Customer Reviews for Monacks Service Station
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

498 reviews

828 McKean Ave   Charleroi, PA 15022
(Rte 88)

(724) 489-0817

Location Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 12 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/25/2021: 8:30 am - 12:00 pm

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(724) 489-0817

828 McKean Ave
Charleroi, PA 15022
(Rte 88)

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 12 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021 - 12/25/2021: 8:30 am - 12:00 pm
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Had no problems with vehicle or rental place. Would definitely rent from them again.

Penny R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael O. 
Rating:
5.0

The self pick up was way easier than I imagined. The instructions were very clear and easy to navigate!

George W. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

selene S. 
Rating:
3.0

When we called re the truck which was ordered on line and confirmed there was no record. Fortunately Monacks had a truck. If we had not checked we would have arrived for pickup and had no truck. Lesson learned. Call the local agent.

Rita V. 
Rating:
2.0

INTERIOR WAS NOT CLEAN, WINDSHIELD WIPER DID NOT WORK CORRECTLY, OWNER WAS SORT OF RUDE

GEORGE H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dana S. 
Rating:
5.0

For a 19.99 rental and charging .79 cents a mile is ridiculous. For a one day rental I paid 123.00 for what I don't know. But I'll never rent a u-haul again

Terry H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

FRANCIS S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kaitlin O. 
Rating:
5.0

Make sure the proper address is online. The one that is on uhaul is about 3/4 of a mile or 10 blocks off.

KEVIN C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

luann S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeff D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jose C. 
Rating:
3.0

Dropped off. Location is closed on Sunday.

jewel C. 
Rating:
1.0

I drove less than the estimated miles and have yet to revive my 10$ refund

Jemaal M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHRISTA G. 
Rating:
1.0

Even though I booked online and pre paid, the clerk still had me wait while he did everything in the computer again. On top of that, he added and charged me for insurance (without my knowledge or consent) that I elected NOT to purchase when I prepaid online. Then upon returning the trailer, when the clerk disconnected it from my jeep, he tore out the entire light hook up assembly from my bumper and didn't want to take responsibility for it. He gave me a uhaul 1 800 number to call and I guess file a grievance, but of course it was an automated service and left on hold for 30+ mins with no response.

Mario M. 
Rating:
5.0

Awesome help. Thanks!

Eric A. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRIAN T. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Charles S. 
Rating:
5.0

Fresh coffee and danish in the cab or maybe a Naked® juice, you know, for moving energy. : )

MICHAEL D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

NICHOLAS K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSEPH C. 
Rating:
5.0

Very nice guy, Helpful and friendly

Richard B. 
Rating:
5.0

He is such a nice and caring man. We were having trouble with remote check in and he quickly took care of us

Donald S. 
Rating:
4.0

mr . monack is a bit quirky, but an enjoyable gentleman. He needs an updated computer, as his occasionally malfunctions; it did exactly what was needed for my reservation.

earl T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

patty S. 
Rating:
5.0

Be advised that the trailer had a leak in the roof. Some of my personal effects were wet. I have Informed the drop off of the off-normal condition and showed them the spot that leaked.

ROBERTE M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

jerry Y. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mary H. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

robert S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CURT G. 
Rating:
5.0

This was our second time using this location. We love the service here!!! Such a nice helpful man!!! We will definitely use this location again. Thank you

Robin R. 
Rating:
3.0

Cheaper prices

Anita M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Justin W. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service

David G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

martha P. 
Rating:
5.0

Very helpful and accommodating. House closing was pushed back a week but Monack's was able to provide a Uhaul for the following week as well as an additional Uhaul once we had quickly filled up the first one. I would highly recommend this Rental station!!!

Christopher W. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael O. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bryan S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

anthony L. 
Rating:
5.0

Very nice kind man!!! Thank you for all your help. If we need a U-Haul again we will definitely use this business.

robin J. 
Rating:
5.0

None

Denise T. 
Rating:
5.0

The reserving of this truck was a joke. Called U-Haul Tuesday evening to reserve 20' truck for Friday a.m.. was told they didn't have one there but should have one by Friday. Double checked Thursday & was told the same. Stopped in Thursday at Cheat, Tyron rd., location. They didn't have truck. Told them I'd tAke a 26' or the 20'. Susie at Cheat location was great. Worked all day to secure a truck. Susie said she found one at a location 34 miles away, can't remember name of town. I looked on line and it said it was a 15' truck. I called that location and they said no one was there and would not be any one there until Monday. I called Susie at Cheat location and told her the wedsite said 15' and that is not what I needed. Susie again got on the phone with traffic and found what we ended up with but we had to travel an hour away to secure. Very stressful when you are moving and have to pack a town home of items and told you will have a truck. My wife and I traveled from Lexington, KY to Morgantown, WV to help our Son make his move to Christiansburg,VA.. Were told we will have a truck only to find out we didn't. Had to travel another 2 hours to and from to get a truck, load the truck, leave 3 hours late to make the move to Virginia. Very disappointing, stressful. Truck was nice, people at both locations , Tyron and McKean were great. Traffic was a joke and ruined the whole trip and experience.

steve M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jacqueline P. 
Rating:
3.0

Longer open hours.

Russell L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Haley J. 
Rating:
5.0

Wanita from customer service was amazing!!! Thank you!!

Oladipo O. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brian L. 
Rating:
5.0

The overall experience was excellent, keep doing what you are doing.

DERREAN D. 
Rating:
5.0

In and out on arrival and return, owner was friendly and helpful

jeff T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RYAN R. 
Rating:
5.0

Gentleman was very nice and helpful. Came out to greet us and got us checked out in a timely manner.

DEBRAM D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

arlene D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

john L. 
Rating:
5.0

The representative was very thorough and respectful.

William P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

jackie G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Reid S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James R. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

raenelle F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

glen S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Minhee K. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Anthony B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

arlene D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

George G. 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Judith L. 
Rating:
4.0

Hilarious guys who worked there. Friendly.

Erin D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Diane R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Matthew K. 
Rating:
1.0

Moved 4 months ago and didnt get charged half this cost.

Austin G. 
Rating:
4.0

Service was great. Truck was clean and ran smooth.

Misti B. 
Rating:
1.0

The worst experience. U-Haul picked a truck and location that was 40 minutes away costing more money in fuel. Also very bad customer service. I will go with other options next time I need a rental.

Jason B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael S. 
Rating:
1.0

This was listed as my "preference" for drop off, but there was a ligation significantly closer to my house. When i tried to change the drop location i was told that I had agreed to tis location when i spoke with them on the phone, but I did everything online. I was told there would be a SIGNIFICANT upcharge to change my location. Overall this experience was not at all up to the standard ive come to expect and enjoy from uhaul.

Bob F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Peter R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Theodore B. 
Rating:
2.0

They weren't ready for me to pick it up. He had to email other uhaul customers before he'd pull up my information. He couldn't find the keys. And insurance was added that I specifically rejected; he offered to take it off if I wanted him to cancel it and start over, but I was under a time crunch and couldn't wait longer. The whole pickup experience was 20-30 minutes ?? The vehicle said low tire pressure and I was told to ignore it because it has a bad sensor.

Sara H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JAMES R. 
Rating:
4.0

On 10/29/19 i order a 15ft truck to be picked up in Pleasant hills PA on 11/01/19 and returned in uniontown pa on 11/03/19 , I received email telling me the truck was ready to be picked up 11/29/19 and return on 12/01/19.I then made my second call to correct the issue & receive the correct email. On 10/30/19 I received call from uhaul in charleroi Pa telling me I was to pick up the truck there (23 milesAway) by 4pm on friday. Call 1 800 for the third time telling this not the correct location and the time will not work with my work hours. Joe from uhaul told me to pick up the truck a day early and i wouldn't be charged and gave me 50 extra miles, but told me to call him when i got to charleroi, So i made my forth call to 1 800. and joe and the location owner worked it out, I receive a text when i left uhaul in charleroi telling me the truck was due back 11/02/19 not the agreed 11/03/19, So i made my fifth call to 1 800 and joe answered and said its only a two day rental . i told him how incompetent this whole process has been and I was give the extra day less than a hour ago. Joe told me he already gave me the extra 50 miles and he'll GIVE me the extra day because he's tired of me calling and complaining.I asked to speak to his manager , Joe told me to call tomorrow and asked for Robert. Next day made my sixth call to 1 800 and spoke to Robert ,I told him my point of view and asked for a email to confirm 3 days and 50 extra miles returning truck in uniontown pa. That evening I received a call from 1 800 uhaul telling me to return the truck to somerset Pa 53 miles away from uniontown, I said no way i'm taking it to uniontown that was the agreement, The young lady gave me the address of 318 E, Main St. Uniontown. When i got to the address it was a empty build , uhaul move out the month before.So i made my seventh call getting a correct address . INCOMPETENT

Thomas C. 
Rating:
5.0

Again, need a small ramp for larger trailer.

Peter D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Richard J. 
Rating:
1.0

Didn't have a furniture dolly, making the bulk of the move impossible. I'm now asking U-Haul for a second time to take that charge off my bill. The truck we rented smelled like absolute garbage.

Donald H. 
Rating:
4.0

Make the express check-in policy more user friendly.

LIisa G. 
Rating:
5.0

Mr Monack --- personally took care of my rental and will continue to rent from him. Mayor Gerald W Jackson II Belle Vernon PA

gerald J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christina B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

albert L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lorraine B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Cassandra V. 
Rating:
1.0

First of all, this location was not even close to my preferred pick up location. I made my uhaul reservation a month in advance and they made me drive an hour away to get it. When I brought the truck and the tow home, I noticed the strap for the wheel on the tow was broken. So, I had to spend my own money and buy a ratchet strap. Then, when I finally arrived to my location, uhaul charged my card AGAIN for the tow. When I called uhaul, they had ME contact the shop where I picked it up at. The owner of the shop also had no idea why it was charged twice and had me call the guy who is in charge of the uhaul's billing system. So after calling 3 different people, I was told it was a “system error” and that the money should be refunded on my account in a few business days. My uhaul experience was awful. The best part was of my experience was dropping it off and being done with unorganized and unprofessional situation. I would've paid double to not deal with everything I had to put up with. I am never going through uhaul again.

Rebecca N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Stephen B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Roger C. 
Rating:
5.0

Mr. Monack was very helpful and has been with U-Haul for a long time, 50+ yrs I believe. He didn't try selling me any B.S. and explained if I ever need anything from U-Haul again how to make sure I get size of truck I need and make sure they estimate mileage better so I do not get charged extra at drop-off, which was only a few dollars but should have been avoided.

Eric C. 
Rating:
4.0

Ensure the DROP OFF site requested in the reservation is the site stated in the contract

Derrick J. 
Rating:
4.0

N/A

Arthur C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

connie U. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top