Customer Reviews for Z Auto
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

135 reviews

8874 Seminole Trail   Ruckersville, VA 22968

(434) 985-1199

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 10:30 am - 5 pm
  • Sat-Sun: 12 pm - 5 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 6/13/2021: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
  • 6/20/2021: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
  • 6/27/2021: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
  • 7/4/2021: Closed
  • 9/6/2021: Closed
  • 11/25/2021 - 11/26/2021: Closed
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021 - 1/1/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(434) 985-1199

8874 Seminole Trail
Ruckersville, VA 22968

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 10:30 am - 5 pm
  • Sat-Sun: 12 pm - 5 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 6/13/2021: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
  • 6/20/2021: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
  • 6/27/2021: 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
  • 7/4/2021: Closed
  • 9/6/2021: Closed
  • 11/25/2021 - 11/26/2021: Closed
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021 - 1/1/2022: Closed
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Good customer service

WHITNEY B. 
Rating:
5.0

Great, just a little far away

MARK L. 
Rating:
4.0

The young lady that check me in was very nice. The truck I got should have been traded a long time ago. It had over 150,000 miles on it, sounded like it was going to come apart and rode like a log wagon. The windows were dirty.

ROGER C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

WHITNEY B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Hector G. 
Rating:
2.0

The 10 foot truck I reserved on April 5th for pickup in Charlottesville on May 17 was not available anywhere in Charlottesville. What is the point of a reservation?? To get a 10 foot truck I had to drive to another city 20 miles away. A bigger truck would not fit in the crowded alley near the university where we needed to load up. I was told by Ann at the UHaul 800 number that I could use my phone to pick up my 10 foot truck at 8:00 a.m. on Monday May 17 in Ruckersville. I drove all the way from Charlottesville VA to a Ruckersville VA. to be there at 8:00 a.m. but when we tried to use the app, we were told that that truck not eligible for remote pickup. Wasted two hours on a busy moving day because of faulty information by UHaul. Extremely upsetting and would not trust you with my move again.

ELANA W. 
Rating:
5.0

The vehicle was well-maintained but NOT as clean as it should've been. There was a beer bottle in the cab and a used insulin syringe in the passenger side.

CHRISTOPHER H. 
Rating:
5.0

Always friendly staff, thanks!!!

STEVEN P. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GREGORY W. 
Rating:
1.0

Rented me a smaller truck than 15 feet.

KRISTEN B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dennis T. 
Rating:
3.0

The orange key drop box was broken and the signage was confusing as to where you needed to drop off the key after hours

Erika R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ryan L. 
Rating:
5.0

N/a

DEREK L. 
Rating:
1.0

I understood I would be charged for the gas I used but a $30 extra refueling fee on top??

BRIAN L. 
Rating:
4.0

Footwells and inside of truck were covered in muddy footprints. Had to clean before putting our furniture in the truck.

John B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ERNESTINE P. 
Rating:
5.0

Give Jenn a raise. She was able to accommodate me and another customer with the same pickup. She was personable and friendly. I now have my rental place as long as I live in Greene County.

DEBORAH B. 
Rating:
5.0

This is the third time renting a u haul trailer. Each time, there was something wrong with the trailer. The first time, I had to fix one of the running lights. The second time, the trailer had a bad wheel - - it was rusty and the valve stem was leaking air. The third time, another bad running light and a bolt that held the body to the tongue was missing. I had the fix that before the trip. It seems there should be some sort of periodic inspections of these trailers by somebody who knows these things.

WILLIAM S. 
Rating:
1.0

Not charge people for things they don't ask for.

Bob O. 
Rating:
5.0

I woul like to speak to someone about the payments charged to card. We are in a pandemic and have been been charged with no where to move almost 700$. Due to a slum lord. Not being responsible his property and harassing and slandering my name should be responsible. We have a child with nowhere to go. And need help. Someone please cal me at 434-987-8100

Jeremy J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ERIC N. 
Rating:
3.0

The bathroom was far from the office and unclean and lacked toilet tissue and the toilet clogged.

JESSICA C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

WENDY H. 
Rating:
5.0

The employee was very helpful answering all our questions and getting us out the door quickly.

Robert C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

WILLIAM S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SIKANDER K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Chasity H. 
Rating:
2.0

I was very uncomfortable having to use a drop box and not have a human contact on either side of this rental. The passenger seat in the van was covered in dog hair and the side window was covered in slobber! I returned this vehicle with more gas than what it had to start so I felt the extra six miles should have been waived- but without anyone there in person I couldn't even discuss this.

Dotty P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Todd M. 
Rating:
2.0

Significant issues with 24/7 check in had me out in the cold on the phone with Uhaul for almost an hour. App was terrible. Solution on my second call to Uhaul was to have me go through web browser rather than App. People who helped were very nice but check in was Very inconvenient and set me off schedule for my weekend move.

Mike F. 
Rating:
5.0

can't improve on perfection, both ladies checking vehicle out and in were very professional

PHILIP T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SAMEDSEN J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KATIE B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CATHY J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Erin G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Daryl P. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy drop off.

Gina G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customers need to make sure they clean up after themselves!

CHRISTINE R. 
Rating:
5.0

Reps were great at both the pickup and drop off locations.

Richard A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kevin B. 
Rating:
4.0

First time using 24/7 or this location, was accurate to what I was told to expect. Unrelated to the location, 24/7 needed two sources (such as an alternate contact AND a passport!?) to security check, which is a little overkill and not always possible for the customer.

Matthew H. 
Rating:
4.0

Drop off took no time at all but the person at the Ruckersville location was not capable of unhooking the car hauler. Another none issue with me because I was able to unhook the car hauler myself.

Dennis C. 
Rating:
4.0

Missing dolly as requested but overall everything else was fine. Would recommend.

Ashley W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

EDWIN FRANKLIN H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeremy N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ZAHERR SINAN K. 
Rating:
4.0

Would have rated excellent BUT I was not informed of the "pre-drive away" inspection requirement. When I stopped to top off the fuel, the link was inactive. Kept me wondering the whole trip what I'd get blamed for.

CARL THOMAS A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JUSTIN T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sarah L. 
Rating:
5.0

I ordered a 20' truck ahead of time, and it was prepped and ready when we came to pick it up. The drive was comfortable, the truck easy to drive, and it held the 2-bedroom boxes and furniture with room to spare. I was very pleased with the service and thought the price was reasonable for a 4-day rental. Thanks to the Ruckersville, VA U-Haul service for all they did!

William R. 
Rating:
5.0

My emailed contract is a bunch of gibberish.

ROBERT C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Charles B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kevin G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Max D. 
Rating:
3.0

Make sure the contract is correct before trying to leave the customer.

Michelle D. 
Rating:
4.0

I was very frustrated by the check-in & check-out experiences overall. I had to take pictures of everything, via my phone, even with my other truck which we picked up during regular hours. It felt like using a giant vending machine. I did not get the amount of pads I requested & -via again my mobile device on-line- had to make notes about it. I like u-haul overall & have used them multiple times but these experiences left me "drained," especially as it took up to much time needed for actual moving. Separately, this location is not easy to get in & out of & a map posted for exiting with the farther driveway would be beneficial.

Kirsten C. 
Rating:
4.0

Truck was clean. But did not run well missed very badly. And could definitely use a new shocks. Road very very rough.

Thomas P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Helen M. 
Rating:
2.0

Make sure all lock boxes work so customers can easily And quickly access their keys

Dylan W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Terri K. 
Rating:
3.0

There was a couple "living" in our u-haul. Luckily they were not in the back when we drove off however "everything they owned was." When we returned the truck they were waiting and very appreciative we had returned their items back to the truck.

Nathan T. 
Rating:
1.0

don't tell a customer is only $40 to keep the uhaul 1 more day, then charge them $157. I also requested a follow up about these charges and was not contacted, so i have submitted a credit dispute with my credit card company. very poor experience, i will likely not use uhaul again if they don't take care of this charge and will also refer all those under my influence through social media to avoid uhaul and go with the competition.

ZACHARY H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Donald N. 
Rating:
1.0

I had such a hard time with Uhaul on this particular move. I made reservations to get the truck a month ago and just hours before I needed to go pick it up my truck you are canceled and said the truck wouldn't be there. It seem like every week something changed with my reservation which I thought I confirmed over and over again and back to the phone and all of the Customer Service agents. I was told I was going to receive a discount for the trouble that I had been through. And the girl in Ruckersville had no mention of that on her end. Also she charged me for 240 some miles when I only drove 172 miles. So I was overcharged and overcharged and overcharged. I would never recommend Uhaul to anyone. Ms. Trenchard

Catherine T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kenitra W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kevin M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Courtney P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

robin C. 
Rating:
5.0

very nice and easy, no changes

david D. 
Rating:
5.0

The Madison location is 15 miles closer to my home than Ruckersville, so I ended up paying for 30 more miles than I would have. I ordered the truck from Madison and corporate moved my reservation to Ruckersville. Perhaps we should have split the difference on the increased cost of mileage and gas.

Harold W. 
Rating:
5.0

There was a lot of space to maneuver the vehicle with a tow, and this honestly made my day. Fantastic. Oh actually I would have liked it if there were a sign that said “u-haul drop off” or something related, because I found it a bit difficult to find the place, but aside from that, it was really nice how much parking space there was. There was just enough space to where I didn't need to unlatch the tow or anything and I could just park the truck and tow as one piece, and it wouldn't block any passageway. Dream come true

Samuel T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Taylor J. 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly staff.

scott L. 
Rating:
5.0

I couldn't get radio to come on for my 3-4hr trip. My relative did get radio to work, as we were preparing to RETURN truck... oh well.

Mary W. 
Rating:
5.0

With z auto I dont think there is any improvement is needed very nice people and very helpful.

Joyce B. 
Rating:
4.0

Very friendly and nice. Again we did not like the new system. We had to insist on this drop off location after we were assigned a location 30 minutes away from where we needed to be! The operators don't know to local area and it's ridiculous to have them assign what works for the individual renting the equipment.

Pamela M. 
Rating:
3.0

Horrible experience. Broken wind shieldbrakes we're going out. Not to mention charged my account 2 separate times when it was not too suppose to. Will NOT RECOMMEND!!

Taylor S. 
Rating:
3.0

They were not open when I arrived, showed up well after the listed opening time, and had to go through the whole rental process a second time over the phone. Was not given a drop off location was told to look one up online.

David U. 
Rating:
5.0

Very helpful

EDWARD J. 
Rating:
3.0

Your check-in procedure was better and faster, though I don't understand the need to take a picture of the trucks location, if gps already places at the store location.

Kenneth W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Shawn M. 
Rating:
3.0

We had to keep the truck a few hours longer than normal due to some severe weather encountered on the trip. We returned the truck the day it was due. We did not receive notice that we were being charged for an extra day until I received an email on 8/13. The truck was returned 7/21. This email also mentions sending our outstanding balance to collections and is charging us a cleaning fee which we are disputing. It's hard to pay a bill if you are not notified that something is due! I am still waiting on a call back to correct this situation. We have rented several trucks from U-Haul in the past year and this is the first problem we've had. Please advise!!!

Charles M. 
Rating:
3.0

The location was still closed when I dropped off the truck and there were no problems returning the truck online.

Kenneth W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Janice A. 
Rating:
1.0

Return phone calls. Extend store hours to be open on Wednesday and Thursday.

jerry V. 
Rating:
5.0

She was so nice and easy to work with on our return, thank you!

Michele B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Natchada A. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Zuljaleel B. 
Rating:
3.0

Make sure the dolly and pads are in the truck

Shannon K. 
Rating:
5.0

The young lady assisted in the trailer disconnect and was very friendly. She inquired about my overall experience.

CURT G. 
Rating:
3.0

Location was clised when the truck was turned inn

russell B. 
Rating:
3.0

the pickup location was fine. the app was a pain to use and having to have multiple people called as "alternate contacts" was a disaster. I should have been notified that this would be required prior to trying to pick up the truck, so I could have people available who would answer the calls. Most people don't answer out of state calls that they don't recognize because these are usually telemarketers. Actually getting a truck was a TERRIBLE experience. Our original reservation was made 2-3 weeks prior to needing the truck. The day before, I get a call from Uhaul telling me that the closest truck was 100 miles away!. The woman I spoke to wasn't the least bit helpful. She wouldn't look elsewhere to try to find a closer truck. Adding 4 hours and 200 miles round trip to our move, which was only 200 miles itself was ridiculous. The lady became rude when I told her this wasn't acceptable. She said i could either take it or cancel the truck. That obviously wasn't an option as we were selling our house and had to be moved out. We also had movers scheduled. I decided to check what was available on the Uhaul website directly, since this lady couldn't be bothered with customer service. The website let me book a truck 10 miles away. Well, 20 minutes later, I receive another call from Uhaul telling me that truck I had just booked wasn't actually available and that none were available in a 75 mile radius. This lady was actually helpful and looked at several locations and different pick up dates/ times. She ended up finding a truck for us that was 35 minutes away, but we couldn't pick it up until the following morning. Not ideal, but acceptable. Unfortunately, that required us canceling our movers. We had to hire other guys at a higher cost. I also never saw any credit of $50 for the unavailable truck/having to change locations. Uhaul also charged me for extra mileage, which is ridiculous, since they were the cause of the extra miles. Just a REALLY bad experience overall. I would have cancelled the whole thing if we'd had any other choice. I will absolutely NOT be using Uhaul again. Truly AWFUL.

Ashley S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jose A. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steven M. 
Rating:
1.0

When I dropped off the truck I was 3 hours past the original drop off time. The lady said that the truck had to be cleaned inside the cab but I told her that it was even dirtier when I received it. The next day I checked my credit card statement and she charged me an additional 83 dollars. This is not right, I understand I was a few hours past the scheduled drop off but considering all the trouble I had to go through, I think the extra charge is ridiculous. I will NEVER use uhaul again!!!!

john G. 
Rating:
4.0

The people at the location are great... The App system you have is not really reliable. I had to run around in circles for over 90 minutes because your app license approval system for checking-in is lacking data bases for US territories. And by the time things got worked out, my reservation had expired so it took another round with customer service. Next time, I'll wait until the office is open. The 24/7 pick up option really isn't a viable option.

Joseph P. 
Rating:
5.0

Management was very understanding after some difficulties I experienced while I was moving my household. I was glad I went there.

SCOTT D. 
Rating:
5.0

Personnel was very helpful. We are very please.

Michael A. 
Rating:
3.0

think it is real crappy you charge more for cash should be lesss not as much bs

Phil S. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

Back
To Top