Kentucky Distracted Driving Laws

Kentucky Distracted Driving LawsDistracted driving in the Bluegrass State is never a good idea. According to a study by the Kentucky Transportation Center, inattention, distraction and cell phone use are responsible for 43.1% of all collisions. Between 2004 and 2008 cell phone use was responsible for 331 fatalities in Kentucky. To help keep yourself and everyone else on the road safe you should avoid distracted driving. Here are the laws that Kentucky has for distracted driving:

Phone Calls While Driving

There is currently no statewide law for using cell phones while driving for most adults. Cell phone use is however banned for drivers under the age of 18 and for bus drivers. This law includes both hand held and hands free use.  Cities and municipalities in the state of Kentucky may also have their own civil codes regarding the use of cell phones while driving.

Another thing to remember is that although there in no statewide cell phone ban, you still have to drive carefully. According to KRS 189.290, “The operator of any vehicle upon a highway shall operate the vehicle in a careful manner, with regard for the safety and convenience of pedestrians and other vehicles upon the highway.”

Texting While Driving

Texting while driving is banned for all operators of motor vehicles. Unlike with cell phone calls, this applies for drivers of all ages. KRS 189.292 prohibits drivers from texting while their vehicle is in motion. The first offense will result in a $25 fine. Each additional offense is a $50 fine, and in all cases you will also be required to cover court costs.

You can learn more about all of the distracted driving laws in Kentucky at the Kentucky Office of Highway Safety.

The safety of yourself and others should be your first priority when you are on the road. If you’d like more information on distracted driving and how to prevent it, visit here: