Customer Reviews for Johnny Vs Auto Sales LLC
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

116 reviews

206 Clinton St   Penn Yan, NY 14527

(315) 536-2353

Location Hours

  • Monday - Friday:
    9 am - 12 pm / 1 pm - 5 pm
  • Saturday:
    8 am - 12 pm
  • Sunday:
    Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021 - 1/1/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(315) 536-2353

206 Clinton St
Penn Yan, NY 14527

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Monday - Friday:
    9 am - 12 pm / 1 pm - 5 pm
  • Saturday:
    8 am - 12 pm
  • Sunday:
    Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/25/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021 - 1/1/2022: Closed
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Zvi S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mike S. 
Rating:
5.0

The folks at this location were very helpful. Initially I had inquired at this location about renting the trailer at the Knoxville location and returning to Penn Yan, one way. They were very helpful, then again upon my return. No issues.

Donald S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Andrew D. 
Rating:
5.0

Inspection of tires and replacement before blow outs would be helpful. None of 4 tires were in good condition. I wouldn't operate my own equipment in a similar condition. The replacement was fine it was new. Showed how bad the other 3 were.

Terry W. 
Rating:
5.0

Very professional and courteous.

Daryl B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert W. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything went very smoothly from ordering to pick up and drop off. The staff at both spots were helpful and professional..

James S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

George L. 
Rating:
5.0

a larger sign to the office / location would be helpful

Michael M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kevin P. 
Rating:
5.0

Make the pickup a little quicker

DAN L. 
Rating:
5.0

The entire process was very simple. The person that set up the order was very helpful and kind, hooking up the trailer and double checking everything before I left. The trailer pulled very well and was easy to maneuver. The gate on the back of the trailer is spring loaded, making it easy to let down as well as closing it. Well designed trailer for hauling a scooter with a built in front wheel chuck and a lot of d-rings for tie downs. This was the first time I rented a trailer and hauled a bike, and it went very well. Thank you!

Yaroslava P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DAVID B. 
Rating:
1.0

Make sure your equipment is up to par

Attilio C. 
Rating:
4.0

I made a reservation for the equipment 3 miles from my home. But when it came time to pick it up I had to drive to another dealer 40 miles away to get it. Then on return I had to return it to the more distant dealer. It seems they had plenty of time to get the equipment to the nearer dealer where I first made the reservation. Returned it a day early, but no reduction in cost

William S. 
Rating:
5.0

I rented a motorcycle trailer to bring my bike from Ohio. Jessica was great! Super nice and extremely helpful/informative. When I need to rent another trailer I will be coming back here.

Nate K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tammy Z. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Phillip S. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeremie S. 
Rating:
5.0

Great staff. Two minor mechanucals: passenger door would not open from the outside, and mirrors would not adjust.

Richard P. 
Rating:
5.0

Sign on street could have a little more info. The site was fine but it was way at the end of a driveway and not obvious. Perfectly clear what to do for drop off after hours once there.

JOHNALEXANDER G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMESP M. 
Rating:
5.0

Great customer service!!!!!!!

David S. 
Rating:
5.0

The drop off was easy, almost effortless. The only difficulty was finding the location, which is off the main road by some distance. The personnel in that office

Richard N. 
Rating:
3.0

I did an after hours pick up and the app did not work. I waited 18 minutes on the phone to get routed to another call waiting 25 minutes before I could get a person. The pick up process took an hour - all after needing to drive 70 miles since reservation I made 1 month prior was not actually available. This pick up part of the process was way too long. Once I got a person on a call, the pick up went smooth. The U-Haul phone support process is a real hassle - once a person answers they are super helpful, but you eat an eternity, maybe twice an eternity. Especially when I knew the first call was only to learn the second number I could call for help - yikes. PS Jonny Vs is first class - the comment is about automated pick up and getting any type of timely support. All in all the scheduling bollux and the long wait time used up 2.5 extra hours just to get the truck.

Sean A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dean G. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael B. 
Rating:
2.0

Hire staff that knows the job. First we were quoted one price for a one-way rental to Washington, DC -- then on arrival were told that it would actually cost 4 times the amount quoted ($300, as opposed to $75). Then the young attendant on duty -- who seemed just old enough to drive -- failed to securely attach the trailer to our ball hitch, leaving us on a country road with the trailer loose, lurching back and forth, and threatening to run into our car or roll into oncoming traffic. When we stopped, it turned out that only one of the three safety chains was still attached. So dangerous. We were forced to hook up the trailer again in the middle of the road and ensure that the mechanism locked. When we turned in the trailer, the attendant was amazed at the condition of the trailer, saying that the chains should have rubber coatings and shaking his head about the condition of the wires that attach the car lights to the trailer lights. (We ended up having to purchase a substitute cord while on the road.) All in all, a terrible experience that could have resulted in injury to us or other motorists.

KATRIN B. 
Rating:
4.0

Make sure the gas tank is full.

ROBERT S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michelle F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christa C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMESP M. 
Rating:
5.0

Zack was awesome and accommodating!!

Mark B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lisa W. 
Rating:
1.0

I called early (month) to make sure I had a truck and a unit, in the end they messed up my truck order then we went to the unit and they “SOLD” or unit so we could not get one. This has been the worst experience I have ever had. I was loyal to going to U-Haul but they will never be who I go to again.

Jacob G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James M. 
Rating:
5.0

They were very helpful and stayed a few minutes past closing to make sure I was all set!

Sara I. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Andrew B. 
Rating:
3.0

Truck was piece of crap Passenger would not open Steering irregular..hard to stay in lane Transmission irregular Had to stop day truck not dependable

DONALD M. 
Rating:
5.0

Not one issue with this truck pick up. The staff was friendly, efficient and offered some great tips about driving a truck of this of size with confidence. It is FAR from my location, but the customer service made it worth the trip.

Ilona R. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service! Definitely would recommend Johnny V's Auto sales for your U-haul rental needs.

Paul L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jean B. 
Rating:
5.0

Can't think of a thing. The staff was extremely polite and very efficient, the equipment was well attended and clean. Top shelf service!

Stephen H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Grady B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DAVID S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Beth R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Franz Leo A. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Billy S. 
Rating:
4.0

No issues at drop-off.

DAVID L. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Thomas E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KEVIN F. 
Rating:
2.0

Truck was wedged between a bus and another 26 ft truck .

Lyle L. 
Rating:
3.0

Pick up location was over an hour away and was notified the evening before I was to pick up trailer that my preferred location did not have my reservation despite reserving the rental online in advance. The location was fine and the personnel was supportive, but the communication/notification from U-haul was poor. I recommend assessing availability earlier in the day or the day before that way U-haul can transfer the trailer to at least within 30 minutes of desired customer location. 56 miles away was extremely too far.

Erika K. 
Rating:
5.0

The staff was very nice and helpful. It is a smaller location - wish they had more selection to pick from, but overall very good experience.

James D. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Greta L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jessica R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kenneth W. 
Rating:
5.0

I rent here exclusively because of the customer service.

DAVID T. 
Rating:
5.0

John and staff are great!

cathy F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tina B. 
Rating:
5.0

was a excellent rental.. everything smooth and orderly... had a small problem with the overhead door but it was addressed johnney on the spot by the agent. thx

James C. 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly staff, truck was spotless and drove well. Will use this location again for my rental needs.

Douglas B. 
Rating:
5.0

Wonderful customer service. Great location to rent U-Haul trucks.

Donald H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Philip B. 
Rating:
5.0

I have used Johnny V's before. I'm terrible at using apps but I go into the office and they take care of everything in person. Easy to use friendly service.

Will H. 
Rating:
5.0

Both locations were great. However, corporate customer service was awful and I will be contacting them further about the major issues that I had with them

Nate S. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing. Great Experience

Bruce E H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christopher M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael K. 
Rating:
5.0

The employers were friendly and very eager to help.

Kenneth W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Scott S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Donald H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark N. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

alan R. 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly agent helped me unhook

Dion J. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Curt M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Douglas K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DAVID B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Timothy S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Keith N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Amanda C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Martin S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael K. 
Rating:
4.0

Every time I have ever rented from UHaul, the rental process always takes way too long at the desk. This is true whether I complete the docs ahead of time online or not. Your data entry portal software must be terribly slow because there are long pauses by the customer service rep between entries. Improve your software, make it way faster and you will improve your customer service by 10x.

James O. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

robert F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Anthony N. 
Rating:
3.0

It is hard to find. It took me a while to figure out I needed to drive into the business park. The Uhauls, as a clue to where it could be, were not visible from the street.

Madilyn B. 
Rating:
1.0

Properly train person sitting at the desk and owner of the bussiness to be honest and tell all charges when using a debit card. At least the drop off site was professional and refunded 60 to me . Also uhaul needs to train these same people on how to hook up trailer chains so they dont drag

Jason F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

steve L. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David D. 
Rating:
5.0

Thete was some confusion with the telephones during covid virus. Staff very helpful! Would recommend using their service again!

Jeann M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

gary B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARK B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tammy G. 
Rating:
3.0

First part excellent t last part not. The return place stole mo ey off my card and its it's all N I ha e left after ha ing to quarentine for 2 weeks. I have $6 Tony name. I was told I'd have time to pay whatever the balance would be and the return place had no permission to charge my card. I have no way to feed my children right now. I'm calli.g my.lawywr and the BBB. businesses need to have a heart right now. Were all struggli.g ti get by.

Jennifer K. 
Rating:
5.0

The only complaint I have is that the steering was a little looser than I like. Other than that, everything was great! Prompt & super friendly service!

Joy B. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top