Customer Reviews for Oak Dollar Plus
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

933 reviews

3182 Oak St   Vancouver, BC V6H2L1

(604) 343-9036

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 12 pm - 6 pm
  • Sat: 10 am - 2 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021 - 12/27/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • 1/1/2022 - 1/3/2022: Closed

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(604) 343-9036

3182 Oak St
Vancouver, BC V6H2L1

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 12 pm - 6 pm
  • Sat: 10 am - 2 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 12/24/2021: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • 12/25/2021 - 12/27/2021: Closed
  • 12/31/2021: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
  • 1/1/2022 - 1/3/2022: Closed
No photos available

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
4.0

Vehicle interior was dirty with mud, I was been told due to rain Vehicle is dirty inside we are sorry for the inconvenience, But I didn't expect that from a well known company like uhal, this is Covid-19 time. The staffs at the counter was courteous and polite, welcoming. Overall my ride went well , no issues with the vehicle, reasonable price, I was happy with my overall experience with uhal, expect the interior cleanliness. Hope uhal will look into this. It's not a complaint just my suggestions to make my next experience better and also other customers.

ARUN C. 
Rating:
4.0

Other than the parking being tight it was a great location and service!

LUCAS M. 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly, efficient and helpful staff!

Bob G. 
Rating:
1.0

Horrible experience all around .

Daniel M. 
Rating:
1.0

The parking site for the van was Wolfe St in Vancouver. I was almost hit by a car picking up the van and again when I was returning it. Its a very narrow street and the van was parked right on a corner. Somebody is going to get killed picking up and dropping off a vehicle at this location. This is no bullshit, it dangerous. Mark

BRIAN G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

HALTON L. 
Rating:
4.0

- I was very appreciative of the staff at Oak Dollar Plus! The 2 women were friendly and very clear in their communication; they also went out of their way to wait for me to finish my return process (even at the end of their work day), loaned me their broom after I returned, and were patient with me being a bit flustered in my rush to be on time. I felt helped and supported, and I'd recommend this location just for this service. - I'll note that the truck was actually dirty inside (sand in the front, leaves and dirt in the back) but it was of no issue to us. - I found the parking awkward, both in not knowing where to park upon return (I forgot to ask, and wasn't told), and in it being quite difficult to find on a busy Saturday afternoon. It may be a problem for all locations, and there may be no resolution; I would still advise any future renters to allot extra time for a less stressful pick up and return, especially if toting any extra equipment.

Judith C. 
Rating:
3.0

My check in experiences with UHaul has never been smooth. There has always been an issue with getting my moving truck. The last time I used UHaul the truck I had reserved was not available. This time the time and location of the truck pick up were confused. These inconveniences make my already stressful moving day even more stressful. Unfortunately there are very few options for moving trucks so UHaul was the only available option for my move this time.

Johnathon H. 
Rating:
3.0

I had vague directions to the U-Haul truck and got lost, but the equipment was great and super useful.

Kaitlin A. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Milan B. 
Rating:
3.0

Everything was fine, but a few things I found annoying. 1. I tried to phone the store once prior to renting, and several times after I had the vehicle. All within stated open times. All were minor reasons or clarifications. Each time the phone rang, & rang - no answer, no voicemail! Very frustrating for a customer. 2. A little more clarification about the vehicles - example, every time you open the driver door you unlock every door! You must lock every single door from the outside every time you leave the vehicle- for security of the contents. There does not appear to be anyway to lock the vehicle door from the drivers area. 3. Where the vehicles are stored is several blocks away from the store- up hill! And when I returned the vehicle it was pitch black, very little lighting and a little bit scary.

STEVEN T. 
Rating:
3.0

This is customer service rating not the store. Uhaul overcharged be saying I didn't return my truck in time. I had called before drop off time and told it was ok. I was double charged my coverage I sat in hold for 40 minutes before I had to hang up because my time. I emailed and got no response Be very careful with uhaul

JULIA W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ji-Ja P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jacob W. 
Rating:
5.0

The kindly person at the service was totally dedicated. She was over loaded of customer but she kept giving an excellent customer service. Bravo !!.!!

Serge R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

EKATERINA S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark V. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Chris K. 
Rating:
5.0

The previous renter was very late in returning the vehicle, which was very frustrating but the representative at Oak Dollar Plus did everything she could to make it a fast turn around upon their return and to extend our rental window to provide enough time for our move, which was extremely appreciated - very good customer service.

Elise S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ALEXANDER F. 
Rating:
3.0

I got a furniture dolly with a hole in the middle and no handle. It was hard to roll and heavy to pick up It was useless and we wanted a L shape dolly with long part at bottom but they didn't have any.

sapna C. 
Rating:
5.0

I was nervous at first after seeing some of the negative reviews here (and pretty much at all other locations nearby) - however, I had a smooth, painless experience today! The lady at front was friendly, kind, and quick/efficient. The truck was parked at the back lot, and we were able to park our car around the neighborhood for free during the whole duration of our move. I'd trust to come back to this location if I have to rent a truck for moving again

Jesse Y. 
Rating:
1.0

Uhaul made us late in the beginning and misheard me on the phone so the next family was late as well . Hard to get ahold of anyone, poor user interface, won't be using uhaul again

Robert M. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Quinn L. 
Rating:
3.0

It was really difficult to fill out the online check out form. It took my friend and I an hour to get the page where you take the pictures and log the mileage and gas to load properly. It was also extremely difficult to make an account, it kept shutting us out. And nobody answered customer service. The app also didn't work very well on either of our phones. Please make this a smoother check out process. It was a real hassle.

CHARLES JOSEPH C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

EDWARD C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MICHAEL L. 
Rating:
5.0

It doesn't need it. You are awesome. Thank you!

Miroslav M. 
Rating:
4.0

The service provider asked me twice if I want an insurance and twice, I said no. I found out she charged me for insurance. I believe it was an honest mistake but still.

Elifelet K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Elizabeth S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David L. 
Rating:
1.0

Why don't you have it that the truck is rented out with a full take of gas. Your customer experience is lacking because you get a truck with 1/4 tank. The best pat is when you return it with a 1/4 tank and they charge you money for fuel. Needless to say, I'll stick with Home Depot rentals.

Mark O. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GHOLAM K. 
Rating:
4.0

The link(myhaul.com) used to return the vehicle is broken

Zixuan X. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MAHDI R. 
Rating:
4.0

Staff are patient and polite when assisting older customers. This is important and appreciated. Tnx CBG

colin G. 
Rating:
3.0

The store employee was very helpful and pleasant to deal with. The rental truck was on site and ready for pick up however the fuel gage was way below what they indicated it was suppose to be at. It was so low of fuel i felt i needed to get to the gas station for gas before I got to my pick up site for moving. I brought it back with well over the amount that was required . Didn't hear comment from any management as to why this happened.

HOWARD K. 
Rating:
3.0

The hours of operation aren't inadequate for a city that is busy and overpopulated. The printer wasn't working so I was sent my "paperwork" through email, even though I had told them my phone was dying. The vehicle given to me was an issue because the seat wasn't adjustable, therfore, I could barely see over the dash.

Angela S. 
Rating:
1.0

I need to put in a formal complaint about this location. Please have the head of customer service email or phone me. 226-927-7685 Thank you!

ANNISSARAE C. 
Rating:
5.0

Awesome location! Would recommend folks rent from here. Helpful staff and super friendly

Imran A. 
Rating:
1.0

They gave me the wrong address for my van. Took me over an hour to find my unmarked vehicle. Also sent me the wrong code and no plate number

Marcel C. 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly and very helpful staff. Vehicle was clean and well maintained. I would recommend renting from this location!

Imran A. 
Rating:
2.0

The pickup process was very inconvenient. We were supposed to pick up the van using the phone, but we were given the address of the store not the location of the vans, which is a bit of a walk. Then, when getting the van, none of them matched up with the number we were given. We had to go back to the store and were given a different number. Then we went back to the vans and tried to check in by phone. But, they were unable to do it. They kept asking for phone numbers to verify, but when they would call it would immediately disconnect. We had to go back to the store for a third time and had them check us in manually. Then we walked back to the vans again and found the gas was less than 1/4 tank. Overall, it was an hour process to just unlock the keys to the van. We were late picking up the item we're rented the van for, which caused further problems.

JOANNE C. 
Rating:
5.0

She explane very good all

Santiago L. 
Rating:
2.0

The furniture dolly was not in the van. The store owner said the furniture dolly rental fee would be waived, but the final receipt still shows the $7 fee. The parking location for the van was dangerous. The road is narrow and has fast-moving traffic. It is incredibly dangerous to inspect the driver side while trying not to be hit by traffic. The app to do the inspection is buggy - it does not allow to go 'back'; the app actually timed out.

GEE K. 
Rating:
1.0

1. Please park the van near the pickup location not too far away. 2. Provide the car and equipment clean, not too messy.

Omid L. 
Rating:
3.0

Unit came from Arizona, needed a wind screen cleaning, perhaps a car wash.

Robert B. 
Rating:
3.0

the app and website are a GeoCities disaster. The android app does not work, lots of information should have been entered prior to arrival. A 3rd rate digital experience if that.

Brant F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

tracy W. 
Rating:
5.0

provide info on where to park on the website

LLOYD B. 
Rating:
5.0

Exterior was very dirty. Mirrors were dirty making it hard to drive.

Christian M. 
Rating:
1.0

I cleaned out the Van and returned everything properly. Onboarding was smooth. But the van was dirty and not as per pictures, gas tank was below the indicated level on paper. 2 days later I receive cleaning charges for boxes left, which I did not leave. Seems like it was placed by the dealer as I have all my boxes in possession.

Prateek S. 
Rating:
1.0

Make sure their computers are up and running....they did everything by mobile phone....and how secure was their mobile phones? They did not inform me the vehicle had to be refueled. They gave me the incorrect code for the lock had to walk back to the store...ask what the correct code was...they said go back and we will meet you there....cut into my rental time.

Dario B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DOUGLAS M. 
Rating:
3.0

The van was really dirty, both inside and outside.

Naomi M. 
Rating:
1.0

The app and website did not show my reservation. It took over an hour to be able to resolve the issue with a customer service representative before I gained access to the vehicle. The vehicle was dirty which made it difficult to inspect for existing damage.

Sandeep S. 
Rating:
1.0

My low rating is based on a terrible vehicle experience and incomplete admin support (while the staff were very friendly and apologetic.) But the issues upon picking up the rental: *cab had significant food from previous rental *passenger side rear view mirror was completely smashed and missing *fuel level on my contract was incorrect (too high) *vehicle had several undocumented dents and cracks *box had not been swept

Lawrence J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Taeweon L. 
Rating:
3.0

I was not able to end my rental after hours on my phone, as the locations service was unable to determine I was at the correct place due to the service agent telling me to park down the road. As well, the photos did not match the vehicle I rented (this was an unmarked pick up truck, vehicle in photos had a uhaul decal, so I could not determine if it was the same vehicle). I took my own photos, but could not get a photo of the drivers side as it was street parked and I would have had to stand in the middle of a main road at rush hour.

Laura F. 
Rating:
3.0

There was so much tree sap on the vehicle's windshield, mirrors and windows it made the van borderline illegal and 100% dangerous to drive.

Daniel L. 
Rating:
3.0

Wash the exterior of vans to match photos, don't park vans under tree branches that could scratch paint and cause issues for customers. Give customers map of location where vans are.

CALE L. 
Rating:
5.0

The truck has been parked under a tree and as a result was covered in sap. As well it wasn't all that clean. I was ok with that as only need it for a short haul. Remote Return did not work so I went back to the location where I rented it from. The lady there was most helpful.

RONALD B. 
Rating:
5.0

The ladies at the shop were friendly and efficient. They phoned me to offer a complementary early rental key pick-up which helped to make my moving day more efficient.

Wangjian L. 
Rating:
5.0

This site was amazing. They came in early just to help me out and they provided a free parking spot at their outlet for my car while I used their van. Absolutely Excellent

ROBERT D. 
Rating:
4.0

Better pictures of the door code lock I did the remote pick up and the picture of the lock code could have been clearer/better

kurt S. 
Rating:
5.0

Very helpful people in store

ANTHONY G. 
Rating:
1.0

I had issues with the truck and it took forever to be dealt with, I will never recommend this location to someone.

Juan P. 
Rating:
5.0

Great customer service. Lady at counter was very nice and explained everything very clearly. The van could of used a wash, aside from that the van performed great.

Luis B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Andrew B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SUNJAE K. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christine W. 
Rating:
1.0

The store was closed! I received no notes or mentions that the store would be closed and I could need to navigate to a different location to pick up the vehicle... There was another person who had the exact same experience as me was was waiting outside a closed store for his van. I then called customer service and waited on hold for 20 minutes and the lady i spoke to was not very pleasant. This added a lot of stress to an already stressful moving day, i am not happy and i would not use uhaul again and will be telling others about my experience.

Ricky G. 
Rating:
5.0

Staff went above and beyond for us. Great Experience!

Ronald B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Julianna B. 
Rating:
1.0

The uhaul company completely messed up; showed up for the scheduled pick up, and waited for 45 minutes only to be sent to an address to pick up the vehicle and there was no vehicle at all to pick up. Booked weeks in advcanced, confirmed over the phone twice prior to appointment and the day of my vehicle is not even there and I'm sent to go search for something that is not there. A mess, will not use uhaul in the future.

Elaina C. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent service. Everything went smooth and the staff were great and friendly. Will rent from this location again

KALVINDER B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jonathan S. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Dakota A. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Courtney S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robin Eli M. 
Rating:
5.0

Staff was super friendly and helpful. Would 100% recommend.

Ben R. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Daniyar M. 
Rating:
1.0

They charged a $20 fee because they claimed we didn't “close” the transaction. We returned the vehicle a half hour early and did exactly what the manager told us to. We even took a photo so that we had a time stamp. When we called to complain about the extra charge the Manager told us they don't keep records that far back. It had only been two weeks since we returned it and we had just been charged on our credit card the day before we called to complain. She said we had to call customer service which we did and they told us we had to call the store. So basically we were given the run around and the store gets to pocket our $20. Unethical and unprofessional.

SADIK G. 
Rating:
3.0

When there was finally a truck available and the location was actually open it worked great, the location staff were brilliant and the only reason I gave any stars at all. But getting to that point involved hours on the phone, poor communication and a ton of my time being wasted. Don't tell people they can check out a truck with an agent and then make reservations on a day the location is ALWAYS closed. Also, when communication by text is selected, don't send an email 10 minutes before pickup time telling someone they can't pick up the truck unless they do self checkout. Furthermore, when you explicitly ask for feedback and/or a complaint is submitted, actually bother to respond and take some ownership for the colossal screw up that you made happen. Oh, and fix your damn system that generates invoices and petrol calculations... all these years in the truck rental business and you're still unable to distinguish between Miles and Kilometers. It's ridiculous.

Andrew B. 
Rating:
1.0

The digital experience was terrible. The web app didn't work properly (crashed, broken links) and it was not made clear that the service would be completely automated/digital. It took an hour just to figure out how to access the vehicle which ate into our rental time. I even downloaded the app hoping it would be easier/better but it was even worse. It was one of the worst user experiences I've ever encountered and I would not recommend it to anyone using U-haul for the first time.

David S. 
Rating:
4.0

The mobile check in process is god awful. Won't take the pictures, doesn't give an error message as to why picture wasn't accepted.

Ryan B. 
Rating:
1.0

This was probably the worst customer service experience I had ever had in my life. I've rented pick-up vans with other competitors in the past and have never had any issues whatsoever until today. I booked the van online with U-Haul.com and the experience was decent. However I had to enter my driver's license and upload the photos twice because the system didn't work properly. When I arrived at the pick-up location at 10am to get the van today, the location was closed. I was aware that the vehicle was a self-pick; however, was very disappointed to learn that the van was located several blocks from the original address. I had call dispatch to find out about where I needed to go and what to do. The agent sent me a link via text to login, which I ended up doing. I took a selfie, and more photos of my driver's license. The system accepted it but then asked to provide two alternate contacts with first, last name and photo number. I have no idea why would you require this since I already provided a major credit card, driver's license, mailing address etc. The customer service online chat agent said they could not reach the two people that I had listed, and needed to provide another name. Meanwhile, I'm standing outside the van, rain is falling, I'm freezing cold and the time is now 10:45am. I had to contact dispatch, I was placed on hold for 10 minutes standing outside the van again, and then passed on to another agent who asked for my credit card information (not sure why because I already provided this), although they didn't ask for two alternate contact people. In terms of asking me for this information on the day, I felt this was totally unnecessary. If you required this information, you should have asked for it at the beginning of the initial reservation. Not had me stand outside with rain falling on my phone trying to fuss over taking selfies, photos, remembering phone numbers of alternate contacts. Ridiculous!!! I did not feel that it was appropriate to list my mother as a contact then be told she wasn't reachable. This was SO laughable. Can you imagine, having U-Haul call your mother to make sure that her 41 year old son was renting a van? When I returned the van to the original location, I used the U-Haul webpage to return the vehicle as instructed. I took photos of the van and odometer, followed the screens, and then nothing happened after I hit continue. The screen just went back to the main menu. I had to call dispatch again for help. The agent told me that they never received photos that I uploaded, and I needed to take another photo of the odometer. By this time, I had already placed the key back in the lock box and walked two blocks so that my partner could stay warm in our vehicle rather than wait outside in the pouring ran trying to fuss about whether we returned the vehicle to the exact location. After finally getting confirmation from the agent that the vehicle had been return successfully, I had told him that this was the worst experience ever and that I would be writing a poor review. He told me that "I am not from customer service, and you will have to advise them of your disappointment". He did say sorry for your experience after we said our goodbyes. I want to let you know that I will never rent from U-Haul again. I fully expect to be compensated for this pathetic experience. This should have been easy, and it was far from that.

Todd Q. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

simon P. 
Rating:
1.0

Dolly was not present in rental which made moving very difficult, but I was still charged for dolly. Rental was located a few blocks away from the location itself and this is not made clear until you start your rental in the app, and the app tells you to return the truck to the retail location and then tells you to drive it back to where you got it originally which is very confusing. Vans are parked on a dark residential street and they are not marked as Uhauls which makes finding the rental very difficult. No contact made when I included a complaint when returning my rental. Would not recommend using this location.

Eoin O. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ivan M. 
Rating:
1.0

The instructions for leaving the truck were somewhat unclear and assumed a lot of knowledge of me and the surrounding area

connor J. 
Rating:
5.0

The location and people were fantastic and helpful. However, I tried using the contactless service and it was a nightmare. It took 1.5 hours for me to get my truck. I give uhaul no stars. Again, the staff were fantastic and I will do things differently next time.

MELISSA L. 
Rating:
5.0

Extremely efficient and professional service and very accommodating. Will rent again from here :)

Aylwin F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jonas D. 
Rating:
3.0

I rented a truck with two dollies and 14 blankets to protect my back and my furniture. I received an empty truck with no equipment which I picked up in the morning for my 9am move. The location didn't open until 12pm and when I called the number a guy picked up who told me bluntly and with no apology or empathy, “call the shop I'm not in the shop today.” I assume this was the owner. I continued trying to contact them during the day with no luck. My move out was scheduled from 9-11am with my building and ended up taking 5 hours with no dollies having to lift heavy furniture and single boxes by hand. All other uhaul trucks and equipment were rented out by this time as it was the end of the month. I eventually got through to the location Oak Dollar Plus in Vancouver BC and a very nice woman was extremely apologetic and said that the equipment charges would be removed. This of course would be the very least I would expect as they had forgotten to put the equipment in the truck and made my moving day extremely stressful and difficult. Mistakes happen but it is how a company resolves their mistakes that is the true measure of its integrity and commitment to its clients. I was told I would hear back from them. It's been 9 days and nothing but a full charge on my credit card. I expected more. I hired movers for the next stage of my move as my back is killing me.

Benjamin C. 
Rating:
5.0

The customer service of this store was exceptional! Super friendly, kind and welcoming. The system had some issues but the store service and kindness overcame it.

Fabricio B. 
Rating:
1.0

Terrible customer service with owner. I would never use this service again. From the dealer to U-Haul online workers. This was beyond a run around. U-Haul even gave us the wrong padlock code. When I asked for help or a partial refund the lady working for uhaul said she can't I have to speak with the dealer. The dealer returned zero calls or messages I left. Was unavailable all together. I called uhaul again, after several calls all with wait times over half hour they would transfer me to the dealer and hang up. I naturally still have not got a hold of anyone who can help me and have spent several hours on this. I am beyond shocked and upset with this treatment and customer service.

Brad S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert A. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mitchell K. 
Rating:
5.0

Service was extremely helpful, there was an issue with my visa card which was resolved. Couldn't have been more helpful.

Matthew E. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top