Customer Reviews for Ocean Performance
(U-Haul Neighborhood Dealer)

593 reviews

280 Boston Post Rd   Old Saybrook, CT 06475

(860) 339-0481

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 6 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Sun: 10 am - 2 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 1/22/2022: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
  • 1/23/2022: Closed
  • 1/24/2022 - 1/28/2022: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
  • 1/29/2022: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
  • 1/30/2022: Closed
  • 1/31/2022 - 2/4/2022: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Show All Hours

Services at this Location:

Contact Us

(860) 339-0481

280 Boston Post Rd
Old Saybrook, CT 06475

Services at this Location:

Location Hours

  • Mon-Fri: 9 am - 6 pm
  • Sat: 9 am - 4 pm
  • Sun: 10 am - 2 pm
Special Operating Hours
  • 1/22/2022: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
  • 1/23/2022: Closed
  • 1/24/2022 - 1/28/2022: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
  • 1/29/2022: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
  • 1/30/2022: Closed
  • 1/31/2022 - 2/4/2022: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Show All Hours

  • 24 hour customer return

Testimonials From Recent Customers

Customer feedback is extremely important to us. We use these reviews to guide our efforts and improve our service. Everything that follows is direct from our customers, without any filtering or editing on our part.

Overall Rating:

Reviews without text are currently hidden. Show them shown. Hide them

Rating:
3.0

Key was not in lockbox, the manager happened to drive by & saw our lights in parking lot (it was 6pm, very dark & freezing cold). She found the key (inside the office) & assisted us to open the cargo door which was frozen shut. She saved the day, went above & beyond after hours. It was a sheer coincidence that she drove by & saw us.

SANDRA L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Veronica R. 
Rating:
5.0

The app process is a mess, does not work well, is not intuitive, requires multiple attempts for either signing up or returning. The lady at the location was outstanding, I would just call there and set it up, she took less time than the app.

Paul C. 
Rating:
1.0

Chose in person pick up at location's opening time of 10 AM.figured people better than online. Wrong ! Get there .. sign on door “closed till next week!” Got to be kidding me . 40 mins later dialing uhaul phone I arrange the mobile lock box and get the truck successfully. Meanwhile the movers I hired sitting doing nothing ( except getting paid by the hour ) at my house waiting . Messed up timing of whole day. Dropoff was no treat but at least I knew the Mobile routine. No idea who to blame for this but it was not cool. My advice to anyone is to do mobile from the Start. Truck was fine and reasonably priced . My movers were A+. Luckily.

Ray D. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent service / Be sure windshield fluid and tire pressure are checked

Randy G. 
Rating:
5.0

Was a wonderful, stress-free experience.

Scott R. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing I can think of, everything went very smooth

Daniel B. 
Rating:
5.0

Even easier than using the app: and more friendly.

Roderick L. 
Rating:
5.0

Great location. Had what I needed and pick up and drop off were very smooth and easy.

William L. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent service. Very courteous to customer and knowledgeable with answering any and all questions. Thank you for providing great service.

Philip M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kathleen C. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Walter H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nancy L. 
Rating:
5.0

More accurately indicate how much it will take to refill the gas tank. I followed the guidance on the rental agreement, and ended up adding about 3 more gallons than were needed to return the tank to 3/4 full.

Suzanne B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Beverly B. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph F. 
Rating:
5.0

Service from Carol at Oceanside Performance was outstanding. I will use and recommend your services because of your products but mostly because of the service.

Ron B. 
Rating:
5.0

The staff made our pickup and drop off really easy and pleasant Thank you!

KATHLEEN T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ELSIE R. 
Rating:
5.0

Carol was very accommodating with us ahead of Hurricane Henri, she made it happen!

Matthew D. 
Rating:
3.0

I had to pay an Uber over 80 dollars to go to the location that was a total 90 miles out of the way and picked up a truck that had no Air conditioning

JOHN H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Kevin N. 
Rating:
5.0

They have great customer service at Ocean Performance! I wish they had the pick up truck year round! Instead of just the summer months. Dump runs, yard work, purchasing big item, etc.

Vanessa S. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Steven S. 
Rating:
5.0

My pickup location was changed the night before my reservation and I had to drive 40 minutes (instead of 2 minutes) to get my truck. I understand the shortage of vehicles, but more notice would have been greatly appreciated.

Steven L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Karen S. 
Rating:
5.0

Timely, effiecent and charming service -0 thankyou

Paul B. 
Rating:
5.0

Keep up the good work.

GZ C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Anthony C. 
Rating:
5.0

Always friendly, courteous and helpful

hussein M. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Louis E. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Frank F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Joseph T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

GARRY W. 
Rating:
3.0

The online self checkin was not fully explained in tutorial: esp the need to contact 2 family members? This make no sense, my father was woken up 3 times (live in different time zone) and no one talked to him? How can he verify that I am the one at the location when he just gets a name? I recommend U-Haul gets rid of this requirement and just sticks to Driver's License and picture to verify. Also, the location for pickup has no cell phone coverage for AT&T nor T-Mobile. I tried using my work and personal phones to log in with no joy. I had to walk over to adjacent business parking lot and was lucky enough to have a xfinity hot spot to log in.

ANDREW B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Karen D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Susan F. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent customer service but van was very dirty. Had to clean it before using to transport furniture.

Dwayne B. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

jason P. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service.

Roderick L. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Zachary C. 
Rating:
3.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Peter S. 
Rating:
5.0

great customer service

Robert C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

David J. 
Rating:
2.0

The location smelled like cigarette smoke, i smelled it through my mask, that almost triggered my asthma, the place was absolutely disgusting, there were plants that not really well maintained with dirt and leaves all over the floor, behind the counter was a huge table with tons of miscellaneous Xmas stuff, papers old things, bedsides that the lady whose office was also a huge mess behind glass, took her time to say anything to me and my husband, she just asked for a license and credit card and walked off, then she came back, I then had to ask her what the price was what I was getting into, she did not explain anything and I didn't sign anything either, i think I will have to write to your corporate office about this, I just didn't feel right after renting the truck.

melisa S. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing I can think of to improve - the staff was extremely helpful and courteous

Joshua P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

William D. 
Rating:
5.0

We had to change our reservation several times and each time it was done with ease and with a kind voice on the other end of the phone.

Christina C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Robert C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

ANGEL R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Michael D. 
Rating:
4.0

Cracked windshield when I picked up the vehicle.

John L. 
Rating:
5.0

I had problems with the app, but the location sorted them out. It was great!

Katherine P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lindsey F. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

LOUIS E. 
Rating:
4.0

Great service. Quick check in and out.

Steven C. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service. I've used this spot 4 times in past year. Carol always friendly.

Marion L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Cynthia Y. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Edwin R. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Cade W. 
Rating:
3.0

My reservation was cancelled via text at 3:00 pm on the day before I was set to move .Instead of having the truck picked up in Manhattan ,we had to drive 3 hours away ,and then 3 hours back.U-Haul then has the gaul to charge us extra .I will NEVER recommend U-Haul and in fact I will discourage people to use other options .

Phillip K. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

V. T. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Lisa K. 
Rating:
5.0

She's always super friendly!

Victor L. 
Rating:
3.0

Convenient location. I did not check the gas gauge until off the rental parking lot. The gauge read 3/4 full though my contract showed it to be full. I returned the van after adding 9.489 gallons having driven 21 miles in about 1.5 hours. I disposed of a mattress. The driver's side floor had some leaves and dirt on it, the windshield had a light film of dirt, the tire pressure alert glowed on the instrument gauge though the van did not drift when hands off the steering wheel and the brakes are very sensitive/responsive. I will seriously consider alternative agencies for future occasional hauling needs.

ROB G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

NORFLEET C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

NORFLEET C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Gavin L. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

michael D. 
Rating:
3.0

$19.95 for rental of a truck sounds like a bargain so I went with U-Haul. Not realizing that the cost would drive the price up so high. I think it is deceptive advertising and so was disappointed with the end cost.

Mary Anne D. 
Rating:
1.0

The store was closed when I arrived at noon, even though their website and the sign on the door indicated they were open from 10 - 5. I tried to pick up the truck online using my phone, but the website wasn't working. When I called the U Haul phone number, I was on hold for 25 minutes until a representative picked up, and then on hold for another 20 minutes after he transferred me to a different department. Once I was connected to a representative, she walked me through the process in a very polite and helpful way. But the whole issue put me an hour behind in my project.

Deborah M. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing that I can think of. The pick up was quick easy. The drop was quick and easy. The counter person was great. Will definitely recommend this Uhaul company. Thank you ,Ocean Performance, Old Saybrook Ct.

robert H. 
Rating:
5.0

Wonderful rental experience. The attendant was courteous and helpful.

Stephen N. 
Rating:
5.0

Nothing , it was perfect

reeve M. 
Rating:
1.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Whitney P. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

william C. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Maeve M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KENTON G. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Bethany H. 
Rating:
5.0

Could not be an easier, friendlier experience.

ROBERT M. 
Rating:
5.0

The only thing I can think of for improving the experience for the next customer is to have a bigger inventory of boxes and other moving supplies. I was really pleased with my overall experience. Very easy, very friendly and very inexpensive.

John H. 
Rating:
5.0

The staff a ocean performance were excellent. They are awesome.

chris C. 
Rating:
5.0

Excellent customer service.

Brett L. 
Rating:
5.0

Carol was professional, informative and helpful. She pointed me in the direction of exactly what I would need for my move and was 100% accurate. I ran into a slight issue when the queen mattress I purchased and transported would not fit in the space we thought it would. I called, and Chris the owner, let me know I could bring the truck back (with the mattress) where I picked it up as opposed to dropping the UHaul at the planned location we had travelled to. Helped me out immensely. Great location right off highway.

Lara L. 
Rating:
5.0

I picked up my 26 ft. truck and returned it in accordance with our agreement. The truck itself mechanical was sound but the appearance lacked substantially. The exterior of the truck and windshield was loaded with smashed bugs. I have to assume it was not cleaned upon its return. I was told not to pick up the truck before 2 because it would not be be returned by the previous renter until noon. The inside of the truck was also not cleaned. Luckily I was alone on the long drive because soda was spilled and the residual sticky was all over the passenger side and the cup holder was so sticky I could not place my cup in the holder. However, your people at your facilities were absolutely super and helpful. Just thought you should know.

Charlie P. 
Rating:
3.0

The quote online was well UNDER what I am ultimately being charged so I am disputing this.

Mary B. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Charlie P. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Nicholas K. 
Rating:
5.0

I walked in on the spot and asked for a 9' Cargo van and they had it! It was wonderful customer service. I probably had my vehicle rented and out the door in 10 minutes. Overall, a wonderful experience and I will definitely come back.

YVONNE R. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

EDMUND C. 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly environment. Staff wonderful

Dino D. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Christopher M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Andy L. 
Rating:
5.0

Great service Thank you carol

EDWIN L. 
Rating:
5.0

Total experience was excellent. Office help was beyond excellent. Friendly, intelligent and helpful. I will definitely use U-Haul again!

Linda T. 
Rating:
5.0

Friendly and good service, went out of their way to make it easy!

Bryan M. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

Morgan H. 
Rating:
5.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

James R. 
Rating:
4.0

Customer did not leave a comment.

KENTON LAVELLE G. 
Rating:
5.0

We needed a truck for about an hour. They had three options from which to choose. It was easy process, we were in an out in minutes.

jason P. 
No reviews have been submitted for this location.

Additional Services at this Location

  • Moving Truck Icon
    Moving Trucks

    We have the largest selection of new trucks!

  • Trailer Icon
    Trailers & Towing

    Our cargo and utility trailers start at $14.95!

  • Moving Supplies Icon
    Moving Supplies

    We sell hundreds of products to make moving easier!

Back
To Top