Customer Reviews for STE Rental
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

2,244 reviews

2956 Boys Rd   Duncan, BC V9L6W4

(250) 748-4894

Office Hours

  • Mon-Sun: 9 am–4 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 6/2/2024: Closed
  • 6/9/2024: Closed
  • 6/16/2024: Closed
  • 6/23/2024: Closed
  • 6/30/2024: Closed

Show All Hours

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(250) 748-4894

2956 Boys Rd
Duncan, BC V9L6W4

Services at this Location:

Office Hours

  • Mon-Sun: 9 am–4 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 6/2/2024: Closed
  • 6/9/2024: Closed
  • 6/16/2024: Closed
  • 6/23/2024: Closed
  • 6/30/2024: Closed

Show All Hours

  • Free towing inspection

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
4.0

I brought the van back a full day early with just under a half of tank and the young man said it needed to be on the halfway full mark. I went back to a gas station and added more gas to get it to the half full mark even though I showed him the photo of the fuel gauge and odometer when I picked it up showing just below the half mark he was not very friendly

david g 
Rating:
5.0

Renting a 1/2 ton for the day was easy and the U-haul office well organized and very personable person to deal with.

Jack K 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Colin S 
Rating:
4.0

Cancel the requirement to use an app to be able to pickup/drop off after hours. I liked things the way they were. Not everyone can have a smart phone and not everyone uses apps. Requiring smart phone uses and apps is discriminatory to those with low incomes or other barriers to accessing technology.

CAROLINE L 
Rating:
5.0

All the fuses on the truck for the trailer lights where blown

Nicholas y 
Rating:
4.0

I was overcharged and charged for a clean fee for $25 when I left the truck clean as I got it with a little dirt on the passenger floor and then charged double for what I was charged last year and they estimated my kms without reading the kms correctly so called the customer service and was on the phone for a while showing my dissatisfaction. Will not rent again this van with all the fees and charges added on.

Richard H 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ken F 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Taylor P 
Rating:
4.0

Helpful staff. Good experience. Thanks

jeff w 
Rating:
3.0

There was no one on-site at 4.30pm. I used the app to do the drop off so managed to make it work.

Mark E 
Rating:
3.0

Employee could work on people skills. Not very friendly or communicative.

Derrick P 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jason F 
Rating:
2.0

They charged me beyond on the mileage that i used, on the receipt they already put 96km even i haven’t use the trunk yet, also they removed the trolly that i included on my online booking and they did not explain everything , the guy assigned on the rentals rushed the transaction. I only use the car at downtown duncan, it’s very unfair how they charge the customer. I am not going back on that location anymore. I will never recommend that location

Mary A 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark R 
Rating:
1.0

I have reserved a truck 15' for May First at 08:00AM, but once I got there there was no truck assigned to my reservation. which caused a possible issue on the date schedule to move my things from one house to the other house. When called Uhaul explaining what happened they said there was no Trucks available in the location and they would only postpone to 09:00 am which is the time the Uhaul office in that place opens. Also, In my reservation had 2 dollies but there was no one available there which also caused me trouble to pay extra money and time to find Dollies. I delayed my schedule for the day and wasted time for the elevator slot time that the building had scheduled for me.

Isac C 
Rating:
4.0

Living in the country the truck had normal road dirt on it the customer service was stellar thank you

Pamela R 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ian W 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gilles L 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

william B 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ron M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rhonda V 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Alana S 
Rating:
3.0

It was very inconvenient to have booked a UHaul pickup in Victoria, BC (we were flying in that morning to go pick it up, and move a family member the same day), only to find out the day before that we had to travel an hour north of Victoria, to Duncan, to pick up the UHaul. It was super inconvenient and took a large chunk out of our day, never mind the extra expenses.

Klaas W 
Rating:
3.0

The young fellow who checked in my reservation seemed very disinterested in doing his job. Although I was the only customer in the office, he did not address me and I had to initiate the conversation. His instructions regarding returning the truck were very quick and I had to ask him to repeat them. As a customer it felt as if I was interrupting his day.

Kerri V 
Rating:
5.0

Rented your equipment many, many times for personal and business needs over the years. Always efficient, good value and reliable.

Richard M 
Rating:
4.0

perfect for the job

NEIL M 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sally J 
Rating:
4.0

Let the poor guy at the location know that I am bringing my truck in on a recall sooner than 10 minutes. There were way too many ppl involved in the coordination of this and no one told him how to log it in the computer. Frustrating for all of us!

MICHELLE T 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Crystal G 
Rating:
5.0

I loved the lady who helped me out today! Very personable and helpful. Made this experience very pleasant.

Eoin G 
Rating:
5.0

You were easy to talk too and made the experience a great one. KUDOS . I don't believe that you need to change anything at all.

Al G 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

catherine j 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Max B 
Rating:
5.0

Told attendant about worn out wiring connector and state of rachet strap ratschets on the trailer,he didn't seem to care and probably will not fix parts needed to be fixed

Gord V 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Scott M 
Rating:
4.0

Service was great - in and out in less than 15 minutes.

Darcy D 
Rating:
3.0

Your app is awful. If your business model depends on hiring less staff and automation figure that shit out.

Davin L 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tom W 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

liesbeth a 
Rating:
2.0

I went in and reserved a vehicle, just one, should be easy, right? It was, it was the 5 emails and 4 text messages that endeavoured me to download apps and sign in to them, for no other reason then it looks good on someone’s spreed sheet, bonus’s all around. They were a waste of time, and then an amazing number of emails and text messages when I returned the vehicle. Please keep it simple, I am not the slightest bit interested in joining “the team” , I rent a truck every two or three years. I don’t need all of the verbiage, I need a clean truck with air in the tires and a check engine light that is not on.

Kenneth S 
Rating:
4.0

All good. Waited 30 mins on hold one day and then store hung up on me. Called again and he answered.

MICHELLE T 
Rating:
4.0

Your website was down for an unusual amount of time. The mobile app was non operational for my return and check in time. I had to spend extra time taking photos, trying to login multiple times, and look up the phone number to leave a voice message to ensure the agent new i had returned the vehicle on time. This was wasteful of my time and energy on a moving day.

Melodie M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

winsor p 
Rating:
1.0

I spent half the day, day before renting the truck, on the phone with uhaul customer service because this location forgot to leave the keys inside of a truck and then I was charged nearly 100$ more than I was quoted.

Tanika G 
Rating:
2.0

No one ever told me about 20 dollars after hours return charge. Booking was not in system when I came to return it. Service not tranceparent.

Viktor P 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lawrence J 
Rating:
4.0

The roof leaked. I got water damage on a lot of my belongings. Some of the marker lights were not working so I fixed them.

Doug B 
Rating:
3.0

Need more staff

Ellen H 
Rating:
1.0

Very unfriendly young man. I have rented a 26 ft truck 3 time last month and every time I get the truck with 1/4 tank of fuel. What happened to picking up a truck with full fuel and returning in full. Now I have to play the game of guessing how many km i will be driving and not putting in too much fuel so I don’t leave it with more fuel then how I got it. What happened to serving the “CUSTOMER”. Is too much trouble for the employees.

DAVID W 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brian L 
Rating:
5.0

The best part of the uhaul experience was Vivian at the boxwood location in Nanaimo. Without her help a trunk rental would have been impossible. The call center people are incompetent and changed the original contract for unknown reasons. This made for lots of calls and ultimately side stepping the call center to get a moving truck.

Heath O 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Zachery H 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RALPH B 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Greg H 
Rating:
3.0

Was charged a $25 cleaning fee when I returned it cleaner then when I picked it up

Peter W 
Rating:
5.0

I totally didn’t know this company was there. They need signage. The only way I found out about them was from Budget.

GLENDA J 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nickolas U 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Douglas T 
Rating:
1.0

the person at this location was very rude to me. I arrived 3 minutes early and he yelled at me and said he doesn't open until 10 am or whatever time it was. He was rude to me when I walked into the trailer but when my guy friends showed up to come drive my truck and help me. He changed his attitude with me. The truck leaked. Have my boxes were soaked? I called and spoke to UHaul they did nothing for me. Just said OH okay well we are sorry your truck leaked. I have never been so mistreated by UHAUL and I have used you guys many many times. But that location was not nice and whoever I spoke to on the phone to complain to about what happened didn't even offer anything to me. I would not recommend Duncan Location

Sherry E 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Eric L 
Rating:
5.0

Get rid of your call centre! I had a call hours after I had booked directly with the store to tell me I couldn't rent the trailer because I was doing an in town and she said those trailers were ONLY FOR ONE WAY!!! The girl was nuts!! I told her she had to be wrong! She finally agreed to let me keep my reservation but she made it 3 hours earlier! The store was kind enough to straighten everything out for me.

Bradlei B 
Rating:
2.0

Booking got changed from a 20ft to a 15ft without any notification, we found out on the day. Charged us $20 for after hours return which was not true. Had to get a refund from customer service. Not even apologizing over the phone, we were pretty disapointed overall...

JULIANA R 
Rating:
4.0

Efficient and helpful staff. Turnaround was fast and simple.

Kurt G 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

AMY S 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bruno V 
Rating:
4.0

Nothing. Everything went perfectly fine. The fellow that helped us was good - professional. We have no complaints at all at this time.

Brenda M 
Rating:
3.0

Website was unclear and dificult to navigete for electronic return. Required a laptop/computer to add booking in order to go to return, then asked for on site pictures but we were home allready in order to use a computer.

Jeff B 
Rating:
2.0

The app didn’t work to check out after hours. I was on site with good reception and location services on but would not work. I followed the prompts and the app still couldn’t locate me. Googled the next day hours and Sunday at 9 I returned to wait a half hour with other customers also but no one showed. Answering machine was full so I could not leave a message. Good equipment and prices. Bad that I’m sure I’m getting a late fee after all my troubles, and ensuring I returned on time.

Jordan R 
Rating:
2.0

The fellow at the counter was polite enough to me, but swore at the his computer when it misbehaved, using words that were very rude and profiled a part of women's anatomy. This is inexcusable in the service industry.

Bronwen D 
Rating:
1.0

You can make it clear to the customer that when they reserve a one-way rental they aren’t actually reserving anything, because you will call them the day before and force them to do a two-way rental instead, causing them to drive an extra 150 km. You can also let them know that when they’re 30 min late to return the truck (because you forced them to drive 150 extra km) you will yell at them on the phone, hang up, and charge their credit card without their knowledge. NEVER using this service again and I will make sure no one I know does either.

Sabine S 
Rating:
3.0

You need to change the crazy policy of leaving a1/4 tank of fuel in the truck. Why not just return it full? It is almost impossible to accurately estimate a quarter tank of fuel remaining when you’re using the truck. If not for that stupid policy I would’ve given you four stars out of four.

Mike A 
Rating:
5.0

My truck rental went so smoothly that I can't see how it can get any better.

Victor W 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Chris D 
Rating:
2.0

Flat tire , has a very slow leak Exhaust manifold leaks No fuel in it ,gas light came on after driving for 3 minutes . Windshield wipers need replacing . They suck in rainy weather

Aaron L 
Rating:
3.0

Returned truck evening of rental as had no ride for morning as was a 24hr rental. I don’t know how to scan but truck would have been there first thing when they opened. I was charged the 20$ and this is not fair. I am 75 and not tech savvy. I would hope you would refund my 20$. Thank you. Jeannette Dunbar

Jeannette D 
Rating:
1.0

Horrible experience! I had reserved a 10’ truck in Victoria. You called me the day before my move to tell me you couldn’t fulfill my reservation, and if I wanted a truck I had to drive an hour away and an hour back to get a 15’ truck on the morning of my moving date in Duncan. I get the truck and get it back to my move location to notice it has no gas in it and the truck is absolutely filled with water and sopping wet moving blankets. Water is dripping from the ceiling, pooled on the floor, dripping from the walls. I have already taken 2 hours out of my moving day just to get the truck! I sit on hold with you and get passed from representative to representative, until there is no more time, I have a ferry to catch. We sop up as much water as possible and line the floors with garbage bags to try to protect my things, when finally someone from roadside assistance gets ahold of me and tells me that isn’t her job. She goes out of her way to look, and it turns out there is a 15’ truck less than a mile away from me this entire time. So why did I drive 2 hours out of my way on my moving day to get this wet truck with no gas in it? She tells me I just have to unload my entire move, take the bad truck to this location, get the new truck and redo all the loading into the new truck. I have a ferry to catch! We were already rushing because I accounted for taking 2 hours out of the moving day just to get the first truck. I tell her this isn’t possible and I want a refund. She opens a ticket for me and tells me someone will reach out in 3 business days and I can return the truck with as much gas as I had received in it. This was on February 21st. I pay $120 extra at the ferry for the larger truck that I didn’t want. I return the truck and it has as much gas in it as it had when I picked it up, per your instruction. I receive an additional charge today for $278.50 for the missing gas! I was expecting a full refund of the $856.31 I had spent originally. Now it’s February 26th. Technically 3 business days later. And you have just told me you had to reopen my ticket and someone will be reaching out in 3 more business days! I want my money back and you should be lucky that’s all I’m asking for. This is the worst customer service experience I have ever had.

Ronald S 
Rating:
4.0

Make sure the fuel tank is filled to what is on the contract before the customer picks up. Truck today was siphoned of its fuel before I picked it up. Great start to the day.

Chris L 
Rating:
5.0

The app that may be used on the return of the equipment (downloadable via qr code) has problems both with account authentication and linking of accounts. Although a proficient it professional, I could not get the app to show any linked reservation on my return. I spent approximately 30 minutes attempting to connect to the reservation. In addition, I rented a tow dolly that had faulty lighting (no left turn signal). While going through the hook-up and lighting check with the employee he stated that it "[wasn't] a big deal if you aren't going far. Most tow dollies don't even have lights." Finally, I booked this reservation online the prior day with a 4 pm pickup. On arrival, I discovered that the location closes at 4 pm and another client who picked up before my arrival stated that the employees had closed up at about 20 minutes to 4. This should answer any query on equipment not well maintained, and not recommended to a friend per the above.

aaron s 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

vlad v 
Rating:
5.0

You guys are great. Keep your current employees and give them a bonus! 👍

Pamela M 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Marco A 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was Great Thank you

Diane J 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GARRY F 
Rating:
5.0

all was good.

Dean V 
Rating:
3.0

Disappointed that we could not do a pick up in our location of Victoria. Phone pick up very complicated. The gentleman who I contacted at head office was excellent helping throughout. He was patient and kind.

jutta d 
Rating:
1.0

Long story. But wow. So fucked up.

David P 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Katelyn B 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Guman S 
Rating:
3.0

Passenger side headlight was loose and aimed at the sky. Someone may have attempted to steal it but it was very difficult to drive at night with the headlight problem.

Steven S 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JACOB H 
Rating:
5.0

The guy was really helpful

Ilke A 
Rating:
4.0

Check in and out was simple and fast. Staff person efficient, friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. The dolly we had rented had badly rusted / corroded ratchet straps - V difficult to use but I managed. Otherwise excellent experience! Thank you

THOM R 
Rating:
1.0

Make sure your stuff is maintained properly

Kyle B 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Niles B 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ronald c 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Niles B 
Rating:
4.0

On the cold days find some way to keep the doors and locks from freezing shut. Otherwise amazing place, quick check out and drop off plus a large selection of rentals

FILIP H 
Rating:
1.0

Leaking roof. Missing knob on window handle. Less gas in vehicle than stated on printout. Not clean.

Ross A 
Rating:
1.0

Honor the quote that was given over the phone instead of saying the computer was the problem

Doneen S 
Rating:
5.0

Greeted right away and easy return

CHRISTOPHER S 
Rating:
4.0

Great

Gregory H  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

nice and friendly staff

Denis D  |  Overall Experience 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • U-Box® Containers

    We ship across town or accross the world!

  • Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top