Customer Reviews for STE Rental
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

1,517 reviews

2956 Boys Rd   Duncan, BC V9L6W4

(250) 748-4894

Location Hours

  • Mon-Sun: 9 am - 4 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021: 9:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 1/1/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(250) 748-4894

2956 Boys Rd
Duncan, BC V9L6W4

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Sun: 9 am - 4 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021: 9:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 1/1/2022: Closed
  • Free towing inspection

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gregory H. 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly, affordable! Have already recomended them!

Shawna M. 
Rating:
5.0

Really good and easy experience thank you

IAN T. 
Rating:
5.0

The service here is ALWAYS the best. Happy, helpful and quick. I wish all uhaul were this great!

Rod M. 
Rating:
4.0

This particular agent treated me like gokd. Give hera raise.

TANYA L. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mike M. 
Rating:
3.0

The truck we rented had a leak in the back. When we went to load in the morning, about an inch of water had pooled at the front wall. Drove the truck up a slope to get the water out, toweled it down, and put down vapour barrier to keep our stuff dry. On unloading, we found that there was water on top of one desk, so the water was leaking as we drove. Otherwise things went fine.

Jon W. 
Rating:
4.0

sign to indicate when you are picking your vehicle up for the 1st time where the office is....

Cathi J. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy drop off!

Danny Z. 
Rating:
5.0

The rental process using the “app” is total crap. Full of bugs. Parking lot was full of confused people like me. Then getting me to assess the vehicle for you afterwards? Can I get on the payroll for that? Seems U-Haul wants to avoid paying real staff and get their customers to do the work. Next time I ever have to rent a truck I'll look elsewhere. I'm done. Good luck.

Davin L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bogdan N. 
Rating:
5.0

I found the location a bit hard to find - but that was google maps problem. Found myself in the Elks parking lot! A little more signage on the main road might be nice!

Bernice H. 
Rating:
2.0

The truck constantly pulled to the left. The truck had no cruise control. I was over billed for mileage. Customer service was less than helpful. If I have the choice in the future I will not choose uhaul and will encourage my friends and family to do the same

Lain D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Susan D. 
Rating:
5.0

Awesome service and great easy experience.

Connor F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Guy C. 
Rating:
3.0

Overall this was a positive experience. Staff member was helpful and professional. Vehicle cleanliness was just okay.

Terry P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Leslie G. 
Rating:
5.0

Always always great people and trucks are clean and available!

Elizabeth F. 
Rating:
1.0

Terrible experience.The app would not work or recognize Its own Uhaul location? When i returned vehicle at 9:30 am on Tuesday no attendants were there , I left key in drop box as was advised. Got a call 3 hours later from office asking where keys were, i sad lock box. Attendant said i should not have because thieves have been fishing them out. Then I was overcharged a rate I was not sold. Never again will I use Use this location and maybe never Uhaul again.

Barry K. 
Rating:
1.0

Charge was double the quoted price. Unit had broken lights. Lot attendant failed to note the broken light.

mike B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christopher R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John M. 
Rating:
5.0

The employee is professional and efficient…. Vehicle well maintained

Jomesh G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Doug L. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Wes H. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing

Alan P. 
Rating:
3.0

I had ordered an equipment dolly but there was none available, got an appliance dolly instead which worked fine anyway. Had also ordered for blankets but there was none available and still got charged for it. How can I get a refund for them? Busy location at times, orders take a little long to get processed maybe 2 or more staff could make it a bit faster. Also, I know there was a fire at this location previously but try to get more equipment back in place to make customers moving experience much better. Overall the staff are good.

Joyce N. 
Rating:
2.0

Building burnt down, vender is working out of a trailer!!

Brent C. 
Rating:
3.0

Strange set up for pickup. Would have to recommend this place because it is the only one there.

Cynthia M. 
Rating:
3.0

Easy booking and the girl in the trailer office was super helpfull and effient.

Beat K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jacqueline H. 
Rating:
4.0

All good! Thank-you!!

Shaun N. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dakota M. 
Rating:
3.0

The mobile check-in thing on the phone was incredibly difficult to navigate. We never did end up figuring it out, even with help from staff once they opened.

Christina B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ward H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kyle G. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James G. 
Rating:
5.0

Fix the app. It would not load images, which caused an unnecessary charge we had to go back to correct.

Tanya L. 
Rating:
5.0

The online checkin was horrible. It took me 25 minutes to check in including the verification process. I highly doubt I would go through that again. Equipment was good the process was unhuman. Passport ask after you had arrived at the depot. You have some rethinking to do

Brian J. 
Rating:
5.0

This location has always been great. Lots of stock and good, friendly service.

Roderick M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Vinod B. 
Rating:
1.0

When I received the truck I used the 24/7 truck share so the facility was not opened yet. I drove it to my home and opened the back of the truck to find that people had been living in the back, there was clothes, food, smokes and needles. I cannot express how frustrating it is to have to clean out and sanitize the truck on the day that I have to move out of my house. When I brought the truck back and told the attendant they said that there is nothing they can do about the issue and they have the issue of people living in the trucks and using drugs all the time. When I suggested locking the trucks I was told they don't have enough locks, so this is a known issue that happens frequently and nothing is being done about it. I have left some photos in the review section for the Duncan uhaul site on google

Ashley M. 
Rating:
3.0

The fellow was very polite and efficient. Seeing as the truck I received had just been dropped off, I'm quite confident it had not been sanitized. The check in line-up was lengthy and unfortunately I had to wait as the on-line check in was not working the night before my pick up.

Martine M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Anita P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Grace W. 
Rating:
4.0

Location was not immediately known as the building was closed with operations moved to a an onsite trailer.

Thomas B. 
Rating:
5.0

The 24/7 drop off was easy after a long day of moving.

David S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Elisabeth T. 
Rating:
3.0

Ordered furniture pads - did not receive ! My son picked up the truck I ordered - guy was not especially pleasant - cost way too high - Home Depot hires same size truck for $99 plus taxes no hidden extras for 24 hrs ! This cost me $466 will be using Home Depot in future:(

Sam S. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent product and price. Thank you

Michael P. 
Rating:
3.0

Truck had not been cleaned inside. I had to sanitize myself. It was difficult at times to get the truck into drive.

William H. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRIAN L. 
Rating:
4.0

Would suggest not to call a truck 15' when the floor is only 12' with a little 3' compartment at the ceiling.

Ralph A. 
Rating:
4.0

The last 2 times I could NOT sign in to drop my truck ..

CHERYL P. 
Rating:
4.0

The location had a fire about a month ago and they had to set up a temporary office adjacent to the damaged building. I had ordered an appliance trolley/cart but when I got to the location they could not provide it. Maybe this was a one-off event but there seemed to be a poor link between the location and the central booking. The fellow asked for an alternative contact number and when I suggested he use the secondary driver's details, he said he couldn't view that detail. Strange. Otherwise all good. They were relaxed about the return of the vehicle. It was dropped off before the location opened because of prior commitments, we phoned and then followed up later and they were fine.

Mark H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

mark H. 
Rating:
5.0

I had car problems after returning the truck and the staff was extremely helpful in resolving the problem.

Robert L. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy to rent a pickup truck to move my mom out of the nursing home and clean out a storage locker. Good place.

Henry B. 
Rating:
5.0

I think you have done a great job there considering the fire in your building few month ago

michael G. 
Rating:
1.0

U-Haul roof was leaking and ruined my belongings. Was charged extra because uhaul didn't give me the truck I had reserved and asked me to drive 2 hours away to pick up my truck. Almost missed my boost reservation (moving off island) Will never use uhaul again and will be going to Budget rentals.

Natasha T. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service.

Tom W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Thomas R. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent and easy process. Amazing support with getting the truck ready. Everything was ready to go upon my arrival. Will rent again for any future needs.

JOSEPH L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Campbell M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Katherine M. 
Rating:
1.0

The associate we dealt with (Jim) was incredibly rude and unprofessional. He was chastising me and my husband, as well as another couple, on where we had parked our trucks to return. There was no signage on where to park the truck we were returning, and when I mentioned that we had done our best with the little information made available, he began arguing with me that we clearly did not, as there was "all this other room" to park the trucks and "why would we park there?", meanwhile, there was a line up of about 6 people waiting to be helped. I informed him I would not be arguing about it, and he continued to rant at me about where we chose to park. I had to physically turn my back to him to get him to leave me alone. I have worked customer service for 16 years and I do not agree that this was in any way a professional way to handle the situation. Other customers were visibly and audibly surprised by his reaction and couldn't seem to believe that this would be the employee helping them. I wouldn't voluntarily choose to return a vehicle to this location again. It was quite the way to start our Sunday after moving.

MATTHEW B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Leslie V. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROBERT M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeffrey K. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nancy R. 
Rating:
5.0

Was quite a bit more expensive than I was expecting.

Steven F. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John V. 
Rating:
3.0

It may have been my computer skills but I filled out online all the questions which indicated I was going one way from Duncan to Courtenay yet the booking agent was charging me a price more than doudle your quote and asking me questions she should have known..ie: the kilometrws to Cpourtenay from Duncan. It was a nightmare...finally I figured out and she figured out I was only going one way. I could go on and on about my friend who used Duncan UHaul the day before and had issues. I thought that might have been a one off but I think mine was worse. I exercised great patience with your agent to carry my contract through.

Neil M. 
Rating:
4.0

The girl that helped me at the Duncan uhaul was very pleasant and helpful , I did get a phone call from a 604 area code the night I made the reservation and they said there was not the cargo trailer I wanted- so I called uhaul direct in the us and they said he was wrong- so there is a lack of communication somewhere

Lori H. 
Rating:
3.0

Fix your trucks.

Marco B. 
Rating:
5.0

Trucks too low.. couldn't get up hill. Will never rent again!

Pierre G. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lester S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GRAHAM R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

William R. 
Rating:
1.0

Terrible customer service terrible communication and dishonest. Have asked for a phone call and have not yet received. Will tell friends how terrible UHaul is.

Rebbecca T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mari-Ann C. 
Rating:
4.0

Everything went well. Very pleasant and calm associate to deal with. Thank you.

Kenneth M. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ronald W. 
Rating:
5.0

My experience with this location and the lady I was dealing with was pleasant and friendly. It was a good experience and I would deal with her again and recommend it to other people that would be moving.

Jody F. 
Rating:
5.0

Great customer service

anne S. 
Rating:
5.0

Amazing

johnathon S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MEGHAN C. 
Rating:
5.0

windshield and cab interior could be cleaner. box not completely swept out

Douglas D. 
Rating:
4.0

Everything was great

Bruno V. 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly and helpful staff. Very quick rental process. One of my better rental experiences

Paul F. 
Rating:
1.0

I was incorrectly charged for an 'after service hours' charge of $20.00 and a sales item of $5.40. I returned the cargo van exactly 24 hours after picking it up, within the Duncan location service hours AND I didn't purchase any 'sales item'. I discovered these errors when I received my final invoice by email. I phone Jim, the manager at the Duncan location and he said that this was an error and that I shouid contact a '604' number for Uhaul and that they would issue me a refund. Unita at the '604' number answered my call and created an 'action file' detailing the errors on my invoice. I then received an email response from a supervisor saying that I would receive a refund for the $5,40 'sales item' error. No mention was made of the $20.00 'after service hours charge' error. I replied by email to the supervisor, asking for a refund for the 'after hours service charge' error, but have heard nothing since. Uhaul has lost me as a customer. Mike Scott

Michael S. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Edward A. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Harold T. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Duane M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Amanda M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Paul M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Richard R. 
Rating:
5.0

Your 15' vans guzzle gas

Douglas M. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • U-Box Container Icon
    U-Box® Containers

    We ship across town or accross the world!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top