Customer Reviews for Nanaimo Mini Storage
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

1485 reviews

2180 S Wellington Rd No 10   Nanaimo, BC V9X1V8

(250) 741-0067

Location Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 12 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 5/16/2021: Closed
  • 5/23/2021 - 5/24/2021: Closed
  • 5/30/2021: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(250) 741-0067

2180 S Wellington Rd No 10
Nanaimo, BC V9X1V8

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Sat: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 12 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 5/16/2021: Closed
  • 5/23/2021 - 5/24/2021: Closed
  • 5/30/2021: Closed
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Very friendly, extremely helpful and knowledgeable

Robert M. 
Rating:
5.0

Fix the 24/7 app so that it works at all locations. Luckily the Nanaimo Mini Storage staff opened early for me to get the van I had reserved.

Brian M. 
Rating:
5.0

They were friendly, helpful and met our every need. Excellent service, Many thanks. Happy customer

GRANT S. 
Rating:
5.0

very good experience picking up the trailer...really just had to show up and they took care of the rest...thanks

Marian C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Justin T. 
Rating:
3.0

It is probably a good location for people in Nanaimo. I requested a pick up closer to my home near parksville a few weeks in advance but had to drive almost an hour to pick it up. The Uhaul store in Nanaimo itself was great though and staff were wonderful

Cole P. 
Rating:
3.0

On line check in process was terrible. I rented a Uhaul 2 months ago and have an account, why did I need to re-verify? Process took 45 minutes. Terrible service. No one answered your call centre. Will not use Uhaul again.

kordell B. 
Rating:
5.0

Great staff — Great job. — Thank-you.

Michael H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kenneth D. 
Rating:
4.0

Two large problems. I give a great review to location. U haul not so much. First i said i did not want dolly or blankets. When i got to my pick up i found dolly and blankets strapped to wall. I was having stuff loaded with forklift. I called to see if i could move dolly while loading and was told i would be charged if seal was broken. I found myself having to lean over and carry things in a very uncomfortable way to get buy . Second i rented truck early in the morning with my smart phone. My card was charged 123.56 all good. A couple hours later i received notification that a uhaul location in Kentucky tried to charge that same card $ 15336.26 my credit card company refused the charge but i had to spend many hours on phone with uhaul to try to find out what is going on. I have not received an explanation yet. I was told someone would contact me the next day first thing in morning. This is second day since and no one has called.

Jack S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brandon M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Roy B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

William P. 
Rating:
5.0

Great customer service!

Randal B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Peter S. 
Rating:
1.0

Extremely dissatisfied. My confirmed morning reservation was bumped to a different location that was an inconvenient distance away. "New" reservation was for 3:30 PM, which I learned when I arrived at said location. Was up all night cleaning the house I moved out of since I could start loading the truck until 4:00 PM on moving day. Really disappointed. Will never use U-Haul again.

Steven M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rhonda W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

George M. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent as always. Thank you, Shawn J

Shawn J. 
Rating:
5.0

Lovely doing business with you. Thank you for your very helpful staff

CAROL W.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
4.0

Fix the handle on the driver side window.

John G. 
Rating:
5.0

Very warm and friendly service, a real joy to do business

SCOTT I. 
Rating:
5.0

Fast friendly service over the phone made it very easy to get the trailer I needed

Jarik K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Louis P. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent service as always, at the S Wellington location. Shawn

Shawn J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Alyssa S. 
Rating:
5.0

The location was a little out of the way for where we were going, other than that the people at this location were great.

Gerhard S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Leon V. 
Rating:
5.0

Great Customer Service

james D. 
Rating:
1.0

When we picked up the trailer it was extremely dirty and the yard attendant had to sweep it out. The exterior was also dirty. After we had the trailer loaded we noticed the tires were extremely worn and weather checked. We then drove the 40 minutes from Duncan back ti Nanaimo upon which we were directed to a Kal tire location just North of the U- Haul dealership. After waiting for Approximately one half hour for them to come and check out the Tires they told us that they didn't have the tires. We then proceeded back to the U-Haul dealership where they then sent us to a Fountane tire location which was on the North side of Nanaimo. The Shop Foreman looke d at the tires and in formed us that he would have to replace all four tires and not just two tires as your. U-Haul dealership had told them. My main concern was our personal safety as we had to tow this Trailer back to Edmonton Alberta Approx. One thousand miles and seeing how you people do not supply any spare tires this could have been a major problem with the hit and miss cell phone coverage throughout the mountains. In the opinion of the people at Fountane Tire they said the Trailer tires would have most likely Failed. Another concern of ours is by the time it was all said and done we were delayed by close to five hours and were unable to leave until the following day requiring me to take an additional day off of work. Tammy who owns the Dealership assured us that we would be compensated for our ordeal. We phoned several times and it took quite awhile for her to phone us back. When she finally got back to us she told us that she forwarded our concerns to the area manager and some one would get back to us in due time. After we arrived home in Edmonton we still hadent heard from anyone from your company. We Phoned Tammy back and once again she said we would be contacted and that she would phone the area manager again but we still haven't been contacted. It is now April 10/2021 and we still have not been contacted by anyone from U-Haul. I am not sure but I don't think this is how you should treat your customers.It's obvious that you do not care about us and this letter is probably useless to send because you will not contact us anyway. Congratulations you got us to not only pay for the use of a faulty trailer but you also got us to do all the ground work that you didn't have to pay a yard employee to do not to mention the cost of fuel for having to run your Trailer back and forth from Duncan and Nanaimo as well as my time. I doubt any thing will be done about this as we have had zero return correspondence from your company. Just remember I will tell two people about my experience and what I had to endure dealing with you people. Not sure how many people they will tell. John Huizinga 780-974-7416 Contract # 90419446

John H. 
Rating:
1.0

I was charged $40 for something I didn't accept.

Shawn J. 
Rating:
5.0

Nice facility and professional staff.

Michel G.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Always great helpful service. Equipment is clean and ready to go. No hassle returns. Highly recommend.

David B. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent very satisfied

PATRICK O.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Allison S. 
Rating:
5.0

The driver's side go cup holder is broken and needs a new spring. Was okay for me cuz I drove alone and used the right side cup holder.

Robert T. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing 😄 Everything was perfect!!

Donna B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joanna U. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Marc M. 
Rating:
5.0

can't improve on perfection !!

jerry H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

rex R. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything great!!

Barbara M. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly staff. Helpful. Easy access to pickup and return. Thankyou.

Dennis S. 
Rating:
4.0

The equipment was clean and safe, but the engine did miss when struggling up the hills on the way from Hope to Princeton....not a huge issue but might be in need of a tune-up. No biggee, not too serious

johnsen K. 
Rating:
5.0

Online retrieval of unit was easy, truck ran great, and was running late, but with a quick call to the office all was good.

Rita D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ward H. 
Rating:
4.0

Attendant was very apologetic for the poor condition of the auto hauler and that it had a flat tire, which was flat again upon drop off in Nanaimo.

Jeff C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Charles M. 
Rating:
5.0

Always friendly and courteous experience. Would highly recommend. Thank you.

RICHARD H.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly, courteous, and very helpful. Was a great experience. Thank you

Richard H. 
Rating:
5.0

Very expensive for fuel o er all great price for rental 👍 the cost of regular fuel instead of diesel fuel makes it unaffordable

Douglas K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brian J. 
Rating:
5.0

Just keep doing what you are doing keep up the good work

Richard M. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing in my opinion ! My service has always been so excellent every single time & that's what keeps me coming back for all my needs Very Sincerely ! Denis

Denis V. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent service and cost Very friendly office personnel. I will use this U Haul location again. Thank you.

cecil A. 
Rating:
5.0

I often go to this location and I am always pleased with the service.

ROBERT H. 
Rating:
4.0

I didn't appreciate picking up the truck with only a quarter tank of gas and asked to return at the same level. It's very hard to estimate how mulish is a quarter which would easily result in returning with more at my expense. Also there was a sign in the back of the truck stating if you sweep it out and return it clean you save $25, we did both and mentioned it and did not receive the $25.

Kade V. 
Rating:
5.0

Mark & Tammy were wonderful to work with! I would highly recommend using this location. Thank you.

David D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jr D. 
Rating:
5.0

Clean, secure storage facility. Desk staff very friendly and helpful.

claire w.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Craig E. 
Rating:
5.0

Really friendly employees

Maria P. 
Rating:
5.0

Great Service, I was in and out in 5 mins. The online check in process really speeds up the process. Will always go with U haul for all my moving and storage purposes.

Abhishek A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kevin C. 
Rating:
1.0

I won't recommend U-Haul to anyone in my circle. I have moved from one city to another and my drop off location was selected as per my choice on the day when I took the truck rental. When I went to Phantom Tires in Surrey to return back the truck they said they cannot take back my truck as they do not have space but the yard was empty and the store owner was playing playstation and was talking to me while playing which was so unprofessional. I called customer care where the agent told me to go to another location and no help was provided by the agent. I have given another location to return the equipment where I went and again they told me to return to a different location, went to third location and they told me they also do not have space. Lastly, I called again to customer service where the agent who was a scheduling representative was so rude to me that instead of empathy just started saying go to King George location. I again went to King George location and then my truck was retuned.

Raghu N. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent service as before.

sloane W. 
Rating:
5.0

Great experience thank you. Will use you again .

Laura T. 
Rating:
5.0

Fast check-in and out. (Did most of the arrangements through online portal. Highly recommend using it to save time.) People were efficient, helpful, and personable.

Ronald R. 
Rating:
5.0

It was everything I wanted, thank you

Matthew S. 
Rating:
3.0

Negatives: - There was only a 1/4 of tank of fuel in the truck. Had to stop and waste time putting more in. At least fill it to 1/2 a tank before renting. - Some trash behind seats. - Put a window scraper in the truck. - Online check in took some time. Positives: - Truck operated well. - Got the furniture in and out with ease. - Blankets and Dolly were ready to go.

Jonathan W. 
Rating:
5.0

Outstanding staff! Trucks, rental storage units and grounds are always spotlessly clean here. I would highly recommend this UHaul location to anyone looking for storage space or truck rental.

Christopher W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Louis P. 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was great thank you very much!

Michael G. 
Rating:
4.0

Good people

William G. 
Rating:
5.0

The people here were absolutely amazing. Better than we expected. I would not hesitate ti recommend them to anyone I know. I found them friendly and caring. Please do not change anything

Richard M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Benjamin M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kristopher G. 
Rating:
5.0

Great place .. Got me on the road nice and n quick ! Droped off truck afterwards with ease . Truck was very clean and easy to use . lots of power and drove smooth !

ryan B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John O. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steven S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Niall B. 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Great experience.

Donald R. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service, very helpful

Andrew C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

dawn M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Benet D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kevin F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer service was awesome. I have done business with many (over 15) uHaul locations in BC and Manitoba over last 20 years. This location was the best.

Sloane W. 
Rating:
5.0

Fantastic group at the office, we were in a bind and they looked after us, rented both a parking spot and a P/U a few times, great security, our first time in the yard a couple of us took a walk around , very shortly we had someone from the office checking on us... Would gladly rent a storage lot again..

Glen B.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Service was exceptional! Friendly and professional.

Vanessa S. 
Rating:
1.0

Fix your app NONE of the links worked at all. When a person reserves equipment the equipment should be available at that location a person should not have to drive across town to get the equipment. If you don't have it at that location say so before. I hate surprises

Robert F. 
Rating:
5.0

Mark and Tammy were very helpful, accommodating, and approachable. Would definitely recommend this location.

Rodney L. 
Rating:
5.0

Was a very quick and easy experience. The lady behind the counter was a great help. Made my move super easy. A++++

Shawn N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ravdeep B. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing needs to be improved... Absolutely fantastic service and super friendly staff

Daniel B. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service and friendly staff.

Jeremy M. 
Rating:
5.0

Staff are helpful and friendly. I won't rent from any other location.

David R. 
Rating:
5.0

Can't think of any improvements. The whole experience from the web booking to vehicle return was about the best I've ever had for a weekend warrior rental! Very personable and knowledgeable office staff too.

Kent B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Todd D.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Amazing service. Super professional and very accomodating.

audrey c.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
2.0

The equipment had clearly not been inspected as we encountered not one but two problems related to the truck we rented, which resulted in us calling Roadside Assistance twice. The staff members were very friendly and professional which is why I did not rate this location “poor”. However, they loaded my vehicle onto an auto transport improperly which resulted in a third call to Roadside Assistance in order for a tow truck to come help remove my car.

Kimberly L. 
Rating:
5.0

Tammy and Mark are very friendly, efficient and caring. They are a great example of great caring customer service. I recommend this business. Murray and Kathleen Reay

KATHLEEN R.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Top notch customer service everytime 👌

Troy C. 
Rating:
1.0

Hello, I would like to voice my first off lever of dissatisfaction with my experience. I had booked the uhaul in order to move from Vancouver to Vancouver island but due to the pricing it was much more affordable to take a truck from the island to Vancouver and back to the island. The uhaul was booked for Sunday morning and I was supposed to be Able to pick it up at 9am. I had a ferry booked for 1040. I wasn't able to get the whole issue sorted out for over an hour. Uhaul had to figure out how to give me access to a key box to get a truck that was there. It was not my fault that when I booked the truck there was a miscommunication in the booking type. Uhaul should know if the business isn't open on a Sunday to not book a truck that requires me to show my phone to a employee at the business to access the keys. In the end I missed the ferry which threw my whole move off and created massive stress. I was first off told by the person i was speaking to on the phone I would be recovering a discount for the truck. Further more I think the amount of inconvenience and stress created was very unacceptable and unfair. I hope there is a way to rectify the inconvenience and stress that I dealt with due to lack of organization and communication.

Garrett S. 
Rating:
5.0

I found the staff at the location to be excellent. So helpful and friendly. I wouldn’t want to deal with anyone else.

Kelli L.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

We received outstanding service from Nanaimo Mini Storage in every way, from the moment we stepped into their office! The customer service is relaxed and friendly and their knowledge of the business is refreshing. We always had access to our storage unit and retrieved everything without a hint of damage. We would highly recommend them.

IAN R.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Very friendly and engaging.

Locke W. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dean V. 
Rating:
5.0

The first U-Haul location on East Wellington said we would have a dolly and blankets that came with the truck rental. Was that just a smaller truck? or that location? It would be nice to have a dolly and the blankets. Other than that your service was really great. Thank you for helping us out after we had reserved a truck that was too small at first. You came through for us and we appreciated that!

Bradley P. 
Rating:
4.0

No issues

Shaun W.  |  Reservation 
Rating:
5.0

5 star

Fahn P.  |  Reservation 
Rating:
5.0

It went good . No need for the storage unit at this time. But I may need one in the future. I will contact you. Thanks

Sherie M.  |  Reservation 
Rating:
3.0

I will not be moving in to the storage unit until April 25th. Your website does not permit mid-month rentals, and made me book it for April 1st. Hopefully my locker is still available on the 25th!

Elsa B.  |  Reservation 
Rating:
5.0

No issues!

Jeffrey v.  |  Reservation 
Rating:
5.0

I reserved a trailer and then was offered a storage unit one month free. Made me happy cause I needed one been there before and they were awesome over all good experience. Would do it again for sure

Jessica W.  |  Reservation 
Rating:
5.0

The staff was excellent and able to answer any questions or concerns. We had Qualicum Movers move us out of your facility and they were professional and good movers.

LIZ C.  |  Overall Experience 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Self-Storage Icon
    Self-Storage

    We have the most coverage in North America!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top