Customer Reviews for U-Haul Moving & Storage at Union Ave

5,223 reviews

370 Union Ave   Memphis, TN 38103
(@ Union Ave and Danny Thomas Blvd)

(901) 521-0851

Hours

  • Mon–Thur
    7 am–7 pm
  • Friday
    7 am–8 pm
  • Saturday
    7 am–7 pm
  • Sunday
    9 am–5 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2022: 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • 12/25/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(901) 521-0851

370 Union Ave
Memphis, TN 38103
(@ Union Ave and Danny Thomas Blvd)

Services at this Location:

Hours

  • Mon–Thur
    7 am–7 pm
  • Friday
    7 am–8 pm
  • Saturday
    7 am–7 pm
  • Sunday
    9 am–5 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2022: 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • 12/25/2022: Closed
  • Free towing inspection
  • Propane pay at pump
  • 24 hour customer return
Adaptive reuse location

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Belen M. 
Rating:
4.0

The corporate booking is always the problem, not the location.

Todd W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Travis M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tirza W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kevin F. 
Rating:
5.0

Thanks for your help!!

Stephen T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

kevin A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nathan B. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was great

ANGELA A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert B. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent

Glenda J. 
Rating:
2.0

Computers out no rental document provided. 2 storage units were broken into overnight so staff were upset, resulting in terrible customer treatment. This location is terribly run for as long as I can remember. I will avoid using it!

Gregory H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Stacie H. 
Rating:
5.0

Na

Chiquita B. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bryson D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Anthony M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ronald T. 
Rating:
5.0

STAY BLESS

James W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert S. 
Rating:
1.0

we had to go to 3 uhaul places to get a truck when we called a head of time. it was on a quarter tank of gas and we returned it with the same amt and was charged $84 more … way to high $700 from Memphis to Mccalla ….

jeff M. 
Rating:
5.0

The particular truck reserved was not available on site. I had to get a different truck at an increased rental rate 20.00 per day. The manager on duty was very pleasant however unable to adjust price.

Rebecca T. 
Rating:
4.0

The young lady Chara who works at the Union Avenue facility took an automatic deduction from my bank account which was not authorized by me. I reported this incident to your corporate headquarters, complaints department. I hope something was done about this because by doing this to me, tells me she can go in anyone's account and continue this type of theft. My name is Ms Mitchell (901) 425-6564.

Musette M.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
3.0

Uhaul equipment drop off location in Memphis Tennessee has helpful in disconnecting the equipment and made the equipment rental simple. However, the location was not very helpful with assisting me with my future equipment rental reservation.

George H. 
Rating:
5.0

You're very professional and courteous do a lot about the business took their time and explained everything in detail at the truck ready when said couldn't ask for a better staff A1 I really appreciate it though for being so thorough I didn't have to wait a long time when I picked up the truck nor when I returned it they were very quick prompt couldn't have chosen a better place this is where I will always use for the rest of my life when I need a truck thank you all so much.

Enrico H. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Danielle S. 
Rating:
5.0

The clerk Martinique was friendly and professional, the manager was very insulting

Malita W. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

IDA J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

chris W. 
Rating:
2.0

Clerk tried to give me a 26' truck when I had reserved a 15' a week before. I expressed my concern on being able to drive one that large. He said there was nothing he could do , that's all he had. When I asked if he could check another location for the truck I reserved, he said no nothing he could do. He showed no concern over the mistake and flatly asked if I could back the truck out of the lot. Uhmm, no I don't think so, I told him I can't drive one that big and I don't need one that big and he just goes back inside. A while later while I'm discussing what to do with my husband and honestly freaking out, he came back out and said he gave me the wrong keys and like I told him the 26' was the wrong truck and directed me to the correct 15' truck I reserved.

Kelly W. 
Rating:
5.0

I truly appreciate Crystal Smith and her staff . There very friendly and kind and caring to their customers . Great team. God bless each and every one of them.

SARAH S. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David R. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David R. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Richard S. 
Rating:
1.0

So, we initially booked our U-Haul for 24/7 pick up through the app at 5:00am. We get to the location at 4:50am and we can't check out our truck, it says we have to wait until 7:00am when the store opens. (First inconvenience) We called the hotline, and spoke with a woman who said that she WOULD REFUND US $50 to our U-Haul account and make a new reservation and that she would make a note. So we ride back home 19 miles, and then drive back to U-Haul at 6:59am. We didn't get serviced until 7:45am. A lady stepped out of her vehicle and said that she would get to us but her manager is late/has not shown up. He finally showed up and the first thing out of his mouth is, “I'm not even supposed to be here.” Finally, we in the process of getting the truck, I'm told there is a $100 deposit, NOBODY MENTIONED THIS PREVIOUSLY. I paid it, anyways. Lastly, we finally bring the truck back, and check it in. I ask the check in clerk could she honor my $50 credit for my inconvenience and she told me she didn't know how. I asked another manager at the store, he told me he didn't know how either. He took my name, # and email address down, but he has yet to contact me and follow up. I'm very disappointed in my experience. The check in clerk was respectful but I felt like so much of my time was wasted at this location. It was very displeasing.

Courtney M. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly and efficient- check in and check out fast and the employees excellent. If I owned this location I would be very pleased with the effort

BRADFORD L. 
Rating:
1.0

This location did not open on a time. A regional manager of some kind had to come to inform us that she wouldn't be able to open the store up, but would be able to help out once the person with the keys arrived. Once we were finally checked in and given our trailer, we were told to wait for help to get the trailer attached properly. We went inside, and the worker who had shown up late was talking on his phone, ordering chicken, and told us that we “could attach it ourselves.” Therefore, the trailer was not properly connected for the first few miles of our drive. We were able to solve the issue, however, and make our trip safely. But this location (aside from the regional manager, who was doing her very best to help the flood of customers in line), was unprofessional and unhelpful.

Geoff K. 
Rating:
1.0

This location did not have a manager show up to open the store till almost 8am when multiple customers showed up for 7am pickups. My own issue with this is my family and I were moving and were trying to get on the road ASAP and couldn't till almost 3 hours later.

Stephen M. 
Rating:
5.0

I enjoyed my rental. I just wished there was pricing for inclement weather. Because I needed to keep mine for an extra day.

Akkia T. 
Rating:
1.0

Was over charged

GARY C. 
Rating:
1.0

Please make sure staff is trained well enough so that they check the fleet to make sure it is available before customers arrive. This was an online reservation and I arrived 10 minutes early for pickup only to be told that there wasn't a truck available for my reservation. Told to call 800-GO-U-HAUL and after speaking with 3 individuals was told that the truck was sitting on the lot the entire time. Meanwhile, the 1st individual stated that the system showed that I was late picking up the vehicle when I called them less than 30 minutes while still at the facility. On site employees stated that truck was out of system for maintenance, but never checked to make sure that truck was actually ready for rent, especially when the rental was made and showed availability a week and 3 days prior to actual rental date. Employee stated that one needs to check availability on online orders, but it lets you know availability before confirming the order. There was also another customer that had the same experience and they stated that their rental was scheduled an hour before mine.

Christopher E. 
Rating:
5.0

Thank you I wanted your equipment twice this month and it went very smooth thank you for your professional service

John E. 
Rating:
5.0

These guys are on top of it! They gave me a great experience. Excellent pick up and returned in good condition. Agent checked me out at return in under two minutes. Only minor complaint: The included padlock on the truck was bent/broken and should be replaced.

Brett C. 
Rating:
5.0

Both of the men were very helpful.

martha B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Barbara M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tara H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jerry H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

debra H. 
Rating:
4.0

The employees were very personable and experts in their field

Ceasar L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nicole J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Melanie B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John B. 
Rating:
5.0

Great experience. The staff was very pleasant and made renting and returning the truck easy. I would definitely recommend the downtown location.

Margaret W. 
Rating:
1.0

I called before pickup time to cancel and was charged for rental. I called again and was told it would take 30 days for a refund???????? WHY WAS CARD RUN BEFORE PICKUP

ROBERT Z. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SHELBY H. 
Rating:
5.0

The employees was great at accommodating my needs and very polite.

JAMES A. 
Rating:
1.0

My experience has been a nightmare. Not only did I never receive the requested equipment but I returned the truck after 4 hours of use and you all have been making my life hell. You are charging out the ass for charges that your employees ran up. There's video proof that I returned your vehicle but despite reviewing the footage you play ignorant. Even law enforcement found your local store to be incompetent. You need to fire the general manager. Make your employees wear uniforms and get a better return system in place.

Leslie S. 
Rating:
3.0

The vehicle was poorly cleaned. The windows were dirty and hard to see and the mirrors were also dirty.

SARAH B. 
Rating:
2.0

Good Morning, (1) The truck had one windshield wiper that was functional; the other windshield wiper was pointed away from the windshield and had no blade. (2) The windshield glass was filthy. (3) The location did not have the moving blankets I reserved. (4) The location said they had the dolly and hand carts, but did not place them in the vehicle. When I arrived at my move-out location, I discovered the absence of the equipment. When I called the store location, they said they no longer had the equipment. Please adjust my bill so I am not charged for these items. Thank you, Christopher Donovan

Christopher D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Carla G. 
Rating:
5.0

The agent who serviced me made my day 🤣 My kudos for her

keith S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Greg V. 
Rating:
5.0

Great job, excellent customer service from each team member. Only problem I had was that appliance dolly requested was unavailable

Tony M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

roger K. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tammy D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Cedric C. 
Rating:
1.0

Was lied to about price was told I was paying a 300 dollar deposit and come to find out it was not a deposit and qas charged 700 dollars to drive 289 miles.

earl M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ruel L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Edward M. 
Rating:
5.0

Service is always great at this location.

Molly C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kateland G. 
Rating:
5.0

Always a positive and pleasant experience at the union location. The manager is very helpful and professional.

KINON K. 
Rating:
1.0

The truck had trash in it and was filthy. Despite the fact that we reserved a dolly, they did not have any and told us to buy one.

Jeremiah S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John K. 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brian M. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lucas B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Cynthia A. 
Rating:
1.0

Change the office , My 2nd visit in 60 days both were negative experiences !

Everett J. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph H. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing. The service was perfect.

Trena P. 
Rating:
1.0

I returned the truck with the gas hand on exactly what it was on when I received it and was charged for it. Never again at this location

Aleghsa H. 
Rating:
5.0

The App would not work and I was charged a full day when I only had it for 3 hours

WILLIAM H. 
Rating:
5.0

nothing. I love going there to rent your u-haul truck, they are very help ful,respectable and kind.thank you all for helping me.

Jessie C. 
Rating:
5.0

Definitely keep the young lady at the front desk who assisted me in my order. She was awesome!! Actually everyone there was very helpful and friendly!! I did have an issue with the fuel levels I left with and how I returned it. I was sent a link after I ordered to make sure the fuel level, mileage, etc was correct. I did not see that until I arrived at my daughter's apartment. I was asked by corporate to pull a 5x9 trailer back to Nashville and was offered a $25 credit to do so. The pickup site could not get the computer side to work. We worked with it for about 30 minutes. There was no response from corporate to get it corrected. I even called after getting loaded to see if corporate had responded. Anyway, with all of that said, I missed the text to check the fuel before I left the site. I brought the truck back with more fuel than I was given; however, the computer setup had me being charged. I left and put in another $35 of fuel. It is just ironic that I was going to help out the company by pulling a trailer back and ended up losing out altogether. I did not check my text by being held up and distracted and then not getting to pull the trailer back. Just a bit frustrating that a perfect storm hit that ended up costing me about $55-$60.

Joey S. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DEVIN B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Corey T. 
Rating:
1.0

My equipment was not cleaned or ready for my arrival. As such, I was delayed and ended up having to pay additional money to my crew of movers that were waiting. Staff was rude and unhelpful. I've been working with corporate to help resolve the situation and so far have gotten nowhere after a week of being told this would be fixed. Please help!

Peter K. 
Rating:
5.0

I've been using UHAUL for at least 30 or so years always loved them and there prices!

Trina R. 
Rating:
5.0

The location is fine...but whomsoever in charge of office procedures is not doing a good job.

Joyce M. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jason R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ruby B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMES A.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Customer Service in the store was very kind! I would recommend this location and will return again! Giving out smiles makes them return smiles, the lady helping me was very sweet and took good care of me!

Jacquie R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John G. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Yvette G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KAYLA M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tammi T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jacob D. 
Rating:
1.0

The day before is was to pick up the truck in Southhaven, MS I received a call from an agent stating that I would have to pick it up on Union Street in Memphis, TN. One of the most dangerous parts of Memphis. I was very unsatisfied with the change in location. Also, the agent there did not give me a copy of the contract. I had to call uhaul, wait to speak to someone and they emailed me the contract.

John W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jay B. 
Rating:
5.0

Be a little more accurate on the gas amount in the tank at the time of picking up the vehicle.

Harry F. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bill B. 
Rating:
5.0

The only thing that was inconvenient for me was the hours that I could access my unit. I just wished it was 24 hours. This didn't affect my decision to stop using storage, I finally found a place to call home. I absolutely loved the staff at this location. The manager should get a raise, she's just the best. Once, I forgot to lock my unit and left the door open. She put a lock on it for me until I came back again. I felt like she was always willing to work with me if I was late, maybe it was the policy but she made me feel like she was looking out for me. I will miss chatting with her. Thanks for letting me use the storage. Also, I frequently rent your trucks and I'll say It's always hassle free and effortless, except the hauling furniture part. Thanks Again!

eMILY A.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christopher R.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
1.0

They changed me for 2 storage when I want to other u haul and they told me that they will give me one price once but a storage if I need more room. They give me 2 small storage when I had a 3 bedroom house and living room and den it wasn't a offer move and I move out on the march 1 and they still charge me to move out I will never came back to U-Haul to order me a storage never again if you only have something small you should give a person one price on a storage I'm only going to order a truck from our

Tiffany M.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Mrs. Crystal is the best.

Timara F.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

naomi n.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

NIGA S.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
2.0

Wen i made it to my drop off location the managers insisted I could not the discount offered to me. After 30 minutes I received the discount. Next, I was told at my drop off location I had until 7 pm to finish unloading to turn in my rental equipment. i was done near 6 and the office was still open. As I was standing behind a customer I pulled out of line and told I was not to expect a refund in cash although I paid in cash.i was asked for a receipt but had not checked the Renta equipment in yet. I received the run around. After I stated how I really wanted my money I left the office when I tried to come back in I was treated in a hostile manner while being stopped at the door. The Uhaul company on Union Avenue. The GM Crystal called was very unresponsive.I was stereotyped.i was told I couldn't enter the store due to me being upset with the service.i asked to return the key to my truckand was told I couldn't receive a invoice a piece of paper that shows at least I did return the equipment. I couldn't get any respect unless I was the white man in front of me who's received sympathy for his car being stolen although I had just traveled over 300 miles with two little kids and little no help unloading or loading my home. This is false advertising by uhaul and complete discrimination by the assistant manager who the GM Mom when she called to get authorization to go forward with my first month of free storage. I will never recommend uhaul of Memphis on Union Avenue.they so wish washy and so clicked up you can't get your money back if a deposit was made at least I can't.

Laquinta P.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
4.0

This is my first time dealing with U-Haul’s storage facility and, I’m hoping this rental experience wil be everlasting.

LEROY E.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CINDY A.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
3.0

Should be able to rent after 3. The young man working at 4:30 on Thursday 9-2-21 was not helpful or polite. The ladies early morning on Friday 9-3-21 were helpful, polite & competent.

Chris R.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

They were so very helpful friendly and very nice with their customers and I recommend that everyone on this shift get a raise

naomi n.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
2.0

The most rude and unprofessional staff I have ever e8. I have never been to an establishment where employees were so out of line. It stinks that these people seem to not like their jobs, but don't take it out on the customer...honestly this location need a makeover with employees or to be completely shut down. I have don't business with Uhaul many times. This experience takes the cake and Iwill be considering other options in the future for my moving and storage needs.

Ashley C.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
2.0

For the price that it cost me to store my items in the storage it wasn't really well kept. I had over $500 in damaged items. There was nice that got into the unit and ate threw my brand new mattresses and urinated on them. They ate kids clothes toys electronics and even toiletries like powder and soaps. I didn't think that having everything packaged in plastics and boxed down would still cause so much damage. I had this unit from July 2019 to Jun 2021 and the price went up and the maintenance went down. This was an awful experience and u-haul must do better. I still have went through everything as of yet but I know there may be more damaged items bsce some boxes are covered in rat feces and urine. Thanks one of your valued customers

Keoka B.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Monroe R.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Ms. Crystal, and the rest of the U-Haul employees are an awesome group of respectable personnel. Great job putting this crew together.

Everleana J.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lisa P.  |  Online Move In 
Rating:
5.0

Great staff and storage location!

james g.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
3.0

I moved out on January 18th and I am still being sent rental bills for February, now with late fees. It's been two and a half weeks - what gives, Crystal?

KIM H.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Crystal help me to get in quick and out quick with a 15' Truck and gave me a storage unit to store my furniture. She did an excellent job

ONeil J.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

I’ve truly had a stellar experience at this location. The entire staff have been helpful and have given me great customer service no matter what!

nefertiti o.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

The knowledge and expertise gives me confidence when moving and using Uhaul. And customer service is always outstanding!

KOZETTA T.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

The staff and management are always personable, professional, respectful, and knowledgeable. It makes my life easier!

KOZETTA T.  |  First Impressions 
Rating:
5.0

Manager Crystal made my moving experience positive, was always available to answer questions, and kept a great attitude every time. Best customer service I’ve had in a very long time from any company.

OLIVIA B.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
4.0

I could never get in my storage unit and it was way to expensive.

Shawona H.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
1.0

My card for my unit does not work

Jasmine M.  |  Reservation 
Rating:
1.0

I reserved a storage space, but when I arrived to unload the moving truck the space had been leased. The uhaul facility had nothing else available and basically told me "good luck".

Michael D.  |  Reservation 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent service and staff

JUANITA R.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
4.0

I would recommend you facility to anyone looking for storage or moving supplies.

lori w.  |  Overall Experience 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Self-Storage

    We have the most coverage in North America!

  • Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

  • Trailer Hitches

    U-Haul is North America's #1 hitch installer!

  • Propane

    Propane service delivered straight to your door!

  • Trucks for Sale

    We have the largest selection in the industry!

  • History

    We have an adaptive reuse program to better the environment!

Back
To Top