Customer Reviews for Ocean Performance
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

700 reviews

280 Boston Post Rd   Old Saybrook, CT 06475

(860) 339-0481

Office Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am–6 pm
  • Sat: 9 am–4 pm
  • Sun: 10 am–2 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 7/23/2024: Closed
  • 7/24/2024: Closed
  • 7/25/2024: Closed
  • 7/26/2024: Closed
  • 7/27/2024: Closed
  • 7/28/2024: Closed
  • 7/29/2024: Closed
  • 7/30/2024: Closed
  • 7/31/2024: Closed
  • 8/1/2024: Closed
  • 8/2/2024: Closed
  • 8/3/2024: Closed
  • 8/4/2024: Closed
  • 8/5/2024: Closed
  • 8/6/2024: Closed
  • 8/7/2024: Closed
  • 8/8/2024: Closed
  • 8/9/2024: Closed
  • 8/10/2024: Closed
  • 8/11/2024: Closed
  • 8/12/2024: Closed
  • 8/13/2024: Closed
  • 8/14/2024: Closed
  • 8/15/2024: Closed
  • 8/16/2024: Closed
  • 8/17/2024: Closed
  • 8/18/2024: Closed
  • 8/19/2024: Closed
  • 8/20/2024: Closed
  • 8/21/2024: Closed
  • 8/22/2024: Closed
  • 8/23/2024: Closed
  • 8/24/2024: Closed
  • 8/25/2024: Closed
  • 8/26/2024: Closed
  • 8/27/2024: Closed
  • 8/28/2024: Closed
  • 8/29/2024: Closed
  • 8/30/2024: Closed
  • 8/31/2024: Closed
  • 9/1/2024: Closed
  • 9/2/2024: Closed
  • 9/3/2024: Closed
  • 9/4/2024: Closed
  • 9/5/2024: Closed
  • 9/6/2024: Closed
  • 9/7/2024: Closed
  • 9/8/2024: Closed
  • 9/9/2024: Closed
  • 9/10/2024: Closed
  • 9/11/2024: Closed
  • 9/12/2024: Closed
  • 9/13/2024: Closed
  • 9/14/2024: Closed
  • 9/15/2024: Closed
  • 9/16/2024: Closed
  • 9/17/2024: Closed
  • 9/18/2024: Closed
  • 9/19/2024: Closed
  • 9/20/2024: Closed
  • 9/21/2024: Closed
  • 9/22/2024: Closed
  • 9/23/2024: Closed
  • 9/24/2024: Closed
  • 9/25/2024: Closed
  • 9/26/2024: Closed
  • 9/27/2024: Closed
  • 9/28/2024: Closed
  • 9/29/2024: Closed
  • 9/30/2024: Closed
  • 10/1/2024: Closed
  • 10/2/2024: Closed
  • 10/3/2024: Closed
  • 10/4/2024: Closed
  • 10/5/2024: Closed
  • 10/6/2024: Closed
  • 10/7/2024: Closed
  • 10/8/2024: Closed
  • 10/9/2024: Closed
  • 10/10/2024: Closed
  • 10/11/2024: Closed
  • 10/12/2024: Closed
  • 10/13/2024: Closed
  • 10/14/2024: Closed
  • 10/15/2024: Closed
  • 10/16/2024: Closed
  • 10/17/2024: Closed
  • 10/18/2024: Closed
  • 10/19/2024: Closed
  • 10/20/2024: Closed
  • 10/21/2024: Closed
  • 10/22/2024: Closed
  • 10/23/2024: Closed
  • 10/24/2024: Closed
  • 10/25/2024: Closed
  • 10/26/2024: Closed
  • 10/27/2024: Closed
  • 10/28/2024: Closed
  • 10/29/2024: Closed
  • 10/30/2024: Closed

Show All Hours

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(860) 339-0481

280 Boston Post Rd
Old Saybrook, CT 06475

Services at this Location:

Office Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am–6 pm
  • Sat: 9 am–4 pm
  • Sun: 10 am–2 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 7/23/2024: Closed
  • 7/24/2024: Closed
  • 7/25/2024: Closed
  • 7/26/2024: Closed
  • 7/27/2024: Closed
  • 7/28/2024: Closed
  • 7/29/2024: Closed
  • 7/30/2024: Closed
  • 7/31/2024: Closed
  • 8/1/2024: Closed
  • 8/2/2024: Closed
  • 8/3/2024: Closed
  • 8/4/2024: Closed
  • 8/5/2024: Closed
  • 8/6/2024: Closed
  • 8/7/2024: Closed
  • 8/8/2024: Closed
  • 8/9/2024: Closed
  • 8/10/2024: Closed
  • 8/11/2024: Closed
  • 8/12/2024: Closed
  • 8/13/2024: Closed
  • 8/14/2024: Closed
  • 8/15/2024: Closed
  • 8/16/2024: Closed
  • 8/17/2024: Closed
  • 8/18/2024: Closed
  • 8/19/2024: Closed
  • 8/20/2024: Closed
  • 8/21/2024: Closed
  • 8/22/2024: Closed
  • 8/23/2024: Closed
  • 8/24/2024: Closed
  • 8/25/2024: Closed
  • 8/26/2024: Closed
  • 8/27/2024: Closed
  • 8/28/2024: Closed
  • 8/29/2024: Closed
  • 8/30/2024: Closed
  • 8/31/2024: Closed
  • 9/1/2024: Closed
  • 9/2/2024: Closed
  • 9/3/2024: Closed
  • 9/4/2024: Closed
  • 9/5/2024: Closed
  • 9/6/2024: Closed
  • 9/7/2024: Closed
  • 9/8/2024: Closed
  • 9/9/2024: Closed
  • 9/10/2024: Closed
  • 9/11/2024: Closed
  • 9/12/2024: Closed
  • 9/13/2024: Closed
  • 9/14/2024: Closed
  • 9/15/2024: Closed
  • 9/16/2024: Closed
  • 9/17/2024: Closed
  • 9/18/2024: Closed
  • 9/19/2024: Closed
  • 9/20/2024: Closed
  • 9/21/2024: Closed
  • 9/22/2024: Closed
  • 9/23/2024: Closed
  • 9/24/2024: Closed
  • 9/25/2024: Closed
  • 9/26/2024: Closed
  • 9/27/2024: Closed
  • 9/28/2024: Closed
  • 9/29/2024: Closed
  • 9/30/2024: Closed
  • 10/1/2024: Closed
  • 10/2/2024: Closed
  • 10/3/2024: Closed
  • 10/4/2024: Closed
  • 10/5/2024: Closed
  • 10/6/2024: Closed
  • 10/7/2024: Closed
  • 10/8/2024: Closed
  • 10/9/2024: Closed
  • 10/10/2024: Closed
  • 10/11/2024: Closed
  • 10/12/2024: Closed
  • 10/13/2024: Closed
  • 10/14/2024: Closed
  • 10/15/2024: Closed
  • 10/16/2024: Closed
  • 10/17/2024: Closed
  • 10/18/2024: Closed
  • 10/19/2024: Closed
  • 10/20/2024: Closed
  • 10/21/2024: Closed
  • 10/22/2024: Closed
  • 10/23/2024: Closed
  • 10/24/2024: Closed
  • 10/25/2024: Closed
  • 10/26/2024: Closed
  • 10/27/2024: Closed
  • 10/28/2024: Closed
  • 10/29/2024: Closed
  • 10/30/2024: Closed

Show All Hours

  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Marc R 
Rating:
5.0

Streamlined process was respectful of my time. Very accommodating to my changing needs. Thank you.

Robert O 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

JOSHUA V 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

EDMUND T 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

BONNIE N 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert F 
Rating:
5.0

Check engine light on, handle for window broken, major wobble in front end (steering), vehicle unsafe at highway speeds. Vehicle was clean, but for 92,000 miles, was extremely worn and in need of major service.

Gary G 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Thomas R 
Rating:
3.0

Based on what occurred at the drop off, I would have preferred a location that was farther away.

richard d 
Rating:
5.0

Awesome service

Kevin C 
Rating:
5.0

Great location and selection of rental vehicles. The online mobile check in was not working properly, so fortunately there was someone at the service counter I could check the van out with. Would highly recommend!

Lucy A 
Rating:
5.0

The Customer Service is excellent. Continue the present practices. Carol S. provides excellent customer service. The U-haul vehicle was the ideal size and easy to operate. Thank you for the highest quality customer service. Phil Maniscalco

Philip M 
Rating:
3.0

Associate seemed very overwhelmed by the number of UHaul trucks outside her business. We were just dropping off the truck from a one-way rental this was a little awkward. The check in went fine and we were billed the appropriate amount, so we were sad to learn this location will no longer be offering UHauls beginning in December.

Ryan S 
Rating:
5.0

Great service

Will S 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Paul G 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Marc R 
Rating:
5.0

Professional staff

Kevin B 
Rating:
5.0

Great service

Vincent F 
Rating:
5.0

Good job

michelle m 
Rating:
5.0

Carol is the best

Lawrence D 
Rating:
5.0

Thanks, great experience

William F 
Rating:
5.0

Easy location to get on the highway and Carol was great!

Mark H 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Stephen T 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing needed, Chris, Carol and the crew here did great. Thanks!

Jeffrey W 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Thomas D 
Rating:
5.0

We were surprised at the extra fees added on like the Environmental Fee, Vehicle Cost Recovery Fee, and Rental Tax Fee. It’s like every company has to add on additional fees that raise the prices of any service advertised. Just add the fees to the initial quote.

Susan S 
Rating:
5.0

Ocean performance and carol are the best

Lawrence D 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Stephen D 
Rating:
5.0

Carol, the U-Haul Customer Service Associate, is a consummate professional: knowledgeable, competent, very helpful, efficient and personable. I will recommend Ocean Performance U-Haul to my family, friends and associates.

Edward G 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly staff! I fully recommend this location.

Stephen D 
Rating:
5.0

Great staff. Loved the online check in

Brian C 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jeffrey G 
Rating:
5.0

Carol excellent

Lawrence D 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Anthony A 
Rating:
5.0

Easy reservation, easy pickup, easy drop-off. A very pleasant experience.

Paul L 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kenneth M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

peter W 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

bruno g 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Alson C 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Cara M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Scott J 
Rating:
5.0

Great experience and staff

Burton B 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Scott J 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing five stars across the board!

Keith L 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing carol is gr8

Lawrence D 
Rating:
5.0

Carol his extremely helpful and helped streamline the whole process! She is great to work with!

Jason L 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was great with my rental. Carol was the best!

Jason L 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kimberly B 
Rating:
3.0

Hidden fee. Why cleaning fee bunch of other fees are not mentioned in the beginning? Felt the typical corporate hidden theft

Mohammad Z 
Rating:
5.0

Good

ADAM M 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was great, the staff was great too.

len d 
Rating:
4.0

Quick easy service, clean truck very efficient easy drop off

Christine L 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Stephen G 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Zachary F 
Rating:
4.0

The lock was difficult to use. Better directions spin the letter a few times) would be helpful. Also let people know ahead of time that it takes about 20 minutes to check in and out so they can plan their day

Hollyann M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Daniel P 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent customer service.

Stacie W 
Rating:
5.0

Carol is the consummate professional: smart, knowledgeable, personable, helpful and gracious; I won't hesitate to recommend Carol and the Old Saybrook U-Haul Center to anyone, including my family.

Edward G 
Rating:
4.0

Customer service was terrific Vehicle is underpowered. Value is good.

Gary G 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

April R 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lawrence D 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

elizabeth c 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Keith C 
Rating:
5.0

Great friendly service. The truck was in perfect shape.

len d 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Peter L 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Heloiza M 
Rating:
5.0

The U-Haul staff was excellent, and the consummate professional; I would not hesitate to recommend them!

Edward G 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Edward G 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

CAROLYN H 
Rating:
5.0

I think it works very well as is.

David C 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lawrence D 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael K 
Rating:
5.0

great service,pleasant people, very reasonable

FRANCIS B 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent customer service. Vehicle was clean and perfect for the intended use. The rental process was easy and the pick up and return was equally easy. Thank you Carol for your excellent customer service and attention. Phil Maniscalco

Philip M 
Rating:
5.0

Carol's gr8 person

Lawrence D 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

suketu p 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steven H 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Stephen G 
Rating:
4.0

Was fine. Small location. No one there on Sunday drop off. Good cell phone reception so check out went well.

Robert B 
Rating:
5.0

Keep this step great oeople

Lawrence D 
Rating:
5.0

I can't think of anything that can be done to improve the service. I van was spotless, the check-out and check-in processes were extremely easy, and the customer service was outstanding. I will DEFINITELY be using them again for my moving needs!

Andrew N 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steven H 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert R 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lawrence D 
Rating:
1.0

Hello, I rented a truck at state street and was told less than 24 hrs that it wasn't available and had to pick it up 45 minutes from the original destination. Then I was told that the truck at the new destination would be available in the evening so I could pick it up and stay on schedule the following day. We drove all the way there and it wasn't available. I had to drive back again in the morning and it ended up adding 2 hours to my trip and I lost my movers because they had to go on another job. It was a terrible experience and a financial disaster. I feel there should be some remedy.

John S 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Vincent T 
Rating:
5.0

Staff was do pleasant & very accommodating. Great experience renting from Ocean Performance! Thank you!

Lucy B 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Jennifer P 
Rating:
5.0

Always very customer friendly and professional

todd h 
Rating:
5.0

Everything was great and Ocean Performance was very accommodating. Truck was in great shape and got better gas mileage than I would have expected

Paul M 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Thomas B 
Rating:
5.0

Carol was wonderful, helpful, and kind. 10/10! Word of advice: don’t use the app go inside for way faster checkin/checkout

Natalie L 
Rating:
5.0

n/a

Randy S 
Rating:
5.0

All went very smoothly. Carole was very pleasant and helpful.

Brooks C 
Rating:
5.0

I have used many locations over the last 40 years and hands down this is the absolute best location and staff I have experienced.

todd h 
Rating:
3.0

Express mobile service was not user friendly - would not recommend - took 90 minutes to get support to help with process

Cheryl H 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lawrence D 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

hussein m 
Rating:
5.0

Vehicle wasn’t clean when I got it. An empty bottle of liquor in driver’s door and cigarettes in multiple areas. As soon as I put in gear the right front hubcap fell off and right rear tire was nearly flat. Walk through inspection never happened.

James S 
Rating:
5.0

As always, the staff at the Old Saybrook location are friendly, respectful, caring and professional. They provide the best customer service and experience.

hussein m 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top