Customer Reviews for Kirbys
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

761 reviews

2395 Pocahontas Tr   Williamsburg, VA 23185
(243A off I64 near Busch Gardens)

(757) 253-1901

Location Hours

  • Mon: 8:30 am - 12 pm
  • Tue: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm
  • Wed: 8:30 am - 5 pm
  • Thur: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm
  • Fri: 8:30 am - 5 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 1 pm
  • Sun: 12 pm - 4 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 6/14/2021: 9:30 am - 12:00 pm
  • 6/28/2021: Closed
  • 7/4/2021 - 7/5/2021: Closed
  • 7/13/2021: 8:30 am - 11:45 am

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(757) 253-1901

2395 Pocahontas Tr
Williamsburg, VA 23185
(243A off I64 near Busch Gardens)

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon: 8:30 am - 12 pm
  • Tue: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm
  • Wed: 8:30 am - 5 pm
  • Thur: 8:30 am - 4:30 pm
  • Fri: 8:30 am - 5 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 1 pm
  • Sun: 12 pm - 4 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 6/14/2021: 9:30 am - 12:00 pm
  • 6/28/2021: Closed
  • 7/4/2021 - 7/5/2021: Closed
  • 7/13/2021: 8:30 am - 11:45 am
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
4.0

Most convenient location to Kingsmill and eastern side of Williamsburg close to I-64 and gas station for refueling. Friendly courteous service.

EDGARARCHER C. 
Rating:
5.0

Evelyn at the Williamsburg, VA location was wonderful! Our daughter's move to Memphis could not have happened without her help! She was a true pleasure to work with and took such good care of us!

ALEXISMARIE C. 
Rating:
2.0

Move to a populated area, especially if there are any evening or night pickups/drop offs. This is too rural of a location that is not monitored.

Nicole J. 
Rating:
1.0

You should simply look at the on line reviews. The lady representing your company is not friendly at all. I experienced the same when I actually showed up 30 minutes early for my rental. The building is absolutely filthy

CRAIGKENNETH L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHARLESL S. 
Rating:
5.0

I had a trailer booked at Ace Hardwar in Williamsburg VA but the bearded young guy booked a Motorcycle Trailer, not what I requested, I went to get it Saturday morning and he walked away, as if it was not his problem, leaving the issue to a blond lady that booked me a trailer "11 miles away" I went to my truck, I put the address in On Star and it was 22 miles away, I went back in and a 3rd lady helped me get what I needed at 2395 Pocahontas Tr, and she apologized for the mistake. No One else did. I finally arrived at 2395 Pocahontas Tr and the nice lade there stated I had 2 trailers booked, ACE Headwear never canceled the wrong one, So I spent time at 2395 Pocahontas Tr getting unscrewed, This location was the best yet, and I wish she could teach ACE how to do the right thing and be nice, like she was. I will never recommend ACE location who has an inept staff at the U-Haul counter, Again I saw 3 different people in 15min and all 3 got it wrong. I needed to be in Richmond by 10:00 and I arrived at 11:00 no thanks to ACE.

COREY C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John W. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JON S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Theresa K. 
Rating:
5.0

I dropped off at night so I never met anyone but it's easy to find.

Crystal C. 
Rating:
5.0

Can not think of anything . my trailer rental was a pleasure , the sales person was helpful and friendly.

JERRYRICHARD P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Stephen A. 
Rating:
3.0

I was assured that the trailer was fully inspected prior to leaving with it, so I took their word for it and left without checking myself. I checked the very next morning after loading and ready to get in my trip to find out that one tire was reading 15 psi, and the other 45 psi. I was unable to get a ahold of the pickup location so I decided to pump it up and start on my 5 hour drive. Every hour or so I stopped to check pressure, and there was an obvious slow leak in the tire. This is something that should have been taken care of prior to renting it out again.

BRETT W. 
Rating:
5.0

Awesome customer service! My reservation was for a different place. After going to this facility I was happy to be their customer ...

JESSELEE M. 
Rating:
5.0

Very helpful and friendly. Easy to work with and fast in and out and on with my move

HEIDI N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

WADEDAVID K. 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Melissa W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LYNNMARIE W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ANDRELAMARR B. 
Rating:
5.0

Premium service & information about moving procedures. This "agent" provided the ultimate in customer service. Many thanks and wishing her a very prosperous future in her chosen profession. (I am looking forward to the next rewarding experience)

ARTHURDARYL E. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Walter S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHALITASYLVIA P. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TAMARAANNE C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MONICABIANCA P. 
Rating:
5.0

Evelyn Kirby went above and beyond with her generosity and patience with me.

Sheldin M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jay P. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything went fine. The woman who helped with out trailer was very nice.

George P. 
Rating:
5.0

Evelyn was very helpful and knowledgeable!

joe G. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert S. 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CEASAR N. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ervin M. 
Rating:
5.0

The lady is very friendly and polite. Have rented from her more than 3 times. Provides excellent customer service.

Alissa M. 
Rating:
3.0

Dispatchers for a given area should be more familiar with geographic layouts. They sent me to Williamsburg, VA from Hayes/Gloucester, VA by-passing a pick-up location that had trailers available. I wasn't aware that I probablycould have stopped there. It would have saved me about an hour."As the crow flies" is not always the closest; especially when there are bridges and rivers to cross.

louis V. 
Rating:
5.0

Wonderful staff. Had what I needed.

REEDTIPTON J. 
Rating:
1.0

Only use trucks during business hours

Cameron M. 
Rating:
5.0

Very nice Owner!

LATOSHIA H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kathy C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MELISSALORRAINE K. 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SCOTT M. 
Rating:
5.0

The OWNER at Kirbis were wery nice and very helpfull. Great customer's service. She has a great heart. We will return anytime. Thank you.

MARIALASAKOVA B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LORENZO P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Markei A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Curtis C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

AMYCALDWELL S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSEPHANTHONY H. 
Rating:
2.0

critical D-ring in front right corner of the cargo trailer was broken so we relocated the rear left in order to tie down the Goldwing. Suggest more rigorous inspection and maintenance of equipment.

STEVENWARD S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SCOTT B. 
Rating:
5.0

She was so sweet and helpful. I will be back.

TIMOTHYJOSEPH G. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent!

Duncan R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

shenika F. 
Rating:
3.0

U-Haul has made great improvements since the last time I rented. Thank you for your nice equipment.

John R. 
Rating:
5.0

Dispatch Manager on site was amazing. Very easy to work with and was accommodating to customer needs. Truck was in good shape and clean. Easy location near highway 199 and I-64

Jared M. 
Rating:
1.0

Worst experience I've ever had renting a vehicle. Took 45 minutes to rent, with no other customers. I had already made the reservation and confirmed it through the app on my phone but when I walked into the front door to pick up my vehicle the lady told me that she had just canceled my reservation as per my request. ??? My response was what are you talking about? And she said she had just talked to me on the phone and told me some story about a fiancé and changing a 20-foot rental truck to a van? She even said it was my name and credit card. I don't know what she was talking about. She had canceled my reservation, but she still had the truck available so I said yeah sure, fine, go ahead and make another contract and check me out. She went to the process of trying to run the credit card and it took her about 25 to 30 minutes to run the card because she didn't have the right equipment, her computer wasn't working correctly, the Visa company was not working correctly, there were several excuses. When she finally got through the process, she turned to me and told me that my card had been declined. And that no, I cannot rent the truck. I asked her what was I supposed to do next and she told me to call my wife and have her come pick me up. So I called my credit card company, they told me that my card had not been declined, it had not even been pinged by the U-Haul company. Nobody been attempted to try to use my card. So I had the lady try running again, of course it was the credit card company and it was the internet and it was the telephone, it was all these other excuses why it did not work , But now it finally did work and she was able to rent me the vehicle. ... When I checked back in, I made sure that she's had seen it and it's signed it off and I had my receipt in hand because I did not trust her to be able to do this without me being there and watching her go through the process. I would not trust this lady for anything, not that I believe she's dishonest. But I do believe that she is very incompetent. ... but of course, it's not her fault

MARVIN B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David W. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Leon T. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steven S. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Heather R. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

doris L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Richard H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

george N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Walter A. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Edward M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David V. 
Rating:
3.0

My interaction with the attendant was superb - she was helpful and kind. The location and facility was not "lovely" - but really, in the end, I got exactly what I needed.

Karen P. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service, in and out with the contract and trailer hooked up in under 10 minutes. They are also open Sunday, it seemed like they are the only resource available in the area on Sunday. I would enthusiastically recommend.

Michael K. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David O. 
Rating:
5.0

very friendly service and helpful!!!

Lisa J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bradley R. 
Rating:
2.0

too much headed and waiting time, we wait for 1 hour to finally get our equipment for a simple rental, needs to work for the customer, not only thinking about the money you can made

carlos Z. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly and helpful!!! Will use them again!

lisa J. 
Rating:
2.0

Attended didn't want to rent the truck because probably wouldn't make good money. One reservation was already cancel because not card on file, they could call and check with customer if still need the equipment, not cancel with out talk to customer that is in need of equipment, that is why a reservation is been done. We make new reservations with a card on file and attend still want to cancel our reservations. We need it to go farther with uhaul main office to make this happens.

carlos Z. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

fernando C. 
Rating:
5.0

Kirby's rental experience was effortless, thanks to Evelyn who was very helpful, professional, and friendly. Great experience overall!

Robert B. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was great I will use you again

Cameron L. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

tracy M. 
Rating:
1.0

I was very disappointed I could not pickup where I scheduled the pickup.

Daniel T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John R. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Paul A. 
Rating:
5.0

The lady working was very nice and helped me very much to my satisfaction.

Thomas G. 
Rating:
5.0

They were very helpful in ensuring the trailer was hooked up properly and performed all safety checks, very pleasant lady to talk too. I felt safe and happy renting from here.

Jonathan C. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly customer service. Best experience ever renting from uhaul.

Homer M. 
Rating:
5.0

Absolutely great service!

Leslie H. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gary J K. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was good. A previous user spilled something in the back of the truck that had not been cleaned. Over time it hardened. I was unable to get it up. Just make sure it is documented so that new users are not held accountable. I made the Uhaul rep at Sanders aware of the spot.

Leslie H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Richarad R. 
Rating:
5.0

The owner was very helpful, courteous, and cheerful! A lovely woman who cared about customer satisfaction and her business.

Arianne V. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly and helpful. Thanks so much for a great experience!

Robin W. 
Rating:
5.0

The trailer I rented was perfect for what we needed to move. The dealer was very helpful at pickup. I'm glad we have this business in our community.

john A. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jim W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeremy J. 
Rating:
4.0

First of all, we were trying to pick up the truck on Sunday morning, however that location did not open until 11:00 a.m. so we picked up the truck on Saturday. We had to go put gas in the truck and the engine light came on. We called U-Haul and had to wait 90 minutes on Sunday for a mechanic to come check the truck out. He fixed the truck and we loaded it. We had to go back to Kirby's to get the tow for the car and she did not have the one we ordered. She said it was not on the order. She hooked the tow bar that had two wheels up on the car, we wanted the tow that had all wheels up however, she said she was not allowed to hook the car on the tow. She sent us to the U-Haul on Warwick and when we got there, they said we needed a block because our car was low to the ground. They sent us the U-Haul on JClyde Morris. They told us they did not have a block. We called the U-Haul on Denbigh Blvd and they said they had it and when we got there the guy said he miss understood and thought we needed the tow bar, he did not have a block. By this time, we did not know what to do or where to go. It was getting late on Sunday and some of the U-Hauls were getting ready to close. We called U-Haul Customer Service and they sent us back to J Clyde Morris. Mind you these are not short distances from each other. We told customer service, we had been there and they said they did not have a block. Apparently, they were not telling the truth. The young lady from Customer Service said they do have a block and to go back there. We went back to the U-Haul on J Clyde Morris and they did have the block and put it on the ramp for the car to get on the ramp. By the time we ran all over town, we used a fourth of the gas we put in that 26 foot truck. As we were driving to South Carolina the engine light came back on. We continued to drive. Once we got to SC, up in the morning, We were late meeting the guys to unload the truck because we went through the same thing all over again to find someone who had a block to take the car off of the ramp. We could not unload until we got the car off and out of the way of the door. The location that Kirby had for us to go to in Columbia, SC was on Elmwood Ave, they could not take the truck nor take the ramp off He said he did not have room for a 26 foot truck. He sent us to another location and they didn't have a block so they couldn't take car off of the ramp. We call Customer Service again and they sent us way across town to the U-Haul on Two Notch Road and they were very helpful and we left the truck and tow there. We suggest that if you have a tow bar rental for a vehicle, you should have the equipment needed to hook any type of vehicle to the tow bar. We lost a lot of gas and time. We did not get to SC until 2:45 Monday morning and our hopes were to be there early Sunday afternoon. We were suppose to meet the guys to unload the truck at 11:00 Monday morning and we did not get there until 12:30 so they charged us to the hour and a half

Donald T. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joe S. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly, opened up early to accommodate my movers, great customer service.

Lee R. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brice H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Susan J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

EDGAR D. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent service

Alan B. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

Back
To Top