ROFL. Why on earth U-Haul would pay probably $0.30+ in credit card transaction fees to collect a measly $0.26 is beyond me, but whatever. They lost on that deal.

James H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GARRY S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Shawn M. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Karl W. 
Rating:
5.0

Service at the front desk was awesome!

STEVEN T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dennis G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TARKISHA W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOHN C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Douglas H. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy and fast process!!

BENJAMIN B. 
Rating:
5.0

Very easy in and out, truck was clean and ready for me!

Todd P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Randall P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christie T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GARRY S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Marnette Z. 
Rating:
1.0

Trucks are not clean

Raymond S. 
Rating:
5.0

Brief your new customers on the remote check in system of having to access your app, upload photos, etc at sign out. Someone without smart phone aptitude, to be required to ‘activate location settings, upload photos, etc might have difficulties. I was told to just drop the key in the box. Also, the add oil light was on, and was told if I needed to add any oil to just bring in the receipt. That's good, but, checking oil levels is really not my job. Thanks. Overall, pleased with the rental.

ROBERT T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Connor M. 
Rating:
1.0

Your uhaul associate on Highway 21 came to my home at 9:50am harassing me about bringing the truck back to her location. She said I have had the truck for 2 days when I had only had it for 22 hours. She tried to enter my home and show me her cell phone asking me “is this your email address?” I had to tell her to STOP and back out of my home I told her “no, my truck is due back at noon.” People were arriving any minute to view my home for purchase (I'm selling my home). This is absolutely unacceptable. Although I have been a uhaul customer for nearly 10 years, I will no longer use your service. My family is already aware of the situation and they will avoid your service as well. This is alarming that someone as unstable as your associate has my home address. This is ILLEGAL for her to show up at my home.

JEFFREY F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KERRY C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DAO H. 
Rating:
4.0

Everything worked well, clean and efficient.

Rick M. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

russell L. 
Rating:
4.0

Vehicle needed to be aligned. AC blew out on your feet when you got above 20 mph. There was not a ramp for loading with a hand truck.

JEFFREY H. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RAYMONDN JR L. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHRISTOPHER B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph S. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly & quick!

KERRY H. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SAYYEIDA C. 
Rating:
1.0

no one on site to deal with - you have to go through a check list, upload pics and answer questions which take a lot of time. not worth it- i will not use this site in the future

Julie C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LARRY H. 
Rating:
3.0

Clean but had broken windshield wiper. One of older trucks. Customer service and check-out process made for easy in and out.

CRISTIAN S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Felicia C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Andrew M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Latefa M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kurt S. 
Rating:
3.0

Two issues with this rental. The first trailer I got the wheel was badly damaged and had to be taken back and swapped for another. That put me back about an hour off schedule. The second issue I was told to bring it back on Sunday but was never told a certain time. Apparently it had to be back by 8am, and since I brought it at 11 (even though they were closed) I got charged for a third day.

Bradley J. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DIANNE W. 
Rating:
3.0

Its not where we rented, but U haul transferred us, WAY out of our way, corporate dropoff procedure was idiotic... people good, U haul procedures terrible... finally had to call 800# just to leave the thing and hope it got closed out

Mike M. 
Rating:
3.0

:)

Trena H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Scott H. 
Rating:
5.0

Thank goodness the location was open, the website check in did not work at all..

Sheri G. 
Rating:
5.0

Very easy booking, pick up,and return. Friendly staff.

David S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SEAN M. 
Rating:
5.0

The self check in was very tedious. In the future I will not use U-Haul if that is the method of pickup.

bob M. 
Rating:
5.0

Unit roof leaked in a couple places, moved out after 4 weeks due to it. very muddy roads around. Units are outdated.

STEFAN S.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Richard A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ty F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRYAN B. 
Rating:
5.0

The trailer itself was age and is need to be replaced. Interior floor is buckled and leaks, from use and thresh hole is worn from the roll up door that it has DEEP grooves from vibration. Exterior is age from weathered. I'd be ashamed to have my name all crack up. I can't hold the renter responsible for the deterioration because there not the owner of the equipment.

William B. 
Rating:
4.0

Decent location, but the mobile check-in process was a nightmare. Took over an hour waiting for customer service to get issues resolved. Otherwise not a bad experience.

Pieter M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Pranavsinh S. 
Rating:
3.0

Reserved pads but when I arrived at 8:10am was advised the person before me rented all of them. Had to go to another uhaul to get them and then to retuen them. Cost me time.

Linda S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ED M. 
Rating:
5.0

The passenger side tire was 20lbs. Low and the left side tire had a significant wobble. I was very worried about equipent failure during the trip.

Jeremy G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Stephanie B. 
Rating:
5.0

It just perfect.

Miguel R. 
Rating:
3.0

The customer service sucks. They were very rude when I tried to get my total bill. The representative told me one thing and then another and didn't get any of it right. I then talked to a customer service representative and he didn't help much either. His name was Gil

Douglas C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lori F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Britton M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christy C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Richard M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jerome W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DEE L.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
1.0

Sharon charged me a late fee and a extra day because she was late typing in what time I arrived. Told me she had to look at the cameras to see what time I arrived, I was actually early arriving. If she would have done her job correctly I wouldn't have been charged for no reason and I would have saved my time and energy trying to get a refund. Would not recommend location to anyone, Sharon was also rude and very unhelpful.

azziza W. 
Rating:
5.0

Very efficient professional quick service I will use it again

Bruce C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMIE B. 
Rating:
4.0

The key for the pad lock was the only thing that I had a problem with.

joe S. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jason B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nadia M. 
Rating:
4.0

I don't have a problem with the location, but with the lack of information uhaul gives on the website. The 5x9 trailer is a 2 inch ball, critical information left out!

Alexander C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CLIFTON F. 
Rating:
3.0

OK location...:not the best.

John G. 
Rating:
2.0

CDC guidelines require a mask in all NC business offices. The woman running the office did not have a mask on. The truck was dirty and smelled of strong cigarette smoke. Most Uhaul locations also advertise unlimited local miles, and I was charged for the mileage. Also, we rented the truck on a Saturday, which is a common day to move and need trucks. This location opened at 08:00 am and closed at 10:00 am. This seems ridiculous to me.

Samuel H. 
Rating:
1.0

We went to the location on India hook in rock hill sc and they scheduled us for this location but they were closed so we had to switch locations last minute that was further away which cause us to have to pay for more miles

Latifah M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Angela W. 
Rating:
5.0

I am a senior and have used many storage facilities through the years and this one has been one of the best. It was vey easy to get in and out of and very quiet. The staff has always been very helpful and I want to say Thank You to them.

DAVID L.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

good

KHRISTON H.  |  First Impressions 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Self-Storage Icon
    Self-Storage

    We have the most coverage in North America!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top