Customer Reviews for Claytons Garage And Wrecker Service
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

124 reviews

1004 Andrews Chapel Rd   Durham, NC 27703

(919) 794-8859

Office Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am–4 pm
  • Sat: 9 am–1 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 5/27/2024: Closed
  • 7/4/2024: Closed
  • 9/2/2024: Closed
  • 10/14/2024: Closed
  • 11/11/2024: Closed
  • 11/28/2024: Closed
  • 11/29/2024: Closed
  • 11/30/2024: Closed
  • 12/1/2024: Closed
  • 12/24/2024: Closed
  • 12/25/2024: Closed
  • 12/31/2024: Closed
  • 1/1/2025: Closed

Show All Hours

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(919) 794-8859

1004 Andrews Chapel Rd
Durham, NC 27703

Services at this Location:

Office Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am–4 pm
  • Sat: 9 am–1 pm
  • Sun: Closed
Special Operating Hours
  • 5/27/2024: Closed
  • 7/4/2024: Closed
  • 9/2/2024: Closed
  • 10/14/2024: Closed
  • 11/11/2024: Closed
  • 11/28/2024: Closed
  • 11/29/2024: Closed
  • 11/30/2024: Closed
  • 12/1/2024: Closed
  • 12/24/2024: Closed
  • 12/25/2024: Closed
  • 12/31/2024: Closed
  • 1/1/2025: Closed

Show All Hours

  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
1.0

Nobody was there There were no keys The vehicle was dirty I had to wait an hour to get the truck

Michael B 
Rating:
5.0

I needed help picking up the vehicle. But since it was off hours, I contacted another location and they helped me. I was impressed by the knowledge of the person to walk me through the process. The vehicle worked perfectly for my needs. Thank you.

TODD K 
Rating:
4.0

Office is inside of a locked fence and you have to call a phone number for someone to come unlock the gate for you to come in. It would be nice if the gate were unlocked during business hours.

Dave W 
Rating:
1.0

met at this junk yard by barking german shepherds. they called me for contactless delivery bc of dogs. then a man cane out said - ‘what are you doing here?’ yikes. never sae a real junk yard. The truck had a pike of dirt inside.

fred p 
Rating:
1.0

Customer service training would help out with this location. Rude disrepectful and don't no how to talk to people

Antonio E 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BARRY S 
Rating:
1.0

After I parked the truck in their lot some guy came out and was yelling to not park the truck there. To park in across the street. I didn’t know that it was their property. There were no other U-Haul trucks over there. There is no service, so going on the app to take pictures and submit the return wasn’t working at all.

Michael K 
Rating:
5.0

Nine

ROB H 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

TIARRA N 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Samantha G 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

NAGA V 
Rating:
3.0

It was difficult to park. Increasing space for parking would help.

Ashley S 
Rating:
5.0

Absolutely loved the experiece - at first we were questioning why we had to pass 2 huge well-lit convienet locations to get to this place- you would never go to this place without specific directions from siri or google, Its honestly a scene from a movie- As we approached there were at least 30 cars parked along the way, (and trhough this whole experece i saw only 4 people)the location we were to drop off was behind a "forified " fence with barbed wire at the top, so not sure where todrop off trailer, i drove to another area that had trailers, which was in a yard that after second looks noticed that there were grave stones in the yard, along with a few dicarded bikes-- OK , so as i aproached the gate (not seeing a person so far- super intemidated- but being brave as my wife is in the car) honestly out of NOWHERE a guy behind me says "Is Jake here?" OMG scared me to death- anyway went throught the gate found a guy elbows deep in a running semi truck, he never saw me- went to the door marked office, Lady inside was maybe confused to see a person? or that i would be returning a trailer? but she said her internet was down (I'm totally suprised this place had electricity, and not convinced that it had running water HA!) Please understand- please i want to maintain lots of respect for each of these people, understand its the circumstance that has led to the moment- not lack of character i have no reason to believe they aren't the best people- really)- so she said just drop it off i'll take care of it later ( so i did, probably unadviseably- no reciept- nothin)- it all worked out, and i want nothing but the best for this location- you should totally request this spot, you will be a better person because of it- so the 4th and last person i saw came out from an older premanufactured house - with the gravestones in the front yard and she just kinda stared at me as i dropped the trailer next to other trailers- It was an experience i will never forget- Five stars- I recommend renting a trailer just to experience the same thing!

Jerald N 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Harold D 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Brian O 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Cheryl F 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Amanda D 
Rating:
2.0

This place looks like a junkyard sandwiched between new houses. Very close to my house so that was convenient. Off hour drop off was seamless so that was good.

Adam B 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

EDWARD P 
Rating:
3.0

This was not a business location. It was a vehicle repair shop with a large gate. I had to call a number and then someone came out and disconnected my trailer. I have never seen a U-Haul trailer location like this one. It was convenient for me to drop off, but not what I was used to using.

Anthony O 
Rating:
1.0

Do better

kaityln q 
Rating:
2.0

Was not open during business hours, did not honor reservation time too. Was screamed on by lady who was late after we called the number on the gate. Two big dogs running at people who come to Office doors. Business owner came by and didn't help, said we as clients behaving improperly and threatening him because somebody from group mentioned leaving 1 star rating, i.e. he argued with us and then left w/o helping group of clients who were waiting for screaming lady to help us out. My trailer was stored in the woods with open doors which made it terribly dirty inside & out. Trailer had unremoved lock on it from previous customers and damaged handle from somebody trying to cut it, which made impossible for me to lock my things in trailer. Electric connector was all gummed up with dirt and didn't work until I got home to clear it.

Maksym N 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gerald C 
Rating:
1.0

Awful! No area to reasonably park equipment and now I just received information that my equipment was not returned right. Nothing but headaches from all involved during this experience.

Michael B 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RAM A 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

STEVEN G 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

wanda s 
Rating:
1.0

No one to assist with hookup or finding equipment. Waited almost 45 minutes for someone to help with hookup. Equipment was not easily accessible. It’s a mess of a junkyard.

Traci W 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Rod A 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Johanna B 
Rating:
1.0

The worst experience ever with everything!!!

Aiida B 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kevin K 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KIMBROUGH H 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sarah W 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sarah A 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kandianne P 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CHRISTOPHERROLA L 
Rating:
5.0

Very good customer service thank you

HOHAMMAD S 
Rating:
2.0

The pickup process was a bit complex because no one ever came outside. I know how to hook up a trailer and was able to validate condition and contest the condition with pictures. Other customers may not be as self-sufficient, and the employees at this location should come out to help.

Christopher A 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

shawn l 
Rating:
1.0

The furniture pads that I paid for were not in the uhaul nor was the vehicle ready by the time I reserved it as it was behind another uhaul so I had to wait until office hours to have someone pull it out for me. My contract also stated that there was 1/4 tank of gas remaining but when I got in the uhaul the tank was nearly empty with less than 40 miles remaining in the tank according to the display. No one called me to confirm my reservation not did anyone call to inform me that my location was moved. Overall a pretty bad experience and I probably wont use uhaul again unfortunately

Robert S 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lisa C 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jennifer W 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CARL R 
Rating:
4.0

Everything was great! Staff was responsive and helpful.

RobertH S 
Rating:
1.0

The place was downright spooky. I kept looking for a pack of dogs to come running out. I would have never gone there at night.

GERALD G 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

THERESA S 
Rating:
4.0

The customer rep was amazing.

Ishan P 
Rating:
3.0

Seemed a bit disorganized and messy due to the dirt road.

Katherine M 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

PAUL G 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

RANDY L 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Paula U 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

PATRICK B 
Rating:
4.0

Don't have the junk yard worker at the location crab at customer about parking their car. I did not have to do business with the U Haul center. I nearly walked away without renting the vehicle.

ROBERT S 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Chelsea B 
Rating:
3.0

Order was not complete. No blankets provided. I had to drive to another location. They could have done this for me but only notified me upon arrival. Wasted my time and added mileage to my trip. Inconvenience to me. It was a wrecker service not a moving rental location.

Roy P 
Rating:
1.0

Everything

doug c 
Rating:
2.0

Although the people were nice, they did not have the furniture pads I reserved - ultimately directed me to go to two other locations before we found some - we lost at least an hour of time I expected to use the trailer - also, because of the mix-up time had expired before I got to comment on the trailer condition - it had two dings.

Parke R 
Rating:
2.0

No assistance with drop off, or unhooking the trailer, location is not well marked

Allen O 
Rating:
2.0

The keys were not present on site and had to wait for 10 mins for someone to get them from the office. There is no office location. The van had issue with left tire pressure. The van was not checked properly after the last use. The van also smelled very bad. It felt someone may be used it to transport animals. I do not recommend this location to anyone. I am never coming back. To the Uhaul dealer. Please have the vehicles ready for the customers prior to pick up. And please have them cleaned or odor removed.

Saru M 
Rating:
2.0

Have a jack for the trailer like a boat trailer.

JOSEPH J 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BRADLEY S 
Rating:
3.0

A small, backwoods spot with no real office location. Staff was polite on the phone, but a little disconcerting to drive up to (and would not have felt safe if I was a single woman).

Robert F 
Rating:
5.0

Great to rent without hassle.

PHILLIP C 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Edward A 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Shahid K 
Rating:
5.0

Staff was friendly and cordial

Robert M 
Rating:
5.0

After hour drop off. Location was very easy to find/use.

Gregory M 
Rating:
2.0

Update the inventory on appliance dolly so customers can get what they reserved at this location. Service was slow and we had to call to be allowed inside the gate... while standing in the rain for 10 minutes. The place looked more like a junk yard than retail location. Our Uber driver did not want to leave us at the gate.

Angel R 
Rating:
2.0

They could not find the key for the initial UHAUL that was designated for me. I was then provided a replacement UHAUL that did not have any gas. I was told Uhaul provided them with the truck so I should be reimbursed for gas when i drop it off (the drop off place advised me that this should have been taken care of when i picked up the uhaul). Is there not a way for the uhaul Vendor to place gas in these vehicles prior to the next customer?

Christian F 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ryan H 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Patricia A 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MILES D 
Rating:
2.0

The rental went very well but the location was not inviting at all. I was a little afraid to get out of my vehicle because of the dogs. Also the rental vehicle was not clean and the gas gauge was not on full. Courtney the rental agent was great to work with.

Landa G 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly helpful staff...

Tanisha F 
Rating:
1.0

Post the correct opening hours. My reservation got switched to this location and nobody informed me that they open 1 hour later than my reservation. In addition, there are guard dogs that look mean, but turned out to be OK. Plus the location is isolated.

James B 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOHN O 
Rating:
1.0

They were supposed to open at 8A. They were not present. Whn I caled the number on the gate I was told they would be "there shortly as he lived close by" He did not arrive for another 30 minutes. When I questioned the hours he informed me "I know what hours are for my busiiness. We open at 9A." The sign on the gate and the reservation said 8A. When he finally got around to taking care of me, (after he took a customer who arrived after me) he stated the directional did not work. He seemed to think that was acceptable. He also said it was "just above empty" buut the paperwork he gave me said 1/4 tank. If I had not already paid people to help me that morning and I already rented equipment I had to pick up I would have walked out. NEVER will do business with them again. When I attempted to retunr the vehicle 2 hours later, during business hours, he was gone and the facility was closed. The opening of the drop box was not large enought to drop the key.....very disappointed. I have sharerd this experience with a few others who claim simular things happened to them when they rented with this site. THey do not represent you well.

SUE T 
Rating:
3.0

The people were nice. The location was deplorable as it is a tow place covered all over with car wrecks. Did see a cool 1967 VW Beetle though. I hope this is read thoroughly because the personnel were very helpful. In route with the vehicle I had a minor contact with another car as they came up rapidly on my blind spot rear on the driver side. He apparently lost a hub cap. I experienced no damage and the folks at the U-Haul return were considerate and thorough. They called it in as "no damage" but if damage is discovered please let me know.

TIMOTHY T 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Phil Q 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Karla K 
Rating:
1.0

They didn’t want to put up their Rottweilers so that I can pick up the truck.

Tycara a 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly, professional, and courteous service. The 20’ truck was well maintained, clean, and perfect for the job. Thanks!

Scott M 
Rating:
1.0

After online drop off, Claytons tried to charge my card $110. It was declined then they charged my card $81. Both times I tried to contact them, the first time they didn’t know what I was talking about and would call me back. No call back. The second time, they wouldn’t answer the phone. Why the $30 difference in bogus charges: extra day, not enough gas. When I returned the uhaul truck two days before the deadline. And the required gas put back into the truck. I’m definitely not using uhaul again if this is what I can expect.

Blaine H 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Keith E 
Rating:
3.0

Thanks

Ray O 
Rating:
2.0

I reserved a trailer 3 weeks in advance in NC at a specific location and one day before pickup I received a phone call and my pickup location was changed because they didn’t have the trailer I reserved in advance so what’s the point in making reservations!!!!!!

Korey R 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Daniel I 
Rating:
5.0

Every thing is good with reasonable prices

Mangala D 
Rating:
5.0

Courtney was amazing!! When I arrived on site there was only one truck for use. Courtney made sure to locate another truck for a different customer and offered me the truck on-site. Talk about Customer Service. Courtney went above and beyond when she didn’t even have to. I will most certainly be back.

Tommyka S 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

John T 
Rating:
2.0

Have someone at the location so I can pick up my equipment in a timely fashion.

Jonathan P 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Devin C 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James C 
Rating:
3.0

Not to block the Dropbox with a tractor

Jermaine W 
Rating:
5.0

This location has just begon its U-Haul service so there are a few little items that I am sure will be improved with time.

John B 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sourabh K 
Rating:
5.0

The Clayton's Garage worker was great and helpful. I did mobile pickup and it did not work. It said my location was turned off and couldn't check in. But it was on . Thankfully the guy at Claytons garage was there and checked me in. I will not be using mobile pickup with you guys again.

Greg M 
Rating:
1.0

The place was locked, and there was no place to park the trailer. While I was trying to figure out what to do, a tow truck driver opened the gate to leave. I asked what to do but he seemed clueless. Finally he told me to drop the trailer by the side of the road, which I did without his help. He started to leave and I asked about paperwork. He said "You're just dropping it , right?" So I said do I need to give you my folder and he said OK, took it, and left. I have no documentation that I left the trailer. It was dreadful!

Wesley W 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Mark W 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top