Customer Reviews for Salem Hardware & Rental
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

305 reviews

115 Delmar Ave   Salem, IL 62881
(& Rte 50)

(618) 548-5612

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8 am - 4 pm
  • Sat: 8 am - 2 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021: 8:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021: 8:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 1/1/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(618) 548-5612

115 Delmar Ave
Salem, IL 62881
(& Rte 50)

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 8 am - 4 pm
  • Sat: 8 am - 2 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021: 8:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021: 8:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 1/1/2022: Closed
  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

They saved me a few dollars by suggesting a drop off point and they hitched it up for me.

lyle P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dan T. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Les P. 
Rating:
5.0

Very helpful!

JASON G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Earl H. 
Rating:
5.0

I dropped off the rental after hours but spoke to someone there before they closed, they were exceptionally accommodating and courteous, really pleasant to work with.

Johnathon M. 
Rating:
3.0

They could do an inspection on the lights a bit closer.

JESSIE S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John G. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jonathan L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mina W. 
Rating:
4.0

Very convenient.

roy H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tammy D. 
Rating:
5.0

The staff was very friendly and understanding as we had to travel 1.5/2 hours out of our way after driving 5 hours to our destination.

Jescelynne G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steve T. 
Rating:
3.0

It is not the locations fault but make the online 24/7 pickup easier and not expire after an hour.

Brandon P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ronald D L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Connor W. 
Rating:
5.0

No improvement needed.

John N. 
Rating:
5.0

Service was amazing

Curtis D. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing everything was great and they always make sure I get a Uhaul.

Jim G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mary N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

AMBER Y. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeanne L. 
Rating:
5.0

Thank you

MIKE M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dan T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steve T. 
Rating:
5.0

No improvement here necessary. They did an awesome job assisting me with getting the truck. Making sure I understood everything needed

DORIS D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Loren B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steven H. 
Rating:
5.0

This U-Haul location was excellent.

Michael R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Karen K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tim R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kelly S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DAVID B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

paul B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Richard P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Orlando R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mike A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dana K. 
Rating:
5.0

Awesome customer service!!! Matt is amazing!!!

Maureen W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

jerry K. 
Rating:
5.0

Great experience and had what was needed, when needed.

Kevin C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Patty F. 
Rating:
5.0

I have rented from this location several times. The people are always courteous and very helpful. Never had a bad experience. Would recommend to everyone.

Phillip J. 
Rating:
5.0

Turn in was very smooth. Easy to deal with . Knowledgeable and polite!

MICHAEL D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DaVenia F. 
Rating:
5.0

I do not have any comments about improvements as I thought the equipment pick up was easy and the staff well educated on getting the paperwork and equipment to me as soon as was possible.

randall B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dakota H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jane M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert T. 
Rating:
5.0

The location is fine. The uhaul trailer leaked and we had to dry contents twice due to rain.

Tracie S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSH S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DONNA G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

tommy P. 
Rating:
5.0

A little pricey to rent a trailer $360 for 1 way but $90 if I wanted to drive it back. You rent a trailer 10 times and its paid off in full

David R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tiffany B. 
Rating:
5.0

The guys at Salem Hardware went above and beyond to assist me

Phillip H. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Felicia F. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

jason R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jessica H. 
Rating:
5.0

Polite staff

Christina D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Daniel T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James H. 
Rating:
5.0

Fast friendly service

Brian H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kristen H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Reis R. 
Rating:
5.0

The dolly & moving pads I requested were not available.

phyllis M. 
Rating:
3.0

Notify people who have purchased additional items that they are not available prior to the day of pickup

William H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tracee M. 
Rating:
5.0

Got my rental in a friendly and timely manner. Have rented from you before. Really nice trailers.

John N. 
Rating:
3.0

Make sure equipment works

Bradley D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LAURA M. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sammy D. 
Rating:
5.0

They were very friendly & helpful. Couldn't have asked for more!

Marcia G. 
Rating:
2.0

Owner was nice enough but the employee was rude and made us feel like we were a nuisance. Never rented one before so we probably were a bit annoying with all our questions and he might have been having a bad day. I have been working with the public for 30 years and I understand "bad days". However I also know the customer "pays my paycheck". Rude and unfriendly =no more return customers and that = no job. The owner said we could just put key and contract into the "Return after hours" boxes and it was as easy as that. He did not mention the extra $20 charge to do it that way. Their printer only printed part of my contract and couldn't read the stuff that printed because it was so smeared with ink. They just said there was nothing they could do because it was the UHAUL website's fault, not their fault. They got 2 stars because I did get a truck and moved the things we needed to move. I will not drive 30 miles to rent/buy from them again. If you like friendly, professional Customer Service this is not the place to go.

Tara B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

EDWARD P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bonnie H. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dawn L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Carl W. 
Rating:
4.0

His rental was supposed to be one way. I was to pick up in Salem IL. and drop off in Iron county Missouri. When I picked up the trailer, I was told it was to come back to Salem hardware. I called the 800 number to try to straighten out this misunderstanding, or find another trailer. I spoke with several operator/ agents, none of which helped, they just kept putting me on hold. The last one I spoke with said they'd be right back and after 58+ minutes I hung up and got the original trailer and drove 10 hours the next day to return it. A full wasted work day for me, but obviously U-haul doesn't think my time is valuable.

Richard C. 
Rating:
4.0

Rented a cargo van and did not like that I had to pay a fee for insurance when my auto insurance covers rentals. This location had NO trailers for rent, not one!

JULIA L. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent service.

Matthew J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joyce B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jon W. 
Rating:
1.0

U-Haul... I had to drive 3 hrs to pick up and 1 hr to drop off truck. My location was only 40 mins away!! Very poor!!

Steve H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeff S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Greg F. 
Rating:
5.0

I have no issues. The Service in Salem Illinois was great. They got me on my way quickly and efficiently. Thanks to them

ronald S. 
Rating:
5.0

Very quick service.

DOUG M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mike H. 
Rating:
5.0

be able to get the truck needed even if they have to bring it from next town over

anthony B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jayson G. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BILL H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Daniel T. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Randa C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

anthony B. 
Rating:
5.0

very easy and smooth rental experience, Thanks

ROBERT P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

anthony B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lester K. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

  • Truck Sales Icon
    Trucks for Sale

    We have the largest selection in the industry!

Back
To Top