Food Stop (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Food Stop (U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

Share |

Address

1901 Wadsworth Blvd
Lakewood, CO 80214

(303) 985-4243

Driving directions

Features  

  • 24 hour dropoff

Customer Reviews for Food Stop

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Testimonials from recent customers of Food Stop

Overall rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them

Jerry S. on 12/14/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Did not have the furniture dolly as requested. Was forced to go to three other stores to eventually get one. Frustrated with my U-Haul experience.

NICK W. on 12/4/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Attendants couldn't process my reservation and had to enter it as a walk-in. This process took 40 minutes for me to get my truck.Truck had cups still in the cup holders and trash in both the cab and box, and then they overcharged my mileage.

Katie F. on 11/30/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It would have been nice to have a quick explanation of how the truck worked since I have never used one before. But it worked out fine.

RENE M. on 11/4/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing everything when very well.

Annette S. on 10/4/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Dave at Food Stop was very nice and got us on the road with our truck quickly even though he was taking care of customers buying gas and convenience items, too. Returning the truck was quick and easy, too.

Mariel H. on 8/30/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The gentleman who helped us was incredibly friendly and helpful.

Stephanie L. on 8/2/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The woman who made my reservation on the phone was very short with me and didn't say anything to me about different insurance types. The pick up location was very odd for a moving truck and didn't make me feel comfortable. The man who signed me in was not very helpful, when I asked if I could add another driver, he insisted not to because it would take too long and he kept stopping the process to sell cigarettes and drinks to other customers because the pick up location was a gas station/food stop where he was the only employee. I would never recommend this location to anyone and probably won't use Uhaul again after this even though it's always been my go-to for moving in the past.

Colin W. on 6/25/2016
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Nice enough guy. Location was c-store. As he was by himself, no equipment walk thru. Contract paperwork consisted of a single sheet. No folder or other documentation included.

Russ H. on 6/24/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Excellent experience! I was able to use and return the car dolly out side of their operating hours.

JONATHAN Y. on 6/21/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

A bit confusing at first, not sure the guy behind the counter was there for uhaul as well, but when he did come over he was great and made the drop.off experience quick and easy. Also a plus it was at a gas station.

Penny N. on 5/19/2016
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Person working at store named Kevin provided excellent customer service! He waited on us quickly and was very friendly.

Kim T. on 5/13/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Staff thorough and willing to assist customer. Thanks

Anthony P. on 4/4/2016
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Please make process quicker.

Keith B H. on 4/2/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Fast drip off, no problems at all.

LISA M. on 2/9/2016
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Nothing---you've done fine already. Thanks!

Timaree B. on 2/6/2016
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I just had an awful experience at this Uhaul location. The man that helped us outright lied to us about the reservation I had. PRINT YOUR CONFIRMATION IF YOU WANT TO GET WHAT YOU ASK FOR. He charged us for two of the three dollys on our reservation but when we went to collect both the utility dolly and appliance dolly he tried to say we only paid for the smaller one. After showing him the receipt HE HAD JUST HANDED us he relented and let us take both. But when asked about the furniture dolly he said we hadn't asked for it. I have my original printed reservation confirmation that says otherwise. I didn't feel like fighting him on it so we left the store front. Only to then get in the cab of the UHaul and be absolutely disgusted. The previous renters had left trash and cigarettes everywhere in the cab (I'm sure the review doesn't allow pictures because of this very reason!!! I would love to share what I have) Hugely disappointed in the whole process, but cant do much now as we have to get stuff done! DO NOT RENT FROM THIS LOCATION IF AT ALL POSSIBLE!!!

Rob C. on 12/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Best U-Haul experience Ive ever had!

Justin L. on 12/3/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Several different issues regarding this Uhaul truck rental. First, the truck was unavailable at the requested location of 5059 Ward Rd. and it was not communicated to me until I was at that location that the truck pick up would actually be at 1901 Wadsworth Blvd. Upon arrival at the Food Stop location at 1901 Wadsworth I asked if I would be able to return the truck to the initially requested pick up location of 5059 Ward Rd and they stated that would be no problem at all. At that time I stated that I would be returning the equipment to the other location. The employee then continued to have issues regarding the check out process but was eventually able to process the request. The truck was great and worked well for our moving needs. After finishing the move I refilled the truck with the same amount of fuel as it had when I initially picked it up and returned it to the stated location of 5059 Ward Rd and followed the after hours drop off process. Then after checking the credit card I noticed an additional Uhaul charge of $359.15 had been charged to the card. At that point I contacted the Uhaul customer support and was told that this additional charge was a fee for returning the truck to the wrong location. I then filled a complaint and requested additional follow regarding the issue. I was then contacted by a manager Lorenzo Nagel which I explained the situation to and was told that since the contract was setup in the mannerism which it was there was nothing that could be done. At this point I am in the process of following up with Tavis Larson which is the Denver marketing company president (MCP) for additional clarification and resolution. I completely understand if there is a fee associated with returning a truck to a different location but find it completely unacceptable that the employees at the initial pick up location were unable to or did not know how the process of a different location drop off worked or could not communicate the process to the renter.

David A. on 12/1/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Great service. Friendly people and excellent service in hooking up the trailer.

SZANNE R. on 11/25/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Terrible traffic on this road at rush hour. Very difficult to get to. No hitches or equipment sold at this location so I had to wait until the next day to get a hitch and then return. Wish booking had made that clear. But booking did make it up to me with an extra day.

Psyche S. on 10/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Easy access, very quick process and very friendly.

Kayden P. on 10/26/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

There was some confusion when I got the the rental place. Somehow a bunch of dollies and blankets were added to my order. That took a long time to figure out. The man helping me was very kind and thorough. Service was a little slow, but I'd rather have a slow, kind, and thorough experience than a rushed and grumpy one.

PATRICIA M. on 10/18/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The location was great. We grabbed a cup of coffee and we didn't have to wait long for our truck. They had it clean, unlocked and ready to go. The shop owners and staff were nice and answered all of our questions.

JESSICA C. on 10/15/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The drop off was the easiest part.

Dan L. on 9/27/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

No complaints. Used for an in town move. Fast efficient. Easy load and unload. Thanks.

RICHARD G. on 9/11/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

It was arranged to drop off the rental in Evergreen, CO at a Subaru Repair Shop. Unfortunately their lot was full so I had to take it to another location in Bergen Park, CO. Getting to the upper parking lot with a trailer was tricky due to the way the driveways were designed. "Food Stop" in Lakewood, CO was never mentioned by any of the U-Haul representatives I spoke with. Other than this minor inconvenience, I had a good experience.

DAN S. on 9/9/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

helpful friendly effective

JOHN K. on 9/3/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The truck cab was completely dirty. The dashboard said that the truck needed an oil change. It sputtered as drove. The key didn't work, resulting in it taking us 40 minutes to get the truck off the lot. When I called about these complaints, I had a terrible customer service experience. The first time I called I was hung up as soon as my call transferred. The second time I called, I was transferred to scheduling successfully, but I was put on hold for 20 minutes with no one answering me when I asked if anyone was there. The third time I was transferred to scheduling in the wrong area, then transferred back to the department that put me on hold for 20 minutes. The women I spoke to was completely unprofessional, kept taking over me, did not want to hear my complaints, and told me that if my truck was having issues in the city I was in that she would charge me extra to drop it off at a closer location! I called as a favor, despite all of the issues I was having! The truck was obviously driving poorly, I wanted to save it the extra miles and drop it off closer as a favor to you!! And I get treated the worse I have ever been treated by a company. I will no longer bring my companies business to you. I was a fan of U haul, and I wanted to bring it into my business by using you to deliver materials to my job sites. It would have been a lot of work, but today's experience and that women in scheduling's complete lack of common courtesy makes me want to bring my business elsewhere from here on out.

BRIAN U. on 9/2/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Umm, I wouldn't put my dog or anyone in another uhaul truck! Our precious family of five broke down while heading down the mountains in Tennessee. We had no barriers to protect us from the traffic barreling down the highway around the curve that we had just driven around. Later we searched the history of the truck. It had broke down for the exact same thing 4 times previously! Our family of 5 was given this truck to drive across the country from Colorado to the low country of South Carolina. The break down nearly caused a crash on the highway which could have caused people to die or to be badly injured. We were towed to a hotel causing us to be majorly delayed arriving in SC. My husband lost work. Therefore, we lost hundreds of dollars. Then when we got the truck fixed and were able to fer get to SC, we brike down again on the way to turn it in. They had already assigned it to another family to use. We came in like a ball of fire and told them they had better not send that truck out! When we spoke to uhaul about the situation, all they would offer us was a $20 voucher for the next time we use uhaul! That is such a slap in the face! We will never give them another dime! Do not use uhaul! They are dangerous and do not care about your safety.

WENDY P. on 8/31/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

When I returned the Uhaul I left a rug in the back which I meant to drop off at the post office on my return and I forgot. When I realized I had done so they said that there wasn't a rug in there. I know for a fact that there was but I can't prove it. I also couldn't ever reach anyone st this store at anytime. I had to go thru the 800 number each time.

David L. on 8/11/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Not much room or supplies. Location is a gas station.

nicole m. on 8/8/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Clerk was the only one working and did a great job balancing helping me and running the convenience store as well. Thank you

AShley M. on 7/20/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

First off, the representative that hooked up my trailer did not hook it up correctl. The trailer slipped off the ball of the hitch. We almost lost the car and the incident could have been extremely harmfull to all of us that were by the trailer as we were loading the car on to the trailer. He did not make sure that the lights work nor did he chain the trailer correctly. I am extremely concerned about the opperations of this location and I would suggest investigating the workers product knowledge and physical ability before someone gets hurt.

DONNA M. on 6/29/2015
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I received no documented acknowledgement that I returned the trailer. For all I know you are still billing me thinking I either stole it or didn't turn it in!

TOMAS P. on 6/7/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The site was great! However, trying to use the self dropoff was terrible. It wouldn't let me upload the picture. The odometer input was way too user unfriendly. Finally the website kept booting me off and making me start over. So I decided to call uhaul customer service which first thing up on me and the second time gave me a message about Christmas in June. The drop off system needs a lot of work.

CHARLOTTE H. on 5/19/2015
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

John was very helpful in assisting us with the return of the rental truck. There was problems with the computer when we returned the truck. He had the courtesy to call with the mileage charge that would be added to our credit card and let us know the return was complete.

Keith F. on 3/25/2015
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When I arrived, there was no record of my reservation or advance paper work, which I put fault on the U-haul website. There was no appliance dolly, and the owner tried to give me a regular dolly for the appliance dolly! The p.m. Attendant made up for it on his own initiative, and I give him credit , but not U-haul. Get your act together, U-Haul!

Kathryn P. on 2/1/2015
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Checking is was a little slow as the person had to also work the cashier for the gas station. He was a very nice person though!

Brian S. on 1/28/2015
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Had to wait 30 minutes while people bought cigarettes, etc. Truck windshield was frozen with ice.

Joseph G. on 12/26/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

First of all you can make sure that everything on the truck works whenever the customer takes the truck. And what I mean by everything is windshield wipers, windshield fluid,breaks. This is the worst experience I've ever had secondly it took me two hours just to get the truck rented when I had a reservation already made payment was a pain in the but my overall experience was just terrible.

JOHN K. on 11/22/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The person who normally runs the UHAUL rentals, did not show up. So all my paperwork had to be reentered, and I was not given enough miles to make my trip.

breston l. on 11/2/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I called the location at 830 Wadsworth Blvd., Lakewood, CO. They did not have a rental for me so the agent reserved one at the 1901 Wadsworth location. The agent told me that the price for the 20' truck would be $29.95, she proceeded to tell me the price three additional times. I was very disappointed to find out the price was actually $39.95 when I picked up the vehicle. I would appreciate a call from a manager to discuss.

Ashly P. on 10/18/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

The location clearly was not familiar with renting trucks. The pick-up took over twenty minutes and the clerk didn't check the truck before we left to record any pre-existing damage. Additionally he didn't record the truck's mileage. We requested and paid for a furniture dolly and it was not in the truck. The clerks at the "Food Stop" still charged us for it, and when I mentioned it, he rudely responded that we'd gotten a mattress cover and so he'd just trade for it. ( The clerk that we picked the truck up from forgot to ring it up, and told us not to worry about it.) There was a price difference between the two and I pointed that out, and he told me he'd just give me cash from the register. I was not at all pleased with our experience. Moving is stressful anyway, and we didn't need this poor experience on top of moving. Next time, I'll go a few extra miles in order to patronize an actual Uhaul establishment, where I've previously had outstanding experiences.

Natalie R. on 9/17/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

1. the pickup location was a gas station and the attendant was the only one working so it took about 10min to get the contract and keys to the truck due to interruptions from the gas pumps 2. the truck had less than ¼ tank of fuel. The gage said it was less than 40 miles to empty. Apparently this is a common occurrence with uhaul. It’s wrong for multiple reason a) when you are renting a truck and moving, time is limited/precious and you don’t want to waste time fueling a rented truck before you have used it b) how do you return a vehicle with the same amount of fuel when you don’t really know how much fuel is in it to begin with, gas pumps don’t shut off at ¼ full. Honestly, this seems to be a shady business practice. One that I have seen with other rental companies which forces the consumer to over fuel the vehicle before returning it thus giving the rental company free fuel. 3. we went back in and brought the station attendant out to the vehicle to verify the fuel amount and he said he would adjust the contract to reflect the amount of fuel that was in the truck

Patricia O. on 9/9/2014
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

This location did not have a hitch or the adapter for the lights. Also, when I left to go buy a hitch, the worker did not check to see if I needed the light adapter which resulted in an additional trip to the store.

DAMON N. on 8/22/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Service was excellent, to improve, maybe have more electrical connections or trailor plugs available.

RAY P. on 8/4/2014
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Work harder at getting the customer a truck at their preferred location. Do not just default to a different location.

rita c. on 8/3/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This location was perfect for all our needs. The clerk was efficient, pleasant and through. There were computer issues (the computer would not accept my phone number, which I have had for over 30 years) but he was patient, kept us from getting impatient and everything worked out fine.

Joseph N. on 7/31/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Computer system didn't work so it took an hour + to pick up the truck while they worked with tech support. They were on a first name basis as this is a regular issue, so they tell me. Wiper washer didn't work so they gave me a gallon of fluid - I guess to throw at the window?, truck was very dirty - someone had a dog in the cab - it was covered in fur and stunk like wet dog (and worse) for 3 days. I had to clean and maintain the truck just to use it. Do not use this location

KERRY C. on 7/20/2014
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

the trailer I rented broke, the door feel off completely, Had to leave it for uhaul to pick up at camping location. Had to give away hundreds of $ of camping equipment and supplies and uhaul still charged my credit before discussing charges with me.

Jayme P. on 7/20/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

I waited for over a half hour for the keys to be given to me even though I had checked in online. The man who was helping me continuously took gas station customers after beginning to help me. He could not figure out how to finish my transaction and had to call someone else to come in to their shift early. I then had to wait for him to arrive and he figured it out within 2 minutes. I was very frustrated through this whole process as I had a time to be somewhere.

brian m. on 7/16/2014
Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Train these people on how to check in and check out!!!!!!!!!!!! Some dumb ass at Uhaul sent me to this Food Stop for a car dolley. They tried to rent me a truck when I had a reservation for a car dolley AND I TOLD HIM WHAT I WAS DOING, WTF!!!! No hitches available or light adapters. After 2 hours I finally got on the road. When I returned I had to leave before they finished checking me in because I was worried I may miss Christmas with my kids if I waited for them to figure it out. Hopefully I will not have to be calling tomorrow to take off an additional charge for another day rental?????? Next time I will NOT listen to a Uhaul rep and make my own reservations HOPEFULLY not Uhaul. Holy cow, this was a terrible experience today. OH GOOD LORD, Almost left this out..... The right tail light was out, no worries, just stop at your local auto shop and spend $20.00 plus to fix the tail light adapter. Sheesh, it would have been less money to call AAA!!!! Thank You Uhaul for the great experience today! The only good thing today was I had my 14 year old with me. WHY YOU ASK IS THAT GOOD???? Because EDUCATION is the most important thing right now for him, hopefully this left an impact on him!!!! DUMB people are not fun to deal with!! Good Luck, no stock purchasing with Uhaul in my future, I can promise that.

Edward M. on 6/29/2014
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Its a new program for this location. I think the process will be faster as the number of rentals increase. Both clerks were very friendly