Customer Reviews for Dominion Self Storage
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

1368 reviews

373 Tasker Rd   Stephens City, VA 22655

(540) 868-1305

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 5 pm
  • Sat: 8 am - 12 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 12 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 8/3/2021 - 8/4/2021: Closed
  • 8/7/2021: 9:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 8/14/2021: 9:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 8/21/2021: 9:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 8/28/2021: 9:00 am - 12:00 pm

Show All Hours

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(540) 868-1305

373 Tasker Rd
Stephens City, VA 22655

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 5 pm
  • Sat: 8 am - 12 pm
  • Sun: 9 am - 12 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 8/3/2021 - 8/4/2021: Closed
  • 8/7/2021: 9:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 8/14/2021: 9:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 8/21/2021: 9:00 am - 12:00 pm
  • 8/28/2021: 9:00 am - 12:00 pm

Show All Hours

  • Free towing inspection
  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jessica W. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael W.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Daniel D.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
3.0

The Covid 19 protocols that are in place make processing slightly awkward but understandable. The gentleman managing the operation was very helpful and professional.

RICHARD BALLOU T. 
Rating:
5.0

They were perfect.

STEPHEN M. 
Rating:
5.0

When returning the truck there should be instruction about needing a picture of the odometer and gas gauge in the instructions before turning in the keys. There's nothing listed in the paper instruction or any of the sticker in the truck.

Crystal W. 
Rating:
3.0

The site was fine, but the online drop off systems is terrible. It took me over ten minutes to get it complete. Internet connection was spotty, and there was some issues with inputting the final mileage. I hope I never have to go through that again.

SEANALEXANDER D. 
Rating:
5.0

Wonderful customer service. Genuinely nice and took time to explain everything. Very pleased.

Sheila A. 
Rating:
2.0

Provide all requested equipment

Jeffrey S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christopher M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Neil B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Luis M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

VALORA E. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nancy D. 
Rating:
5.0

The staff was helpful, whenever needed. Had storage units here for three years and no issues. Would highly recommend to those looking for storage facilities.

Patty D.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
4.0

the location was good, clean and easy to get too. the online experience was horrible. the app could not find my locstion and i was on hold with the 800 number way too long and never did get through to a person.

Michael B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

VALORA E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DEBRA S. 
Rating:
4.0

Our 20 ft truck wasn't ready for us so they upgraded us to a 26ft for the same price. That's was great !

DONNACARR T. 
Rating:
4.0

I didn't find anything wrong to fix it or make improvements.

Sheli P. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Katrina R. 
Rating:
5.0

I've rented from several different UHaul locations, but this was by far the best customer service that I've ever experienced.

ROBERTT P. 
Rating:
4.0

The chart for the amount of gas to add to get the level back to half was not accurate. I added 8 gal (one gal more than the chart suggested, but when we drove to the drop off, it did not measure 1/2, so we had to drive back to the gas station and add 3 more gal. Otherwise, the experience was very good.

SUSAN T. 
Rating:
5.0

What a great experience. It was easy, fast, and convenient! Truly a great place, employees and experience!

Josh H.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Paul M.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
2.0

Could not enter the office area, also picked up a trailer at the Winchester location experience was 100 percent better at Winchester 2 miles apart. Had to do rental over the phone, they had a dog barking hard to hear conversation then they open door and ask me to move because of the dog. Bad experience at the Stephens City location.

Sandy B. 
Rating:
4.0

The truck was dirty both inside and out. However, we changed our pick up time to an earlier time. The truck was due in shortly before we picked it up. They may not have had time to clean it.

Leslie H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Wendy K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Barbara Ellen H. 
Rating:
3.0

The truck seemed to pull to the left a lot. I feel like it needs to be looked at. Almost pulled us off 81 a couple of times. Other than that, no issues.

Eric H. 
Rating:
3.0

Don't have them wait in their car. Open the shop

DANIELJOSEPH C. 
Rating:
5.0

Could not complete the online return. My ‘location services' are turned on in my phone so it was not that. But the equipment rented (6x12 trailer) was great and the personnel at the location were helpful.

ROBERTWYTHE D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

HENRYJEOVANNY L. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing exceptional service

Joyce R. 
Rating:
1.0

Make the drop off process more clear. I did not know where or how to leave the trailer. The office doors were locked and it was still business hrs. Eventually got a lady on the phone and she came out. Not very professional.

Jim K. 
Rating:
5.0

Good people and a good place with a perfect little trailer! Built a sandbox/garden for our granddaughter and needed to move the wood pieces and parts to deliver (as well as pick up 27 bags of sand and a dozen bags of soil to fill it!). Dominion Storage was awesome, the staff went far beyond to assist with everything, even helped us find service and rescheduled our reservation to make sure we were taken care of when our tow light system didn't work at pickup. They made the whole rental experience wonderful for us!

Cindy K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert L. 
Rating:
4.0

The app didn't work well, and it was the only way to access the vehicle. We had to wait 40 minutes before being able to access the vehicle.

Sam S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Daniel L.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Renting with Dominion was the best U-Haul experience I've had. The representatives were friendly, and even during this pandemic, they maintained a customer-friendly attitude. If I were still living in the area, I'd definitely go through Dominion again.

Doug W. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

William F. 
Rating:
1.0

Late opening and not very friendly.

Theresa S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Alexander W. 
Rating:
5.0

I could not Return the truck using inline site. I was extremely exhausted and sat there for 45 mins trying to get ut to work. I know how to read and I entered 114309 stated mileage lower then beginning. I was irritated to NO END!!

ELIZABETH L. 
Rating:
5.0

Trailer had a hole in the floor that allowed water to enter. Door was difficult to open or latch closed

RICHARD S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SUSANSLADEN P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Susan P. 
Rating:
5.0

Easy in and Easy out. Pick up easy and location staff were very Covid conscious. Return simple and easy. Service was excellent. I would highly recommend.

JOHNRICHARD T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Russell (Russ) L.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
4.0

Please reopen the office. It makes renting a truck a lot easier.

Dorothy W. 
Rating:
2.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christopher V. 
Rating:
3.0

Truck was returned when office was closed.

Edward O. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joaquin H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Meagan S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SYLVIAELOISE M. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing! There was a problem with the company"s website. After several phone calls we were able to make the reservation. The manager was extremely helpful.

CYNTHIABRITTON N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

SHAWNSTEVEN G. 
Rating:
4.0

The only thing not clean was the inside of the windshield. Otherwise the truck was very clean.

LESLIEDEMARAIS H. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Fergi R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Sarah S.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DANIELLERENA G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ROGER LEE JR J. 
Rating:
5.0

Very accommodating, professional and helpful.

Jeannette S.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
1.0

The owner is very rude . Poor communication and poor service

ASHLEYELIZABETH W. 
Rating:
5.0

This is the 2nd time I've dropped off at this location, Dominion Self Storage. Both times the individuals were extremely helpful. I'd highly recommend them.

Elizabeth H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JERRYWAYNE N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

STEPHANIETHERESE M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Chester A. 
Rating:
5.0

The online, contactless, rental is really to long of a process. Most of this could be done the day the reservation was made.

Jennifer N. 
Rating:
5.0

NA

cindia M. 
Rating:
5.0

I have used Dominion Storage numerous times over the last ten years. I have always found the facility clean, easy to access and interacted with a professional staff that have always been helpful. I would highly recommend this facility. Thanks for being there.

Marsha S.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Terri J. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Betsey B.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing at this time. Dominion Self Storage U-Haul provides the best customer service. Always helpful!

BENJAMINRITCHIE P. 
Rating:
5.0

Very easy to get to and return. Thank you

Sam H. 
Rating:
5.0

This is a great facility with very accomodating staff. The storage rooms have easy access too!

EDWIN B.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
4.0

I tried to drop the trailer off at an easy spot for me. The employee said they had no means to move the trailer. They had asked me to back the trailer into a desired spot. Normally not a big deal, but there was snow on the ground and I was in a rush. I suggest they have equipment in hand to move the trailer.

KRISTJAN R. 
Rating:
5.0

Great staff! Facility is clean and easily accessible.

SHELLY LYNN N.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

NEAL B.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LEANNE C.  |  Overall Experience 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Ashley H. 
Rating:
3.0

If I didn't have a smart phone I wouldn't have been able to get my truck. The main office that called me told me they opened at 8 and the were not open. Also it's sad we had to do all the work checking our truck back in (taking pictures) or get charged a fee. The other companies I've use, I've never had to do all that!

Karin T. 
Rating:
1.0

Because I was 30 mins late returning after they closed they charged me another day. I was stuck on the side of the road broke down w q blown tire on my vehicle and then had to have it towed because the lug nuts wouldn't come off. They took out my rent money.

Constance S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Tasha W. 
Rating:
1.0

It is not the location I had an issue with it is U-haul. I was set up for Mobile Pick up. It would NOT work. I was on the phone with 2 different Customer Service persons 2 separate times. No one was able to help. I was almost 2 hours late to our move while I was paying on the clock. This costs me an extra 240.00. I will never use U-haul again. I will use anyone but them. The worst experience, ever.

COLLEENP H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

AZUCENAGUADALUPE C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

WESLEYCHARLES M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

THOMASPAUL L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Connor B. 
Rating:
1.0

I reserved a truck online - get to the location to find I was advised they don't have my truck all they have is a 20' - they book me 30 min away in West Virginia - I start driving there and thinking I should call to verify. I do - guess what? I have yet another confirmed reservation but they also have NO trucks. At this point I asked for a manager , Judy I believe was her name apologized and told me another 30 minutes form that location in West Virginia has one . At this point I asked her to call them (. I would of never planned out this moving day with my family involved had I known no one had trucks.) at this point she is hesitate to call but I insist. She comes back to the line - they don't have my truck but yet she offers a 20' for the same price. (Now if she is offering me this why wasn't I offered this at the first location?? I tell her about the first location having a 20' she now calls them . Yes in fact I can rent the 20' for my confirmed price. But the catch is they close in 2 minutes and they are the ones that sent me to West Virginia. They agree to wait and I arrived back at my original location. I call the number as instructed on the door the lady goes through the contract I ask about my hand truck which was on my reservation , she hesitates and says now we have to start Over . Finally she comes out with the contract I sign she instructs me the truck is around back. She will get the hand truck and push it out the door. She does and locks the door behind her. I walk around back look at the truck scrapes and dents. I open the door the molding by the side of the seat is off the passengers door rubber seal is lying in the passenger seat there is a ton of dog hair everywhere, smoke smell and a nice chip in the windshield. I drive the truck around front to advise the office . She is actually already in her car and pulling away At this point - and all the time wasted of this day I'm over it . I go to my storage unit pack up and head to Jacksonville nc . I wanted to do this move in all one day . But now it took 2 . I'm writing this review because I am highly disappointed in Uhaul! I except better service the same non stop service myself family and friends have always received in Jacksonville nc where everyone is friendly and wonderful If you would like to discuss my review I can be reached at 9102145125 or sshunkie@hotmail.com

Sherry C. 
Rating:
3.0

You had a weeks notice to get me a 26 ft truck and the closest truck was 18 miles away! In a metropolitan area like Winchester,VA this is unacceptable. I took a 20 ft truck and it was parked right beside a 26 ft truck. What the heck? I will probably not use your service again!

James M. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing everything was excellent and respectful and quality work 👏

Derrick C. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ANN MARIEANTIONE D. 
Rating:
5.0

The team at Dominion are customer focused 110%. Cover all aspects of the process. Very through! Dale, the U-haul agent, is efficient, polite and helpful.

Curtis L. 
Rating:
4.0

Would have been excellent rating, but too afraid of Covid 19 - requested/put too much on customer that they should have volunteered upfront to do. Some people cannot do as they ask and do everything with phone only - like turn in.

Dixon C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer service was great!

Diana H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

denise G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

DOUGLASDUWAYNE L. 
Rating:
1.0

If I could rate this place a ZERO, that is what I would give this place!! I am a home stager for a living and rent Uhauls all the time, never with an issue, until I went to the Stephens City location. Dawn Was the lady I dealt with. To say she was rude and abrasive is an understatement. I arrived to the facility at exactly 9:30 AM as she specified. The first thing a Sunsets is where is your toe? Tells me she refuses to put my tow on and that It had to be pre/hitched. Interesting how all the other dealers I rented from before, never had issue that prior. She then goes on to tell me that the light is blown, and she can't rent the trailer to me. She then sends me off on a wild goose chase to two different automotive places to try to rectify a broken light that was not broken to begin with. After I left the dealership, she called me to tell me that she believes the trailer is broken and can't rent it to me anyways. Mind you, it's the only 6 x 12 trailer available in the area. She then later calls back again, a half hour later and tells me the trailer is fine. I went back to her place 2 1/2 hours later to be told that the renter has been canceled and I had to go through and do the paperwork again if I want to re-rent it. So, 3.5 hours after I was suppose to meet my clients, I finally leave. A gentleman from the office told me I would have to have the trailer back by 5 PM on Friday if I wanted assistance in unhooking the trailer. He also told me the staff was only available until 12 PM on Saturday to assist me. There was no mention in my contract or verbally at that time that I had to have it back by certain time or I have to pay more money. As I was driving back the trailer Friday afternoon, I received a call from Dawn, stating that no one would be available to help me with the trailer until after 10:30 AM, on Saturday. I then informed her that I would try to return it that evening on Friday, which I did. The next day at 11:30 AM, I receive a call for her again, stating I owe her more money. She claimed that I had to have the trailer back by Friday at 11:15 AM!! There' was nowhere in the contract nor was it stated to me verbally that this is the case. She scammed me out of another $30 for this rental under terms I never agreed upon. She's ridiculous, unprofessional, and absolutely absurd! I would NEVER recommend this place or location to ANYONE and I know A LOT of people!!

Jodi G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Matthew H. 
Rating:
5.0

No improvements needed. Uhaul sent a detailed video with instructions. Dominion storage called me 2 days ahead of my rental to check in and sent me an email with quality clear instructions for pick up and return. Best experience I've ever had with Uhaul Dominion Storage does it right!

Bernard H. 
Rating:
3.0

Have help available for non working app to return truck

Bryan K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

NEALT K. 
Rating:
4.0

Did not get the 2 furniture dollies as requested.

John C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph H. 
Rating:
2.0

The woman working there is extremely rude. I pulled into the lot, saw the trailer that was there for me, and began to back up to it to get aligned for pick up. The woman came outside and yelled at me that I needed to call inside and check-in. (I assume they were restricting access to their business due to COVID.) I said that I would once I was in position. I then called inside to check in and opened up the trailer to ensure the moving blankets I rented were inside. I then began to connect the trailer to my hitch. I know it is uHaul policy for the station reps to do this, but it did not used to be that way. It is my vehicle after all that is at stake as well as your trailer. I want to ensure it is connected properly. The man and woman came outside as I was finishing the hitch connection and both yelled at me "Sir you need to get back inside your vehicle!" They were acting as if I were a zombie or leper. They were very rude. The man at least maintained a level of professionalism. The woman did not. The woman actually yelled out "asshole" as I was driving off the lot. People like this who feed into the COVID media hysteria show just how uneducated they are. See next comment.

Michael B. 
Rating:
4.0

Definitely one of the better uhaul rental experiences I've had. The size truck I needed was available. Due to the current pandemic restrictions I was unable to enter the facility and had to conduct my entire interaction via phone and online. However, the staff were friendly and exceptionally helpful and explained the pickup and return processes thoroughly. I would return to this location if needed again.

SHELLYLYNN N. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James S. 
Rating:
4.0

I did not receive any instructions about what to do when returning. I put the keys in the drop box before going through the return process on my phone. Not knowing I'd need to take pictures of the odometer etc. For the record, I did fill the truck up with gas before returning even tho the meter reads empty in the picture I took. Because again, I put the keys in the box so I could not turn the vehicle on.

SHAWN TYLER H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

MARC S. 
Rating:
3.0

Better parking lot lighting would be nice. The return/check-in process was a bit much. Friendly staff and a good vehicle were the main things I wanted...and received! Thank you.

LANNYSCOTT T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Timothy C. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

  • Truck Sales Icon
    Trucks for Sale

    We have the largest selection in the industry!

Back
To Top